DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10 , filed February 23, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hankammer (US 4, 623,457 cited in IDS). Hankammer is directed towards a water storage where figures 2a-c teach a cover (5) detachably coupled to the storage body and configured to close at least portion of the opening portion, the cover part being configured to insert into an inner surface of the storage body, wherein the storage body is disposed outside an outer surface of the cover part and configured to surround the outer surface of the cover part, the storage body having an inner surface configured to face the outer surface of the cover part.[col 6 lines 20-30]
Claim Objections
Claims 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 16, Junyi modified Hankammer is silent to an upper side of a front surface of the storage body is recessed downward relative to a rear surface and a lateral surface of the storage body.
Claims 17-20 are dependent upon claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Junyi (KR 20210117199A machine translation cited in IDS), and in further view of Hankammer (US 4,623,457 cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Junyi figures 2A, 2B, and 9-11 teach a clothing treatment apparatus clothing treatment apparatus comprising:
a cabinet (130) having an opening (139 inlet) at a front surface thereof;
an inner case (110 first chamber) provided in the cabinet and defining an accommodation space configured to receive laundry;
a machine compartment (120 second chamber) disposed lower than the inner case so as to supply at least one of hot air and steam to an inside of the inner case;
a door (200) rotatably coupled to the cabinet so as to close at least one of the inner case and the machine compartment; and
at least one water storage (810 water supply main body) detachably provided in front of the machine compartment so as to supply water for generation of steam or to collect water condensed in the machine compartment,
wherein the water storage comprises:
a storage body (8111 water supply main body) comprising an opening portion at an upper portion thereof and receiving water therein; and
a cover part (812 water supply tank lid) detachably coupled to the storage body so as to close the opening portion, and
wherein a cross-sectional area of the opening portion corresponds to a cross-sectional area of the storage body.[pages 6-7, 10, 17]
Junyi is silent to the cover part being configured to insert into an inner space of the storage body, wherein the storage body is disposed outside an outer surface of the cover part and configured to surround the outer surface of the cover part, the storage body having an inner surface configured to face the outer surface of the cover part.
Hankammer is directed towards a water storage where figures 2a-b teach a cover (5) detachably coupled to the storage body and configured to close at least portion of the opening portion, the cover part being configured to insert into an inner surface of the storage body, wherein the storage body is disposed outside an outer surface of the cover part and configured to surround the outer surface of the cover part, the storage body having an inner surface configured to face the outer surface of the cover part.[col 6 lines 20-30]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a cover as taught in Hankammer to prevent the liquid splashing out.[col 6 lines 20-25]
Regarding claim 2, Junyi figure 10 teaches the opening portion is configured to open an entire upper portion of the storage body (8111 water supply main body), and the cover (812 water supply tank lid) is configured to entirely close the opening portion.
Regarding claim 3, Junyi figure 11 teaches one end of the lead attaching and detaching device 8121 has a hook shape, so that it can be coupled to the first body hook coupling portion 8111a. In addition, since one end of the water supply tank lead rear surface 812b has a hook shape, it may be coupled to the second body hook coupling part 8111b thereby reading on wherein the cover part (812 water supply tank lid) comprises: a cover body configured to insert into the opening portion and detachably coupled to an inner surface of the storage body; and an introduction hole (8122 water supply opening) formed through the cover body so as to communicate with an inside of the storage body.[page 18-19]
Regarding claim 4, Junyi is silent to the water storage (810 water supply tank) further comprises a seal portion coupled to the cover body along a periphery of the cover body so as to come into contact with an inner surface of the storage body. Junyi teaches the use of gaskets for providing sealing.[page 7]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide gasket to seal the water storage to prevent water from spilling when the water supply tank 810 rotates and tilts when the tank door 121 is opened as shown in figure 9B. [page 17]
Regarding claim 5, Junyi teaches one end of the lead attaching and detaching device 8121 has a hook shape, so that it can be coupled to the first body hook coupling portion 8111a. In addition, since one end of the water supply tank lead rear surface 812b has a hook shape, it may be coupled to the second body hook coupling part 8111b thereby reading on wherein the water storage comprises a stopper which projects from the cover body and is detachably coupled to the storage body, and wherein the stopper is disposed higher than the seal portion.[pages 18-19]
Regarding claim 6, Junyi teaches one end of the lead attaching and detaching device 8121 has a hook shape, so that it can be coupled to the first body hook coupling portion 8111a. In addition, since one end of the water supply tank lead rear surface 812b has a hook shape, it may be coupled to the second body hook coupling part 8111b thereby reading on wherein the stopper comprises a pair of stoppers which are inserted into the cover body from two lateral sides of the cover body so as to be able to be separated from the storage body.
Regarding claim 7, Junyi figure 11 teaches a handle part (8124 water supply tank handle) coupled to an upper portion of the cover so as to close the introduction hole.[page 19]
Regarding claim 8, Junyi figures 11a-11c teach the handle part (8124 water supply tank handle) having structures vertical, lateral, and curved portions thereby reading on a main body seated on an upper portion of the cover body; a handle body projecting forwards from a front and upper portion of the main body; and a support body obliquely extending from a front and lower portion of the main body.
Regarding claim 9, Junyi figures 10-11 suggest the support body is disposed in front of the stopper (8111b second body hook coupling part).
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the handle part with a grip portion coupled to a front side of the handle body and projecting downwards beyond the handle body so that a user can remove the water supply tank from the clothing treatment apparatus.
Regarding claim 15, Junyi teaches water supply main body 8111 may be formed of a transparent material so that it can be checked whether water is stored thereby reading on the storage body is made of a translucent or transparent material.[page 17]
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Junyi (KR 20210117199A machine translation cited in IDS) and Hankammer (US 4,623,457 cited in IDS), as applied to claim 8, and in further view of Park (US 2016/0177490 cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 11, Junyi figures 11a-11c teach the handle part (8124 water supply tank handle) further comprises: a communication hole (8122 water supply opening) formed through an upper portion of the handle body so as to communicate with the opening portion.
Junyi us silent to a cover door rotatably coupled to the upper portion of the handle body so as to close the communication hole.
Park is directed towards a clothes treatment apparatus wherein figure 8 teaches a water hole cover 89 for opening and closing the water hole 82 is disposed at the upper side of the tank body 92.[0090-91]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a water hole cover as taught in Park for opening and closing the hole.
Regarding claim 12, Junyi figures 10-11 teach the communication hole (122 water supply opening) is formed through an upper portion of the handle part from a portion behind the stopper (8111a first body hook coupling portion) to a portion ahead of the stopper (8111b second body hook coupling portion), and wherein the cover door (89 hole cover taught in Park) is coupled to a portion of the handle body behind the stopper in such a manner as to be rotated upwards so as to selectively open the communication hole.
Regarding claim 13, Junyi figures 10-11 teach the storage body (8111 water supply main body) comprises: open surfaces provided at upper portions of two lateral surfaces of the storage body so as to face the main body (8124 water supply tank handle). Park figure 8 teaches sloped surfaces which extend downwards from front sides of the open surfaces to face the support body (87 grip).
Regarding claim 14, Junyi figures 10-11 teach one end of the lead attaching and detaching device 8121 has a hook shape, so that it can be coupled to the first body hook coupling portion 8111a. In addition, since one end of the water supply tank lead rear surface 812b has a hook shape, it may be coupled to the second body hook coupling part 8111b thereby reading the storage body further comprises coupling holes which are formed through two lateral sides of the storage body and into which the stoppers are inserted, and wherein the coupling holes are disposed behind the sloped surface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CRISTI J. TATE-SIMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/CRISTI J TATE-SIMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711