Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims [1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 15, 16, 22, 23, 25 and 29-30] are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Hua (US 20210399770 A1).
In regards to claims 1, 15 and 29-30 Hau teaches a target user equipment (UE) comprising: [0038] The formation of an enhanced UE may be initiated by a UE, such as a UE that has a large amount of data to be transmitted or received. A UE that initiates formation of an enhanced UE can be referred to as a source UE (SUE) for UL or a target UE (TUE) for DL, or more generally as an initiating UE, a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors being configured to cause the target UE to: [0161] In some embodiments, the apparatus is a UE that includes a communication interface, a processor coupled to the communication interface, and such a non-transitory computer readable storage medium coupled to the processor. A processor and a medium are shown by way of example as the processing unit 1700 and memory 1708 in FIG. 17A, receive availability information indicating availability of one or more candidate UEs for cooperating with the target UE for communicating with a network entity; [0063] A capability report for forming an enhanced UE may be transmitted to the network device 202 directly, or to the UE initiating the enhanced UE…Capability reporting may also or instead involve signaling, from a candidate UE such as 224, 226 to an initiating UE 222, as shown at 324, 326, receive assistance information from at least one of the candidate UEs; [0138] In some embodiments, a UE method involves a UE receiving, from each other component UE of the multiple UEs, UE-specific information indicative of the respective capabilities of each other UE for the enhanced UE… in which the SUE 1502 as a master UE collects capability reports from the CUE 1504 and makes an enhanced UE determination at 1520, establish a cooperation connection with the at least one of the candidate UEs based on the assistance information; [0066] This determination may be made by a network device such as the network device 202, or by an initiating UE such as the UE 222 which may then transmit signaling to inform the network device that the enhanced UE is to be formed and configured. Such a determination may be made based on UE capability reporting and transmit, to the network entity, an indication of UE capability based on the cooperation connection [0123] the SUE 1502 makes a positive determination, and sends a capability report at 1522 to a network device, shown by way of example as a gNB 1506. The capability report at 1522 is indicative of enhanced UE capability, such as processing/transmit capability, including capabilities of the SUE 1502 and the CUE 1504. A candidate user equipment (UE) comprising:a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors [0214] In UE group 1820 and a scenario in which the UE 1804c is to be assisted, the other UEs 1804a, 1804b, and 1804d form a cooperation candidate set for assisting the UE 1804c. A method for wireless communication [0214] The UE group 1820 may also be terminated by the network 1806, for example, if the network determines that there is no longer a need or opportunity for the UE group 1820 to provide assistance in wireless communication between the BS 1808a and members of the UE group 1820.
In regards to claim 2 and 16, Hua does teach wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of: a supported sidelink type; [0059] UE capability may include one or more parameters, properties, features, or configurations, such as any one or more of the following illustrative examples: number of antennas, multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) capability, and SL protocol or capability. SL protocol or capability may include, for example, any one or more of: Bluetooth™, WiFi, NR SL, and bandwidth support, a supported sidelink latency; a supported access (Uu) link; or uplink (UL) maximum transmit power. [0036] Capabilities as referenced herein encompass such features or elements as any one or more of: antennas, transmit power, and processing power.
In regards to claim 8 and 22, Hua does teach wherein the memory and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the target UE to: transmit a request to the at least one of the candidate UE for the assistance information; and receive the assistance information in response to the request.; [0123] The formation of an enhanced UE is initiated by an SUE 1502, as a master UE, at 1510 in the example shown. The SUE 1502 may request a capability report at 1512 from each CUE, one of which is shown at 1504, and each CUE may return a capability report to the SUE at 1514.
