DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 9, 10, 15, and 22-38 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 08/17/2026, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Objections
Claims 25-27, 35, and 36 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 25 recites ‘The’; however, it should recite - - the - -.
Claims 26, 27, 35, and 36 recite ‘the information about the first application widget’; however, it should recite - - information about the first application widget - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a first electronic device is configured to and a second electronic device is configured to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 10, 15, and 22-38 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 15, 22, and 31, the claims recite “the second electronic device to which the first application widget belongs”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited second electronic device. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: a third electronic device to which the first application widget belongs
Regarding claims 9-10, 23-30, and 32-38, claims 9-10, 23-30, and 32-38 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for depending on an indefinite parent claim.
Regarding claims 28 and 37, the claims recite “the updated second content of the first application widget”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited updated second content from the second electronic device. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: updated third content of the first application widget
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 10, 15, and 22-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20090307679 A1, published 12/10/2009), hereinafter Lee, in view of Connors et al. (US 20100138316 A1, published 06/03/2010), hereinafter Connors..
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches the claim comprising:
A communication system, wherein the communication system comprises a first electronic device and a second electronic device, wherein the second electronic device is configured to send application widget information to the first electronic device, wherein the application widget information comprises information about one or more application widgets in the second electronic device, the one or more application widgets comprise a first application widget of a first application installed in the second electronic device, and the first application is not installed in the first electronic device; the first electronic device is configured to receive the application widget information; and the first application widget is an application widget of the second electronic device (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0010], said at least one original widget program respectively corresponding to at least one application program controlling a respective function of the mobile terminal; [0033], FIG. 1 is an overview illustrating a mobile terminal 1 and a host device 2 according to a first embodiment of the present application. The host device 2 in this example is a laptop computer. However, the host device 2 can be a desktop computer or other type of computer. As shown in FIG. 1, the mobile terminal 1 and the host device 2 can be connected through a USB cable 3. Thus, the mobile terminal 1 and the host device 2 communicate with each other using the USB communication standard in this example. However, as discussed above, the mobile terminal and the host device 2 can be connected via the Bluetooth communication standard, IEEE 1394 standard, etc; [0034], in FIG. 1, the mobile terminal 1 is executing or running four widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the display 4 that the user has selected. In addition, as shown, the host device displays the same corresponding widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on a display 5. In the following description, the widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the mobile terminal 1 are referred to as "original widgets" and the widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on the host device 2 are referred to as "copy widgets". Also, the host device 2 can display the copy widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d in the same or different configuration as the original widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d; [0037], As shown, when the mobile terminal 1 and the host device 2 are connected (S12), the mobile terminal 1 and the host device 2 perform a process for recognizing each other (S14); [0040], in step S30, the user can select one or more of the displayed copied widgets. When the user selects a specific widget or widgets, the host device 2 requests that the mobile terminal 1 transmit widget information associated with the selected widget such as a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 1 (S42); [0051], When the enumeration process has been completed, the host device 7 confirms the mode of the mobile terminal 6 as the "CDROM mode" and the mobile terminal 6 and host device 7 are able communicate data with each other (S60). Then, the mobile terminal 6 transmits an auto-run program (S72), a widget install program, and a USB mode change program to the host device 7 (S74); [0056], the host device 7 generates copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 6 and displays the copy widgets (S80); [0057], Then, the host device 7 requests that the mobile terminal 6 transmits widget information associated with the selected widget (e.g., a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 6) (S94); [0105], the mobile terminal transmits an account list for performing the phone banking function to the host device. This process is performed by a remotely activated phone banking widget in the mobile terminal; claim 2, the auto-run program includes a widget install program configured to install the at least one copy widget program on the personal computer);
and the first electronic device is further configured to display the first application and the first application widget that are related (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0034], in FIG. 1, the mobile terminal 1 is executing or running four widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the display 4 that the user has selected. In addition, as shown, the host device displays the same corresponding widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on a display 5. In the following description, the widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the mobile terminal 1 are referred to as "original widgets" and the widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on the host device 2 are referred to as "copy widgets". Also, the host device 2 can display the copy widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d in the same or different configuration as the original widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d; [0040], as shown in FIG. 2, the host device 2 generates and displays the copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 1 (S30). Also, in step S30, the user can select one or more of the displayed copied widgets. When the user selects a specific widget or widgets, the host device 2 requests that the mobile terminal 1 transmit widget information associated with the selected widget such as a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 1 (S42); [0041], The mobile terminal 1 then transmits the corresponding widget program and data stored in the mobile terminal to the host device 2 (S44). The host device 2 can display and execute the selected widget on the screen of the display 5 of the host device 2 based on the data received from the mobile terminal 1; [0056], the host device 7 generates copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 6 and displays the copy widgets (S80). The user can also select one or more of the displayed copy widgets. When the user selects a specific widget, the host device 7 remotely changes the USB mode of the mobile terminal 6 (S92); [0057], Then, the host device 7 requests that the mobile terminal 6 transmits widget information associated with the selected widget (e.g., a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 6) (S94); [0059], Thereafter, the mobile terminal 6 transmits the widget program and widget data requested by the host device 7; [0060], Then, after step S90, the host device 7 receives the widget program and widget data associated with the selected widget from the mobile terminal 6 and generates and displays copy widgets; [0103], the step S230 includes processes for transmitting information of a phone banking widget stored in the mobile terminal to the host device and generating and displaying copy widgets of the phone banking widget based on the information of the phone banking widget at the host device; [0105], the mobile terminal transmits an account list for performing the phone banking function to the host device. This process is performed by a remotely activated phone banking widget in the mobile terminal; [0106], the mobile terminal performs account inquiry using the phone banking widget and transmits the inquired account content to the host device; [0107], the mobile terminal performs a transfer using the phone banking widget and transmits the transfer result to the host device (S362))
