DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, 33 and 35-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20240298237 A1) in view of Xu et al. (US 20250016647 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li et al. teaches a method for secondary cell group (SCG) configuration, applicable to a terminal device and comprising: receiving configuration information of a plurality of candidate SCGs from a network side, wherein each of the plurality of candidate SCGs corresponds to a change condition (Paragraph 37, 38, 117, 154, These passages teach receiving from the network configuration for multiple candidate SNs/PSCells, each associated with execution criteria); storing the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs (Paragraph 118, 121, 127, These passages show the UE retains and maintains configuration information for multiple candidate PSCells over time); and performing PSCell change from a source SCG to a first target SCG in response to the terminal device determining that the first target SCG fulfills a change condition, wherein the first target SCG is one of the plurality of candidate SCGs (Paragraph 37, 122, 136, These passages teach that the UE determines when execution criteria is met and then performs a change to a selected candidate PSCell); wherein the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs remains stored in the terminal device after the terminal device performs PSCell change from the source SCG to the first target SCG or the second target SCG (Paragraph 132, 133, 127, These passages explicitly teach that after performing PSCell change, the UE retains and continues to store configuration information for other candidate PSCells).
Li et al. does not explicitly teach performing PSCell change from the source SCG to a second target SCG, wherein the second target SCG is designated by the network side, and the second target SCG is one of the plurality of candidate SCGs or is not comprised in the plurality of candidate SCGs.
However, Xu et al. teaches performing PSCell change from the source SCG to a second target SCG, wherein the second target SCG is designated by the network side, and the second target SCG is one of the plurality of candidate SCGs or is not comprised in the plurality of candidate SCGs (Paragraph 58, 40, 97, 95, These passages show the network designating a target cell/SCG via handover or SCG change command, including SCG addition/reconfiguration, thereby teaching PSCell change to a network-designated target SCG whether conditionally preconfigured or newly configured).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide performing PSCell change from the source SCG to a second target SCG, wherein the second target SCG is designated by the network side, and the second target SCG is one of the plurality of candidate SCGs or is not comprised in the plurality of candidate SCGs as taught by Xu et al. in the system of Li et al., so that it would enable both UE-autonomous conditional PSCell changes and network-directed PSCell changes using the same maintained candidate SCG framework, thereby improving mobility robustness, reducing handover latency, and allowing the network to adapt SCG selection based on changing radio conditions, load balancing considerations, and network-wide optimization objectives when UE-selected candidate SCGs are not the most suitable target.
Regarding claim 2, Li et al. teaches the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs is configured through delta signaling or full configuration (Paragraph 107, 117, 147, These passages teach that configuration information for multiple candidate SCGs (PSCells/SNs) is provided either as full per-cell configurations (complete RRC reconfiguration for each candidate) or as partial updates/changes relative to an existing configuration).
Regarding claim 3, Li et al. teaches the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs is configured through delta signaling, and the method further comprises: receiving a first indication message from the network side, wherein the first indication message indicates configuration parameters of a source SCG at a first moment as reference configuration parameters, and the first moment is a moment at which the first indication message is received; and storing the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs comprises: storing the reference configuration parameters and the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs in an associative manner (Paragraph 107, 117-118, 121, 127, 131-132, 164, The passage teaches receiving an RRC reconfiguration message from the network that contains source-cell/MN configuration changes together with configuration information for multiple candidate PSCells, validating the source-cell information upon receipt, and maintaining the candidate PSCell configurations in relation to the source-cell configuration context for later conditional PSCell additions or changes, thereby teaching receipt of source configuration information, candidate SCG configuration information based on configuration changes, and storage of the candidate configurations together with the source configuration information).
Regarding claim 4, Li et al. teaches the first indication message is sent from the network side in a case where the network side determines, according to a handover request acknowledge (ACK) signaling from a candidate secondary node (SN), that the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs is configured through delta signaling (Paragraph 107, 115-117, These passages teach that the network (MN) first receives acknowledgements from multiple candidate SNs and thereafter sends an RRC configuration message containing configuration information for multiple candidate PSCells/SNs, where the message includes configuration changes relative to existing source-cell configuration together with candidate-cell-specific reconfiguration information).