In regards to claim 9 and 23, Hua does teach wherein the request is transmitted in response to detecting a trigger event [0056] In some embodiments, formation of an enhanced UE is initiated or triggered by a UE. For example, in FIG. 3A the UE 222 is labelled as an SUE and has a large amount of data to be transmitted in UL or received in DL
In regards to claim 11 and 25, Hua does teach wherein:at least one of the availability information or the assistance information is received via dedicated signaling from the one or more candidate UEs. [0123] FIG. 15 is a signal flow diagram illustrating an example of enhanced UE formation initiated by a UE according to an embodiment. The formation of an enhanced UE is initiated by an SUE 1502, as a master UE, at 1510 in the example shown. The SUE 1502 may request a capability report at 1512 from each CUE, one of which is shown at 1504, and each CUE may return a capability report to the SUE at 1514.
In regards to claim 14 and 28, Hua does teach wherein the memory and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the target UE to: add or drop a cooperation connection with at least one of the candidates UEs; [0214] As UEs 1804a-d move around, some may leave the UE group 1820. UE movement may also or instead result in other UEs joining the UE group 1820. Therefore, the cooperation candidate set may change over time, and transmit, to a network entity, an updated indication of UE capability [0007] A method performed by a UE in a wireless communication network, according to another aspect of the present disclosure, involves transmitting information indicative of a capability (or at least one capability) associated with an enhanced UE, and communicating a signal with a network device in the wireless communication network after transmitting the information, based on the added or dropped cooperation connection [0128] the enhanced UE capability relates to that configuration and a combination of the UE-specific capabilities that each component UE is contributing to the enhanced UE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [3,6,7,12,13,17,20,21,26,27] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hau in view of Wu (US 20220312178 A1).
In regards to claims 3 and 17 Hua teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Hau does not teach wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of: location information of the at least one candidate UE; or an indication of a status of an access link of the candidate UE.
However, Wu does teach wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of: location information of the at least one candidate UE; or an indication of a status of an access link of the candidate UE. [0063] The discovery message may further include AS layer information such as an indication of the quality of the connection between the relay UE 112 and the currently camped cell (e.g., the Uu link), system information (e.g., PLMN list, etc.) and sidelink capability information.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Hua and Wu before him or her, to modify the method of Hao to include the assistance information as taught by Wu.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved sidelink commination efficiency. (0002 by Wu).
In regards to claims 6 and 20 Hua teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Hau does not teach wherein: at least one of the availability information or the assistance information is received via broadcast signaling from the one or more candidate UEs.
However, Wu does teach wherein: at least one of the availability information or the assistance information is received via broadcast signaling from the one or more candidate UEs. [0061] In 510, the relay UE 112 transmits a discovery message to the remote UE 110. For example, in response to determining that the relay UE 112 is capable of adequately serving as a relay point for a remote UE, the relay UE 112 may broadcast a discovery message indicating the availability of the relay UE 112.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Hua and Wu before him or her, to modify the method of Hao to include the assistance information as taught by Wu.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved sidelink commination efficiency. (0002 by Wu).
In regards to claims 7 and 21 Hua teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Hau does not teach wherein the broadcast signaling is broadcast periodically.
However, Wu does teach wherein the broadcast signaling is broadcast periodically [0061] The relay UE 112 may broadcast this message one or more times. In some embodiments, the message may be broadcast periodically in accordance with any appropriate schedule or cycle.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Hua and Wu before him or her, to modify the method of Hao to include the assistance information as taught by Wu.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved sidelink commination efficiency. (0002 by Wu).
In regards to claims 12 and 26 Hua teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Hau does not teach wherein the dedicated signaling comprises at least one of: a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE); or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH).
However, Wu does teach wherein the dedicated signaling comprises at least one of: a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE); or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). [0076] In other embodiments, a service data unit (SDU) type included in a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) header of the discovery message may be used to identify a relay discovery message. In other embodiments, a dedicated sidelink discovery resource pool may be used for discovery messages.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Hua and Wu before him or her, to modify the method of Hao to include the PSSCH configurations as taught by Wu.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved sidelink commination efficiency. (0002 by Wu).
In regards to claims 13 and 27 Hua teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Hau does not teach wherein the dedicated signaling is transmitted based on a trigger event.
