DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2022/0232605A1) in view of Rossbach et al. (US2023/0164081A1)
Regarding claim 21, Kim teaches a method for controlling data traffic by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving higher layer signaling including configuration information for supporting uplink resource scheduling of application traffic from a base station; transmitting UE assistance information to the base station (Paragraph [0038]: In some cases, a UE may provide uplink assistance information (UAI) to a base station to assist the base station with providing uplink resources that efficiently serve an XR session. Paragraph [0096]: In the following description of the process flow 600, the operations between the base station 105-b and the UE 115-b may be transmitted in a different order than the example order shown, or the operations performed by the base station 105-b and the UE 115-b may be performed in different orders or at different times. Paragraph [0097]: At 605, the base station 105-b and the UE 115-b may initiate an XR session. In some cases, the XR session may be initiated based on the UE 115-b entering into communications to exchange XR traffic with an XR server via communications through the base station 105-b. At 610, the UE 115-b may obtain uplink traffic information. In some cases, the uplink traffic information may be based on pose/control information and periodicity for an XR traffic flow. Paragraph [0098]: At 615, the UE 115-b may transmit UAI for uplink scheduling. The UAI may include one or more uplink scheduling parameters, as discussed herein. At 620, the base station 105-b may determine a scheduling configuration for the UE 115-b. The scheduling configuration may include a set of periodic uplink grants and a set of periodic downlink grants that are identified based at least in part on the UAI. Optionally, at 625, the base station 105-b may transmit a RRC message for random access. At 630, the base station 105-b may allocate uplink grant resources to the UE 115-b. Also see Abstract; paragraphs [0099] – [0102], [0107]).
Kim does not explicitly teach processing data for the application traffic by identifying packet data unit (PDU)-Set information.
However, Rossbach teaches processing data for the application traffic by identifying packet data unit (PDU)-Set information (Paragraph [0135]: FIG. 8 illustrates an operation flow/algorithmic structure 800 in accordance with some embodiments. The operation flow/algorithmic structure 800 may be performed by a network node such as, for example, UE 104, UE 1100. Paragraph [0138]: The operation flow/algorithmic structure 800 may further include, at 812, determining information about an ADU that includes a set of packets. In some embodiments, the information determined at 812 may indicate a frame/slice type of the ADU. In other embodiments, the information determined at 812 may indicate that the set of packets are within the ADU. This may be accomplished by providing a start/end marker in a first/last packet of the ADU or a PNU value in one or more of the packets. In some embodiments, the indication that the set of packets are within the ADU may be based on, the set having a common timestamps and payload type. Examiner’s note: As per paragraph [0104] of the specification, ADU is equivalent to PDU-set.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide processing data for the application traffic by identifying packet data unit (PDU)-Set information, as taught by Rossbach in the system of Kim, so that the UE can obtain information about the packet data unit (Rossbach: Paragraphs [0135], [0138]).
Regarding claim 30, Kim teaches a user equipment (UE) controlling data traffic, comprising: a receiver configured to receive higher layer signaling including configuration information for supporting uplink resource scheduling of application traffic from a base station; a transmitter configured to transmit UE assistance information to the base station (see rejection for claim 21; also see paragraphs [0122], [0123]);
Kim does not explicitly teach a controller configured to process data for the application traffic by identifying packet data unit (PDU)-Set information.
However, Rossbach teaches a controller configured to process data for the application traffic by identifying packet data unit (PDU)-Set information (see rejection for claim 21, also see paragraphs [0122], [0123]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide a controller configured to process data for the application traffic by identifying packet data unit (PDU)-Set information, as taught by Rossbach in the system of Kim, so that the UE can obtain information about the packet data unit (Rossbach: Paragraphs [0135], [0138]).
Claims 22, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2022/0232605A1) in view of Rossbach et al. (US2023/0164081A1), and further in view of Fu et al. (US2024/0244476A1) and Fu et al. (US2024/0215107A1) hereinafter Fu2.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Kim and Rossbach teaches the method of claim 21 (see rejection for claim 21);
The combination of Kim and Rossbach does not explicitly teach wherein the assistance information includes at least one of a burst arrival time average, a burst period average, a jitter range, and a Quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI) for uplink traffic of a QoS flow.
