CTNF 18/833,743 CTNF 79672 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims The following is a non-final, first action on the merits, in response to application filed July 26, 2024. The preliminary amended claims 1-10, are currently pending. Priority Certified copy of priority document JP 2022-018775, dated February 09, 2022, is acknowledged which papers have been placed of record in the file. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 7/26/2024, 7/29/2024, 1/22/2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-10 , is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Manolakos et al (hereinafter Manolakos) (WO 2021/029934, IDS reference) . Regarding claim 1, Manolakos discloses a communication system to which a fifth-generation wireless access system is applied, the communication system comprising: a network-side device equipped with a location management function of the fifth- generation wireless access system (the 5G standard, also referred to as New Radio or (NR) para. 0004, the location server NR positioning para. 0113; and a base station (serving base station (para. 0113)), wherein in a case where a positioning request for a communication terminal connected to the base station occurs, the base station to which a positioning target terminal that is a communication terminal to be subjected to positioning is connected notifies the network-side device of information related to a timing at which the positioning target terminal is able to receive a positioning signal ( a location server includes means for receiving, from ….. a base station serving the UE, a configuration of the DRX mode, and ….. a PRS configuration to use for transmission of PRS to the UE (para. 0011). The serving base station …. can inform the location server, e.g., location server 230, LMF 270, of the assigned DRX configuration. The serving base station can inform the location server using NR positioning protocol type A (NRPPa) ….. the assigned DRX configuration would be communicated to the location server in a new information element (IE) ) (para 00113), and the network-side device determines setting contents related to a transmission/reception timing of a positioning signal based on the information provided from the base station, and notifies the base station that transmits the positioning signal and the positioning target terminal of the setting contents determined ( If the location server is made aware of the DRX configuration, it can configure the UE according to various options. As a first option, the location server can configure the UE to measure PRS resources independent of the DRX configuration, or to meet the positioning performance request independent of the DRX configuration (para. 00114). As a second option, the location server can configure the UE to measure a selection of the PRS resources according to the DRX configuration (and up to UE implementation), or to meet a different set of, perhaps more relaxed, positioning performance criteria based on the amount of overlap of the DRX active times with the PRS resources (para. 00114). If the location server is part of the RAN, it can configure the serving and neighboring base stations/cells of the UE to transmit their PRS occasions based on the UE's DRX configuration (a single UE for unicast PRS, or a group of UEs for multicast/broadcast PRS). In an aspect, this may be accomplished over additional NRPPa signaling between the location server and the base station(s) (para. 00117). With reference to para. 0011, is understood to include a positioning request for the terminal connected to the base station because a location server is performing steps to configure the transmission of PRS to said terminal ) . Regarding claim 2 Manolakos discloses a communication system to which a fifth-generation wireless access system is applied, the communication system comprising: a network-side device equipped with a location management function of the fifth- generation wireless access system (the 5G standard, also referred to as New Radio or (NR) para. 0004, the location server NR positioning para. 0113; and a base station (serving base station (para. 0113)), wherein in a case where a positioning request for a communication terminal connected to the base station occurs, a positioning target terminal that is a communication terminal to be subjected to positioning notifies the network-side device of information related to a timing at which the positioning target terminal is able to receive a positioning signal ( a location server includes means for receiving, from a UE operating in a DRX mode or a base station serving the UE, a configuration of the DRX mode, and …. a PRS configuration to use for transmission of PRS to the UE (para. 0011). the UE can inform the location server (e.g., location server 230, LMF 270) of the assigned DRX configuration. The serving base station can inform the location server using NR positioning protocol type A (NRPPa), ….The assigned DRX configuration would be communicated to the location server in a new information element (IE) (para. 00113) ) , the network-side device determines setting contents related to a transmission/reception timing of a positioning signal based on the information provided from the base station, and notifies the base station that transmits the positioning signal and the positioning target terminal of the setting contents determined ( If the location server is made aware of the DRX configuration, it can configure the UE according to various options. As a first option, the location server can configure the UE to measure PRS resources independent of the DRX configuration, or to meet the positioning performance request independent of the DRX configuration (para. 00114). As a second option, the location server can configure the UE to measure a selection of the PRS resources according to the DRX configuration (and up to UE implementation), or to meet a different set of, perhaps more relaxed, positioning performance criteria based on the amount of overlap of the DRX active times with the PRS resources (para. 00114). If the location server is part of the RAN, it can configure the serving and neighboring base stations/cells of the UE to transmit their PRS occasions based on the UE's DRX configuration (a single UE for unicast PRS, or a group of UEs for multicast/broadcast PRS). In an aspect, this may be accomplished over additional NRPPa signaling between the location server and the base station(s) (para. 00117). With reference to para. 0011, is understood to include a positioning request for the terminal connected to the base station because a location server is performing steps to configure the transmission of PRS to said terminal ). Regarding claims 3, 7, Manolakos discloses wherein in a case where the location management function does not grasp a base station that covers a communication terminal that is a target of the positioning request at a time that the positioning request occurs, an access and mobility management function of the fifth-generation wireless access system notifies the location management function of information related to a base station that covers a communication terminal that is a target of the positioning request that has occurred (the serving base station can inform the location server using NR positioning protocol type A (NRPPa), and/or the UE can inform the location serving using LPP (or the corresponding NR protocol)) (paras. 00113, 00117). Regarding claims 5, 9, Manolakos discloses wherein the network-side device acquires information related to capability possessed by the positioning target terminal, and determines the setting contents based on the information acquired and information related to a timing at which the positioning target terminal is able to receive a positioning signal (paras. 0006, 0097, 0098) . Regarding claims 6, 10, Manolakos discloses wherein the setting contents include information related to a beam that the positioning target terminal is able to receive (each of the different PRS resources, e.g., PRS1 to PRS4, may be transmitted on different downlink transmit beams) (para. 00120) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4, 8, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI whose telephone number is (571) 272-3014. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30am to 4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chieh Fan can be reached at 571 272 3042. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632. Application/Control Number: 18/833,743 Page 2 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/833,743 Page 3 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/833,743 Page 4 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/833,743 Page 5 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/833,743 Page 6 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/833,743 Page 7 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/833,743 Page 8 Art Unit: 2632