DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the instructions to sensor input are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: a pressure measurement….” The phrase “instructions to sensor input” does not conform to idiomatic English and fails to define a comprehensible relationship between the recited instructions and the sensor input. Further, the language following “cause the apparatus to” recites a list of measurements and inputs without reciting an action to be performed by the apparatus. Accordingly, it is unclear whether the listed measurements and inputs comprise the sensor input, are to be detected by the apparatus, are to be received by the apparatus, or are otherwise used by the apparatus. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of claim 5.
Claim 12 recites “transmit a measurement reporting” and “a reconfiguration message comprising an indication with the first network entity.” The phrase “a measurement reporting” does not conform to idiomatic English and fails to clearly identify whether the measurement report, a measurement reporting procedure, or another item is transmitted. Further, the phrase “an indication with the first network entity” fails to define a comprehensible relationship between the indication and the first network entity. It is unclear whether the indication identifies the first network entity, indicates the first network entity as the target network entity, instructs the UE to establish a connection or synchronize with the first network entity, or indicates some other relationship. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of claim 12.
Claim 17 recites “transmit, prior to expiration of the first measurement report” does not conform to idiomatic English and renders the scope of the claim unclear because a measurement report is not recited as having an expiration. Rather, the claim previously recites initiating a timer corresponding to the first measurement report. It is therefore unclear whether the second measurement report must be transmitted prior to the expiration of the recited timer, prior to transmission of the first measurement report, or prior to some other event associated with the first measurement report. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 13-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Guo et al. (US 2022/0007260 A1; hereinafter Guo).
Regarding claim 1, 19, and 20, Guo teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (read as terminal device) (Fig. 13, element 1300 apparatus; Fig. 14, element 1401 RF circuit; ¶ [0152] Apparatus 1300 may be the terminal device in the embodiments of this application.; ¶ [0155] The RF circuit 1401 may further communicate with a network and another device through wireless communication.),
comprising:
a processor (Fig. 14, element 1406 Processor; ¶ [0153] The terminal device may be a mobile phone.; ¶ [0154] The mobile phone includes components such as a processor 1406.);
memory coupled with the processor (Fig. 14, element 1402 Memory, element 1406 Processor; ¶ [0157] The memory is connected to the processor.) ; and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (¶ [0157] The memory can store a computer execution instruction for executing the technical solution in this embodiment of this application, and the processor controls execution of the computer execution instruction.):
detect one or more triggering conditions associated with travel along a route corresponding to a plurality of network entities (read as cells) ¶ [0065] The high-speed railway line from a high-speed railway station A to a high-speed railway station B is covered by a plurality of cells.; ¶ [0077] When the terminal device detects that the moving speed exceeds a first threshold and this case lasts for a specific time, the terminal device may automatically enable the high-speed railway mode.);
switch from a default operating mode to a high mobility (read as high-speed) operating mode based at least in part on detecting the one or more triggering conditions (read as speed exceeds a first threshold) (¶ [0077] When the terminal device detects that the moving speed exceeds a first threshold and this case lasts for a specific time, the terminal device may automatically enable the high-speed railway mode.); and
perform at least one mobility operation comprising a handover procedure, a neighbor cell reselection procedure, a measurement reporting procedure, or a connection procedure, according to the high mobility (read as high speed) operating mode (¶ [0080] After the terminal device enables the high-speed railway mode, the high-speed railway function of the terminal device is enabled. In this way, the terminal device may obtain path information, then determine a target cell based on the path information and the handover policy provided by the high-speed railway function, and perform cell handover.).
Regarding claim 3, Guo teaches connect to a wireless local area network (read as Wi-Fi) associated with the route (¶ [0075] After the terminal device is located on a high-speed train, the terminal device may establish a short-distance communication connection to the high-speed train by using a short-distance communication technology, for example wireless fidelity (wireless fidelity, Wi-Fi). Obtain speed information shared by the high-speed train, to determine a moving speed of the terminal device, and the like.).
Regarding claim 4, Guo teaches detect a sensor input indicating that the UE is located on the route, within a vehicle associated with the route, or both (¶ [0075] The terminal device uses a built-in positioning system, for example a global positioning system (global positioning system, GPS). After the terminal device is located on a high-speed train, the terminal device may establish a short-distance communication connection to the high speed train.; ¶ [0096] If the terminal device detects that the terminal device is located in the high-speed railway station A.).
Regarding claim 5, Guo teaches a pressure measurement associate with train car door opening or closing, a pressure measurement associated with entering an underground train station, a motion sensor measurement indicating a vibration pattern, a camera input indicating a lighting environment associated with a train car or train station, a microphone input indicating an acoustic pattern associated with the train car or train station, a magnetic sensor measurement indicating high mobility on a train or subway, a GPS input indication a location along the route, a GPS signal strength that satisfies a threshold signal strength level, or any combination thereof (¶ [0075] Terminal device uses a built-in positioning system, for example, a global positioning system (global positioning system, GPS).; ¶ [0095] If the terminal device detects that the terminal device is located in the high-speed railway station A.; Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).).