However, Fu teaches wherein the assistance information includes at least one of a burst arrival time average, a burst period average, and a Quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI) for uplink traffic of a QoS flow (Paragraph [0226]: The access network device acquires the relevant information of the first unit through a terminal device. Therefore, the access network device may configure a transmission resource for at least one QoS flow according to the relevant information of the first unit. Paragraph [0227]: For example, the terminal device transmits the relevant information of the first unit to the access network device through terminal assistance information (UE assistance info). Paragraph [0212]: In some implementations of first example, the relevant information of the first unit further includes at least one of following: Paragraph [0213]: a transmission direction of the first unit, an arrival time of the first unit, an deviation of the arrival time of the first unit, a cycle of the first unit, a size of the first unit Paragraph [0205]: The arrival time of the first unit includes at least one of following: Paragraph [0206]: an arrival starting time of the first unit, an arrival ending time of the first unit, an arrival time of the first unit in each data burst, an arrival time of an earliest first unit in each data burst, an arrival time of a last first unit in each data burst, an arrival pattern of the first unit, an arrival interval of the first unit, an arrival duration of the first unit, an arrival time of an earliest first unit in the target information, an arrival time of a last first unit in the target information, an arrival time of the first unit in each data burst in the target information or an arrival time of each first unit in the target information. Paragraph [0264]: In some embodiments, a configuration granularity of the relevant information of the first unit is a QoS flow. Paragraph [0305]: In some embodiments, the relevant information of the first unit is information corresponding to target information, the target information includes at least one data stream, or the target information includes at least one service, or the target information includes at least one application, or the target information includes at least one QoS flow. Paragraph [0140]: In some embodiments, the relevant information of the first unit further includes at least one of following: Paragraph [0141]: a correspondence between an application and a type of the first unit, a correspondence between a service and a type of the first unit, a correspondence between a QoS flow and a type of the first unit, a correspondence between an application and a type of data stream, a correspondence between a service and a type of data stream, a correspondence between a QoS flow and a type of data stream or a correspondence between a data stream and a type of the first unit.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the assistance information includes at least one of a burst arrival time average, a burst period average, and a Quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI) for uplink traffic of a QoS flow, as taught by Fu in the combined system of Kim and Rossbach, so that the network device may configure a transmission resource according to the relevant information, to ensure that the transmission requirement of different data streams and QoS flows are met (Fu: Paragraphs [0160], [0212], [0213], [0226], [0227]).
The combination of Kim, Rossbach, and Fu does not explicitly teach wherein the assistance information includes a jitter range.
However, Fu2 teaches wherein the assistance information includes a jitter range (Paragraph [0046]: Typically, URLLC/XR needs to support services with requirement of a minimum delay of 0.5 ms and a reliability of 99.999%. The service may be pseudo-cycle, that is, the arrival time of the service jitter, or the service will arrive at any time within a time range instead of a certain time point. Meanwhile, the service cycle may be a non-integer cycle, such as 16.67 ms. In addition, arrival time of different service flows of the same service may vary greatly. Paragraph [0191]: Here, the first information comes from UE (e.g. UE assistance information of UE). Paragraph [0193]: Here, the first information includes at least one of: a service packet transmission cycle, a service packet arrival time, an earliest service packet arrival time, a latest service packet arrival time, a jitter of the service packet, a jitter range of the service packet, a service arrival time or a service arrival time pattern.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the assistance information includes a jitter range, as taught by Fu2 in the combined system of Kim, Rossbach, and Fu, in order to obtain information to support services with requirements of a minimum delay (Fu2: Paragraphs: [0046], [0191] – [0193]).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Kim and Rossbach teaches the UE of claim 30 (see rejection for claim 30);
The combination of Kim and Rossbach does not explicitly teach wherein the assistance information includes at least one of a burst arrival time average, a burst period average, a jitter range, and a quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI) for uplink traffic of a QoS flow.
However, Fu teaches wherein the assistance information includes at least one of a burst arrival time average, a burst period average, and a quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI) for uplink traffic of a QoS flow (see rejection for claim 22);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the assistance information includes at least one of a burst arrival time average, a burst period average, and a quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI) for uplink traffic of a QoS flow, as taught by Fu in the combined system of Kim and Rossbach, so that the network device may configure a transmission resource according to the relevant information, to ensure that the transmission requirement of different data streams and QoS flows are met (Fu: Paragraphs [0160], [0212], [0213], [0226], [0227]).
The combination of Kim, Rossbach, and Fu does not explicitly teach wherein the assistance information includes a jitter range.
