DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/26/2024 and 8/05/2024 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21–29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roth et al. (US 2020/0404624 A1, hereinafter "Roth") in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0053528 A1, hereinafter "Wang").
Regarding claim 21, Roth discloses: A user equipment (UE) comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions that, upon execution of the instructions by the one or more processors, are to cause the UE to:, at least because Roth teaches a UE configured for New Radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink transmission, the UE having processing circuitry and computer-readable storage media storing instructions that cause the UE to determine a transport block size for a transport block transmission within a current sidelink slot and to encode a physical sidelink shared channel for transmission within the current sidelink slot (Roth Abstract "A user equipment (UE) configured for New Radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) (NR V2X) sidelink transmission in a fifth generation (5G) network may determine a transport block size (TBS) for transmission of a transport block (TB) within a current sidelink slot.").
Further, Roth teaches transmission of a transport block within a sidelink slot in NR V2X under SCI signaling carried on the PSCCH (Roth Abstract "The UE is configured to encode a physical sidelink shared channel (PSCCH) for transmission within the current sidelink slot. The PSCCH may be encoded to include sidelink control information (SCI).") however, Roth does not explicitly disclose that the sidelink slot includes two candidate starting symbols for the SL transmission and that a reference symbol length is identified based thereon: identify that the UE is to transmit a sidelink (SL) transmission in a slot that includes two candidate starting symbols for the SL transmission; identify, based on the identification that the slot includes two candidate starting symbols, a reference symbol length;
Nonetheless, Roth in view of Wang teaches that the starting symbol of the PSCCH in a sidelink slot is configurable as the first symbol or the second symbol of the slot, and that when the PSCCH starts at the second symbol the first symbol of the slot is allocated to a reference signal, thereby presenting the slot as having two candidate starting symbols and varying the reference symbol length depending on which candidate starting symbol is selected (Wang, para. [0050] "In the embodiment of FIG. 4C, the starting symbol of the PSCCH 424 in the slot is the second symbol (as the first symbol is allocated to the reference signals). In some embodiments, the starting symbol of a PSCCH in the starting slot (i.e., Start_slot) is configurable by the network system; e.g., the starting symbol may be the first symbol or the second symbol in Start_slot").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Roth in view of Wang in order to provide configurable PSCCH starting-symbol positions within a sidelink slot so as to enable flexible allocation of the leading symbol either to data or to a reference signal, thereby permitting the receiving UE to begin decoding the PSCCH as soon as a small number of leading symbols carrying the SCI is received and reducing decoding latency in latency-constrained NR V2X sidelink scenarios.
Further, Roth discloses: identify, based on the reference symbol length, a transport block size (TBS); and transmit the SL transmission in the slot based on the TBS., at least because Roth teaches that the number of resource elements available for PSSCH transmission within the current sidelink slot is determined by excluding certain resource elements from the resource elements of the slot, and the resulting RE count drives the TBS determination for the sidelink transport block transmitted by the UE (Roth Abstract "To determine the TBS, the UE may determine number of resource elements (REs) within the current sidelink slot 102 that are available for transmission of the PSSCH by excluding certain REs of the current sidelink slot.").
Doing so reduces decoding latency for the receiving UE in latency-constrained NR V2X sidelink scenarios, a predictable benefit of allocating the leading symbol of the slot either to a reference signal or to data based on which candidate starting symbol the UE elects, and of tying the resulting reference symbol length into the TBS computation through the established RE-exclusion mechanism.
Regarding claim 22, Roth teaches that the UE encodes PSCCH carrying SCI within the sidelink slot of claim 21 (Roth Abstract "The UE is configured to encode a physical sidelink shared channel (PSCCH) for transmission within the current sidelink slot. The PSCCH may be encoded to include sidelink control information (SCI).") however, Roth does not explicitly disclose that the UE identifies the reference symbol length based on a characteristic of the SL channel and transmits an indication of the reference symbol length: The UE of claim 21, wherein the instructions are further to: identify, based on a characteristic of the SL channel, the reference symbol length; and transmit an indication of the reference symbol length.
