This office action is a response to 7/29/2024.
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10, 12-16, 19, 22, 33-37, and 40 are pending.
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10, 12-16, 19, 22, 33-37, and 40 are rejected.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the Instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/29/2024 and 6/26/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 12-16, 19, 22, 33-37, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fripp et al. US20230239785, hereinafter Fripp.
Regarding Claim 1, Fripp discloses a network energy saving method, applied to a network device (Fripp see at least Fig. 1, [0023] disclosing base stations), comprising:
acquiring energy consumption indication information, wherein the energy consumption indication information is used for indicating a target energy consumption state of the network device (Fripp [0032] discloses determining whether one or more of the plurality of metrics for each monitored base station meet at least one energy saving criterion, such as the measure of load dropping below a threshold indicating sufficiently low load, the measure of energy consumption surpassing a threshold indicating that the base station (or MNO) has consumed too much energy and/or is responsible for too many units of carbon dioxide emissions (based on the MNO’s energy targets), and/or that the base station does not implement a service offering/commitment that prevents it from entering energy saving mode; Figs. 4-6, [0059] discloses evaluation for candidate energy saving solution; [0065, 0066, 0069] discloses, based on the most suitable energy saving solution, the neutral host controller sends instruction messages to base stations to enter one of energy saving options; [0085] further discloses that the process may be implemented in the respective base stations as the base station perform its own energy saving solution and notifies the network);
transceiving data at least based on the target energy consumption state (Fripp Fig. 4-6, [0059] discloses the energy saving options include: entering energy saving mode for all services; entering compensation mode for other base stations; and entering energy saving more for some services while maintaining other services).
Regarding Claim 2, Fripp discloses the method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein before transceiving the data at least based on the target energy consumption state, the network energy saving method further comprises: determining the target energy consumption state corresponding to the energy consumption indication information at least according to the energy consumption indication information (Fripp Fig. 4-6, [0059, 0065, 0066, 0069] discloses the neutral host controller sends instruction messages to base stations to enter one of energy saving options; the energy saving modes include: entering energy saving mode for all services; entering compensation mode for other base stations; and entering energy saving more for some services while maintaining other services).
Regarding Claim 3, Fripp discloses the method of claim 2 and further discloses wherein the energy consumption indication information comprises a numerical value of preset information (Fripp [0027-0030] discloses monitoring plurality of metrics, including: a measure of load, measure of energy consumption, or an identifier of each service offering and commitment), and the determining the target energy consumption state corresponding to the energy consumption indication information at least according to the energy consumption indication information comprises:
acquiring the numerical value of the preset information in the energy consumption indication information (Fripp [0027] discloses monitoring plurality of metrics);
determining the target energy consumption state according to the numerical value of the preset information in at least one of the following ways:
determining that the target energy consumption state is a first energy consumption state in response to the numerical value of the preset information meeting a first value; or determining that the target energy consumption state is a second energy consumption state in response to the numerical value of the preset information meeting a second value; or determining that the target energy consumption state is a third energy consumption state in response to the numerical value of the preset information meeting a third value; wherein the first value is higher than the second value, the second value is higher than the third value, energy consumption of the first energy consumption state is higher than energy consumption of the second energy consumption state, and the energy consumption of the second energy consumption state is higher than energy consumption of the third energy consumption state (Fripp [0027-0030] discloses monitoring plurality of metrics, including: a measure of load, measure of energy consumption, or an identifier of each service offering and commitment; and [0031-0032] determining if the metric meet at least one energy saving criterion including comparison to a threshold; determination of a suitable energy saving solution is triggered based on the comparison to the threshold).
Regarding Claim 4, Fripp discloses the method of claim 3, and further discloses wherein the preset information comprises load information of a communication system where the network device is located, and the load information comprises at least one of the following: system resource usage rate, system resource utilization rate of the communication system (Fripp at least [0027-0030] discloses one monitored metric being a measure of load, such as radio throughput as a proportion of radio capacity or the proportion of radio resources being used) …
Regarding Claim 7, Fripp discloses the method of claim 2 and further discloses where the energy consumption indication information comprises a target energy consumption state;
the determining the target energy consumption state corresponding to the energy consumption indication information at least according to the energy consumption indication information comprises: acquiring the target energy consumption state in the energy consumption indication information (Fripp Fig. 4-6, [0059, 0065, 0066, 0069] discloses the neutral host controller sends instruction messages to base stations to enter one of energy saving options; the energy saving modes include: entering energy saving mode for all services; entering compensation mode for other base stations; and entering energy saving more for some services while maintaining other services).
