DETAILED ACTION
Applicant canceled claims 1-10 and added new claims 11-25 in the preliminary amendment dated 7/26/2024.
Claims 11-25 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/26/2024 and 4/28/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12, 14-17, and 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by “Update in ACR scenarios when used for service continuity planning,” S6-211010 (revision of SG-210881), 3GPP TSG-SA WG6 Meeting #42-bis-e meeting, April 12-20, 2021 (Huawei).
With regards to Claim 11, Huawei teaches a first edge enabler server (EES) in a wireless communication system, comprising: a transceiver (i.e., Figure 8.8.2.3-1, T-EES Page 6; ); at least one processor connected to the transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from an second EES, an application context relocation (ACR) request message including ACR information (i.e., The EEC sends the ACR Request message…, Page 6, Step 4); and
transmit, to an edge application server (EAS), a ACR notification message based on the ACR request message (i.e., The S-EES authorises the request from the EEC. The S-EES decides to execute ACR based on the information received by the EEC and the information of EEC context or EAS profile, and may apply the AF traffic influence with the N6 routing information of the T-EAS in the 3GPP Core Network (if applicable) and sends the ACR Notify message to the S-EAS to initiate ACT between the S-EAS and the T-EAS, as described in clause 8.8.3.4, Page 6)).
With regards to Claim 12, Huawei teaches wherein the ACR information includes at least one of a service continuity planning indication, a target ELS service area predicted arrival time, an application context expiration timer, an identifier of a UL, an application identifier, information about an LLS currently serving the UL, and an LAS currently serving the UL (.e., The EEC sends the ACR Request message…, Page 6, Step 4), and wherein the information related to the predicated movement path of the UE includes at least one of a service continuity planning indication, a target EES service area predicted arrival time, an application context holding timer request value (application context expiration timer), an identifier of the UE, an application identifier, information about an EES currently serving the UE, and an edge application (EAS) currently serving the UE (i.e., Table 8.8.4.4-1: ACR Request; Page, 13; UE Identifier).
With regards to Claim 14, Huawei teaches wherein the application context expiration timer is used in determining holding time for an application context of a UL. (i.e., NOTE: Upon notification from T-EES that the application context is expired, the T-EAS can discard the UE’s application context, Page 7, Phase IV: Post-ACR Clean up)
With regards to Claim 15, Huawei teaches the at least one processor is further configured to transmit, to the second LLS, a response message (i.e., Figure 8.8.2.3-1; Step 4).
The limitations of Claim 16 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 11 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 17 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 12 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 19 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 14 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 20 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 15 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
With regards to Claim 21, Huawei teaches wherein the ACR request message is received by the second EES from an edge enabler client (EEC) (i.e., The EEC sends the ACR Request message…, Page 6, Step 4).
The limitations of Claim 22 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 21 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 23 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 11 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 24 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 12 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 25are rejected in the analysis of Claim 14 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Update in ACR scenarios when used for service continuity planning,” S6-211010 (revision of SG-210881), 3GPP TSG-SA WG6 Meeting #42-bis-e meeting, April 12-20, 2021 (Huawei) in view of 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Architecture for enabling Edge Applications; (Release 17), 3GPP TS 23.558, XP052083589, (3GPP).
With regards to Claim 13, Huawei teaches above disclosed subject matter. However, Huawei does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, from the EAS, an acknowledge message indicating acceptance or rejection of ACR in response to the ACR notification message. 3GPP does teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the EAS, an acknowledge message indicating acceptance or rejection of ACR in response to the ACR notification message (i.e., Notification Message, Section 8.6.4.2.3-1, Step 1, Page 89) in order to provide continuous ACR management event notifications (Section 8.6.4.2.3-1, Step 1, Page 89). Therefore, based on Huawei in view of 3GPP, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of 3GPP with the system of Huawei in order provide to continuous ACR management event notifications.
The limitations of Claim 18 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 13 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
/SURAJ M JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447 June 12, 2026