DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/27/2024 was filed prior to the mail date of this action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 7, “in a stacked state” should read “in [[a]] the stacked state” to avoid the antecedent basis issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakai (JP 2008264082).
Regarding claim 1, Nakai teaches a golf article cleaner (cleaner fig. 4, wherein the cleaner is capable of cleaning a golf article) for cleaning various golf articles [0001 of the attached translation), the golf article cleaner comprising:
an inner surface portion functioning as an inner skin (fig. 4, sheet 2) and configured to clean the golf article (sheet 2 is capable of cleaning the golf article); and
an outer surface portion functioning as an outer skin (waterproof sheet 3) and sewn around the inner surface portion (fig. 4, sewing thread 8, [0040-0041 of the attached translation]),
wherein the inner surface portion includes a first inner surface portion and a second inner surface portion continuing from the first inner surface portion (see annotated fig. 4 above), which are divided in a stacked state ([0044 of the attached translation], wherein Nakai teaches the cleaner can be carried by folding in half as shown in fig. 6).
Nakai’s embodiment of fig. 4 does not explicitly teach
an upper portion of the first inner surface portion and an upper portion of the second inner surface portion are detachably deployed to expand a cleaning area.
However, Nakai teaches a different embodiment (fig. 6), wherein the cleaner is folded in half (fig. 6), and wherein the cleaner has a hooking portion 11a and a hooked portion 11b of a hook-and-loop fastener which keeps the cleaner in the folded state [0045 of the attached translation]. Overall, Nakai teaches an upper portion of the first inner surface portion and an upper portion of the second inner surface portion (folded together in fig. 6) are detachably deployed to expand a cleaning area (via hooking portion 11a and a hooked portion 11b of a hook-and-loop fastener).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the embodiment of fig. 4 of Nakai to incorporate the teachings of the embodiment of fig. 6 of Nakai to provide an upper portion of the first inner surface portion and an upper portion of the second inner surface portion are detachably deployed to expand a cleaning area. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the hooking portion 11a and a hooked portion 11b of a hook-and-loop fastener into the cleaner of fig. 4 of Nakai. Doing so would keep the cleaner in the folded state [0045 of the attached translation] which promotes easier storage in the user’s pocket and promotes cleanliness by trapping the cleaning surface internally.
Claims 2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakai (JP 2008264082), in view of Savage et al. (US PGPUB 20200230476), hereinafter Savage.
Regarding claim 2, Nakai, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Nakai, as modified, teaches wherein the first inner surface portion is provided with a first cleaning member (fig. 4, wiping sheet 2).
Nakai, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the first inner surface portion and the second inner surface portion are provided with a first cleaning member and a second cleaning member provided with the first cleaning member in series, respectively, and
the first cleaning member and the second cleaning member have different structures.
However, Savage teaches a dual sided golf towel, wherein the golf towel includes wherein the first inner surface portion and the second inner surface portion (fig. 2, wherein the first inner surface portion and the second inner surface portion are interpreted as being on opposite sides of the internal fold) are provided with a first cleaning member and a second cleaning member provided with the first cleaning member in series, respectively (The internal cleaning cloth 20 of the golf towel is a waffle pattern. The waffle pattern has a raised portion 21c and recessed portions 21b [0031]. The raised portions are interpreted as the first cleaning member and the recessed portions are interpreted as the second cleaning member, wherein the waffle pattern extends across both the first inner surface portion and the second inner surface portion (fig. 2)), and
the first cleaning member and the second cleaning member have different structures (raised vs recessed [0031]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Nakai, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Savage to provide wherein the first inner surface portion and the second inner surface portion are provided with a first cleaning member and a second cleaning member provided with the first cleaning member in series, respectively, and
the first cleaning member and the second cleaning member have different structures.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to substitute the cloth 20 having the waffle pattern 21 for the wiping sheet 2 of Nakai. Doing so would have been a simple substitution (MPEP 2143) of one known cleaning cloth (of Savage) for another known cleaning cloth (of Nakai) to obtain the predictable results of providing an internal cleaning cloth capable of cleaning golf articles. Additionally, incorporating the waffle pattern material would allow for deep cleaning, more abrasion, and cleaning debris from within the grooves of the club head [0017 of Savage].