Regarding claim 6, Guo teaches detect a change in reference signal receive power (RSRP) that satisfies a threshold (¶ [0105] Detects a signal in the cell in the node, the terminal device may perform cell measurement. When measurement results of the cell and reach the second threshold, the terminal device reports the first measurement report.; ¶ [0106] It is assumed that the first threshold delivered by the network side device is the threshold in the A3 event, and is 3 dB. When it is indicated that an RSRP of the target cell is 3 dB greater than an RSRP of the source cell, or an RSRP of the source cell is 3 dB less than an RSRP of the target cell, the terminal device reports the first measurement report, to trigger the network side device to deliver a handover instruction.).
Regarding claim 8, Guo teaches establish one or more connections with respective network entities of the plurality of network entities one or more times during a time period (Fig. 1; ¶ [0132] The handover information may include an identifier of a source cell and an identifier of a destination cell in each cell handover performed by the terminal device. In a process in which the terminal device moves along the high-speed railway line 1, a handover path is: the cell 2 -> the cell 7 -> the cell 10.);
submit an indication (read as identifier) of the respective network entities of the plurality of network entities to a cloud server (read as cloud database) (¶ [0132] The terminal device may report the handover information to the network side device. The handover information may include an identifier of a source cell and an identifier of a destination cell in each cell handover.; ¶ [0139] The cloud database receives, in real time, a large amount of handover information sent by terminal devices.);
receive, from the cloud server based at least in part on submitting the indication of the respective network entities and a current location of the UE within the route, an indication of a cell map comprising information associated with the plurality of network entities (¶ [0082] The path information obtained by the terminal device includes at least path information of a movement path of the terminal device. Path information of a path may include a handover sequence of a plurality of nodes on the path and information about each node. The information about the node may include an identifier of the node and identifiers that are of a plurality of cells.; ¶ [0091] The terminal device may receive the path information pushed by the network device. The pushed path information may be a path information set, the path information set includes path information of a plurality of paths, and the plurality of paths include movement path of the terminal device.; ¶ [0092] The terminal device is located in the high-speed railway station A.; ¶ [0133] The network side device may periodically optimize the path information based on a plurality of pieces of handover information reported by terminal devices.); and
establish a connection with a first network entity (read as accesses a cell, for example, the cell 1, the high-speed railway dedicated network) of the plurality of network entities, wherein detecting the one or more triggering conditions comprises determining that the first network entity is associated with the cell map (read as path information) (Fig. 1; ¶ [0092] The terminal device is located in the high-speed railway station A, and accesses a cell, for example, the cell 1, on a high-speed railway dedicated network that covers the high-speed railway station A. The cell 1 detects that the terminal devices enables the high-speed railway mode, and the cell 1 pushes the path information set to the terminal device.).
Regarding claim 9, Guo teaches determine that the UE is approaching a first network entity (read as receive the path information) of the plurality of network entities, wherein performing the at least one mobility operation (read as accesses a cell) is based at least in part on the determining (Fig. 1; ¶ [0091] After the terminal device enables the high-speed railway mode and accesses the high-speed railway dedicated network, the terminal device may receive the path information pushed by the network device.; ¶ [0092] The terminal device is located in the high-speed railway station A, and access a cell, for example, the cell 1, on a high-speed railway dedicated network that covers the high-speed railway station A.; ¶ [0099] In a high-speed movement process, the terminal device determines a target cell based on the path information, and performs cell handover.).
Regarding claim 13, Guo teaches build a cell map (read as path information) comprising information associated with the plurality of network entities based at least in part on communicating (read as report) with respective network entities of the plurality of network entities (¶ [0082] The path information includes a handover sequence of a plurality of nodes on the path and information about each node. The information about the node may include an identifier of the node and identifiers that are of a plurality of cells.; ¶ [0132] The terminal device may report the handover information to the network side device. The handover information may include a handover path of the terminal device in a high-speed movement process.; ¶ [0136] The preset path generation server obtains large amount of handover information from the cloud database, then generates path information of a high-speed railway line.); and
determine a moving direction along the route based at least in part on the cell map, wherein determining that the UE is approaching the first network entity is based at least in part on the moving direction and the cell map (Fig. 1; ¶ [0085] The handover sequence of the three nodes is the node 1 -> the node 2 -> the node 3, where -> represents a handover direction.; ¶ [0086] The terminal device may determine, based on the handover sequence of the nodes, a node next node that is to be entered and a cell in the next node.; ¶ [0087] Based on the path information, the next node 2 includes the cell 4, the cell 5, and the cell 6. When detecting any cell in the node 2, the terminal device may prepare to hand over to the cell in the node 2 in advance.).