However, Lee fails to expressly disclose the first electronic device is configured to detect an operation of searching for a keyword by a user; and the first electronic device is further configured to display the first application and the first application widget that are related to the keyword, and an identifier of the second electronic device to which the first application widget belongs, in response to the operation of searching for the keyword. In the same field of endeavor, Connors teaches:
the first electronic device is configured to detect an operation of searching for a keyword by a user; and the first electronic device is further configured to display the first application and the first application widget that are related to the keyword, and an identifier of the second electronic device to which the first application widget belongs, in response to the operation of searching for the keyword (Connors Figs. 1-16; [0047], The platform provider's server 106 runs applications that provide three main services: account aggregation, presentation of financial information, and a gadget platform; [0057], Generally speaking, a gadget is a computer program, run on the platform provider's server 106 as shown in FIG. 2 (or the financial institution's server 102 as discussed in the implementation as shown in FIG. 10), for example a portlet or a servlet. In various implementations, gadgets generate content for presentation on a user's computer 104; [0158], FIG. 7 illustrates a gadget store run by the platform provider and accessible to the user through the platform provider's web page. The store allows users to purchase different gadgets; [0159], each gadget is listed with an identifying name 701 along with a brief description 703, name of the developer 705 and optional co-branding 707; [0160], A user can change the gadgets shown or the sorting order of the gadgets in the list through the options at the left of the screen. A user can enter search terms in the box 711, see the most popular gadgets (or sort by popularity) by clicking on the link 713, view new gadgets (or sort by date of the gadget) by clicking on the link 715, see all gadgets (e.g., sort by name alphabetically) by clicking on the link 717, or view gadgets by categories using the links 719)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the first electronic device is configured to detect an operation of searching for a keyword by a user; and the first electronic device is further configured to display the first application and the first application widget that are related to the keyword, and an identifier of the second electronic device to which the first application widget belongs, in response to the operation of searching for the keyword as suggested in Connors into Lee. Doing so would be desirable because by selecting gadgets with desired functionality, the user can customize his or her experience. The user can feel comfortable using gadgets with access to his or her financial information because each gadget is certified by the platform provider (see Connors [0065]). The system also allows the platform provider and financial institution to make more options available to the user. Platform providers and financial institutions sometimes have access to the financial information of users but do not have the resources to create computer program applications to provide all of the functionality a user would desire. Furthermore, even if they did have those resources, not all applications will appeal to all users. Different users have different needs they would like to have met by the online finance world. For example, some users want advanced tools to help them monitor their retirement accounts. Other users are looking for easy-to-use tools to help them stay within a budget. The combination of developer-created and user-selected gadgets means that users can be offered more options in a customized environment (see Connors [0065]). The system of Connors would improve the system of Lee by providing the user with flexible search capabilities, such as a keyword search (see Connors [0160]), to simplify the process of selecting a desired widget when a large number of widgets are available, thereby increasing ease of use.
Regarding claim 31, Lee teaches the claim comprising:
A first electronic device, wherein the first electronic device comprises one or more processors and one or more memories, wherein the one or more memories are coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more memories are configured to store computer program code, the computer program code comprises computer instructions, and when the one or more processors execute the computer instructions, the first electronic device is enabled to perform the following steps (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0073], as shown in FIG. 9, the host device 20 includes a USB module 22, a processor 24 and a memory 28. The USB module 22 performs data communication with the mobile terminal 10 connected to the host device 20. Further, the processor 24 processes data received from the mobile terminal 10 and controls the overall operations of the host device 20. In addition, the memory 28 temporarily or permanently stores relevant programs and data; [0076] Next, FIG. 10 is a block diagram of a mobile terminal 100 according to a third embodiment of the present application. Further, the mobile terminal 100 may be a mobile phone, a smart phone, a notebook computer, a receiver for digital broadcasting data, a Personal Digital Assistant (PDA), a Portable Multimedia Player (PMP), a navigator, etc; [0092], the storage medium 160 can store a program for processing and controlling the functions of the controller 180; [0093], the controller 180 includes a control module 184 for controlling the overall operations of the mobile terminal 100):
receiving, by the first electronic device, application widget information from a second electronic device, wherein the application widget information comprises information about one or more application widgets in the second electronic device, the one or more application widgets comprise a first application widget of a first application installed in the second electronic device, and the first application is not installed in the first electronic device (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0010], said at least one original widget program respectively corresponding to at least one application program controlling a respective function of the mobile terminal; [0033], FIG. 1 is an overview illustrating a mobile terminal 1 and a host device 2 according to a first embodiment of the present application. The host device 2 in this example is a laptop computer. However, the host device 2 can be a desktop computer or other type of computer. As shown in FIG. 1, the mobile terminal 1 and the host device 2 can be connected through a USB cable 3. Thus, the mobile terminal 1 and the host device 2 communicate with each other using the USB communication standard in this example. However, as discussed above, the mobile terminal and the host device 2 can be connected via the Bluetooth communication standard, IEEE 1394 standard, etc; [0034], in FIG. 1, the mobile terminal 1 is executing or running four widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the display 4 that the user has selected. In addition, as shown, the host device displays the same corresponding widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on a display 5. In the following description, the widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the mobile terminal 1 are referred to as "original widgets" and the widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on the host device 2 are referred to as "copy widgets". Also, the host device 2 can display the copy widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d in the same or different configuration as the original widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d; [0037], As shown, when the mobile terminal 1 and the host device 2 are connected (S12), the mobile terminal 1 and the host device 2 perform a process for recognizing each other (S14); [0040], in step S30, the user can select one or more of the displayed copied widgets. When the user selects a specific widget or widgets, the host device 2 requests that the mobile terminal 1 transmit widget information associated with the selected widget such as a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 1 (S42); [0051], When the enumeration process has been completed, the host device 7 confirms the mode of the mobile terminal 6 as the "CDROM mode" and the mobile terminal 6 and host device 7 are able communicate data with each other (S60). Then, the mobile terminal 6 transmits an auto-run program (S72), a widget install program, and a USB mode change program to the host device 7 (S74); [0056], the host device 7 generates copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 6 and displays the copy widgets (S80); [0057], Then, the host device 7 requests that the mobile terminal 6 transmits widget information associated with the selected widget (e.g., a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 6) (S94); [0105], the mobile terminal transmits an account list for performing the phone banking function to the host device. This process is performed by a remotely activated phone banking widget in the mobile terminal; claim 2, the auto-run program includes a widget install program configured to install the at least one copy widget program on the personal computer);