Regarding claim 6, Nakai, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 2. Additionally, Nakai, as modified, teaches wherein the upper portion of the first inner surface portion and the upper portion of the second inner surface portion part are sewn to be spaced a certain distance from a side surface of the outer surface portion (fig. 4 of Nakai, wherein Nakai teaches element 8 denotes a sewing thread [0040 of attached translation of Nakai], wherein the upper portion of the first inner surface portion and the upper portion of the second inner surface portion (as interpreted above) are sewn to be spaced a certain distance from a side surface of the outer surface portion (fig. 4 of Nakai)).
Regarding claim 7, Nakai, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 2. Additionally, Nakai, as modified, teaches wherein the first cleaning member and the second cleaning member are provided symmetrically to each other in a front-rear direction and a vertical direction (fig. 2 of Savage, wherein the waffle pattern material was incorporated into Nakai, wherein the first cleaning member and the second cleaning member of the waffle pattern are provided symmetrically to each other in a front-rear direction and a vertical direction. That is, the waffle pattern has two perpendicular lines of symmetry (fig. 2 of Savage)).
Regarding claim 8, Nakai, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 2. Additionally, Nakai, as modified, teaches wherein the outer surface portion is made of a waterproof material or a waterproof-treated material (waterproof sheet 3 of Nakai [0040 of the attached translation of Nakai]).
Claims 4-5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakai (JP 2008264082), in view of Savage et al. (US PGPUB 20200230476), hereinafter Savage, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Cheung et al. (US PGPUB 20210100408), hereinafter Cheung.
Regarding claim 4, Nakai, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 2. Nakai, as modified, teaches a hook-and-loop mechanism as the mechanism to provide detachable attachment (see rejection of claim 1 for more details).
Nakai, as modified, does not explicitly teach further comprising a magnet member provided to expand the cleaning area,
wherein the magnet member includes a first magnet member provided at the upper portion of the first inner surface portion and a second magnet member provided at the upper portion of the second inner surface portion, and
the first inner surface portion and the second inner surface portion are maintained in a stacked state due to an attractive force between the first magnet member and the second magnet member.
However, Cheung teaches a moisture retaining pocket towel, wherein the towel is kept in the folded position via magnetic elements 40 (fig. 7) which retain the folding position as the pair of magnets will attract magnetically in opposite polarity with each other [0038].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Nakai, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Cheung to provide wherein the mechanism for detachable attachment is a pair of magnets that attract magnetically in opposite polarity with each other. Specifically, it would have been obvious to substitute the pair of magnets (as taught by Cheung) for the hook-and-loop fastener configuration of Nakai, as modified. Doing so would have been a simple substitution (MPEP 2143) of one known detachable fastener for another known detachable fastener to obtain the predictable results of detachably securing the cleaner in the folded position.
In summary, Nakai, as modified, teaches
further comprising a magnet member provided to expand the cleaning area (as incorporated from Cheung),
wherein the magnet member includes a first magnet member (as incorporated from Cheung, wherein Cheung teaches a pair of magnetic elements) provided at the upper portion of the first inner surface portion and a second magnet member provided at the upper portion of the second inner surface portion (The term “at” does not require any specific structural or spatial relationship. The magnets of Cheung were incorporated for the hook-and-loop fasteners 11 of Nakai fig. 6, wherein the position of the hook-and-loop fasteners are provided “at” the upper portion of the first inner surface portion and “at” the upper portion of the second inner surface portion), and
the first inner surface portion and the second inner surface portion are maintained in a stacked state due to an attractive force between the first magnet member and the second magnet member (as incorporated from Cheung, wherein Cheung teaches magnetic elements 40 (fig. 7) retain the folding position as the pair of magnets will attract magnetically in opposite polarity with each other [0038].