However, Fu2 teaches wherein the assistance information includes a jitter range (see rejection for claim 22);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the assistance information includes a jitter range, as taught by Fu2 in the combined system of Kim, Rossbach, and Fu, in order to obtain information to support services with requirements of a minimum delay (Fu2: Paragraphs: [0046], [0191] – [0193]).
Claims 23, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2022/0232605A1) in view of Rossbach et al. (US2023/0164081A1), and further in view of Fu et al. (US2024/0244476A1), Fu et al. (US2024/0215107A1) hereinafter Fu2, and Li et al. (US2020/0374741A1).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Kim, Rossbach, Fu, and Fu2 teaches the method of claim 22 (see rejection for claim 22);
The combination of Kim, Rossbach, Fu, and Fu2 does not explicitly teach wherein the jitter range is set as a maximum deviation for the burst period average and the burst arrival time average.
However, Li teaches wherein the jitter range is set as a maximum deviation for the burst period average and the burst arrival time average (Paragraph [0098]: In a 5th generation (5G) communications network, an application scenario of Ultra-Reliable Low-Latency Communications (URLLC) is proposed. FIG. 1A is a schematic diagram of a feature of a conventional best effort service data packet. Compared with the conventional best effort service, in the application scenario of the URLLC, an end-to-end latency and jitter of a service may be required to have strict boundaries. A service satisfying this requirement is referred to as a deterministic service. FIG. 1B is a schematic diagram of a feature of a deterministic service data packet. FIG. 1B shows that three features, namely, buffer allocation, an end-to-end latency, and an end-to-end latency variation value, of the deterministic service data packet each have a bounded boundary. Paragraph [0136]: For example, if the transmit frequency of the data packet is 10/ms (that is, 10 data packets are sent every 1 ms), and the size of the data packet is 40 bytes, a value of the transmit time-slot is 1 ms (that is, 1 ms needs to be spent on sending one data packet). Because a retransmission latency needs to be considered, a maximum latency is 1+1+1=3 ms. Therefore, a value range of the latency parameter is 1 ms to 3 ms. A minimum time interval of a transmit time-slot of the communications apparatus is 0.025 ms. Because a transmit frequency of a service flow is 10/ms, a maximum time interval of a transmit time-slot reserved for the service flow is 0.1 ms. Therefore, a value range of the jitter parameter is 25 μs to 100 μs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the jitter range is set as a maximum deviation for the burst period average and the burst arrival time average, as taught by Li in the combined system of Kim, Rossbach, Fu, and Fu2, since in URLLC application scenarios, an end-to-end latency and jitter of a service is required to have strict boundaries (Li: Paragraphs [0098], [0136]).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Kim, Rossbach, Fu, and Fu2 teaches the UE of claim 31 (see rejection for claim 31);
The combination of Kim, Rossbach, Fu, and Fu2 does not explicitly teach wherein the jitter range is set as a maximum deviation for the burst period average and the burst arrival time average.
However, Li teaches wherein the jitter range is set as a maximum deviation for the burst period average and the burst arrival time average (see rejection for claim 23);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the jitter range is set as a maximum deviation for the burst period average and the burst arrival time average, as taught by Li in the combined system of Kim, Rossbach, Fu, and Fu2, since in URLLC application scenarios, an end-to-end latency and jitter of a service is required to have strict boundaries (Li: Paragraphs [0098], [0136]).
Claims 24, 25, 33, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2022/0232605A1) in view of Rossbach et al. (US2023/0164081A1), and further in view of He et al. (US2025/0016684A1).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Kim and Rossbach teaches the method of claim 21 (see rejection for claim 21);
The combination of Kim and Rossbach does not explicitly teach wherein the higher layer signaling includes a prohibit timer for the UE assistance information.