and displaying, by the first electronic device, the first application and the first application widget that are related (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0034], in FIG. 1, the mobile terminal 1 is executing or running four widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the display 4 that the user has selected. In addition, as shown, the host device displays the same corresponding widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on a display 5. In the following description, the widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the mobile terminal 1 are referred to as "original widgets" and the widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on the host device 2 are referred to as "copy widgets". Also, the host device 2 can display the copy widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d in the same or different configuration as the original widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d; [0040], as shown in FIG. 2, the host device 2 generates and displays the copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 1 (S30). Also, in step S30, the user can select one or more of the displayed copied widgets. When the user selects a specific widget or widgets, the host device 2 requests that the mobile terminal 1 transmit widget information associated with the selected widget such as a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 1 (S42); [0041], The mobile terminal 1 then transmits the corresponding widget program and data stored in the mobile terminal to the host device 2 (S44). The host device 2 can display and execute the selected widget on the screen of the display 5 of the host device 2 based on the data received from the mobile terminal 1; [0056], the host device 7 generates copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 6 and displays the copy widgets (S80). The user can also select one or more of the displayed copy widgets. When the user selects a specific widget, the host device 7 remotely changes the USB mode of the mobile terminal 6 (S92); [0057], Then, the host device 7 requests that the mobile terminal 6 transmits widget information associated with the selected widget (e.g., a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 6) (S94); [0059], Thereafter, the mobile terminal 6 transmits the widget program and widget data requested by the host device 7; [0060], Then, after step S90, the host device 7 receives the widget program and widget data associated with the selected widget from the mobile terminal 6 and generates and displays copy widgets; [0103], the step S230 includes processes for transmitting information of a phone banking widget stored in the mobile terminal to the host device and generating and displaying copy widgets of the phone banking widget based on the information of the phone banking widget at the host device; [0105], the mobile terminal transmits an account list for performing the phone banking function to the host device. This process is performed by a remotely activated phone banking widget in the mobile terminal; [0106], the mobile terminal performs account inquiry using the phone banking widget and transmits the inquired account content to the host device; [0107], the mobile terminal performs a transfer using the phone banking widget and transmits the transfer result to the host device (S362))
However, Lee fails to expressly disclose detecting, by the first electronic device, an operation of searching for a keyword by a user; and displaying, by the first electronic device, the first application and the first application widget that are related to the keyword, and an identifier of the second electronic device to which the first application widget belongs, in response to the operation of searching for the keyword. In the same field of endeavor, Connors teaches:
detecting, by the first electronic device, an operation of searching for a keyword by a user; and displaying, by the first electronic device, the first application and the first application widget that are related to the keyword, and an identifier of the second electronic device to which the first application widget belongs, in response to the operation of searching for the keyword (Connors Figs. 1-16; [0047], The platform provider's server 106 runs applications that provide three main services: account aggregation, presentation of financial information, and a gadget platform; [0057], Generally speaking, a gadget is a computer program, run on the platform provider's server 106 as shown in FIG. 2 (or the financial institution's server 102 as discussed in the implementation as shown in FIG. 10), for example a portlet or a servlet. In various implementations, gadgets generate content for presentation on a user's computer 104; [0061], gadgets can run on third party websites or on a user's own computer; [0143], A user can also use his or her computer 406 to select, or "purchase" gadgets from the gadget store generated by the platform provider's server 402; [0158], FIG. 7 illustrates a gadget store run by the platform provider and accessible to the user through the platform provider's web page. The store allows users to purchase different gadgets; [0159], each gadget is listed with an identifying name 701 along with a brief description 703, name of the developer 705 and optional co-branding 707; [0160], A user can change the gadgets shown or the sorting order of the gadgets in the list through the options at the left of the screen. A user can enter search terms in the box 711, see the most popular gadgets (or sort by popularity) by clicking on the link 713, view new gadgets (or sort by date of the gadget) by clicking on the link 715, see all gadgets (e.g., sort by name alphabetically) by clicking on the link 717, or view gadgets by categories using the links 719)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated detecting, by the first electronic device, an operation of searching for a keyword by a user; and displaying, by the first electronic device, the first application and the first application widget that are related to the keyword, and an identifier of the second electronic device to which the first application widget belongs, in response to the operation of searching for the keyword as suggested in Connors into Lee. Doing so would be desirable because by selecting gadgets with desired functionality, the user can customize his or her experience. The user can feel comfortable using gadgets with access to his or her financial information because each gadget is certified by the platform provider (see Connors [0065]). The system also allows the platform provider and financial institution to make more options available to the user. Platform providers and financial institutions sometimes have access to the financial information of users but do not have the resources to create computer program applications to provide all of the functionality a user would desire. Furthermore, even if they did have those resources, not all applications will appeal to all users. Different users have different needs they would like to have met by the online finance world. For example, some users want advanced tools to help them monitor their retirement accounts. Other users are looking for easy-to-use tools to help them stay within a budget. The combination of developer-created and user-selected gadgets means that users can be offered more options in a customized environment (see Connors [0065]). The system of Connors would improve the system of Lee by providing the user with flexible search capabilities, such as a keyword search (see Connors [0160]), to simplify the process of selecting a desired widget when a large number of widgets are available, thereby increasing ease of use.
