DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7, 11-17, and 21-26 are currently pending in the application. Claims 21-26 are withdrawn for being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I. in the reply filed on 12/31/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 21-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers filed on 07/26/2024 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
In Fig. 4 at 261 “SECOND GATE DRIVER” should read --SECOND INVERTER--.
In Fig. 5 at 261 “SECOND GATE DRIVER” should read --SECOND INVERTER--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 5-7, 12-13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor, the second processor controls the parking brake based on the output signal of the parking switch” in lines 1-3. The claim is indefinite because the claim also recites controlling the parking brake based on the pedal sensor when the periodic signal is not received (claim 1 lines 12-13). Therefore, it is unclear whether the parking brake is controlled based on the pedal sensor or the parking switch when the periodic signal is not received. For examination purposes the claim has been considered as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “when…the output signal of the pedal sensor is valid” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim because the claim does not recite determining the validity of the pedal sensor. For examination purposes the claim has been considered as reciting --wherein the second processor determines whether the output signal of the pedal sensor is valid-- after the preamble of claim 3.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “when…the output signal of the wheel speed sensor is valid” in lines 1-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim because the claim does not recite determining the validity of the pedal sensor. For examination purposes the claim has been considered as reciting --wherein the second processor determines whether the output signal of the wheel speed sensor is valid-- after the preamble of claim 5.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “when the periodic signal is received from the first processor while the parking brake is controlled based on the output signal of the pedal sensor” in lines 1-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim because the claim recites controlling the parking brake based on the pedal sensor when the periodic signal is not received. For examination purposes the limitation has been considered as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor, controlling, by the second processor, the parking brake based on the output signal of the parking switch” in lines 1-3. The claim is indefinite because the claim also recites controlling the parking brake based on the pedal sensor when the periodic signal is not received. Therefore, it is unclear whether the parking brake is controlled based on the pedal sensor or the parking switch. For examination purposes the claim has been considered as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “when…the output signal of the pedal sensor is valid” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim because the claim does not recite determining the validity of the pedal sensor signal. For examination purposes the claim has been considered as reciting --further comprising identifying whether the output signal of the pedal sensor is valid-- after the preamble of claim 13.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “when…the output signal of the wheel speed sensor is valid” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the claim has been considered as reciting --further comprising identifying whether the output signal of the wheel speed sensor is valid” after the preamble of claim 15.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “when the periodic signal is received from the first processor while the parking brake is controlled based on the output signal of the pedal sensor” in lines 1-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim because the claim recites controlling the parking brake based on the pedal sensor when the periodic signal is not received. For examination purposes the limitation has been considered as best understood by the Examiner.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected for depending upon indefinite base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TARANDEK (WO 2020/204509, English language equivalent in US 12,472,918) in view of ALFORD (US 2021/0179051, provided by Applicant on 07/26/2024 IDS) and ZHANG (US 2024/0359669).
Regarding claim 1, TARANDEK discloses a brake device comprising:
a hydraulic pressure supply unit (15, Fig. 3) fluidly connected to wheel cylinders (FA,RA) of a vehicle (col. 5 lines 52-53, Fig. 3);
a parking brake (1, col. 4 lines 7-9) provided on at least one of the wheel cylinders (Fig. 3);
a first processor (2) electrically connected to the hydraulic pressure supply unit and the parking brake (col. 4 lines 12-15); and
a second processor (3) electrically connected to the parking brake (col. 4 lines 15-19, Fig. 3) and electrically connected to the first processor through a signal line (implied by “communication interface” connecting microprocessors in Fig. 2, Fig. 3),
wherein the first processor (implied) controls the hydraulic pressure supply unit based on an output signal of a pedal sensor (12) of the vehicle (col. 5 lines 65-67), and controls the parking brake based on an output signal of a parking switch (10) of the vehicle (col. 6 lines 3-7).
TARANDEK is not relied upon to teach the second processor controls the parking brake based on the output signal of the pedal sensor when the first processor malfunctions.
ALFORD teaches when a first processor (180, Fig. 2) malfunctions (0098 lines 1-5; failure of functional unit 110 may include failure of first processor, 0089 lines 12-13), a second processor (180’, Fig. 2) controls a parking brake (EPB1,EPB2, Fig. 2) based on the output signal of a pedal sensor (130, 0098 lines 5-8) in order to cause, increase or reduce a vehicle deceleration or in order to increase or reduce a wheel velocity in a wheel-specific manner (0089 lines 15-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the second processor of TARANDEK to control the parking brake based on the output signal of the pedal sensor when the first processor malfunctions as taught by ALFORD in order to cause, increase or reduce a vehicle deceleration or in order to increase or reduce a wheel velocity in a wheel-specific manner and potentially prevent an accident.