Yet, Roth in view of Wang teaches that the SCI carried on the PSCCH conveys the channel-configuration information to the receiving UE, such that the reference symbol length identified at the transmitting UE based on the configured PSCCH starting symbol of the channel is conveyed to the receiving UE via the SCI carried on the PSCCH, enabling the receiving UE to start decoding the PSSCH as soon as the SCI-bearing symbols of the PSCCH are decoded (Wang, para. [0053] "the multiplexing methods described herein enables the Rx UE to start decoding the PSSCH as soon as a small number of symbols (e.g., 1, 2 or 3) containing the SCI in the PSCCH is decoded").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to further modify Roth in view of Wang in order to convey the selected reference symbol length to the receiving UE via the SCI carried on the PSCCH, supporting reliable decoding of the sidelink transport block at the receiver.
Regarding claim 23, Roth teaches that the UE of claim 21 identifies a reference symbol length within the sidelink slot for TBS determination (Roth, para. [0019] "to determine the TBS, PSCCH resources reserved for both the first stage SCI and the second stage SCI may be excluded") however, Roth does not explicitly disclose that the reference symbol length is identified based on a first starting symbol of the two candidate starting symbols: The UE of claim 21, wherein the reference symbol length is identified based on a first starting symbol of the two candidate starting symbols.
Nonetheless, Roth in view of Wang teaches that when the PSCCH starts at the first symbol of the slot, i.e., the first starting symbol, no leading slot symbol is reserved for the reference signal, such that the reference symbol length identified at the UE corresponds to the first starting symbol of the two candidate starting symbols (Wang, para. [0050] "the starting symbol may be the first symbol or the second symbol in Start_slot").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to further modify Roth in view of Wang in order to tie the reference symbol length to the selected first starting symbol of the two candidate starting symbols, supporting the TBS determination at the UE.
Regarding claim 24, Roth teaches that the UE of claim 21 identifies a reference symbol length within the sidelink slot for TBS determination (Roth, para. [0019] "to determine the TBS, PSCCH resources reserved for both the first stage SCI and the second stage SCI may be excluded") however, Roth does not explicitly disclose that the reference symbol length is identified based on a second starting symbol of the two candidate starting symbols: The UE of claim 21, wherein the reference symbol length is identified based on a second starting symbol of the two candidate starting symbols.
Even so, Roth in view of Wang teaches that when the PSCCH starts at the second symbol of the slot, i.e., the second starting symbol, the first slot symbol is allocated to a reference signal, such that the reference symbol length identified at the UE corresponds to the second starting symbol of the two candidate starting symbols (Wang, para. [0050] "In the embodiment of FIG. 4C, the starting symbol of the PSCCH 424 in the slot is the second symbol (as the first symbol is allocated to the reference signals)").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to further modify Roth in view of Wang in order to tie the reference symbol length to the selected second starting symbol of the two candidate starting symbols, supporting the TBS determination at the UE.
Regarding claim 25, Roth teaches that the UE of claim 21 identifies a reference symbol length within the sidelink slot for TBS determination (Roth, para. [0019] "to determine the TBS, PSCCH resources reserved for both the first stage SCI and the second stage SCI may be excluded") however, Roth does not explicitly disclose that the reference symbol length is identified based on a pre-configured reference symbol length: The UE of claim 21, wherein the reference symbol length is identified based on a pre-configured reference symbol length.
Nevertheless, Roth in view of Wang teaches that the PSCCH starting-symbol selection and the resulting reference signal pattern are configured by the network system, such that the reference symbol length identified at the UE corresponds to a network-pre-configured reference symbol length (Wang, para. [0050] "the starting symbol of a PSCCH in the starting slot (i.e., Start_slot) is configurable by the network system").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to further modify Roth in view of Wang in order to rely on a network-pre-configured reference symbol length at the UE for sidelink slot TBS determination.
Regarding claim 26, Roth in view of Wang teaches the UE of claim 21 (as set forth above), and Roth further discloses: The UE of claim 21, wherein the SL transmission is a physical SL control channel (PSCCH) transmission or a physical SL shared channel (PSSCH) transmission., at least because Roth teaches that the SL transmission encoded by the UE in the sidelink slot includes a PSCCH transmission carrying SCI and a PSSCH transmission carrying the encoded transport block (Roth Abstract "The UE is configured to encode a physical sidelink shared channel (PSCCH) for transmission within the current sidelink slot. The PSCCH may be encoded to include sidelink control information (SCI). The SCI may indicate a reservation of physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) resources").
Regarding claim 27, Roth teaches that the UE of claim 21 transmits within a 14-symbol NR sidelink slot (Roth Abstract) however, Roth does not explicitly disclose that the first starting symbol is from the set {#0..#6} of the slot: The UE of claim 21, wherein a first starting symbol of the two candidate starting symbols is a symbol from the set of symbols {#0, #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #6} of the slot.