Regarding claim 22, the claim contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 31. Consequently, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Connors teaches all the limitations of claim 22, further comprising:
wherein the first electronic device displays an identifier of the second electronic device (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0034], in FIG. 1, the mobile terminal 1 is executing or running four widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the display 4 that the user has selected. In addition, as shown, the host device displays the same corresponding widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on a display 5. In the following description, the widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the mobile terminal 1 are referred to as "original widgets" and the widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on the host device 2 are referred to as "copy widgets". Also, the host device 2 can display the copy widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d in the same or different configuration as the original widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d; [0037], when the mobile terminal 1 and the host device 2 are connected (S12), the mobile terminal 1 and the host device 2 perform a process for recognizing each other (S14). This process is referred to as an "enumeration" process; [0039], the widget install program is one of the variety of programs stored in the mobile terminal 1 and includes, for example, a function to enable the host device 2 to generate the copy widgets, display the copy widgets, modify the copy widgets and transmit information corresponding to the modified copy widgets to the mobile terminal 1 such that the original widgets are modified in the same manner as the copy widgets; [0040], as shown in FIG. 2, the host device 2 generates and displays the copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 1 (S30). Also, in step S30, the user can select one or more of the displayed copied widgets. When the user selects a specific widget or widgets, the host device 2 requests that the mobile terminal 1 transmit widget information associated with the selected widget such as a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 1 (S42); [0041], The mobile terminal 1 then transmits the corresponding widget program and data stored in the mobile terminal to the host device 2 (S44). The host device 2 can display and execute the selected widget on the screen of the display 5 of the host device 2 based on the data received from the mobile terminal 1; [0056], the host device 7 generates copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 6 and displays the copy widgets (S80). The user can also select one or more of the displayed copy widgets. When the user selects a specific widget, the host device 7 remotely changes the USB mode of the mobile terminal 6 (S92); [0057], Then, the host device 7 requests that the mobile terminal 6 transmits widget information associated with the selected widget (e.g., a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 6) (S94); [0059], Thereafter, the mobile terminal 6 transmits the widget program and widget data requested by the host device 7; [0060], Then, after step S90, the host device 7 receives the widget program and widget data associated with the selected widget from the mobile terminal 6 and generates and displays copy widgets; [0104-0105], At step S333, the mobile terminal transmits an account list for performing the phone banking function to the host device. This process is performed by a remotely activated phone banking widget in the mobile terminal. Also, depending on the implementation, the step S333 may be performed after step S334 taking into consideration that there is no need to display the account list in an authentication process; see [0106], the user selects a sub-task for the phone banking copy widget on the host device. This process can be referred to as "the step of selecting a sub-widget of the copy widget". As shown in FIG. 12, the tasks for phone banking include an account inquiry task (S340-S342), a transfer task (S360 to S362), and an electronic signature task (S350). For the account inquiry task, when the user selects an account inquiry task on the host device (S340), the host device transmits an account number (NUM) and an account inquiry command (Account) in a SCSI command format to the mobile terminal (S341). Thereafter, the mobile terminal performs account inquiry using the phone banking widget and transmits the inquired account content to the host device (S342))
Connors further teaches:
displays an identifier of the second electronic device on the first application widget (Connors Figs. 1-16; [0047], The platform provider's server 106 runs applications that provide three main services: account aggregation, presentation of financial information, and a gadget platform; [0057], Generally speaking, a gadget is a computer program, run on the platform provider's server 106 as shown in FIG. 2 (or the financial institution's server 102 as discussed in the implementation as shown in FIG. 10), for example a portlet or a servlet. In various implementations, gadgets generate content for presentation on a user's computer 104; [0158], FIG. 7 illustrates a gadget store run by the platform provider and accessible to the user through the platform provider's web page. The store allows users to purchase different gadgets; [0151], FIG. 5 illustrates a view of the platform provider's web page in the first embodiment as seen by a user. A user has logged into the platform provider's web page and selected the dashboard tab 501. The dashboard tab allows a user to run gadgets on the platform provider; [0152], Three gadgets are displayed: a map my dollars gadget 503, a mortgage calculator gadget 505, and a live quotes gadget 507. The map my dollars gadget displays a map with information about where the user has spent money; [0155], Each web page generated by the platform provider provides several branding opportunities, as illustrated in FIG. 5; [0157], FIG. 6 illustrates a second example view of the platform provider's web page where the user has selected the dashboard tab and changed the configuration of the gadgets through the change view links)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated displays an identifier of the second electronic device on the first application widget as suggested in Connors into Lee. Doing so would be desirable because by selecting gadgets with desired functionality, the user can customize his or her experience. The user can feel comfortable using gadgets with access to his or her financial information because each gadget is certified by the platform provider (see Connors [0065]). The system also allows the platform provider and financial institution to make more options available to the user. Platform providers and financial institutions sometimes have access to the financial information of users but do not have the resources to create computer program applications to provide all of the functionality a user would desire. Furthermore, even if they did have those resources, not all applications will appeal to all users. Different users have different needs they would like to have met by the online finance world. For example, some users want advanced tools to help them monitor their retirement accounts. Other users are looking for easy-to-use tools to help them stay within a budget. The combination of developer-created and user-selected gadgets means that users can be offered more options in a customized environment (see Connors [0065]). The system of Connors would improve the system of Lee by clarifying that identifiers provided by a second electronic device, such widget names and account identifiers (see Lee [0103-0106]), can be displayed (see Connors [0151-0152]), thereby improving functionality of the widgets, increasing ease of use, and improving user satisfaction.
Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Connors teaches all the limitations of claim 22, further comprising:
wherein before the receiving, by the first electronic device, application widget information from a second electronic device, the method further comprises: establishing, by the first electronic device, a communication connection with the second electronic device, and determining that the second electronic device is a trusted device (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0034], in FIG. 1, the mobile terminal 1 is executing or running four widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the display 4 that the user has selected. In addition, as shown, the host device displays the same corresponding widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on a display 5. In the following description, the widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the mobile terminal 1 are referred to as "original widgets" and the widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on the host device 2 are referred to as "copy widgets". Also, the host device 2 can display the copy widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d in the same or different configuration as the original widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d; [0037], Next, FIG. 2 is a process flow diagram illustrating operations of the mobile terminal 1 and the host device 2 according to the first embodiment of the present application. As shown, when the mobile terminal 1 and the host device 2 are connected (S12), the mobile terminal 1 and the host device 2 perform a process for recognizing each other (S14). This process is referred to as an "enumeration" process. When the enumeration process has completed, the mobile terminal 1 and the host device 2 can communicate with each other (S10); [0039], the widget install program is one of the variety of programs stored in the mobile terminal 1 and includes, for example, a function to enable the host device 2 to generate the copy widgets, display the copy widgets, modify the copy widgets and transmit information corresponding to the modified copy widgets to the mobile terminal 1 such that the original widgets are modified in the same manner as the copy widgets; [0040], as shown in FIG. 2, the host device 2 generates and displays the copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 1 (S30). Also, in step S30, the user can select one or more of the displayed copied widgets. When the user selects a specific widget or widgets, the host device 2 requests that the mobile terminal 1 transmit widget information associated with the selected widget such as a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 1 (S42); [0041], The mobile terminal 1 then transmits the corresponding widget program and data stored in the mobile terminal to the host device 2 (S44). The host device 2 can display and execute the selected widget on the screen of the display 5 of the host device 2 based on the data received from the mobile terminal 1; [0050], when the mobile terminal 6 is connected to the host device 7 (S62), the host device 7 is subjected to an "enumeration" process for recognizing the mobile terminal 6 (S64).; [0056], the host device 7 generates copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 6 and displays the copy widgets (S80). The user can also select one or more of the displayed copy widgets. When the user selects a specific widget, the host device 7 remotely changes the USB mode of the mobile terminal 6 (S92); [0057], Then, the host device 7 requests that the mobile terminal 6 transmits widget information associated with the selected widget (e.g., a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 6) (S94); [0059], Thereafter, the mobile terminal 6 transmits the widget program and widget data requested by the host device 7; [0060], Then, after step S90, the host device 7 receives the widget program and widget data associated with the selected widget from the mobile terminal 6 and generates and displays copy widgets; see also [0103-0106])