TARANDEK and ALFORD are silent regarding how the second processor determines malfunction of the first processor.
ZHANG teaches a first processor (121) provides a periodic signal (0141 lines 5-7) to a second processor (123) through a signal line (0141 lines 1-5), and
when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor (0141 lines 12-13), the second processor determines malfunction of the first processor (0141 lines 13-15) so that the second processor may switch to an effective state to perform braking based on a stepping indication of a driver (0141 lines 16-18).
Absent guidance from TARANDEK and ALFORD, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the brake device of TARANDEK such that the second processor may determine malfunction of the first processor as taught by ZHANG so that the second processor may switch to an effective state to perform braking based on a stepping indication of a driver and potentially prevent an accident.
TARANDEK as modified teaches wherein the first processor provides a periodic signal to the second processor through the signal line, and when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor, the second processor controls the parking brake based on the output signal of the pedal sensor.
Regarding claim 2, TARANDEK discloses the brake device of claim 1.
ZHANG is relied upon to teach when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor (0141 lines 12-13), the second processor determines malfunction of the first processor (0141 lines 13-15).
ALFORD is relied upon to teach when a first processor (180, Fig. 2) malfunctions (0098 lines 1-5; failure of functional unit 110 may include failure of first processor, 0089 lines 12-13), a second processor (180’, Fig. 2) controls a parking brake (EPB1,EPB2, Fig. 2) based on the output signal of a pedal sensor (130, 0098 lines 5-8).
ALFORD further teaches when the first processor (180, Fig. 2) malfunctions (0098 lines 1-5; failure of functional unit 110 may include failure of first processor, 0089 lines 12-13), the second processor also controls the parking brake based on the output signal of the parking switch (0089 lines 21-24) to make possible a conventional parking brake operation for parking the vehicle even in the event of a malfunction of the first processor (0089 lines 24-26; 0098 lines 1-5; failure of functional unit 110 may include failure of first processor, 0089 lines 12-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the second processor of TARANDEK to control the parking brake based on the output signal of the parking switch when the first processor malfunctions as taught by ALFORD to make possible a conventional parking brake operation for parking the vehicle even in the event of a malfunction of the first processor.
TARANDEK as modified teaches wherein, when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor, the second processor controls the parking brake based on the output signal of the parking switch.
Regarding claim 3, TARANDEK as modified teaches the brake device of claim 1.
ZHANG is relied upon to teach when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor (0141 lines 12-13), the second processor determines malfunction of the first processor (0141 lines 13-15).
ALFORD is relied upon to teach when a first processor (180, Fig. 2) malfunctions (0098 lines 1-5; failure of functional unit 110 may include failure of first processor, 0089 lines 12-13), the second processor (180’, Fig. 2) controls a parking brake (EPB1,EPB2, Fig. 2) based on the output signal of a pedal sensor (130, 0098 lines 5-8).
None of the references explicitly disclose determining the output signal of the pedal sensor is valid.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the validity of the output signal of the pedal sensor in the brake device of TARANDEK as modified to prevent inappropriate and/or potentially unsafe control of the brakes based on a faulty sensor signal. Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality in determining the validity of the output signal of the pedal sensor.
TARANDEK as modified teaches wherein, when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor and the output signal of the pedal sensor is valid, the second processor controls the parking brake based on the output signal of the pedal sensor.
Regarding claim 4, TARANDEK as modified teaches the brake device of claim 1.
TARANDEK further discloses wherein the first processor (col. 5 line 50) controls the hydraulic pressure supply unit based on an output signal of a wheel speed sensor of the vehicle (col. 5 line 65 - col. 6 line 3).
ZHANG is relied upon to teach when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor (0141 lines 12-13), the second processor determines malfunction of the first processor (0141 lines 13-15).
ALFORD further teaches when the first processor malfunctions (0090 lines 1-5), the second processor controls the parking brake based on the output signal of the wheel speed sensor (0092 lines 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the second processor of TARANDEK to control the parking brake based on the wheel speed sensors when the first processor malfunctions as taught by ALFORD to provide slip control during braking events even when the first processor malfunctions to potentially prevent an accident.