Regarding claim 5, Nakai, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 4. Additionally, Nakai, as modified, teaches wherein each of the first magnet member and the second magnet member is arranged to be spaced a certain distance from a side surface of the outer surface portion (fig. 6 of Nakai, wherein the magnetic members of Cheung were incorporated for the hook-and-loop fasteners of Nakai fig. 6, wherein the position of the detachable fasteners in fig. 6 of Nakai are arranged to be spaced a certain distance from a side surface of the outer surface portion 3).
Regarding claim 14, Nakai, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 4. Additionally, Nakai, as modified, teaches wherein the golf article made of a metal material is attached to the magnet member (The claim is drawn towards the “golf article cleaner” and not to the golf article. Therefore, the golf article cleaner must only provide the capability of attaching a golf article made of a metal material to the magnet member. Nakai, as modified, is capable of attaching a golf article made of a metal material to the magnet member. The examiner recommends modifying the claim to a system claim in order to explicitly require the metal golf article).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakai (JP 2008264082), in view of Savage et al. (US PGPUB 20200230476), hereinafter Savage, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Nordin (US Patent 5804274).
Regarding claim 3, Nakai, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 2. Additionally, Nakai, as modified, teaches wherein the first cleaning member is made of a terry fabric (paragraph 0031 of Savage, wherein the teachings of Savage were incorporated above, wherein Savage teaches the raised portions 21C are a jacquard terry cloth, wherein the raised portions 21C were interpreted as the first cleaning member) to clean foreign substances attached to a surface of the golf article (the raised portions 21C are capable of cleaning foreign substances attached to a surface of the golf article), and
the second cleaning member is configured to clean foreign substances attached to the surface and grooves of the golf article (paragraph 0031 of Savage, wherein the teachings of Savage were incorporated above, wherein Savage teaches the recessed portions which were interpreted as the second cleaning member, wherein the recessed portions are capable of cleaning foreign substances attached to the surface and grooves of the golf article).
Nakai, as modified, does not explicitly teach the second cleaning member (recessed portions) is made of a loop-shaped weave.
However, Nordin teaches a cleaning cloth for cleaning dirty surfaces, wherein the cloth includes shorter loops 2 and longer loops 3 (fig. 1), wherein the longer loops provide a brush and sweeping effect that have the function of transferring dust, dirt and humidity to the microfibres having a greater attract force and ability to accumulate (col. 3, lines 20-25), wherein the microfibers is the shorter loops with microfilament yarn which have an absorbing and accumulating effect on dust and dirt particles (col. 3, lines 5-10), wherein the loops are woven loops (col. 2, lines 33-36).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Nakai, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Nordin to provide wherein the recessed portions are made of a loop shaped weave. Specifically, it would have been obvious to provide wherein the recessed portions are woven shorter loops. Doing so would provide the recessed portions with an absorbing and accumulating effect on dust and dirt particles (col. 3, lines 5-10 of Nordin) which promotes cleanliness.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakai (JP 2008264082), in view of Savage et al. (US PGPUB 20200230476), hereinafter Savage, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Behannon et al. (US PGPUB 20070226934), hereinafter Behannon, and Condliff et al. (US PGPUB 20020000455), hereinafter Condliff.
Regarding claim 9, Nakai, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 2. Nakai, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein an eyelet passing through the outer surface portion, the first inner surface portion, and the second inner surface portion is provided at a stacked portion of the upper portion of the first inner surface portion and the upper portion of the second inner surface portion, and
a connection ring is coupled to the eyelet, and a reel wire is connected to the connection ring.
However, Bohannon teaches a golf towel assembly, wherein an eyelet (grommets 155 are interpreted as the eyelet) passing through the outer surface portion, the first inner surface portion, and the second inner surface portion (fig. 1a and 1b) is provided at a stacked portion of the upper portion of the first inner surface portion and the upper portion of the second inner surface portion (fig. 1a), and
a connection ring (carabiner 180, fig. 1a) is coupled to the eyelet [0026].
