Mechanical Resonator With Low Level of Symmetry for the Measurement of the Mass of Individual Particles
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/24/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such a claim limitation is: “a measuring device connected to the resonator element and configured to measure one or more oscillation modes” in claim 3.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 3 asserts a measuring device… configured to measure one or more oscillation modes. Applicant, in the disclosure, has not identified elements used to construct an embodiment capable of measuring oscillation modes.
Claim limitation “a measuring device… configured to measure one or more oscillation modes” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The examiner has failed to find any structure in the disclosure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f);
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Payandehpeyman (ACS Applied Nano Materials, " "Detection of SARS-CoV-2", 2021, "Payandehpeyman").
Regarding claim 1, Payandehpeyman discloses, in figures 1-9, a mechanical resonator (ABSTRACT, “nanomechanical sensors’) that comprises: a resonator element (ABSTRACT, Payandehpeyman’s graphene sheet is a nanoresonator), being a rectangular membrane (p. 6192, examiner notes the SLGS is modeled as a sheet, p. 6193, the aspect ratio uses length and width, p. 6196, Payandehpeyman represents the SLGS as a rectangle) the of length Lx, width Ly and thickness h (p. 6190, col. 2, ¶ 1, Payandehpeyman’s sheet has equivalent thickness, p. 6193, col 1, thickness = 0.345 nm), wherein width Ly is a shorter characteristic dimension (p. 6193, Payandehpeyman’s aspect ratio varies between shorter width and shorter length, 0.2-5), being made of an elastic material and adapted for sustaining at least one oscillation mode (see fig. 7), and a clamping structure supporting the resonator element (examiner asserts a clamping structure supporting Payandehpeyman’s single layer graphene sheet is inherent, examiner notes fig. 7 depicts the CCCC mode where all edges of the sheet are adhered to a surface), wherein: all edges of the resonator element are anchored to the clamping structure (see previous comment), the thickness h of the resonator element is less than or equal to 0.1 times the width Ly (p. 6193, Payandehpeyman’s width is 5-100 mm and the thickness = 0.345 nm), and an aspect ratio of the resonator element is comprised between 1.01 and 10 (p. 6193, Payandehpeyman’s aspect ratio is 0.2-5).
Examiner notes that the limitation: “for the measurement of the mass of individual particles” is an intended use type statement. Applicant is reminded that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 2, Payandehpeyman discloses, in figures 1-9, the aspect ratio of the resonator element is between 1.01 and 1.5 (p. 6193, Payandehpeyman’s aspect ratio is 0.2-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payandehpeyman (ACS Applied Nano Materials, " "Detection of SARS-CoV-2", 2021, "Payandehpeyman"), in view of Cubukcu (US 20160123973; “Cubukcu”).
Regarding claim 3, Payandehpeyman fails to disclose a measuring device connected to the resonator configured to measure oscillation modes.
Cubukcu teaches, in figures 1-4, a measuring device connected to the resonator element and configured to measure one or more oscillation modes (¶ 0031 & ¶ 0047, Cubukcu sensing plasmonic resonance via standard optical spectroscopy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cubukcu’s scheme of using optical spectroscopy into Payandehpeyman’s scheme measuring oscillation modes of a nano resonator since it is well known to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so provides a reliable way of measuring mechanical resonance modes.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payandehpeyman (ACS Applied Nano Materials, " "Detection of SARS-CoV-2", 2021, "Payandehpeyman"), in view of Martinez (Applied Physics, "Effect of particle adsorption …", 2020; "Martinez").
Regarding claim 4, Payandehpeyman discloses, in figures 1-9, a method for measurement of mass of individual particles with a mechanical resonator (ABSTRACT, “nanomechanical sensors’), that comprises the steps of: selecting a resonator element made of an elastic material (ABSTRACT, “single layer graphene sheet”) and adapted for sustaining at least one oscillation mode (see fig. 7), wherein: the resonator element (ABSTRACT, Payandehpeyman’s graphene sheet is a nanoresonator) is a rectangular membrane (p. 6192, examiner notes the SLGS is modeled as a sheet, p. 6193, the aspect ratio uses length and width, p. 6196, Payandehpeyman represents the SLGS as a rectangle) of length Lx, width Ly and thickness h (p. 6190, col. 2, ¶ 1, Payandehpeyman’s sheet has equivalent thickness, p. 6193, col 1, thickness = 0.345 nm), wherein width Ly is a shorter characteristic dimension (p. 6193, Payandehpeyman’s aspect ratio varies between shorter width and shorter length, 0.2-5), the thickness h of the resonator element is less than or equal to 0.1 times the width Ly (p. 6193, Payandehpeyman’s width is 5-100 mm and the thickness = 0.345 nm), and an aspect ratio of the resonator element is between 1.01 and 10 (p. 6193, Payandehpeyman’s aspect ratio is 0.2-5) anchoring all edges of the resonator element to a clamping structure (examiner asserts a clamping structure supporting Payandehpeyman’s single layer graphene sheet is inherent, examiner notes fig. 7 depicts the CCCC mode where all edges of the sheet are adhered to a surface), arranging on the resonator element a particle whose mass is to be measured (ABSTRACT, “SARS-CoV-2 viruses were randomly distributed on the SLGS”), measuring frequency shifts of the resonator element caused by the particle arranged (ABSTRACT, “frequency shift and relative frequency shift were evaluated”).
Payandehpeyman fails to explicitly calculate mass.
Martinez teaches calculating the mass of the particle (ABSTRACT, Martinez utilizes nano-resonators to measure mass of single particles) arranged, ma, by applying the following equation (p. 3, see Martinez’s general expression for relative frequency shift due to adsorption of the particle, equation 13, examiner notes Martinez may determine Ma from the expression):
where M is a mass of the resonator element, X0 and Y0 are normalized coordinates of a position of the particle on the resonator element and ψ is a mode shape associated to a vibration frequency f (p. 2, col. 2, equation 6, Ma is the mass of the particle and x0, y0 are the coordinates).
Regarding claim 5, Payandehpeyman and Martinez discloses, in Payandehpeyman’s figures 1-9, the aspect ratio of the resonator element is between 1.01 and 1.5 (p. 6193, Payandehpeyman’s aspect ratio is 0.2-5).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY P GRAVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855