However, He teaches wherein the higher layer signaling includes a prohibit timer for the UE assistance information (Paragraph [0086]: Additionally or alternatively, the UE 115 h may transmit UE assistance information to the BS 105 e to assist the BS 105 e in scheduling the communication periodicity and/or communication duration. In this regard, the UE 115 h may transmit the UE assistance information via an RRC message. In some aspects, the UE 115 h may transmit the UE assistance information when the UE assistance information prohibit timer is not running. The UE assistance information prohibit timer may be a timer that indicates when the UE 115 h may transmit the UE assistance information. In some aspects, the BS 105 e may transmit an indicator to the UE 115 h that configures the UE assistance information prohibit timer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the higher layer signaling includes a prohibit timer for the UE assistance information, as taught by He in the combined system of Kim and Rossbach, so that the UE may transmit information during a communication opportunity, the UE may refrain from transmitting the UE assistance information to the base station when the UE assistance information prohibit timer is running (He: Paragraphs [0024], [0026], [0042], [0086], [0087]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Kim, Rossbach, and He teaches the method of claim 24 (see rejection for claim 24);
Kim further teaches wherein the UE assistance information is transmitted when the UE assistance information is not transmitted since the UE assistance information is configured to be transmitted (Paragraph [0145]: The communications manager 1320 may support wireless communication at a base station in accordance with examples as disclosed herein. The XR traffic manager 1325 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving, from a UE responsive to an initiation of a traffic session at the UE, uplink scheduling information that indicates one or more scheduling parameters associated with a pattern of uplink wireless resources for uplink data that is to be transmitted from the UE to the base station during the traffic session. The scheduling manager 1330 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for communicating with the UE to receive or transmit data associated with the traffic session based at least in part on the uplink scheduling information. In some examples, the uplink scheduling information includes one or more of a UE assistance information (UAI) communication that indicates parameters for the pattern of uplink resources.)
The combination of Kim and Rossbach does not explicitly teach wherein the UE assistance information is transmitted when the UE assistance information is changed and the prohibit timer is in a non-operating state after a last transmission of the UE assistance information.
However, He teaches wherein the UE assistance information is transmitted when the UE assistance information is changed and the prohibit timer is in a non-operating state after a last transmission of the UE assistance information (Paragraph [0086]: Additionally or alternatively, the UE 115 h may transmit UE assistance information to the BS 105 e to assist the BS 105 e in scheduling the communication periodicity and/or communication duration. In this regard, the UE 115 h may transmit the UE assistance information via an RRC message, UCI, an UL MAC CE, or other suitable communication. In some aspects, the UE 115 h may transmit the UE assistance information when the UE assistance information prohibit timer is not running. The UE assistance information prohibit timer may be a timer that indicates when the UE 115 h may transmit the UE assistance information. In some aspects, the BS 105 e may transmit an indicator to the UE 115 h that configures the UE assistance information prohibit timer. The BS 105 e may transmit an indicator to the UE 115 h that indicates when the UE assistance information prohibit timer shall start (e.g., timer running) and stop (e.g., timer not running). The UE 115 h may refrain from transmitting the UE assistance information to the BS 105 e when the UE assistance information prohibit timer is running.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the UE assistance information is transmitted when the UE assistance information is changed and the prohibit timer is in a non-operating state after a last transmission of the UE assistance information, as taught by He in the combined system of Kim and Rossbach, so that the UE may transmit information during a communication opportunity, the UE may refrain from transmitting the UE assistance information to the base station when the UE assistance information prohibit timer is running (He: Paragraphs [0024], [0026], [0042], [0086], [0087]).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Kim and Rossbach teaches the UE of claim 30 (see rejection for claim 30);
The combination of Kim and Rossbach does not explicitly teach wherein the higher layer signaling includes a prohibit timer for the UE assistance information.
However, He teaches wherein the higher layer signaling includes a prohibit timer for the UE assistance information (see rejection for claim 24);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the higher layer signaling includes a prohibit timer for the UE assistance information, as taught by He in the combined system of Kim and Rossbach, so that the UE may transmit information during a communication opportunity, the UE may refrain from transmitting the UE assistance information to the base station when the UE assistance information prohibit timer is running (He: Paragraphs [0024], [0026], [0042], [0086], [0087]).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Kim, Rossbach, and He teaches the UE of claim 33 (see rejection for claim 33);
Kim further teaches wherein the UE assistance information is transmitted when the UE
assistance information is not transmitted since the UE assistance information is configured to be transmitted (see rejection for claim 25);
The combination of Kim and Rossbach does not explicitly teach wherein the UE assistance information is transmitted when the UE assistance information is changed and the prohibit timer is in a non-operating state after a last transmission of the UE assistance information.