Additionally, Condliff teaches a portable cloth holding device, wherein the cloth includes a grommet 52, a connection ring 40 coupled to the grommet (fig. 1), and a reel wire is connected to the connection ring (outer housing 9 including spring loaded reel mechanism 25 including cord 30 (fig. 1 and fig. 6)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Nakai, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Bohannon and Condliff to provide wherein an eyelet passing through the outer surface portion, the first inner surface portion, and the second inner surface portion is provided at a stacked portion of the upper portion of the first inner surface portion and the upper portion of the second inner surface portion, and
a connection ring is coupled to the eyelet, and a reel wire is connected to the connection ring.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to substitute the holding configuration of Bohannon and Condliff for the holding configuration of Nakai’s fig. 4, wherein the incorporated holding configuration can hold the cleaner in the folded configuration. Doing so would have been a simple substitution (MPEP 2143) of one known holding configuration for another known holding configuration to obtain the predictable results of providing holding means to hold the cleaner. Additionally, doing so would securely hold the cleaner in the folded configuration, thereby promoting compact storage and transportation.
Regarding claim 10, Nakai, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 2. Nakai, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein an eyelet is provided at each of the upper portion of the first inner surface portion and the upper portion of the second inner surface portion, and
a connection ring is coupled to the eyelet, and a reel wire is connected to the connection ring.
However, Bohannon teaches a golf towel assembly, wherein an eyelet (grommets 155 are interpreted as the eyelet) is provided at each of the upper portion of the first inner surface portion and the upper portion of the second inner surface portion (grommets 155 are interpreted as the eyelet, fig. 1a and 1b), and
a connection ring (carabiner 180, fig. 1a) is coupled to the eyelet [0026].
Additionally, Condliff teaches a portable cloth holding device, wherein the cloth includes a grommet 52, a connection ring 40 coupled to the grommet (fig. 1), and a reel wire is connected to the connection ring (outer housing 9 including spring loaded reel mechanism 25 including cord 30 (fig. 1 and fig. 6)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Nakai, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Bohannon and Condliff to provide wherein an eyelet is provided at each of the upper portion of the first inner surface portion and the upper portion of the second inner surface portion, and
a connection ring is coupled to the eyelet, and a reel wire is connected to the connection ring.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to substitute the holding configuration of Bohannon and Condliff for the holding configuration of Nakai’s fig. 4, wherein the incorporated holding configuration can hold the cleaner in the folded configuration. Doing so would have been a simple substitution (MPEP 2143) of one known holding configuration for another known holding configuration to obtain the predictable results of providing holding means to hold the cleaner. Additionally, doing so would securely hold the cleaner in the folded configuration, thereby promoting compact storage and transportation.
Regarding claim 11, Nakai, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 2. Nakai, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein a ring member is provided at an upper portion of the outer surface portion, and
a connection ring is coupled to the ring member, and a reel wire is connected to the connection ring.
However, Bohannon teaches a golf towel assembly, wherein a ring member (fig. 1a, grommets 155) is provided at an upper portion of the outer surface portion (fig. 1a), and
a connection ring is coupled to the ring member (fig. 1a, carabiner 180).
Additionally, Condliff teaches a portable cloth holding device, wherein the cloth includes a grommet 52, a connection ring 40 coupled to the grommet (fig. 1), and a reel wire is connected to the connection ring (outer housing 9 including spring loaded reel mechanism 25 including cord 30 (fig. 1 and fig. 6)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Nakai, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Bohannon and Condliff to provide wherein a ring member is provided at an upper portion of the outer surface portion, and
a connection ring is coupled to the ring member, and a reel wire is connected to the connection ring.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to substitute the holding configuration of Bohannon and Condliff for the holding configuration of Nakai’s fig. 4, wherein the incorporated holding configuration can hold the cleaner in the folded configuration. Doing so would have been a simple substitution (MPEP 2143) of one known holding configuration for another known holding configuration to obtain the predictable results of providing holding means to hold the cleaner. Additionally, doing so would securely hold the cleaner in the folded configuration, thereby promoting compact storage and transportation.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakai (JP 2008264082), in view of Savage et al. (US PGPUB 20200230476), hereinafter Savage, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lee (US Patent 8882605).