Regarding claim 5, Li et al. teaches releasing the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs in a case where the terminal device performs primary cell (PCell) handover (Paragraph 127, 132-133, 164, These passages teach that the UE stores and maintains configuration information for multiple candidate PSCells (SCGs), continues maintaining that information across PSCell changes, and releases the candidate PSCell configuration when commanded by the MN while performing a PSCell change/handover).
Regarding claim 6, Li et al. teaches releasing the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs after the terminal device performs radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment (Paragraph 121, 127-129, 132, 164, These passages teach maintaining candidate PSCell/SCG configuration information, triggering RRC re-establishment when configuration validity checks fail, and subsequently releasing candidate cell configurations under network control).
Regarding claim 7, Li et al. teaches receiving a second indication message from the network side, wherein the second indication message indicates release of configuration information of some or all of the plurality of candidate SCGs; and releasing the configuration information of some or all of the plurality of candidate SCGs (Paragraph 127, 132, 164, These passages teach that the UE maintains configuration information for multiple candidate PSCells (SCGs), receives a network request or command from the MN indicating release of candidate PSCell configurations, and releases the maintained candidate PSCell configuration information in response to that indication).
Regarding claim 8, Li et al. teaches wherein one or more sets of reference configuration parameters are stored in a storage space of the terminal device, and each set of reference configuration parameters is associated with configuration information of at least one of the plurality of candidate SCGs (Paragraph 117-118, 122, 127, 131-132, 147, 159, 164, UE receives configuration information for multiple candidate PSCells/SNs, including common MN configuration information and dedicated RRC configuration information for each candidate cell, stores and maintains those configurations after receipt and even after successful SN change, and associates the stored configuration information with the corresponding candidate PSCells).
Regarding claim 9, Li et al. teaches releasing a first set of reference configuration parameters in a case where configuration information of candidate SCGs associated with the first set of reference configuration parameters in the storage space has all been released, wherein the first set of reference configuration parameters is one of the one or more sets of reference configuration parameters (Paragraph 127, 131-133, These passages teach storing candidate PSCell/SCG configuration information for multiple candidate SCGs, maintaining that stored configuration while at least one candidate SCG remains available for future use, and releasing candidate SCG configuration information under network control when it is no longer needed).
Regarding claim 10, Li et al. teaches receiving a third indication message from the network side, wherein the third indication message indicates that the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs remained stored in the terminal device after primary secondary cell (PSCell) change is performed (Paragraph 127, 132-133, 164, These passages teach that after a PSCell addition/change is successfully performed, the UE retains and maintains the configuration information of other candidate PSCells and keeps monitoring them, with the retained configuration remaining stored until the MN requests release).
Regarding claim 11, Li et al. teaches a method for secondary cell group (SCG) configuration, applicable to a terminal device and comprising:receiving configuration information of a plurality of candidate SCGs from a network side, wherein each of the plurality of candidate SCGs corresponds to a change condition (Paragraph 37, 38, 117, 154, These passages teach receiving from the network configuration for multiple candidate SNs/PSCells, each associated with execution criteria); wherein configuration information of some or all of the plurality of candidate SCGs is configured through delta signaling, configuration information of candidate SCGs configured through delta signaling is based on at least one set of reference configuration parameters (Paragraph 107, 118, These passages teach that configuration includes modified portions (changes) relative to existing configurations while other portions remain unchanged and candidate cell configurations rely on pre-existing configurations (from SN-provided containers) that serve as a baseline/reference for any modified configuration information).
Li et al. does not explicitly teach the at least one set of reference configuration parameters is configured by the network side.
However, Xu et al. teaches the at least one set of reference configuration parameters is configured by the network side (Paragraph 65, 70, 72, These passages teach that the configuration parameters (CG configuration, thresholds, TA values) serving as the basis for subsequent procedures are provided/configured by the network side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the at least one set of reference configuration parameters is configured by the network side as taught by Xu et al. in the system of Li et al., so that the terminal device can consistently derive and apply delta-configured candidate SCGs from a common network-provided baseline configuration, thereby reducing signaling overhead while ensuring configuration accuracy, synchronization, and reliable execution of SCG/PSCell changes.