However, He teaches wherein the UE assistance information is transmitted when the UE assistance information is changed and the prohibit timer is in a non-operating state after a last transmission of the UE assistance information (see rejection for claim 25);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the UE assistance information is transmitted when the UE assistance information is changed and the prohibit timer is in a non-operating state after a last transmission of the UE assistance information, as taught by He in the combined system of Kim and Rossbach, so that the UE may transmit information during a communication opportunity, the UE may refrain from transmitting the UE assistance information to the base station when the UE assistance information prohibit timer is running (He: Paragraphs [0024], [0026], [0042], [0086], [0087]).
Claims 35, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2022/0232605A1) in view of Rossbach et al. (US2023/0164081A1), and further in view of Fu et al. (US2024/0215107A1) hereinafter Fu2.
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Kim and Rossbach teaches the UE of claim 30 (see rejection for claim 30);
The combination of Kim and Rossbach does not explicitly teach wherein the higher layer signaling includes a DRX configuration supporting a non-integer value.
However, Fu2 teaches wherein the higher layer signaling includes a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration supporting a non-integer value (Paragraph [0107]: Compared with the existing DRX configuration, in the extended DRX configuration, the values of parameters may be non-integer values and the range of values of parameters is extended. Paragraph [0139]: The first configuration information is used to indicate one DRX configuration. A value of at least one parameter in the one DRX configuration is a non-integer numerical value. Paragraph [0259]: In the above scheme, the values of parameters in DRX configuration are adapted to specific services and meet the requirements of non-integer multiple cycles of specific services. Here, a specific service may be, but is not limited to, a service of URLLC/XR type. Paragraph [0323]: In some optional implementations, the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of: one DRX configuration index or one configuration type identification, the configuration type identification being used to indicate whether a DRX configuration is a common DRX configuration or a regular DRX configuration or a default DRX configuration or an extended DRX configuration. Paragraph [0324]: In some optional implementations, the first indication information is carried in at least one of the following signalings: an RRC signaling, an MAC CE or downlink control information (DCI).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the higher layer signaling includes a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration supporting a non-integer value, as taught by Fu2 in the combined system of Kim and Rossbach, so that the values of parameters in DRX configuration are adapted to specific services and meet the requirements of non-integer multiple cycles of specific services, such as a service of URLLC/XR type (Fu2: Paragraphs [0107], [0139], [0259], [0323], [0324]).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Kim and Rossbach teaches the method of claim 21 (see rejection for claim 21);
The combination of Kim and Rossbach does not explicitly teach wherein the higher layer signaling includes a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration supporting a non-integer value.
However, Fu2 teaches wherein the higher layer signaling includes a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration supporting a non-integer value (Paragraph [0107]: Compared with the existing DRX configuration, in the extended DRX configuration, the values of parameters may be non-integer values and the range of values of parameters is extended. Paragraph [0139]: The first configuration information is used to indicate one DRX configuration. A value of at least one parameter in the one DRX configuration is a non-integer numerical value. Paragraph [0259]: In the above scheme, the values of parameters in DRX configuration are adapted to specific services and meet the requirements of non-integer multiple cycles of specific services. Here, a specific service may be, but is not limited to, a service of URLLC/XR type. Paragraph [0323]: In some optional implementations, the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of: one DRX configuration index or one configuration type identification, the configuration type identification being used to indicate whether a DRX configuration is a common DRX configuration or a regular DRX configuration or a default DRX configuration or an extended DRX configuration. Paragraph [0324]: In some optional implementations, the first indication information is carried in at least one of the following signalings: an RRC signaling, an MAC CE or downlink control information (DCI).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the higher layer signaling includes a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration supporting a non-integer value, as taught by Fu2 in the combined system of Kim and Rossbach, so that the values of parameters in DRX configuration are adapted to specific services and meet the requirements of non-integer multiple cycles of specific services, such as a service of URLLC/XR type (Fu2: Paragraphs [0107], [0139], [0259], [0323], [0324]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2022/0232605A1) in view of Fu et al. (US2024/0244476A1) and Rossbach et al. (US2023/0164081A1).
Regarding claim 26, Kim teaches a method for controlling data traffic by a base station, the method comprising: configuring a radio resource for a UE (Paragraph [0097]: At 605, the base station 105-b and the UE 115-b may initiate an XR session. In some cases, the XR session may be initiated based on the UE 115-b entering into communications to exchange XR traffic with an XR server via communications through the base station 105-b. At 610, the UE 115-b may obtain uplink traffic information. In some cases, the uplink traffic information may be based on pose/control information and periodicity for an XR traffic flow. Paragraph [0098]: At 620, the base station 105-b may determine a scheduling configuration for the UE 115-b. The scheduling configuration may include a set of periodic uplink grants and a set of periodic downlink grants. Optionally, at 625, the base station 105-b may transmit a RRC message for random access. At 630, the base station 105-b may allocate uplink grant resources to the UE 115-b.)
