Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 29 July 2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Duesterhoeft (US 2014/0099522; hereinafter ‘Duesterhoeft’).
Regarding claim 1, Duesterhoeft discloses a shield connector[at least header assembly 100/coaxial connector system 10; Figs. 1, 2, 4–6; as found in at least paragraphs [0016]–[0020] and [0040]–[0043]] comprising:
an inner conductor [at least center contact 112; Figs. 2, 4–6; as found in at least paragraphs [0020], [0028], [0040], and [0043]]; an outer conductor that surrounds the inner conductor [at least outer housing 110, outer contact 120, rear shell 122, bore 140, receptacle 132; Figs 2, 4–6; as found in at least paragraphs [0020], [0022]–[0026], and [0043]]; and a dielectric body disposed between the inner conductor and the outer conductor [at least dielectric body 114 received in outer contact 120 and surrounding center contact 112; Figs. 2, 4–6; as found in at least paragraphs [0020], [0026], [0029]–[0030], [0040], and [0043]],
wherein the outer conductor includes a bottom surface [at least open bottom/bottom 128 of rear shell 122; Figs. 2 and 5; as found in at least paragraphs [0023]–[0025] and [0043]], a back surface intersecting the bottom surface [at least rear shell 122 and side walls 130 extending rearward from front wall 124; Figs. 2, 5, and 6; as found in at least paragraph [0023]], a mount portion formed on the bottom surface and bonded to a surface of a circuit substrate through soldering [at least mounting posts 134 extending from bottom 128 and circuit board 102; Figs. 1, 2, 5; as found in at least paragraphs [0017], [0024]–[0025]; Scott states mounting posts 134 may be soldered in plated openings of circuit board 102 in paragraph [0025]], and a depressed portion provided in an area extending from the back surface to the bottom surface and disposed in the bottom surface in the vicinity of the mount portion [at least open bottom 128 and receptacle 132 of rear shell 122; alternatively opening 220 in top wall 126 providing soldering access; Figs. 2, 5, and 6; as found in at least paragraphs [0023]–[0025], and [0043]].
Regarding claim 3, Duesterhoeft discloses the shield connector according to claim 1, wherein the mount portion [at least mounting posts 134; alternatively grounding fingers 196 if relying on board-ground engagement rather than soldered posts; Figs. 2 and 5; as found in at least paragraphs [0025] and [0037]] is disposed so as to be visually recognizable through the depressed portion [at least open bottom 128/receptacle 132 of rear shell 122; alternatively opening 220 in top wall 126 providing access to terminating end 152 such as for soldering; Figs. 5 and 6; as found in at least paragraphs [0023]–[0025], and [0043]], in rear view of the outer conductor [at least outer housing 110/rear shell 122; Figs. 2, 5, and 6; as found in at least paragraphs [0022]–[0025], and [0043]].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duesterhoeft, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ziegler, Jr. (US 3,668,608; hereinafter ‘Ziegler’).
Regarding claim 2, Duesterhoeft teaches the shield connector according to claim 1, with at least one center contact [112] in header assembly [100; Figs. 2 and 4–6; as found in at least paragraphs [0020], [0028], [0040], and [0043]], and the outer conductor includes a back portion that includes the back surface [at least rear shell 122, including side walls 130 extending rearward from front wall 124; Figs. 2, 5, and 6; as found in at least paragraph [0023]] and has the depressed portion defined therein [as indicated above].
However, Duesterhoeft does not expressly disclose a plurality of the inner conductors are provided and a partition portion that is continuous to the back portion and the partition portion is disposed between the inner conductors adjacent to each other.
Ziegler teaches similar shield connectors including a plurality of the inner conductors are provided and a partition portion that is continuous to the back portion and the partition portion is disposed between the inner conductors adjacent to each other [Zieglers’ figures show inner conductors in a variety of numbers].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date modify Duesterhoeft’s shield connector to include a plurality of the inner conductors are provided and a partition portion that is continuous to the back portion and the partition portion is disposed between the inner conductors adjacent to each other, as suggested by Ziegler.
One would have been motivated to do so to accommodate varying connection needs in a singular housing to meet the specifications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and are cited as teaching similar conductors sandwiched between dielectric material.
/LEAH MACCHIAROLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831