Regarding claim 12, Li et al. teaches receiving a first indication message from the network side, wherein the first indication message indicates configuration parameters of a source SCG at a first moment as reference configuration parameters, and the first moment is a moment at which the first indication message is received (Paragraph 107, 117-118, 121, 127, 131-132, 164, The passage teaches receiving an RRC reconfiguration message from the network that contains source-cell/MN configuration changes together with configuration information for multiple candidate PSCells, validating the source-cell information upon receipt, and maintaining the candidate PSCell configurations in relation to the source-cell configuration context for later conditional PSCell additions or changes, thereby teaching receipt of source configuration information, candidate SCG configuration information based on configuration changes, and storage of the candidate configurations together with the source configuration information).
Regarding claim 13, Li et al. teaches storing the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs (Paragraph 118, 121, 127, These passages show the UE retains and maintains configuration information for multiple candidate PSCells over time).
Regarding claim 14, Li et al. teaches performing PSCell change from a source SCG to a first target SCG in response to the terminal device determining that the first target SCG fulfills a change condition, wherein the first target SCG is one of the plurality of candidate SCGs (Paragraph 37, 122, 136, These passages teach that the UE determines when execution criteria is met and then performs a change to a selected candidate PSCell); wherein the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs remains stored in the terminal device after the terminal device performs PSCell change from the source SCG to the first target SCG or the second target SCG (Paragraph 132, 133, 127, These passages explicitly teach that after performing PSCell change, the UE retains and continues to store configuration information for other candidate PSCells).
Li et al. does not explicitly teach performing PSCell change from the source SCG to a second target SCG, wherein the second target SCG is designated by the network side, and the second target SCG is one of the plurality of candidate SCGs or is not comprised in the plurality of candidate SCGs.
However, Xu et al. teaches performing PSCell change from the source SCG to a second target SCG, wherein the second target SCG is designated by the network side, and the second target SCG is one of the plurality of candidate SCGs or is not comprised in the plurality of candidate SCGs (Paragraph 58, 40, 97, 95, These passages show the network designating a target cell/SCG via handover or SCG change command, including SCG addition/reconfiguration, thereby teaching PSCell change to a network-designated target SCG whether conditionally preconfigured or newly configured).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide performing PSCell change from the source SCG to a second target SCG, wherein the second target SCG is designated by the network side, and the second target SCG is one of the plurality of candidate SCGs or is not comprised in the plurality of candidate SCGs as taught by Xu et al. in the system of Li et al., so that it would enable both UE-autonomous conditional PSCell changes and network-directed PSCell changes using the same maintained candidate SCG framework, thereby improving mobility robustness, reducing handover latency, and allowing the network to adapt SCG selection based on changing radio conditions, load balancing considerations, and network-wide optimization objectives when UE-selected candidate SCGs are not the most suitable target.
Regarding claim 33, Li et al. teaches a terminal device, comprising: a memory; and a communication interface: wherein the terminal device is configured to: receive configuration information of a plurality of candidate SCGs from a network side, wherein each of the plurality of candidate SCGs corresponds to a change condition (Paragraph 37, 38, 117, 154, These passages teach receiving from the network configuration for multiple candidate SNs/PSCells, each associated with execution criteria); store the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs (Paragraph 118, 121, 127, These passages show the UE retains and maintains configuration information for multiple candidate PSCells over time); and perform PSCell change from a source SCG to a first target SCG in response to the terminal device determining that the first target SCG fulfills a change condition, wherein the first target SCG is one of the plurality of candidate SCGs (Paragraph 37, 122, 136, These passages teach that the UE determines when execution criteria is met and then performs a change to a selected candidate PSCell); wherein the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs remains stored in the terminal device after the terminal device performs PSCell change from the source SCG to the first target SCG or the second target SCG (Paragraph 132, 133, 127, These passages explicitly teach that after performing PSCell change, the UE retains and continues to store configuration information for other candidate PSCells).
Li et al. does not explicitly teach performing PSCell change from the source SCG to a second target SCG, wherein the second target SCG is designated by the network side, and the second target SCG is one of the plurality of candidate SCGs or is not comprised in the plurality of candidate SCGs.
