DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application claims priority to the Provisional filed on 63/303,507 01/27/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention.
or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section
122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another
inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 15-17 and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being
anticipated by Rojan et al. (US-20250047343-A1) hereinafter “Rojan”.
Regarding Claim 15,
Rojan discloses, ‘A method of performing sensing measurement by a first station (STA) in a wireless LAN system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a second STA, a null data physical protocol data unit (NDP) announcement frame’( WLAN sensing for sensing measurement [0079]. STA1 transmits a sensing NDPA followed by a sensing measurement PPDU . And STA2 receives the sensing NDPA frame and the sensing measurement PPDU then performs sensing measurement In Fig. 7 illustrates the sensing measurements to obtain CSI [0114].);
And discloses, ‘receiving, from the second STA, an NDP based on the NDP announcement frame’ ( NDP 714/724 after a short SIFS [0114] and in Fig. 6 to 8);
And discloses, ‘and transmitting, to the second STA, a sensing measurement report frame including a sensing measurement report field based on the NDP,
wherein the sensing measurement report frame includes a subfield related to an identifier (ID) corresponding to the sensing measurement exchange and a measurement session ID subfield.’ (In Fig. 7, transmits the sensing measurement PPDU then perform the sensing measurement to obtain CSI. Indicates report type and report -sensing measurement report frame [0114]. In Fig. 7 includes the measurement setup request/response frame, the sensing NDP announcement and the report type [0114]. Each sensing measurement instance transmits NDPA followed by measurement PPDU and perform sensing to obtain the CSI. And the sensing measurement includes CSI for a measurement instance [0117].
Disclosure exemplify with an implementation of sensing measurement setup, request/response and reporting uses instance/object creation.
In Fig. 7 to 9, Sensing measurement setup [Wingdings font/0xE0] instance
[Wingdings font/0xE0]request/response frame [Wingdings font/0xE0] report frame
And report frame[Wingdings font/0xE0] session ID and measurement setup/instance ID in Fig. 18 [0184] and Fig. 41.)
Regarding Claim 16,
‘The method of claim 15’ (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein: the sensing measurement report frame includes a sensing measurement report control field, and
the sensing measurement report control field includes a first subfield indicating a number of bits for each channel state information (CSI) value.’ (the measurement report control field includes CSI measurement obtained by sensing [0080]. The CSI report format includes number of bits and Table 1 [0081-0082].)
Regarding Claim 17,
‘The method of claim 16 (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein:
a bit size of the first subfield is 1,
based on the number of bits for each CSI value being 8, a value of the first subfield is set to 0, and
based on the number of bits for each CSI value being 10, a value of the first subfield is set to 1.’ (Feedback bit size number of bits, Nb (e.g., 4, 6, 8…) in Table 18 [0397]. And, table 11. )
Regarding Claim 19,
‘ The method of claim 16 (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein: the sensing measurement report control field includes a second subfield including a subcarrier grouping setting value and a third subfield for a channel width related to the sensing measurement.’ (In Table 3 grouping parameter Ng (every Ng-adjacent subcarrier group and a single value for each group of Ng adjacent subcarriers) and subcarrier grouping in the sensing feedback report in 320 MHz channel in Table 4, the subcarrier indices and channel width [0139].)
Regarding Claim 20,
‘The method of claim 15 (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein: the sensing measurement report frame includes information related to a segment and type of a sensing measurement report.’ (In Fig. 18 sensing measurement report frame includes measurement report type and feedback segment. )
Regarding Claim 21,
‘The method of claim 15 (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein: the sensing measurement report field includes a segmented sensing measurement report information or unsegmented sensing measurement report information.’ (In Fig. 18 the sensing measurement report field includes remaining Feedback segment field and a first feedback segment field. )
Regarding Claim 22,
‘The method of claim 15 (disclosed above),
And discloses, ‘wherein: the first STA is a sensing responder, and the second STA is a sensing initiator.’ (In Fig. 5 to 8.)
Regarding Claim 23,
Similar to method Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘A first station (STA) of performing sensing measurement in a wireless LAN system, the first STA comprising:
at least one transceiver; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one transceiver,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to:’ (in Fig. 4),
Similar to method Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘receive, from a second STA through the at least one transceiver, a null data physical protocol data unit (NDP) announcement frame;
receive, from the second STA through the at least one transceiver, an NDP based on the NDP announcement frame; and
transmit, to the second STA through the at least one transceiver, a sensing measurement report frame including a sensing measurement report field based on the NDP,
wherein the sensing measurement report frame includes a subfield related to an identifier (ID) corresponding to the sensing measurement exchange and a measurement session ID subfield.’
Regarding Claim 24,
Rojan discloses, ‘A second station (STA) of performing sensing measurement in a wireless LAN system, the second STA comprising:
at least one transceiver; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one transceiver,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to:’ (In Fig. 4 illustrates communication apparatus, an initiator STA [0100].)
Similar to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘transmit, to a first STA through the at least one transceiver, a null data physical protocol data unit (PPDU) announcement frame;
transmit, to the first STA through the at least one transceiver, an NDP based on the NDP announcement frame; and
receive, from the first STA through the at least one transceiver, a sensing measurement report frame including a sensing measurement report field based on the NDP,
wherein the sensing measurement report frame includes a subfield related to an identifier (ID) corresponding to the sensing measurement exchange and a measurement session ID subfield.’ (In Fig. 6 to 8 illustrates, transmit/receive between two STAs null PPDU announcement, the NDP based on the announcement [0114]. )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Rojan et al. in view of Du et al. (US20240155702A1) hereinafter “Du”.
Regarding Claim 18,
‘The method of claim 15 (disclosed above),
And Rojan didn’t disclose, ‘wherein: the subfield related to the ID is set to a same value as a sounding dialog token subfield included in the NDP announcement frame.’
Du in the relevant art discloses, in Fig. 6 illustrates frame structures includes sounding dialog token. The sounding dialog token includes an announcement type indication subfield, and the announcement type subfield indicates an announcement type of the announce frame. [0167-0169].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Rojan and to include
with that of Du to come up with the claim invention,
Rojan motive to perform the sensing measurement procedure includes setup/announcement frame, request/response, measurement instance, and report frame by sensing NDP announcement [0112, 0114] in Fig. 6 to 9, Fig. 19 to 21 and Fig. 41. The announcement frame 602/612 of the NDP announcement frame (VHT, HE, EHT) in Fig. 6 and [0194] as part of setup procedure to obtain the CSI [0112]. Du complements the frame structures includes the dialog token for the announcement type and frame that can reduce latency, improve transmission rate and achieve throughput in sensing session, Du [0319].
Conclusion
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466