Kim does not explicitly teach configuring a radio resource for a UE using information received from the core network control plane node; receiving, from a core network control plane node, one or more pieces of information including assistance information for an application traffic characteristic and a packet data unit (PDU)-Set Quality of service (QoS) parameter; and receiving PDU-Set information from a core network user plane node.
However, Fu teaches configuring a radio resource for a UE using information received from the core network control plane node; receiving, from a core network control plane node, one or more pieces of information including assistance information for an application traffic characteristic and a packet data unit (PDU)-Set Quality of service (QoS) parameter (Paragraph [0346]: a) Optionally, the PCF entity informs the SMF entity of the information related to the first type of frame, such as carrying the information related to the first type of frame in the PCC rule. The information related to the first type of frame includes at least one of the following: a transmission direction (UL/DL), an arrival time of the first type of frame, an deviation of the arrival time of the first type of frame, a cycle of the first type of frame, a size of the first type of frame or Internet protocol (IP) 5-tuple information of different types of frames. Paragraph [0349]: At S22, the SMF entity determines an appropriate QoS flow for the received PCC rule according to the PCC rule and other information (such as UE subscription information), so as to transmit the service data stream corresponding to the PCC rule. Paragraph [0351]: At S23, the SMF entity transmits the QoS flow configuration to the base station. Paragraph [0352]: At S24, the base station performs the corresponding wireless side resource configuration based on the QoS configuration. Specifically, the base station performs the same or different scheduling and resource allocation processes for different types of frames in one QoS flow. Paragraph [0354]: a) for the DL, the base station determines the type of frame through the frame header and/or the CP signaling.)
and receiving PDU-Set information from a core network user plane node (Paragraph [0357]: The UPF entity transmits the frame whose frame header marked with special identification to the base station. (The special identification is a specific value, which is used to distinguish different frames, and the value is located in a certain domain of the frame header, such as the frame domain)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide configuring a radio resource for a UE using information received from the core network control plane node; receiving, from a core network control plane node, one or more pieces of information including assistance information for an application traffic characteristic and a packet data unit (PDU)-Set Quality of service (QoS) parameter, as taught by Fu in the system of Kim, so that the base station can configure resources for the UE based on the information received from the control plane node (Fu: Paragraphs [0346], [0349], [0351], [0352], [0354], [0357]).
The combination of Kim and Fu does not explicitly teach PDU-Set information from a core network user plane node.
However, Rossbach teaches PDU-Set information from a core network user plane node (Paragraph [0135]: The operation flow/algorithmic structure 800 may be performed by a network node such as, for example, UPF 112, or network node 1200. Paragraph [0138]: The operation flow/algorithmic structure 800 may further include, at 812, determining information about an ADU that includes a set of packets. In some embodiments, the information determined at 812 may indicate a frame/slice type of the ADU. In other embodiments, the information determined at 812 may indicate that the set of packets are within the ADU. This may be accomplished by providing a start/end marker in a first/last packet of the ADU or a PNU value in one or more of the packets. In some embodiments, the indication that the set of packets are within the ADU may be based on, the set having a common timestamps and payload type. Examiner’s note: As per paragraph [0104] of the specification, ADU is equivalent to PDU-set.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide PDU-Set information from a core network user plane node, as taught by Rossbach in the combined system of Kim and Fu, so that information about the packet data unit can be received (Rossbach: Paragraphs [0135], [0138]).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2022/0232605A1) in view of Fu et al. (US2024/0244476A1), Rossbach et al. (US2023/0164081A1), and further in view of Fu et al. (US2024/0215107A1) hereinafter Fu2.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Kim, Fu, and Rossbach teaches the method of claim 26 (see rejection for claim 26);
The combination of Kim, Fu, and Rossbach does not explicitly teach wherein the assistance information for the application traffic characteristic includes at least one of i) period information for uplink or downlink traffic of a QoS flow and ii) jitter range information associated with the period information.