Regarding claim 23, Lee in view of Connors teaches all the limitations of claim 22, further comprising:
wherein the first application widget is not installed on the first electronic device (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0034], in FIG. 1, the mobile terminal 1 is executing or running four widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the display 4 that the user has selected. In addition, as shown, the host device displays the same corresponding widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on a display 5. In the following description, the widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the mobile terminal 1 are referred to as "original widgets" and the widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on the host device 2 are referred to as "copy widgets". Also, the host device 2 can display the copy widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d in the same or different configuration as the original widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d; [0040], as shown in FIG. 2, the host device 2 generates and displays the copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 1 (S30). Also, in step S30, the user can select one or more of the displayed copied widgets. When the user selects a specific widget or widgets, the host device 2 requests that the mobile terminal 1 transmit widget information associated with the selected widget such as a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 1 (S42); [0041], The mobile terminal 1 then transmits the corresponding widget program and data stored in the mobile terminal to the host device 2 (S44). The host device 2 can display and execute the selected widget on the screen of the display 5 of the host device 2 based on the data received from the mobile terminal 1; [0056], the host device 7 generates copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 6 and displays the copy widgets (S80). The user can also select one or more of the displayed copy widgets. When the user selects a specific widget, the host device 7 remotely changes the USB mode of the mobile terminal 6 (S92); [0057], Then, the host device 7 requests that the mobile terminal 6 transmits widget information associated with the selected widget (e.g., a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 6) (S94); [0059], Thereafter, the mobile terminal 6 transmits the widget program and widget data requested by the host device 7; [0060], Then, after step S90, the host device 7 receives the widget program and widget data associated with the selected widget from the mobile terminal 6 and generates and displays copy widgets; see also [0103-0106])
Regarding claim 32, the claim contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 23. Consequently, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 24, Lee in view of Connors teaches all the limitations of claim 22, further comprising:
wherein the method further comprises: displaying, by the first electronic device, an application widget management interface according to the application widget information, wherein the application widget management interface displays at least one application widget in the second electronic device, and the at least one application widget comprises the first application widget (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0034], in FIG. 1, the mobile terminal 1 is executing or running four widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the display 4 that the user has selected. In addition, as shown, the host device displays the same corresponding widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on a display 5. In the following description, the widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the mobile terminal 1 are referred to as "original widgets" and the widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on the host device 2 are referred to as "copy widgets". Also, the host device 2 can display the copy widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d in the same or different configuration as the original widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d; [0040], as shown in FIG. 2, the host device 2 generates and displays the copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 1 (S30). Also, in step S30, the user can select one or more of the displayed copied widgets. When the user selects a specific widget or widgets, the host device 2 requests that the mobile terminal 1 transmit widget information associated with the selected widget such as a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 1 (S42); [0041], The mobile terminal 1 then transmits the corresponding widget program and data stored in the mobile terminal to the host device 2 (S44). The host device 2 can display and execute the selected widget on the screen of the display 5 of the host device 2 based on the data received from the mobile terminal 1; [0056], the host device 7 generates copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 6 and displays the copy widgets (S80). The user can also select one or more of the displayed copy widgets. When the user selects a specific widget, the host device 7 remotely changes the USB mode of the mobile terminal 6 (S92); [0057], Then, the host device 7 requests that the mobile terminal 6 transmits widget information associated with the selected widget (e.g., a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 6) (S94); [0059], Thereafter, the mobile terminal 6 transmits the widget program and widget data requested by the host device 7; [0060], Then, after step S90, the host device 7 receives the widget program and widget data associated with the selected widget from the mobile terminal 6 and generates and displays copy widgets; see also [0103-0106])
Regarding claim 33, the claim contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 24. Consequently, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 25, Lee in view of Connors teaches all the limitations of claim 24, further comprising:
wherein the method further comprises: The application widget management interface further displays at least one application widget in the first electronic device (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0034], in FIG. 1, the mobile terminal 1 is executing or running four widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the display 4 that the user has selected. In addition, as shown, the host device displays the same corresponding widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on a display 5. In the following description, the widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the mobile terminal 1 are referred to as "original widgets" and the widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on the host device 2 are referred to as "copy widgets". Also, the host device 2 can display the copy widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d in the same or different configuration as the original widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d; [0040], as shown in FIG. 2, the host device 2 generates and displays the copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 1 (S30). Also, in step S30, the user can select one or more of the displayed copied widgets. When the user selects a specific widget or widgets, the host device 2 requests that the mobile terminal 1 transmit widget information associated with the selected widget such as a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 1 (S42); [0041], The mobile terminal 1 then transmits the corresponding widget program and data stored in the mobile terminal to the host device 2 (S44). The host device 2 can display and execute the selected widget on the screen of the display 5 of the host device 2 based on the data received from the mobile terminal 1; [0056], the host device 7 generates copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 6 and displays the copy widgets (S80). The user can also select one or more of the displayed copy widgets. When the user selects a specific widget, the host device 7 remotely changes the USB mode of the mobile terminal 6 (S92); [0057], Then, the host device 7 requests that the mobile terminal 6 transmits widget information associated with the selected widget (e.g., a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 6) (S94); [0059], Thereafter, the mobile terminal 6 transmits the widget program and widget data requested by the host device 7; [0060], Then, after step S90, the host device 7 receives the widget program and widget data associated with the selected widget from the mobile terminal 6 and generates and displays copy widgets; see also [0103-0106])
Regarding claim 34, the claim contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 25. Consequently, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 26, Lee teaches all the limitations of claim 22, further comprising:
wherein the information about the first application widget comprises an installation package of the first application widget, and the method further comprises: displaying, by the first electronic device, first content in the first application widget based on the installation package of the first application widget (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0034], in FIG. 1, the mobile terminal 1 is executing or running four widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the display 4 that the user has selected. In addition, as shown, the host device displays the same corresponding widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on a display 5. In the following description, the widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the mobile terminal 1 are referred to as "original widgets" and the widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on the host device 2 are referred to as "copy widgets". Also, the host device 2 can display the copy widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d in the same or different configuration as the original widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d; [0040], as shown in FIG. 2, the host device 2 generates and displays the copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 1 (S30). Also, in step S30, the user can select one or more of the displayed copied widgets. When the user selects a specific widget or widgets, the host device 2 requests that the mobile terminal 1 transmit widget information associated with the selected widget such as a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 1 (S42); [0041], The mobile terminal 1 then transmits the corresponding widget program and data stored in the mobile terminal to the host device 2 (S44). The host device 2 can display and execute the selected widget on the screen of the display 5 of the host device 2 based on the data received from the mobile terminal 1; [0056], the host device 7 generates copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 6 and displays the copy widgets (S80). The user can also select one or more of the displayed copy widgets. When the user selects a specific widget, the host device 7 remotely changes the USB mode of the mobile terminal 6 (S92); [0057], Then, the host device 7 requests that the mobile terminal 6 transmits widget information associated with the selected widget (e.g., a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 6) (S94); [0059], Thereafter, the mobile terminal 6 transmits the widget program and widget data requested by the host device 7; [0060], Then, after step S90, the host device 7 receives the widget program and widget data associated with the selected widget from the mobile terminal 6 and generates and displays copy widgets; [0103], the step S230 includes processes for transmitting information of a phone banking widget stored in the mobile terminal to the host device and generating and displaying copy widgets of the phone banking widget based on the information of the phone banking widget at the host device; [0105], the mobile terminal transmits an account list for performing the phone banking function to the host device. This process is performed by a remotely activated phone banking widget in the mobile terminal; [0106], the mobile terminal performs account inquiry using the phone banking widget and transmits the inquired account content to the host device; [0107], the mobile terminal performs a transfer using the phone banking widget and transmits the transfer result to the host device (S362))
Regarding claim 35, the claim contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 26. Consequently, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 27, Lee teaches all the limitations of claim 22, further comprising:
wherein the information about the first application widget comprises data generated when the second electronic device runs the first application widget, and the method further comprises: displaying second content in the first application widget based on the data (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0034], in FIG. 1, the mobile terminal 1 is executing or running four widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the display 4 that the user has selected. In addition, as shown, the host device displays the same corresponding widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on a display 5. In the following description, the widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the mobile terminal 1 are referred to as "original widgets" and the widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on the host device 2 are referred to as "copy widgets". Also, the host device 2 can display the copy widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d in the same or different configuration as the original widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d; [0040], as shown in FIG. 2, the host device 2 generates and displays the copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 1 (S30). Also, in step S30, the user can select one or more of the displayed copied widgets. When the user selects a specific widget or widgets, the host device 2 requests that the mobile terminal 1 transmit widget information associated with the selected widget such as a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 1 (S42); [0041], The mobile terminal 1 then transmits the corresponding widget program and data stored in the mobile terminal to the host device 2 (S44). The host device 2 can display and execute the selected widget on the screen of the display 5 of the host device 2 based on the data received from the mobile terminal 1; [0056], the host device 7 generates copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 6 and displays the copy widgets (S80). The user can also select one or more of the displayed copy widgets. When the user selects a specific widget, the host device 7 remotely changes the USB mode of the mobile terminal 6 (S92); [0057], Then, the host device 7 requests that the mobile terminal 6 transmits widget information associated with the selected widget (e.g., a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 6) (S94); [0059], Thereafter, the mobile terminal 6 transmits the widget program and widget data requested by the host device 7; [0060], Then, after step S90, the host device 7 receives the widget program and widget data associated with the selected widget from the mobile terminal 6 and generates and displays copy widgets; [0103], the step S230 includes processes for transmitting information of a phone banking widget stored in the mobile terminal to the host device and generating and displaying copy widgets of the phone banking widget based on the information of the phone banking widget at the host device; [0105], the mobile terminal transmits an account list for performing the phone banking function to the host device. This process is performed by a remotely activated phone banking widget in the mobile terminal; [0106], the mobile terminal performs account inquiry using the phone banking widget and transmits the inquired account content to the host device; [0107], the mobile terminal performs a transfer using the phone banking widget and transmits the transfer result to the host device (S362))
Regarding claim 36, the claim contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 27. Consequently, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 28, Lee teaches all the limitations of claim 27, further comprising:
wherein the method further comprises: obtaining, by the first electronic device, updated second content from the second electronic device; and displaying the updated second content of the first application widget (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0034], in FIG. 1, the mobile terminal 1 is executing or running four widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the display 4 that the user has selected. In addition, as shown, the host device displays the same corresponding widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on a display 5. In the following description, the widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the mobile terminal 1 are referred to as "original widgets" and the widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on the host device 2 are referred to as "copy widgets". Also, the host device 2 can display the copy widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d in the same or different configuration as the original widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d; [0040], as shown in FIG. 2, the host device 2 generates and displays the copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 1 (S30). Also, in step S30, the user can select one or more of the displayed copied widgets. When the user selects a specific widget or widgets, the host device 2 requests that the mobile terminal 1 transmit widget information associated with the selected widget such as a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 1 (S42); [0041], The mobile terminal 1 then transmits the corresponding widget program and data stored in the mobile terminal to the host device 2 (S44). The host device 2 can display and execute the selected widget on the screen of the display 5 of the host device 2 based on the data received from the mobile terminal 1; [0056], the host device 7 generates copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 6 and displays the copy widgets (S80). The user can also select one or more of the displayed copy widgets. When the user selects a specific widget, the host device 7 remotely changes the USB mode of the mobile terminal 6 (S92); [0057], Then, the host device 7 requests that the mobile terminal 6 transmits widget information associated with the selected widget (e.g., a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 6) (S94); [0059], Thereafter, the mobile terminal 6 transmits the widget program and widget data requested by the host device 7; [0060], Then, after step S90, the host device 7 receives the widget program and widget data associated with the selected widget from the mobile terminal 6 and generates and displays copy widgets; [0103], the step S230 includes processes for transmitting information of a phone banking widget stored in the mobile terminal to the host device and generating and displaying copy widgets of the phone banking widget based on the information of the phone banking widget at the host device; [0105], the mobile terminal transmits an account list for performing the phone banking function to the host device. This process is performed by a remotely activated phone banking widget in the mobile terminal; [0106], the mobile terminal performs account inquiry using the phone banking widget and transmits the inquired account content to the host device; [0107], the mobile terminal performs a transfer using the phone banking widget and transmits the transfer result to the host device (S362))
Regarding claim 37, the claim contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 28. Consequently, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 29, Lee teaches all the limitations of claim 22, further comprising:
wherein the method further comprises: detecting, by the first electronic device, an operation of adding the first application widget to a desktop by a user, and displaying, by the first electronic device, the first application widget on the desktop (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0033], the host device 2 can be a desktop computer; [0034], in FIG. 1, the mobile terminal 1 is executing or running four widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the display 4 that the user has selected. In addition, as shown, the host device displays the same corresponding widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on a display 5. In the following description, the widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the mobile terminal 1 are referred to as "original widgets" and the widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on the host device 2 are referred to as "copy widgets". Also, the host device 2 can display the copy widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d in the same or different configuration as the original widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d; [0040], as shown in FIG. 2, the host device 2 generates and displays the copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 1 (S30). Also, in step S30, the user can select one or more of the displayed copied widgets. When the user selects a specific widget or widgets, the host device 2 requests that the mobile terminal 1 transmit widget information associated with the selected widget such as a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 1 (S42); [0041], The mobile terminal 1 then transmits the corresponding widget program and data stored in the mobile terminal to the host device 2 (S44). The host device 2 can display and execute the selected widget on the screen of the display 5 of the host device 2 based on the data received from the mobile terminal 1; [0056], the host device 7 generates copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 6 and displays the copy widgets (S80). The user can also select one or more of the displayed copy widgets. When the user selects a specific widget, the host device 7 remotely changes the USB mode of the mobile terminal 6 (S92); [0057], Then, the host device 7 requests that the mobile terminal 6 transmits widget information associated with the selected widget (e.g., a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 6) (S94); [0059], Thereafter, the mobile terminal 6 transmits the widget program and widget data requested by the host device 7; [0060], Then, after step S90, the host device 7 receives the widget program and widget data associated with the selected widget from the mobile terminal 6 and generates and displays copy widgets; see also [0103-0106])
Regarding claim 38, the claim contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 29. Consequently, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 30, Lee teaches all the limitations of claim 22, further comprising:
wherein the method further comprises: when the first electronic device detects that a preset condition is triggered, sending, by the first electronic device, a first request to the second electronic device, wherein the first request is used to indicate the second electronic device to send the application widget information to the first electronic device (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0034], in FIG. 1, the mobile terminal 1 is executing or running four widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the display 4 that the user has selected. In addition, as shown, the host device displays the same corresponding widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on a display 5. In the following description, the widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d on the mobile terminal 1 are referred to as "original widgets" and the widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d on the host device 2 are referred to as "copy widgets". Also, the host device 2 can display the copy widgets 5a, 5b, 5c and 5d in the same or different configuration as the original widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d; [0037], when the mobile terminal 1 and the host device 2 are connected (S12), the mobile terminal 1 and the host device 2 perform a process for recognizing each other (S14). This process is referred to as an "enumeration" process; [0039], the widget install program is one of the variety of programs stored in the mobile terminal 1 and includes, for example, a function to enable the host device 2 to generate the copy widgets, display the copy widgets, modify the copy widgets and transmit information corresponding to the modified copy widgets to the mobile terminal 1 such that the original widgets are modified in the same manner as the copy widgets; [0040], as shown in FIG. 2, the host device 2 generates and displays the copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 1 (S30). Also, in step S30, the user can select one or more of the displayed copied widgets. When the user selects a specific widget or widgets, the host device 2 requests that the mobile terminal 1 transmit widget information associated with the selected widget such as a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 1 (S42); [0041], The mobile terminal 1 then transmits the corresponding widget program and data stored in the mobile terminal to the host device 2 (S44). The host device 2 can display and execute the selected widget on the screen of the display 5 of the host device 2 based on the data received from the mobile terminal 1; [0056], the host device 7 generates copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 6 and displays the copy widgets (S80). The user can also select one or more of the displayed copy widgets. When the user selects a specific widget, the host device 7 remotely changes the USB mode of the mobile terminal 6 (S92); [0057], Then, the host device 7 requests that the mobile terminal 6 transmits widget information associated with the selected widget (e.g., a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget and widget data associated with the corresponding widget service stored in the mobile terminal 6) (S94); [0059], Thereafter, the mobile terminal 6 transmits the widget program and widget data requested by the host device 7; [0060], Then, after step S90, the host device 7 receives the widget program and widget data associated with the selected widget from the mobile terminal 6 and generates and displays copy widgets; see also [0103-0106])
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to claims 9, 10, and 15, the addition of claims 22- 38, and the cancellation of claims 1-8, 11-14, 16, and 18-21. The rejections of claims 5 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are respectfully withdrawn.
Regarding the independent claims, the Applicant alleges that Lee as described in the previous Office action, does not explicitly teach claims 15, 22, and 31. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed in the rejection above, Lee teaches a communication system, wherein the communication system comprises a first electronic device and a second electronic device, wherein the second electronic device is configured to send application widget information to the first electronic device, wherein the application widget information comprises information about one or more application widgets in the second electronic device, the one or more application widgets comprise a first application widget of a first application installed in the second electronic device, and the first application is not installed in the first electronic device; the first electronic device is configured to receive the application widget information; the first application widget is an application widget of the second electronic device (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0010], [0051], [0056-0057], [0033-0034], [0037], [0040], [0105]); and the first electronic device is further configured to display the first application and the first application widget that are related (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0034], [0040-0041], [0056-0057], [0059-0060], [0103], [0105], [0107]). Connors is cited to clarify the first electronic device is configured to detect an operation of searching for a keyword by a user; and the first electronic device is further configured to display the first application and the first application widget that are related to the keyword, and an identifier of the second electronic device to which the first application widget belongs, in response to the operation of searching for the keyword (Connors Figs. 1-16; [0047], [0057], [0061], [0143], [0158-0160]). Thus, Lee in view of Connors is considered to teach the claims.
Specifically, applicant alleges Lee fails to expressly disclose "the first application is not installed in the first electronic device". Lee teaches that the host device 2 receives a "widget install program" transmitted from mobile terminal 1 and uses "the widget install program" to generate a "copy widget" locally (Lee Para. [0039]-[0041]). Lee is silent as to the state of the first application on the host device 2 once this install-program-based generation occurs. Therefore, Lee has not been shown to teach or suggest "receiving application widget information regarding a first application widget of a first application installed on the second electronic device, wherein the first application is not installed on the first electronic device", as recited in the claim (see remarks p. 10). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed in the rejection above, Lee discloses that original program widgets correspond to at least one application program controlling a respective function of a mobile terminal ([0010]). Lee discloses that “the mobile terminal 1 is executing or running four widgets 4a, 4b, 4c and 4d“ ([0034]). Lee further discloses the mobile terminal sends a widget install program to the host device ([0051]). The host device 7 generates copy widgets using the widget install program transmitted from the mobile terminal 6 and displays the copy widgets, which the user can select ([0056]). Then, the host device 7 requests that the mobile terminal 6 transmits widget information associated with the selected widget (e.g., a widget program for implementing a widget service corresponding to the selected widget ([0057]). As described, prior to receiving widget information from the mobile terminal, the widgets are not installed on the host device. Thus, Lee’s disclosure of wherein the application widget information comprises information about one or more application widgets in the second electronic device, the one or more application widgets comprise a first application widget of a first application installed in the second electronic device, and the first application is not installed in the first electronic device; the first electronic device is configured to receive the application widget information; the first application widget is an application widget of the second electronic device (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0010], [0051], [0056-0057], [0033-0034], [0037], [0040], [0105]) is considered within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations.
