DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the response to the restriction requirement received 24 August 2026. Claims 21-40 are pending in this application. Claims 21-28 are examined herein; claims 29-40 are withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group ! (Claims 21-28) in the reply filed on 24 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wagner (WO2021/023081).
For Claim 21, Wagner teaches an apparatus for use in a user equipment (UE), wherein the apparatus comprises:
memory to store a received physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (see paragraphs 89-90); and one or more processors (see paragraph 88) configured to:
identify sidelink resources for a plurality of physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) occasions associated with the PSCCH or PSSCH, wherein the sidelink resources are identified based on mapping information that defines the sidelink resources for respective individual PSFCH occasions of the plurality of PSFCH occasions (see abstract, paragraphs 8, 11, 63-65, 82); and
facilitate transmission, by the UE, of a PSFCH in one or more of the PSFCH occasions using the respective sidelink resources (see abstract, paragraphs 77-78, 82-83).
For Claim 22, Wagner teaches the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to identify the mapping information received as part of configuration information for a resource pool (see paragraphs 7-9, 13).
For Claim 23, Wagner teaches the apparatus, wherein the sidelink resources for different PSFCH occasions include different physical resource blocks (PRBs) in a frequency domain (see paragraphs 63, 65, 67: PRBs; paragraphs 34, 37, 46: frequency resources).
For Claim 28, Wagner teaches the apparatus, wherein the sidelink resources includes a set of interlaced resource blocks that are common for PSFCHs of multiple UEs, and one or more dedicated physical resource blocks (PRBs) that are dedicated to the respective individual PSFCH occasion (see paragraphs 51, 59, 83-85).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner (WO2021/023081) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2023/0171807).
For Claim 24, while Wagner does indicate the use of LBT (see paragraph 35), Wagner as applied above is not explicit as to, but Xu teaches the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
determine that the PSFCH is to be transmitted outside of a channel occupancy time (COT) shared by another device (see paragraphs 35, 71); and
facilitate performance, by the UE based on the determination, of a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure for the transmission of the PSFCH (see paragraphs 35, 71).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the mechanism of Xu when implementing the method of Wagner. The motivation would be to improve throughput by allowing terminals to avoid collisions on the sidelink.
Claim(s) 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner (WO2021/023081) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Ye et al. (US 2022/0085923).
For Claim 25, Wagner as applied above is not explicit as to, but Ye teaches the apparatus, wherein the sidelink resources for the respective individual PSFCH occasions include a set of resource blocks that are interlaced in a frequency domain (see paragraphs 132, 129, 203).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to provide for sharing channels as in Ye when implementing the method of Wagner. One of ordinary skill would have been able to employ a known method of multiplexing with the reasonably predictable result of terminals sharing unlicensed frequencies.
For Claim 26, Wagner as applied above is not explicit as to, but Ye teaches the apparatus, wherein a frequency-domain orthogonal cover code (OCC) is applied for the transmission of the PSFCH (see paragraphs 140-144).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to provide for encoding channels as in Ye when implementing the method of Wagner. One of ordinary skill would have been able to employ a known method of multiplexing with the reasonably predictable result of terminals sharing unlicensed frequencies.
For Claim 27, Wagner as applied above is not explicit as to, but Ye teaches the apparatus, wherein a PRB-level cyclic shift is applied for the transmission of the PSFCH (see paragraphs 124-128).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to provide for modulating channels as in Ye when implementing the method of Wagner. One of ordinary skill would have been able to employ a known method of multiplexing with the reasonably predictable result of terminals sharing unlicensed frequencies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhao et al. (US 2025/0097960) teaches employing an RB level cover code for a PSFCH. Li et al. (US 2021/0321396) teaches indexing PSFCH resources by frequency and cyclic shift.
/CASSANDRA L DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2466 9/10/2026
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466