Regarding claim 14, Guo teaches disable the at least one mobility operation for a second network entity that the UE is leaving (read as prevent from being handed over back), based at least in part on determining that the UE is approaching the first network entity (¶ [0086] The terminal device may determine, based on the handover sequence of the nodes, a node next node that is to be entered and a cell in the next node.; ¶ [0019] When the terminal device determines the detected second target cell based on the path information, the terminal device measures the source cell and the target cell based on the third threshold.; ¶ [0120] When measurement results of the source cell and the second target cell do not reach the third threshold, the terminal device may not measure a signal in the second target cell. Therefore, the terminal device is prevented from being handed over back to the cell in the previous node, to avoid a ping-pong handover.).
Regarding claim 15, Guo teaches deprioritize measurements associated with a second network entity that the UE is leaving, based at least in part on determining that the UE is approaching the first network entity, wherein the at least one mobility operation comprises the measurement reporting procedure (¶ [0086] The terminal device may determine, based on the handover sequence of the nodes, a node next node that is to be entered and a cell in the next node.; ¶ [0019] When the terminal device determines the detected second target cell based on the path information, the terminal device measures the source cell and the target cell based on the third threshold.; ¶ [0120] When measurement results of the source cell and the second target cell do not reach the third threshold, the terminal device may not measure a signal in the second target cell. Therefore, the terminal device is prevented from being handed over back to the cell in the previous node, to avoid a ping-pong handover.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Dou et al. (US 2023/0146543 A1; hereinafter Dou).
Regarding claim 2, Guo does not explicitly teach access an entrance to the route via an application executed by the UE, wherein the route comprises a subway route, a high-speed train route, a freeway route, or a combination thereof.
In analogous art, Duo teaches access (read as card swiping or code scanning) an entrance to the route via an application executed by the UE, wherein the route comprises a subway route, a high-speed train route, a freeway route, or a combination thereof (¶ [0082] The third network element may determine card swiping behavior or code scanning behavior of the user based on application data of some transportation applications of the UE. If data recorded by a transportation application includes line information (for example, subway line) and station entry and exit information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine using a transportation application of the UE to access a type of transportation as taught by Duo with the apparatus in a high-speed movement scenario as taught by Guo. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the timeliness and reliability of mobility operations, which would improve user satisfaction, by using information from the transportation application to identify that the UE is traveling in a high-speed transportation environment and initiate the corresponding high-speed operating procedures (Duo: ¶ [0082]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Gao et al. (US 2020/0128467 A1; hereinafter Gao).
Regarding claim 18, Guo does not explicitly teach identify a radio link failure between the UE and a first network entity of the plurality of network entities; and
scan a subset of available frequency resources based at least in part on switching to the high mobility operating mode, the subset of available frequency resources based at least in part on a cell map associated with the plurality of network entities, wherein the at least one mobility operation comprises the connection procedure, and wherein the connection procedure is based at least in part on the scanning.
In analogous art, Gao teaches identify a radio link failure between the UE and a first network entity of the plurality of network entities (¶ [0083] If the radio link is out-of-sync for too long without recovering, the radio link may be declared to have failed (e.g., a radio link failure (RLF) event may have occurred), which may trigger a RRC re-establishment procedure. The wireless device may be forced into idle mode until a new RRC connection can be established (e.g., potentially with a new serving cell).; and
scan a subset of available frequency resources based at least in part on switching to the high mobility operating mode, the subset of available frequency resources based at least in part on a cell map associated with the plurality of network entities, wherein the at least one mobility operation comprises the connection procedure, and wherein the connection procedure is based at least in part on the scanning (¶ [0098] A wireless device may maintain a HST database including frequencies of such cells, e.g., such that when a wireless device switches to a new serving cell, its RRC layer may update the frequency point into its HST database if <highSpeedFlag=true> is provided.; ¶ [0099] The entry condition into the HST mode may include the HST database timer.; ¶ [0106] If a wireless device is able to recognize that it is in a HST scenario it may be able to prioritize HST cells during cell searches. A wireless device may search HST frequencies.; ¶ [0107] A wireless device may perform frequency scanning and cell searching as part of a RRC re-establishment procedure after a radio link failure event until RRC re-establishment is successful.; ¶ [0108] The wireless device may first scan up to a predetermined number (“X”) of HST frequencies (e.g., from the HST database stored by the wireless device). It may be determined if this is successful, and if so, the process may be complete.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine identifying a RLF and scanning frequencies as taught by Gao with the apparatus in a high-speed movement scenario as taught by Guo. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce recovery latency and improve reliability by promptly detecting a failed radio link and scanning available frequencies to reestablish communication while the UE is traveling at high speed (Gao: ¶¶ [0003]-[0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 10, 11, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gogna et al. (US 2020/0201315 A1) discloses “Adaptive Multi-Network Vehicle Architecture”
Karlsson et al. (US 2017/0223592 A1) discloses “Wireless Communication System and Method for Trains and Other Vehicles Using Trackside Base Stations”
Lee et al. (US 2018/0067203 A1) discloses “Doppler Distribution Measurement Method in Wireless Lan System”
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464