However, Wu does teach wherein the dedicated signaling is transmitted based on a trigger event. [0061] In 510, the relay UE 112 transmits a discovery message to the remote UE 110. For example, in response to determining that the relay UE 112 is capable of adequately serving as a relay point for a remote UE, the relay UE 112 may broadcast a discovery message indicating the availability of the relay UE 112.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Hua and Wu before him or her, to modify the method of Hao to include the PSSCH configurations as taught by Wu.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved sidelink commination efficiency. (0002 by Wu).
Claim [4, 5, 18 and 19] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hau in view of Wu (US 20220312178 A1) further in view of Pan (US 20210227621 A1).
In regards to claims 4 and 18, Hua and Wu teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Hau and Wu do not teach wherein the indication of the status of the access link comprises at least one of: a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event report; a power headroom reports (PHR); or a channel state information (CSI) report.
However, Pan does teach wherein the indication of the status of the access link comprises at least one of: a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event report; a power headroom reports (PHR); [PG 9. Paragraph 0190 MAC-CellGroupConfig information element] Table 6 Need M phr-Config SetupRelease { PHR-Config }or a channel state information (CSI) report.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Hua, Pan and Wu before him or her, to modify the method of Hao and Pan to include the access link configurations as taught by Pan.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved beamforming commination. (0027 by Pan).
In regards to claims 5 and 19, Hua and Wu teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Hau and Wu do not teach wherein the assistance information indicates at least one of: time windows when the candidate UE is available to cooperate with the target UE, wherein durations are specified for each of the time windows; or discontinuous reception (DRX) cycles configured for the candidate UE.
However, Pan does teach wherein the assistance information indicates at least one of: time windows when the candidate UE is available to cooperate with the target UE, wherein durations are specified for each of the time windows; [0429] Therefore, UE1 must know when UE2 will wake up if UE2 operates DRX mechanism on sidelink or PC5 interface. Furthermore, UE1 may also need to know how long UE2 stays awake after waking up or discontinuous reception (DRX) cycles configured for the candidate UE. [0429]. In addition, UE2 may also connect to a serving base station (e.g. gNB) for transmitting or receiving traffic to or from the gNB via Uu interface while it is communicating with UE1 via sidelink or PC5 interface.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Hua, Pan and Wu before him or her, to modify the method of Hao and Pan to include the access link configurations as taught by Pan.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved beamforming commination. (0027 by Pan).
Claim [10 and 24] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hau in view of Yu (US 20160095128 A1).
In regards to claims 10 and 24 Hua teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Hau does not teach wherein the trigger event involves at least one of: an MPE for a link between the network entity and the target UE or a cooperative UE is above a first threshold; or measured CSI for the link between the network entity and the target UE or a cooperative UE is below a second threshold.
However, Yu does teach wherein the trigger event involves at least one of: an MPE for a link between the network entity and the target UE or a cooperative UE is above a first threshold; or measured CSI for the link between the network entity and the target UE or a cooperative UE is below a second threshold. [0031] In soft combining mode, the CUE determines whether access link qualities of all frequency bands (or RBs) are below a certain threshold at step 318. If this condition is true, then selective LLR forwarding is implemented at step 326. If this condition is not satisfied, the CUE remains silent at step 322.. [0031] In soft combining mode, the CUE determines whether access link qualities of all frequency bands (or RBs) are below a certain threshold at step 318. If this condition is true, then selective LLR forwarding is implemented at step 326. If this condition is not satisfied, the CUE remains silent at step 322.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Hua and Yu before him or her, to modify the method of Hao to include the assistance information as taught by Yu.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved commination quality. (0021 by Yu).
Relevant Art
Salem (US 20200084812 A1) by Huawei is relevant since is discusses a system where a group of phones nearby teaming up over short range connection; to help a target phone to connect to the network better, it has a target UE forms and changes cooperation links with other candidate UEs and the connections.
Conclusion
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466