However, Fu2 teaches wherein the assistance information for the application traffic characteristic includes jitter range information associated with the period information (Paragraph [0191]: Here, the first information comes from …. a core network or an application layer (e.g. an application server). Paragraph [0193]: Here, the first information includes at least one of: a service packet transmission cycle, a service packet arrival time, an earliest service packet arrival time, a latest service packet arrival time, a jitter of the service packet, a jitter range of the service packet, a service arrival time or a service arrival time pattern.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the assistance information for the application traffic characteristic includes jitter range information associated with the period information, as taught by Fu2 in the combined system of Kim, Fu, and Rossbach, in order to obtain information to support services with requirements of a minimum delay (Fu2: Paragraphs: [0046], [0191] – [0193]).
Claims 28, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2022/0232605A1) in view of Fu et al. (US2024/0244476A1), Rossbach et al. (US2023/0164081A1), and further in view of Mathew et al. (US2024/0348517A1).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Kim, Fu, and Rossbach teaches the method of claim 26 (see rejection for claim 26);
The combination of Kim, Fu, and Rossbach does not explicitly teach wherein the PDU-Set information, together with a QoS flow identifier (QFI), is included in a general packet radio service (GPRS) tunnelling protocol user plane (GTP-U) header.
However, Mathew teaches wherein the PDU-Set information, together with a QoS flow identifier (QFI), is included in a general packet radio service (GPRS) tunnelling protocol user plane (GTP-U) header (Paragraph [0073]: Classification of application packets and frames may take the approach of using a function to classify packets and frames within a flow in the 3GPP network. The classification mark is then used throughout the path (e.g., encapsulated in GTP extension) to avoid re-classification and still provide the ability for differentiated packet/frame based QoS handling during high congestion. Paragraph [0120]: For QoS classification aspects, a group of packets that form a frame or a burst, referred to as a “PDU set,”. In some documents, “frame,” “media unit,” and “application data unit” have similar meanings. A PDU set refers to a burst of packets within that flow that should have the same QoS handling criteria. Paragraph [0131]: In FIG. 12 operation 1205, the UPF encodes the importance and packets of the PDU sequence mark in the GTP user plane (GTP-U) extension header.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the PDU-Set information, together with a QoS flow identifier (QFI), is included in a general packet radio service (GPRS) tunnelling protocol user plane (GTP-U) header, as taught by Mathew in the combined system of Kim, Fu, and Rossbach, in order to provide the ability for differentiated packet/frame based QoS handling during high congestion (Mathew: Paragraphs [0073], [0120], [0131]).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Kim, Fu, and Rossbach teaches the method of claim 26 (see rejection for claim 26);
The combination of Kim, Fu, and Rossbach does not explicitly teach wherein the PDU-set information includes at least one piece of information including a PDU-Set sequence number, a PDU-Set end PDU, and a PDU-Set importance.
However, Mathew teaches wherein the PDU-set information includes at least one piece of information including a PDU-Set sequence number, a PDU-Set end PDU, and a PDU-Set importance (Paragraph [0124]: The media payload with the NAL header may be transported by real-time transport protocol (RTP) or secure real-time transport protocol (SRTP). The RTP header contains sequence number, timestamp, and M bit that are used to identify packets that belong to a PDU set. Payload information in NAL unit (NRI and Type) or experimental RTP extended header provides information on the type of payload data and is used to determine the importance of the packet. For RTP transport with unencrypted header and payload, the payload header/NAL unit information can be used. SRTP transport where the payload is encrypted must rely on the extended header if available or on the application using different IP header fields (IPv6 flow labels, DSCPs, sending ports) that correspond to the level of importance of the encoded media. Paragraph [0133]: FIG. 13 illustrates the identification of the start and end of a PDU set, according to some embodiments. The first packet of a PDU set has an RTP header with new timestamp, a new Type field in NAL unit header and follows the sequence number of the packet with the RTP header M-bit set to 1 (i.e., sequence number is 1 greater than the packet with M-bit set to 1). Detection of the first packet may need a combination of fields since timestamp may not be incremented for enhanced layers (PDU set). If an RTP experimental extension header is present, the S-bit is set to 1. These fields can be used to identify the start of a PDU set.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the PDU-set information includes at least one piece of information including a PDU-Set sequence number, a PDU-Set end PDU, and a PDU-Set importance, as taught by Mathew in the combined system of Kim, Fu, and Rossbach, so that packet forwarding and congestion can be handled more efficiently if the importance of the packets of a PDU set are marked accordingly (Mathew: Paragraphs [0122], [0124], [0133]).
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461