Nonetheless, Roth in view of Wang teaches that the configurable PSCCH starting symbol corresponds to the first symbol of the starting slot, i.e., symbol #0 in 0-indexed NR symbol notation, which is within the set {#0, #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #6} of the slot (Wang, para. [0050] "the starting symbol may be the first symbol or the second symbol in Start_slot").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to further modify Roth in view of Wang in order to select the first candidate starting symbol from the leading half of the slot, providing flexible PSCCH placement within the recited symbol range.
Regarding claim 28, Roth teaches that the UE of claim 21 transmits within a 14-symbol NR sidelink slot (Roth Abstract) however, Roth does not explicitly disclose that the second starting symbol of the two candidate starting symbols is a symbol from the set {#3..#7} of the slot: The UE of claim 21, wherein a second starting symbol of the two candidate starting symbols is a symbol from the set of symbols {#3, #4, #5, #6, #7} of the slot.
Yet, Roth in view of Wang teaches that the PSCCH may extend in time over one or more symbols and that the configurable PSCCH starting symbol may be selected from later symbols of the slot to accommodate intervening reference-signal symbols (Wang, para. [0056] "The PSCCH may extend in time over one or more symbols (e.g., 1, 2 or 3 symbols)").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to further modify Roth in view of Wang in order to position the second candidate starting symbol within the {#3..#7} range, accommodating leading reference-signal symbols ahead of the PSCCH.
Regarding claim 29, Roth teaches that the UE of claim 21 transmits within a 14-symbol NR sidelink slot (Roth Abstract) however, Roth does not explicitly disclose that the first starting symbol of the two candidate starting symbols is symbol #0 of the slot: The UE of claim 21, wherein a first starting symbol of the two candidate starting symbols is symbol #0 of the slot.
Nevertheless, Roth in view of Wang teaches that the configurable PSCCH starting symbol may be the first symbol of the starting slot, corresponding to symbol #0 of the slot in 0-indexed NR symbol notation (Wang, para. [0050] "the starting symbol may be the first symbol or the second symbol in Start_slot").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to further modify Roth in view of Wang in order to anchor the first candidate starting symbol at the very beginning of the slot, providing the canonical PSCCH placement form for an NR sidelink slot.
Claims 30–40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (WO 2021/217562 A1, hereinafter "Liu") in view of Davydov et al. (US 2019/0342874 A1, hereinafter "Davydov").
Regarding claim 30, Liu discloses: An electronic device for use in a user equipment (UE), wherein the electronic device comprises: memory to store information related to physical resources of a frequency bandwidth in an unlicensed spectrum; and one or more processors configured to:, at least because Liu teaches that NR supports operation in unlicensed spectrum (Liu, para. [0002] "3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) New Radio (NR) supports operation in unlicensed spectrum") and that the air interface in the radio access network may utilize unlicensed spectrum (Liu, para. [0059] "the air interface in the radio access network 200 may utilize licensed spectrum, unlicensed spectrum, or shared spectrum"), and Liu further teaches a UE that includes memory and processing circuitry configuring the UE’s sidelink physical-resource handling within the identified frequency bandwidth (Liu, para. [0108]).
Further, Liu teaches mapping interlaced resources to PSCCH and PSSCH resource blocks of a sidelink communication channel (Liu, para. [0108] "FIG. 9 is an illustration of an interlaced waveform 900 for including channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) in PSCCH and PSSCH resource blocks.") however, Liu does not explicitly disclose that the processors allocate a single sub-channel, interleave the plurality of sub-channels, and map the interleaved sub-channels to the physical resources for transmission: allocate frequency resources of a single sub-channel of a plurality of sub-channels for transmission of a new radio (NR) sidelink (SL) transmission; interleave the plurality of sub-channels to form interleaved sub-channels; map the interleaved sub-channels to the physical resources; and facilitate transmission, by the UE based on the interleaved plurality of sub-channels, of the SL transmission in the unlicensed spectrum on one or more of the physical resources of the frequency bandwidth.