TARANDEK as modified teaches when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor, the second processor controls the parking brake based on the output signal of the wheel speed sensor.
Regarding claim 5, TARANDEK as modified teaches the brake system of claim 4.
ZHANG is relied upon to teach when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor (0141 lines 12-13), the second processor determines malfunction of the first processor (0141 lines 13-15).
ALFORD is relied upon to teach when a first processor (180, Fig. 2) malfunctions (0098 lines 1-5; failure of functional unit 110 may include failure of first processor, 0089 lines 12-13), the second processor (180’, Fig. 2) controls the parking brake (EPB1,EPB2, Fig. 2) based on the output signal of a pedal sensor (130, 0098 lines 5-8) and the wheel speed sensor (0092 lines 4 6).
None of the references explicitly disclose determining the output signal of the wheel speed sensor is valid.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the validity of the output signal of the wheel speed sensor in the brake device of TARANDEK as modified to prevent inappropriate and/or potentially unsafe control of the brakes based on a faulty sensor signal. Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality in determining the validity of the output signal of the wheel speed sensor.
TARANDEK as modified teaches wherein, when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor and the output signal of the wheel speed sensor is valid, the second processor controls the parking brake based on the output signal of the pedal sensor.
Regarding claim 11, TARANDEK discloses a method of controlling a brake device including a first processor (2) and a second processor (3) electrically connected to the first processor through a signal line (implied by “communication interface” connecting microprocessors in Fig. 2, Fig. 3), the method comprising:
controlling, by the first processor (implied), a hydraulic pressure supply unit (15, Fig. 3) fluidly connected to wheel cylinders (FA,RA) of a vehicle (col. 5 lines 52-53, Fig. 3) based on an output signal of a pedal sensor (12) of the vehicle (col. 5 lines 65-67);
controlling, by the first processor (implied), a parking brake (1, col. 4 lines 7-9) provided on at least one of the wheel cylinders (Fig. 3) based on an output signal of a parking switch (10) of the vehicle (col. 6 lines 3-7).
TARANDEK is not relied upon to teach when the first processor malfunctions, controlling, by the second processor, the parking brake based on the output signal of the pedal sensor.
ALFORD teaches when a first processor (180, Fig. 2) malfunctions (0098 lines 1-5; failure of functional unit 110 may include failure of first processor, 0089 lines 12-13), controlling, by the second processor (180’, Fig. 2), the parking brake (EPB1,EPB2, Fig. 2) based on the output signal of a pedal sensor (130, 0098 lines 5-8) in order to cause, increase or reduce a vehicle deceleration or in order to increase or reduce a wheel velocity in a wheel-specific manner (0089 lines 15-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the second processor of TARANDEK to control the parking brake based on the output signal of the pedal sensor when the first processor malfunctions as taught by ALFORD in order to cause, increase or reduce a vehicle deceleration or in order to increase or reduce a wheel velocity in a wheel-specific manner and potentially prevent an accident.
TARANDEK and ALFORD are silent regarding how the second processor determines malfunction of the first processor.
ZHANG teaches providing, by a first processor (121), a periodic signal (0141 lines 5-7) to a second processor (123) through a signal line (0141 lines 1-5), and
when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor (0141 lines 12-13), the second processor determines malfunction of the first processor (0141 lines 13-15) so that the second processor may switch to an effective state to perform braking based on a stepping indication of a driver (0141 lines 16-18).
Absent guidance from TARANDEK and ALFORD, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the method of TARANDEK such that the second processor may determine malfunction of the first processor as taught by ZHANG so that the second processor may switch to an effective state to perform braking based on a stepping indication of a driver and potentially prevent an accident.
TARANDEK as modified teaches providing, by the first processor, a periodic signal to the second processor through the signal line; and when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor, controlling, by the second processor, the parking brake based on the output signal of the pedal sensor.
Regarding claim 12, TARANDEK as modified teaches the method of claim 11.
ZHANG is relied upon to teach when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor (0141 lines 12 13), the second processor determines malfunction of the first processor (0141 lines 13-15).
ALFORD is relied upon to teach when a first processor (180, Fig. 2) malfunctions (0098 lines 1-5; failure of functional unit 110 may include failure of first processor, 0089 lines 12-13), a second processor (180’, Fig. 2) controls a parking brake (EPB1,EPB2, Fig. 2) based on the output signal of a pedal sensor (130, 0098 lines 5-8).