Regarding claim 12, Nakai, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 2. Nakai, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein an insertion portion into which the golf article is inserted is provided on the outer surface portion.
However, Lee teaches a golf tool kit, wherein a towel 200 (fig. 2) includes a first linear pocket 290 formed on the first towel 200 and a plurality of tee pockets 300 may be formed below the linear pocket 290 such that each teach pocket 300 can accommodate a single tee 302 (col. 5, lines 1-5). Overall, Lee teaches wherein an insertion portion into which the golf article is inserted is provided on the outer surface portion (fig. 2, tee pockets 300 for receiving tees).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Nakai, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Lee to provide wherein an insertion portion into which the golf article is inserted is provided on the outer surface portion. Specifically, it would have been obvious to provide wherein tee pockets are provided on the outer surface portion of Nakai, as modified. Doing so would provide increased utility of the device by allowing the operator to carry tees. Additionally, doing so would promote organization and convenience.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakai (JP 2008264082), in view of Savage et al. (US PGPUB 20200230476), hereinafter Savage, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lee (US Patent 8882605) and yet further in view of Ergle et al. (US Patent 6131733), hereinafter Ergle.
Regarding claim 13, Nakai, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 2. Nakai, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein a ring-shaped advertisement display member is provided on the outer surface portion, and the golf article is inserted into the advertisement display member.
However, Lee teaches a golf tool kit, wherein a towel 200 (fig. 2) includes a first linear pocket 290 formed on the first towel 200 and a plurality of tee pockets 300 may be formed below the linear pocket 290 such that each teach pocket 300 can accommodate a single tee 302 (col. 5, lines 1-5). Overall, Lee teaches wherein a ring-shaped insertion portion into which the golf article is inserted is provided on the outer surface portion (fig. 2, tee pockets 300 for receiving tees, wherein the opening of the pocket is ring shaped).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Nakai, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Lee to provide wherein a ring-shaped insertion portion into which the golf article is inserted is provided on the outer surface portion. Specifically, it would have been obvious to provide wherein tee pockets are provided on the outer surface portion of Nakai, as modified. Doing so would provide increased utility of the device by allowing the operator to carry tees. Additionally, doing so would promote organization and convenience.
Nakai, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein a ring-shaped advertisement display member is provided on the outer surface portion, and the golf article is inserted into the advertisement display member.
However, Ergle teaches a golf tee holding apparatus including a plurality of ring-shaped members 32a (fig. 1a) on an outer surface portion (fig. 1a), wherein the first side, second side or both sides can include a logo 34, indicia, advertisement or the like to be secured thereto. This addition may enhance the aesthetic appearance or increase marketing potential. It is noted that since the perforations are merely geometric slits, this structure is such that distortion will not be accomplished by having a logo, indicia or the like located thereon (col. 5, lines 44-52).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Nakai, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Ergle to provide wherein the outer surface portion includes a logo or advertisement. Doing so would enhance the aesthetic appearance or increase marketing potential (as taught by Ergle).
In summary, Nakai, as modified, teaches wherein a ring-shaped (tee pocket of Lee, wherein the inlet of the pocket is ring shaped) advertisement display member (as incorporated from Ergle) is provided on the outer surface portion (see above combination of teachings of Lee and Ergle), and the golf article (tee as taught by Lee) is inserted into the advertisement display member (tee inserted into the pocket of Lee, wherein the pocket includes an advertisement display over the pocket).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cserpes (US PGPUB 20100024175) teaches an apparatus for holding towel similar to the claimed invention.
Sprague (US PGPUB 20090193598) teaches a golf towel similar to the claimed invention
/MICHAEL A GUMP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723