Nonetheless, Liu in view of Davydov teaches that an NR-unlicensed (NR-U) transmission allocates uplink frequency resources using a block interleaved frequency division multiple access (B-IFDMA) allocation comprising interleaved physical resource blocks (PRBs) forming a plurality of interlaces within the transmission bandwidth, where each interlace corresponds to a sub-channel of the plurality of sub-channels, and the interleaved sub-channels are mapped to the physical resources of the unlicensed-band frequency bandwidth for transmission (Davydov, para. [0078] "a block interleaved frequency division multiple access (B-IFDMA) allocation including a plurality of interleaved physical resource blocks (PRBs) forming M number of interlaces within the transmission bandwidth, and N number of PRBs within each interlace of the M number of interlaces").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Liu in view of Davydov in order to apply the known NR-U block-interleaved (B-IFDMA) sub-channel allocation to the NR sidelink transmission of Liu, supporting transmission of the sidelink physical channel on the interleaved sub-channels within the identified unlicensed-band frequency bandwidth.
Doing so distributes the sidelink power-spectral density evenly across the unlicensed bandwidth, satisfies the occupied-channel-bandwidth (OCB) regulatory requirement of the unlicensed band, and inherits the channel-access and listen-before-talk benefits of the established NR-U block-interleaved allocation scheme when applied to NR sidelink.
Regarding claim 31, Liu in view of Davydov teaches the electronic device of claim 30 (as set forth above), and Liu further discloses: The electronic device of claim 30, wherein the SL transmission is a physical SL control channel (PSCCH) transmission., at least because Liu teaches that the interlaced sidelink resources include PSCCH resource blocks alongside PSSCH resource blocks (Liu, para. [0108] "FIG. 9 is an illustration of an interlaced waveform 900 for including channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) in PSCCH and PSSCH resource blocks.").
Regarding claim 32, Liu in view of Davydov teaches the electronic device of claim 30 (as set forth above), and Liu further discloses: The electronic device of claim 30, wherein the SL transmission occupies two consecutive symbols or three consecutive symbols of the physical resources., at least because Liu teaches that the interlaced sidelink waveform occupies contiguous-symbol portions of the PSCCH/PSSCH resource blocks over two or three consecutive symbols within the slot (Liu, para. [0100] "The PSCCH symbols 608 can occupy a number of consecutive RBs in the starting subchannel of the PSSCH transmission, e.g., over 2 or 3 symbols at the beginning of a slot").
Regarding claim 33, Liu teaches that the interlaced sidelink waveform is allocated within the identified frequency bandwidth using sub-channel granularity (Liu, para. [0108]) however, Liu does not explicitly disclose that the allocated sub-channel is the lowest sub-channel of the plurality of sub-channels: The electronic device of claim 30, wherein the sub-channel is a lowest sub-channel of the plurality of sub-channels.
Even so, Liu in view of Davydov teaches that the B-IFDMA allocation forms a plurality of indexed interlaces within the transmission bandwidth such that the UE may be assigned the lowest-index interlace of the plurality of M interlaces, where each interlace corresponds to a sub-channel of the plurality of sub-channels (Davydov, para. [0078] "a plurality of interleaved physical resource blocks (PRBs) forming M number of interlaces within the transmission bandwidth").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to further modify Liu in view of Davydov in order to select the lowest-index interlace as the allocated sub-channel for the NR sidelink transmission, providing a canonical placement of the assigned sub-channel within the indexed plurality.
Regarding claim 34, Liu teaches that the interlaced sidelink resources are mapped to PSCCH and PSSCH resource blocks (Liu, para. [0108]) however, Liu does not explicitly disclose that the interleaving operates at resource-block (RB) granularity: The electronic device of claim 30, wherein the interleaving is resource block (RB)-based interleaving.
Yet, Liu in view of Davydov teaches that the B-IFDMA allocation forms interlaces from interleaved physical resource blocks (PRBs), such that the interleaving operates at the resource-block granularity (Davydov, para. [0078] "a plurality of interleaved physical resource blocks (PRBs) forming M number of interlaces within the transmission bandwidth, and N number of PRBs within each interlace").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to further modify Liu in view of Davydov in order to operate the sub-channel interleaving at the resource-block level, aligning the NR sidelink allocation with the established NR-U PRB-granularity interlace structure.