ALFORD further teaches when the first processor (180, Fig. 2) malfunctions (0098 lines 1-5; failure of functional unit 110 may include failure of first processor, 0089 lines 12-13), also controlling, by the second processor, the parking brake based on the output signal of the parking switch (0089 lines 21-24) to make possible a conventional parking brake operation for parking the vehicle even in the event of a malfunction of the first processor (0089 lines 24-26) when a first processor (180’, Fig. 2) malfunctions (0098 lines 1-5; failure of functional unit 110 may include failure of first processor, 0089 lines 12-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the second processor of TARANDEK to control the parking brake based on the output signal of the parking switch when the first processor malfunctions as taught by ALFORD to make possible a conventional parking brake operation for parking the vehicle even in the event of a malfunction of the first processor.
TARANDEK as modified teaches when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor, controlling, by the second processor, the parking brake based on the output signal of the parking switch.
Regarding claim 13, TARANDEK as modified teaches the method of claim 11.
ZHANG is relied upon to teach when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor (0141 lines 12 13), the second processor determines malfunction of the first processor (0141 lines 13-15).
ALFORD is relied upon to teach when a first processor (180, Fig. 2) malfunctions (0098 lines 1-5; failure of functional unit 110 may include failure of first processor, 0089 lines 12-13), controlling, by the second processor (180’, Fig. 2), the parking brake (EPB1,EPB2, Fig. 2) based on the output signal of a pedal sensor (130, 0098 lines 5-8).
None of the references explicitly disclose determining the output signal of the pedal sensor is valid.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the validity of the output signal of the pedal sensor in the brake device of TARANDEK as modified to prevent inappropriate and/or potentially unsafe control of the brakes based on a faulty sensor signal. Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality in determining the validity of the output signal of the pedal sensor.
TARANDEK as modified teaches wherein the controlling, by the second processor, of the parking brake based on the output signal of the pedal sensor includes, when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor and the output signal of the pedal sensor is valid, controlling, by the second processor, the parking brake based on the output signal of the pedal sensor.
Regarding claim 14, TARANDEK as modified teaches the method of claim 11.
TARANDEK further discloses controlling, by the first processor (col. 5 line 50), the hydraulic pressure supply unit based on an output signal of a wheel speed sensor of the vehicle (col. 5 line 65 - col. 6 line 3).
ZHANG is relied upon to teach when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor (0141 lines 12 13), the second processor determines malfunction of the first processor (0141 lines 13-15).
ALFORD further teaches when the first processor malfunctions (0090 lines 1-5), controlling, by the second processor, of the parking brake based on the output signal of the wheel speed sensor (0092 lines 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the second processor of TARANDEK to control the parking brake based on the wheel speed sensors when the first processor malfunctions as taught by ALFORD to provide slip control during braking events even when the first processor malfunctions to potentially prevent an accident.
TARANDEK as modified teaches when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor, controlling, by the second processor, the parking brake based on the output signal of the wheel speed sensor.
Regarding claim 15, TARANDEK as modified teaches the method of claim 14.
ZHANG is relied upon to teach when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor (0141 lines 12 13), the second processor determines malfunction of the first processor (0141 lines 13-15).
ALFORD is relied upon to teach wherein the controlling, by the second processor, of the parking brake based on the output signal of the wheel speed sensor (0092 lines 4-6) includes, when the first processor (180, Fig. 2) malfunctions (0098 lines 1-5; failure of functional unit 110 may include failure of first processor, 0089 lines 12-13), controlling, by the second processor (180’, Fig. 2), the parking brake based on the output signal of the pedal sensor (130, 0098 lines 5-8) and the wheel speed sensor (0092 lines 4 6).
None of the references explicitly disclose determining the output signal of the wheel speed sensor is valid.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the validity of the output signal of the wheel speed sensor in the method of TARANDEK as modified to prevent inappropriate and/or potentially unsafe control of the brakes based on a faulty sensor signal. Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality in determining the validity of the output signal of the wheel speed sensor.
TARANDEK as modified teaches wherein the controlling, by the second processor, of the parking brake based on the output signal of the wheel speed sensor includes, when the periodic signal is not received from the first processor and the output signal of the wheel speed sensor is valid, controlling, by the second processor, the parking brake based on the output signal of the pedal sensor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARK L. GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747