However, Xu et al. teaches performing PSCell change from the source SCG to a second target SCG, wherein the second target SCG is designated by the network side, and the second target SCG is one of the plurality of candidate SCGs or is not comprised in the plurality of candidate SCGs (Paragraph 58, 40, 97, 95, These passages show the network designating a target cell/SCG via handover or SCG change command, including SCG addition/reconfiguration, thereby teaching PSCell change to a network-designated target SCG whether conditionally preconfigured or newly configured).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide performing PSCell change from the source SCG to a second target SCG, wherein the second target SCG is designated by the network side, and the second target SCG is one of the plurality of candidate SCGs or is not comprised in the plurality of candidate SCGs as taught by Xu et al. in the system of Li et al., so that it would enable both UE-autonomous conditional PSCell changes and network-directed PSCell changes using the same maintained candidate SCG framework, thereby improving mobility robustness, reducing handover latency, and allowing the network to adapt SCG selection based on changing radio conditions, load balancing considerations, and network-wide optimization objectives when UE-selected candidate SCGs are not the most suitable target.
Regarding claim 35, Li et al. teaches the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs is configured through delta signaling or full configuration (Paragraph 107, 117, 147, These passages teach that configuration information for multiple candidate SCGs (PSCells/SNs) is provided either as full per-cell configurations (complete RRC reconfiguration for each candidate) or as partial updates/changes relative to an existing configuration).
Regarding claim 36, Li et al. teaches the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs is configured through delta signaling, and the terminal device is further configured to: receive a first indication message from the network side, wherein the first indication message indicates configuration parameters of a source SCG at a first moment as reference configuration parameters, and the first moment is a moment at which the first indication message is received; and in terms of storing the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs, the terminal device is further configured to: store the reference configuration parameters and the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs in an associative manner. (Paragraph 107, 117-118, 121, 127, 131-132, 164, The passage teaches receiving an RRC reconfiguration message from the network that contains source-cell/MN configuration changes together with configuration information for multiple candidate PSCells, validating the source-cell information upon receipt, and maintaining the candidate PSCell configurations in relation to the source-cell configuration context for later conditional PSCell additions or changes, thereby teaching receipt of source configuration information, candidate SCG configuration information based on configuration changes, and storage of the candidate configurations together with the source configuration information).
Regarding claim 37, Li et al. teaches release the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs in a case where the terminal device performs primary cell (PCell) handover (Paragraph 127, 132-133, 164, These passages teach that the UE stores and maintains configuration information for multiple candidate PSCells (SCGs), continues maintaining that information across PSCell changes, and releases the candidate PSCell configuration when commanded by the MN while performing a PSCell change/handover).
Regarding claim 38, Li et al. teaches release the configuration information of the plurality of candidate SCGs after the terminal device performs radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment (Paragraph 121, 127-129, 132, 164, These passages teach maintaining candidate PSCell/SCG configuration information, triggering RRC re-establishment when configuration validity checks fail, and subsequently releasing candidate cell configurations under network control).
Regarding claim 39, Li et al. teaches receive a second indication message from the network side, wherein the second indication message indicates release of configuration information of some or all of the plurality of candidate SCGs; and release the configuration information of some or all of the plurality of candidate SCGs (Paragraph 127, 132, 164, These passages teach that the UE maintains configuration information for multiple candidate PSCells (SCGs), receives a network request or command from the MN indicating release of candidate PSCell configurations, and releases the maintained candidate PSCell configuration information in response to that indication).
Allowable Subject Matter
The applicant could consider adding concepts directed to the delta signaling framework described in the specification, such as configuring some or all candidate SCGs through delta signaling relative to at least one set of reference configuration parameters provided by the network, and defining that each candidate SCG configuration includes only differential parameters with respect to the reference configuration to reduce signaling overhead. The claim could further incorporate the concept that the stored candidate SCGs may include overlapping configurations across multiple SN change procedures, and that retaining previously received candidate SCG configurations avoids reacquiring redundant or overlapping SCG information in subsequent conditional PSCell change operations, thereby reducing transmission resource waste. Additional concepts could include specifying that the reference configuration parameters are centrally configured by the network side and reused across multiple candidate SCGs, that the terminal maintains the stored candidate SCG configurations across multiple PSCell changes without releasing non-selected SCGs, and that subsequent SCG updates may selectively update only delta portions of stored configurations rather than reconfiguring entire SCGs. The applicant might also consider adding apparatus-oriented concepts reflected in the specification, such as a memory configured to persist candidate SCG configuration information and a processor configured to execute conditional PSCell change logic based on stored change conditions and reference-based delta configurations, to more fully capture the disclosed architectural improvements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
EKLÖF et al. (US 20240056910 A1)
Ramachandra et al. (US 20230269647 A1)
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464