Regarding claim 35, Liu in view of Davydov teaches the electronic device of claim 30 (as set forth above), and Liu further discloses: The electronic device of claim 30, wherein the SL transmission is to be transmitted over a plurality of slots., at least because Liu teaches that the sidelink transmission occupies a slot of a plurality of slots in the time domain and that the SCI carried on the PSCCH conveys the reserved time-frequency resources for the sidelink transmission (Liu, para. [0099] "data occupying a slot 602 of a plurality of slots (shown as dotted lines) in the time domain for a subchannel 604 of a plurality of subchannels in the frequency domain"; Liu, para. [0096] "the PSCCH, which conveys data including a part of sidelink control information (SCI) to be decoded by any UE for the channel sensing purpose, including the reserved time-frequency resources for transmissions"), such that the SCI of the PSCCH reserves PSSCH resources spanning the plurality of slots over which the sidelink transmission is carried.
Regarding claim 36, Liu discloses: One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions that, upon execution of the instructions by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), are to cause the UE to: identify physical resources of a frequency bandwidth in the unlicensed spectrum;, at least because Liu teaches that NR supports operation in unlicensed spectrum (Liu, para. [0002] "3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) New Radio (NR) supports operation in unlicensed spectrum") and that the air interface in the radio access network may utilize unlicensed spectrum (Liu, para. [0059] "the air interface in the radio access network 200 may utilize licensed spectrum, unlicensed spectrum, or shared spectrum"), such that a UE storing processor-executable instructions for NR sidelink communication identifies physical resources of a frequency bandwidth within the unlicensed spectrum for sidelink transmission (Liu, para. [0108]).
Further, Liu teaches sidelink communication using PSCCH and PSSCH resource blocks within the identified frequency bandwidth (Liu, para. [0108]) however, Liu does not explicitly disclose that the UE allocates a single sub-channel, interleaves the plurality of sub-channels by RB-based interleaving, and transmits the physical SL transmission on the interleaved sub-channels: allocate frequency resources of a single sub-channel of a plurality of sub-channels for transmission of a new radio (NR) physical sidelink (SL) transmission; interleave, via resource block (RB)-based interleaving, the plurality of sub-channels to form interleaved sub-channels; map the interleaved sub-channels to the physical resources; and transmit, based on the interleaved plurality of sub-channels, the physical SL transmission in the unlicensed spectrum on one or more of the physical resources of the frequency bandwidth.
Nonetheless, Liu in view of Davydov teaches that an NR-unlicensed transmission allocates uplink frequency resources using a block interleaved frequency division multiple access (B-IFDMA) allocation in which interleaved physical resource blocks (PRBs) form a plurality of interlaces within the transmission bandwidth, with the resource-block granularity of the interleaving inherent in the PRB-based interlace structure (Davydov, para. [0078] "a block interleaved frequency division multiple access (B-IFDMA) allocation including a plurality of interleaved physical resource blocks (PRBs) forming M number of interlaces within the transmission bandwidth, and N number of PRBs within each interlace of the M number of interlaces").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Liu in view of Davydov in order to apply the known NR-U RB-based block-interleaved (B-IFDMA) sub-channel allocation to the NR sidelink physical channel transmitted by the UE in the unlicensed spectrum, supporting the recited interleave-and-transmit sequence at the resource-block granularity.
Doing so distributes the sidelink power-spectral density evenly across the unlicensed bandwidth at the resource-block granularity, satisfies the occupied-channel-bandwidth (OCB) regulatory requirement, and supports a predictable RB-level interleave structure on the NR sidelink that mirrors the established NR-U uplink interlace allocation.
Regarding claim 37, the claim recites: The electronic device of claim 36, wherein the physical SL transmission occupies two consecutive symbols or three consecutive symbols of the physical resources. Claim 37 is analogous to claim 32 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 38, the claim recites: The electronic device of claim 36, wherein the sub-channel is a lowest sub-channel of the plurality of sub-channels. Claim 38 is analogous to claim 33 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 39, the claim recites: The electronic device of claim 36, wherein the physical SL transmission is to be transmitted over a plurality of slots. Claim 39 is analogous to claim 35 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 40, Liu in view of Davydov teaches the electronic device of claim 39 (as set forth above), and Liu further discloses: The electronic device of claim 39, wherein the physical SL transmission is a physical SL control channel (PSCCH) transmission or a physical SL shared channel (PSSCH) transmission., at least because Liu teaches that the interlaced sidelink waveform occupies PSCCH and PSSCH resource blocks within the sidelink slot (Liu, para. [0108] "FIG. 9 is an illustration of an interlaced waveform 900 for including channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) in PSCCH and PSSCH resource blocks.").
Conclusion
/CHONGSUH PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478