Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/26/2024, 12/2/2025, and 12/19/2025 have been considered by the examiner. Initialed copies accompany this action.
Drawings
The Drawings filed 7/26/2024 are approved by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felten (US 4,230,493) in view of Greenstein (US 4,032,350).
Regarding claim 1, Felten discloses a gold conductor composition comprising a gold powder, and an organic solvent (vehicle), wherein the gold powder comprises gold having an average particle size of about 0.5 to about 5 μm or less (col 2, ln 50-58). Felten does not disclose the organic solvent has a distance Ra in a Hansen solubility parameter from the gold powder of 7.0 MPa1/2 or more, and has an intrinsic viscosity value measured at a temperature of 25° C. and a shear rate of 4/s with a rotational viscometer of 1.5 mPa.s or more and 6.5 mPa.s or less. However, Felten discloses dibutyl carbitol can be is the solvent (Table I and V), which is the same solvent used in the claimed gold paste (para 0038). Therefore, the solvent disclosed by Felten would possess same property as claimed. “A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01 II. Felten does not disclose the gold with a purity of 9.99% by mass or more is used. Greenstein discloses gold with a purity of 99.9% by mass or more (gold powder is A-1570 and A-1984 sold by Englehard Minerals and Chemical Company) is used to form a gold paste composition used in microelectronic circuitry. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the invention to use gold with a purity of 99.9% by mass or more in the composition of Felten, thereby maintain electrical conductivity of the composition.
Regarding claim 2, Felten discloses the organic solvent has a boiling point of 140° C. or more and 360° C. or less (dibutyl carbitol has a boiling point of 256oC).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Felten discloses a content ratio of the gold powder is 85% by mass or more and 97% by mass or less based on a total mass of the gold paste (Example 14, Table V).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenstein (US 4,032,350).
Regarding claim 1, Greenstein discloses a gold paste comprising a gold powder, and an organic solvent, wherein the gold powder comprises gold with a purity of 99.9% by mass or more (gold powder is A-1570 and A-1984 sold by Englehard Minerals and Chemical Company), and has an average particle size of10 μm or less. See the abstract, col 2, ln 3-19, col 8, ln 54-68. Greenstein does not disclose the organic solvent has a distance Ra in a Hansen solubility parameter from the gold powder of 7.0 MPa1/2 or more, and has an intrinsic viscosity value measured at a temperature of 25° C. and a shear rate of 4/s with a rotational viscometer of 1.5 mPa.s or more and 6.5 mPa.s or less. However, Greenstein discloses 2-ethylhexyl acetate can be used as the solvent (col 6, ln 15), which is the same solvent used in the claimed gold paste (para 0038). Therefore, the solvent disclosed by Greenstein would possess same property as claimed. “A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01 II.
Regarding claim 2, Greenstein the organic solvent has a boiling point of 140° C. or more and 360° C. or less (2-ethylhexyl acetate has a boiling point of 199oC).
Claims 4, 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindemann (US 3,404,024) in view of Felten (US 4,230,493) and Greenstein (US 4,032,350).
Regarding claims 4, 7 and 8, Lindemann discloses a dip coating method in which at least a part of an article to be coated is dipped in and pulled out (withdrawn) of a dipping tank holding a coating composition for applying the composition to the article to be coated (abstract, col 3, ln 16-24). The method eliminates sags on the article and an even film thickness obtained. Felten in view of Greenstein discloses a gold paste comprising a gold powder, and an organic solvent as defined in claim 1 above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the invention to dip coating the article using the gold paste of Felten in view of Greenstein, which eliminates sags on the article and an even coating thickness.
Regarding claim 5, Lindemann discloses a pulling speed of the member to be coated is 1 mm/s or more (2 feet per minute, col 3, ln 22-24).
Claims 4, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindemann (US 3,404,024) in view of Greenstein (US 4,032,350).
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Lindemann discloses a dip coating method in which at least a part of an article to be coated is dipped in and pulled out (withdrawn) of a dipping tank holding a coating composition for applying the composition to the article to be coated (abstract, col 3, ln 16-24). The method eliminates sags on the article and an even film thickness obtained. Greenstein discloses a gold paste comprising a gold powder, and an organic solvent as defined in claim 1 above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the invention to dip coating the article using the gold paste of Greenstein, which eliminates sags on the article and an even coating thickness.
Regarding claim 5, Lindemann discloses a pulling speed of the member to be coated is 1 mm/s or more (2 feet per minute, col 3, ln 22-24).
Conclusion
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
6/13/2026