Applicant further alleges Connors has not been shown to teach or suggest an identifier of a second electronic device. The Office Action relied on Connors Para. [0151], [0159] as allegedly disclosing this feature. However, the identifiers disclosed in the cited passages of Connors, e.g., "identifying name 701," "description 703," "name of the developer 705," and "co-branding 707" (See Connors Para. [0159]), identify the gadget itself and its developer/publisher, not a distinct peer device that transmitted the gadget over a device-to-device connection. Connors' gadgets are served from "the platform provider's server 106" or "the financial institution's server 102" (Se Connors Para. [0047], [0057]). The Office Action has not cite any entity in Connors' architecture to teach the "second electronic device" as recited in the claim. Accordingly, Connors has not been shown to teach or suggest the second electronic as recited in the claim, much less display of an identifier of such a second electronic device (see remarks p. 11). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed in the rejection above, Connors discloses providing a gadgets provided by a server that generate content for presentation on a user’s computer ([0057]). Connors discloses a gadget store run on a server (second electronic device) that displays a plurality of gadgets provided by the second electronic device ([0158]). A user can also use his or her computer 406 (first electronic device) to select, or "purchase" gadgets from the gadget store generated by the platform provider's server 402 ([0143]). Gadgets generate content for presentation on a user's computer 104 ([0057]). Each gadget is listed with a plurality of identifiers provided by the second device, such as a name, a description, a name of a developer, and other branding ([0159]). The gadget store further provides a keyword search functionality ([0159]). Examiner notes the claims place no limitations on what the identifier must comprise. Thus, Connor’s disclosure of the first electronic device is further configured to display the first application and the first application widget that are related to the keyword, and an identifier of the second electronic device to which the first application widget belongs, in response to the operation of searching for the keyword (Connors Figs. 1-16; [0047], [0057], [0061], [0143], [0158-0160]) is considered within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations.
Applicant further alleges Connors' keyword search does not operate on cross-device application/widget information. Connors' search box (See Connors Para. [0160]) searches gadgets hosted entirely within the platform provider's own store not application/widget information originating from a distinct, physically separate second electronic device as in Lee's device-mirroring scenario. Therefore, the alleged combination of the cited portions of Connors and Lee would yield, at most, a searching among already-mirrored copy widgets -not display of an application/widget that the first device does not yet have, together with the identifier of the remote device of origin (see remarks pp. 11-12). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed in the rejection above, Lee is cited to teach a communication system, wherein the communication system comprises a first electronic device and a second electronic device, wherein the second electronic device is configured to send application widget information to the first electronic device, wherein the application widget information comprises information about one or more application widgets in the second electronic device, the one or more application widgets comprise a first application widget of a first application installed in the second electronic device, and the first application is not installed in the first electronic device; the first electronic device is configured to receive the application widget information; the first application widget is an application widget of the second electronic device (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0010], [0033-0034], [0037], [0040], [0105]); and the first electronic device is further configured to display the first application and the first application widget that are related (Lee Figs. 1-14; [0034], [0040-0041], [0056-0057], [0059-0060], [0103], [0105], [0107]). Connors is cited to clarify the first electronic device is configured to detect an operation of searching for a keyword by a user; and the first electronic device is further configured to display the first application and the first application widget that are related to the keyword, and an identifier of the second electronic device to which the first application widget belongs, in response to the operation of searching for the keyword (Connors Figs. 1-16; [0047], [0057], [0158-0160]). In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). However, examiner notes that, as discussed above, Connors discloses that user of a first electronic device accesses widget information provided by a second electronic device. The user may select to the widget information, provided by the second electronic device, to access the widget functionality on the first electronic device (Connors Figs. 1-16; [0047], [0057], [0061], [0143], [0158-0160]).
Applicant further alleges the Office Action fails to articulate the rationale supporting the alleged combination. The Office Action's stated rationale for combining Lee and Connors -that doing so would "provide the user with flexible search capabilities... to simplify the process of selecting a desired widget" amounts to only a general desirability of adding search to Lee's mirroring system. It does not explain why a person of ordinary skill, upon combining these references, would arrive at a system in which (a) the searched-for application is not installed on the searching device, and (b) the search results identify the specific remote device to which the discovered widget belongs. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that the office action does not explain why a person of ordinary skill, upon combining these references, would arrive at the claimed system, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, doing so would be desirable because by selecting gadgets with desired functionality, the user can customize his or her experience. The user can feel comfortable using gadgets with access to his or her financial information because each gadget is certified by the platform provider (see Connors [0065]). The system also allows the platform provider and financial institution to make more options available to the user. Platform providers and financial institutions sometimes have access to the financial information of users but do not have the resources to create computer program applications to provide all of the functionality a user would desire. Furthermore, even if they did have those resources, not all applications will appeal to all users. Different users have different needs they would like to have met by the online finance world. For example, some users want advanced tools to help them monitor their retirement accounts. Other users are looking for easy-to-use tools to help them stay within a budget. The combination of developer-created and user-selected gadgets means that users can be offered more options in a customized environment (see Connors [0065]). The system of Connors would improve the system of Lee by providing the user with flexible search capabilities, such as a keyword search (see Connors [0160]), to simplify the process of selecting a desired widget when a large number of widgets are available, thereby increasing ease of use.
Applicant states that the dependent claims recite all the limitations of the independent claims, and thus, are allowable in view of the remarks set forth regarding the independent claims. However, as discussed above, Lee in view of Connors is considered to teach the independent claims, and consequently, the dependent claims are rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Seo (US 20150339009 A1) see Figs. 1-8 and [0046-0053], [0074-0076].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN T REPSHER III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143