Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “means for connecting/disconnecting said injection member”. However, the specification fails to provide a corresponding structure for the means for connecting/disconnecting the injection member. As such, it is determined the subject matter was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 7, additionally, claim limitation “means for connecting/disconnecting said injection member” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure or example of connecting/disconnecting means. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 8, The addition of the word “type” to an otherwise definite expression (e.g., lab-on-a-chip) extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite. Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 118 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1955). See MPEP § 2173.02(III)(E).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jones (US 2015/196909 A1) as cited in IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Jones discloses (para. [0046]-[0052]): a microfluidic device (100, Fig. 1) comprising:
- a support comprising a microchannel (118 and 119, Fig. 2) configured to allow a fluid to flow from an inlet of the microchannel (118) to an outlet of the microchannel (119),
- capillary traps (para. [0045]-[0046], Fig. 1, 2A and 5, see the microchannels formed between the columns of micropillars (105 and 106, Fig. 1) arranged in series between the inlet (118) and the outlet (119) of the microchannel, each of the capillary traps comprising a microcavity (cavity formed by sharp corner 110, Fig. 2B) formed in a wall of the microchannel (Fig. 1, 2A-C and 5) so as to open into the microchannel in order to trap one or more objects suspended in the fluid as the latter flows through the microchannel; and
each of the capillary traps comprises a retaining member (103 or 104) extending in the microchannel opposite the microcavity of this capillary trap (Fig. 1, 2A-C and 5).
Regarding claim 2, Jones discloses the claimed invention as discussed above in claim 1. Jones discloses the retaining member comprises a concave retaining surface (Fig. 2C; para. [0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 3, Jones discloses the claimed invention as discussed above in claim 2. Jones discloses wherein, for each of the capillary traps, the retaining member comprises a first edge delimiting an upstream end of the retaining surface and a second edge delimiting a downstream end of the retaining surface, the first edge being located at a first distance from the microcavity of said capillary trap, the second edge being located at a second distance from the microcavity of said capillary trap, the first distance being greater the second distance (See annotated Fig. 2C below)
Regarding claim 8, Jones discloses the claimed invention as discussed above in claim 1. Jones discloses the support is a chip of a lab-on-a-chip type system (para. [0009]-[0010]).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Solomon (US 2016/214108 A1) as cited in IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Solomon discloses a microfluidic device (100, Fig. 1) comprising:
- a support comprising a microchannel (112, 115, 116, Fig. 1A-C) configured to allow a fluid to flow from an inlet of the microchannel (106, Fig. 1A-C) to an outlet of the microchannel (118, Fig. 1A-C; para. [0024]),
- capillary traps (Fig. 1A-C, combination of trap 102, bypass channel 104, and capillary restriction channel 114) arranged in series between the inlet (106) and the outlet (118) of the microchannel (112, 115, 116), each of the capillary traps comprising a microcavity (fluidic trap 102) formed in a wall of the microchannel so as to open into the microchannel in order to trap one or more objects suspended in the fluid as the latter flows through the microchannel (Embodiments also enable uniform trapping of cells and other particles suspended in a fluid over the entire network of traps. This is particularly important in cell-based screening studies. para. [0023]); and
each of the capillary traps comprises a retaining member (114, Fig. 1A-C) extending in the microchannel (116) opposite the microcavity (102) of said capillary trap.
Regarding claim 2, Solomon discloses the claimed invention as discussed above in claim 1. Solomon discloses an embodiment where the retaining member comprises a concave retaining surface (concave shape of 114, Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 4, Solomon discloses the claimed invention as discussed above in claim 1. Solomon discloses wherein, for each of the capillary traps, the retaining member extends along a flow direction of the microchannel, having a width less than or equal to a width of the microcavity of said capillary trap (…and hydrophilic capillary constriction channels 114 with, e.g., 40 μm width (small constriction inlet) connecting main channel 110 directly to traps 102. In embodiments, square fluidic traps 102 have, e.g., 1 mm×1 mm sides…para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 5, Solomon discloses the claimed invention as discussed above in claim 1. Solomon discloses microchannel is a primary microchannel, each of the capillary traps comprising a secondary microchannel opening into the microcavity of said capillary trap (bypass channel 104, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Solomon discloses the claimed invention as discussed above in claim 1. Solomon discloses wherein, for each of the capillary traps, the secondary microchannel comprises:
a first end through which it opens into the microcavity of said capillary trap, which opens into a second of the primary microchannel, and
a second end through which it opens into another section of the primary microchannel (See annotated Figure 1 below).
Regarding claim 7, Solomon discloses the claimed invention as discussed above in claim 1. Solomon discloses the device comprising an injection member (pipettor 330, Fig. 3; para. [0033]) and means for connecting/disconnecting said injection member (interface for pipettor 330, para. [0033]).
Regarding claim 8, Solomon discloses the claimed invention as discussed above in claim 1. Solomon discloses the support is a chip of a lab-on-a-chip system (para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 9, Solomon discloses the claimed invention as discussed above in claim 1. Solomon discloses a method for analyzing objects comprising a step of injecting a fluid into the microchannel of a microfluidic device according to claim 1 (This injection of fluid into the channels is achieved at high flow rates using a commercially available pipetting system. Para. [0044]), said objects being suspended in the fluid thus injected (A cell suspension may be loaded using either a manual or electronic pipette into a gridded microfluidic trap. para. [0054]).
Regarding claim 10, Solomon discloses the method as discussed above in claim 9. Solomon discloses the method comprises a step of optically detecting objects retained by the capillary traps of the microfluidic device (The cells within the traps were counted and used to calculate the total population. Para. [0054]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lyubimov (Capture and X-ray diffraction studies of protein microcrystals in a microfluidic trap array, 2015) cited in the IDS discloses microfluidic device (Fig. 3) comprising traps and bypass channels (Fig. 3B-3C) wherein the traps is a concave shape (Fig. 2C).
/M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758