Regarding Claim 10, Fripp discloses the method of claim 1 and further discloses further comprising:
converting an energy consumption state based on at least one of the following ways:
… acquiring conversion information to convert the current energy consumption state of the network device into an energy consumption state indicated in the conversion information (Fripp at least [0060] discloses 1. The first base station 100 entering energy saving mode for all services (i.e. its 4G and 5G service) and the second base station 200 entering compensation mode for the first base station’s 4G and 5G services; [0061] 2. The second base station 200 entering energy saving mode for all services (i.e. its 2G, 4G and 5G service) and the first base station 100 entering compensation mode for the second base station’s 4G and 5G services only; [0062] 3. The second base station 200 entering energy saving mode for its 2G and 4G services (thus maintaining its 5G service), and the first base station 100 enabling a 2G service and entering compensation mode for the second base station’s 2G and 4G services); or
in response to the change of a numerical value of the preset information, converting the current energy consumption state of the network device into an energy consumption state corresponding to the preset information according to the numerical value of the preset information (Fripp [0027-0030] discloses monitoring plurality of metrics, including: a measure of load, measure of energy consumption, or an identifier of each service offering and commitment; and [0031-0032] determining if the metric meet at least one energy saving criterion including comparison to a threshold; determination of a suitable energy saving solution is triggered based on the comparison to the threshold);
wherein the transceiving the data at least based on the target energy consumption state comprises:
transceiving data normally by the network device in response to the target energy consumption state being a first energy consumption state (Fripp at least [0059] discloses acting in normal (active) mode based on the evaluation of scores); or
… turning off the network device and/or reserving a transceiving function for a preset signal in response to the target energy consumption state being a third energy consumption state (Fripp at least [0059] discloses acting in energy saving mode for all service or part of services based on the evaluation of scores).
Regarding Claim 12, Fripp discloses a network energy saving method, applied to a terminal device (Fripp see at least Fig. 1; [0090] discloses that any entity in the cellular telecommunications network could implement the above processes), comprising:
acquiring preset information (Fripp [0032] discloses determining whether one or more of the plurality of metrics for each monitored base station meet at least one energy saving criterion, such as the measure of load dropping below a threshold indicating sufficiently low load, the measure of energy consumption surpassing a threshold indicating that the base station (or MNO) has consumed too much energy and/or is responsible for too many units of carbon dioxide emissions (based on the MNO’s energy targets), and/or that the base station does not implement a service offering/commitment that prevents it from entering energy saving mode);
determining energy consumption indication information at least based on the preset information, wherein the energy consumption indication information is used for indicating a target energy consumption state of a network device (Fripp [0032]; Figs. 4-6, [0059] discloses evaluation for candidate energy saving solution; based on the most suitable energy saving solution);
transmitting the energy consumption indication information to the network device in a communication system to enable the network device to transceive data at least based on the target energy consumption state (Fripp Figs. 4-6, [0059, 0065-0066] discloses evaluation for candidate energy saving solution; based on the most suitable energy saving solution, the neutral host controller sends instruction messages to base stations to enter one of energy saving options; [0090] discloses that any entity in the cellular telecommunications network could implement the above processes).
Regarding Claim 13, Fripp discloses the method of claim 12 and further discloses wherein the energy consumption indication information comprises the target energy consumption state, and the determining the energy consumption indication information at least based on the preset information comprises:
determining the target energy consumption state based on a numerical value of the preset information (Fripp [0027-0030] discloses monitoring plurality of metrics, including: a measure of load, measure of energy consumption, or an identifier of each service offering and commitment) in at least one of the following ways:
determining that the target energy consumption state is a first energy consumption state in response to the numerical value of the preset information meeting a first value; or determining that the target energy consumption state is a second energy consumption state in response to the numerical value of the preset information meeting a second value; or determining that the target energy consumption state is a third energy consumption state in response to the numerical value of the preset information meeting a third value; taking the target energy consumption state as the energy consumption indication information; wherein the first value is higher than the second value, the second value is higher than the third value, energy consumption of the first energy consumption state is higher than energy consumption of the second energy consumption state, and the energy consumption of the second energy consumption state is higher than energy consumption of the third energy consumption state (Fripp [0027-0030] discloses monitoring plurality of metrics, including: a measure of load, measure of energy consumption, or an identifier of each service offering and commitment; and [0031-0032] determining if the metric meet at least one energy saving criterion including comparison to a threshold; determination of a suitable energy saving solution is triggered based on the comparison to the threshold).
Regarding Claim 14, Fripp discloses the method of claim 12 and further discloses wherein the energy consumption indication information comprises a numerical value of the preset information, and the determining the energy consumption indication information at least based on the preset information comprises: taking the numerical value of the preset information as the energy consumption indication information (Fripp [0027-0030] discloses monitoring plurality of metrics, including: a measure of load, measure of energy consumption, or an identifier of each service offering and commitment; and [0031-0032] determining if the metric meet at least one energy saving criterion including comparison to a threshold; determination of a suitable energy saving solution is triggered based on the comparison to the threshold).
Regarding Claim 15, Fripp discloses the method of claim 13 and further discloses further comprising: determining that the numerical value of the preset information meets a first value in response to the numerical value of the preset information being greater than or equal to a first threshold value; or determining that the numerical value of the preset information meets a second value or a first value in response to the numerical value of the preset information being greater than or equal to a second threshold value; or determining that the numerical value of the preset information meets a third value or a second value in response to the numerical value of the preset information being greater than or equal to a third threshold value (Fripp [0027-0030] discloses monitoring plurality of metrics, including: a measure of load, measure of energy consumption, or an identifier of each service offering and commitment; and [0031-0032] determining if the metric meet at least one energy saving criterion including comparison to a threshold; determination of a suitable energy saving solution is triggered based on the comparison to the threshold).
Regarding Claim 16, Fripp discloses the method of claim 12 and further discloses wherein the preset information comprises load information of a communication system where the network device is located, and the load information comprises at least one of the following: system resource usage rate, system resource utilization rate of the communication system (Fripp at least [0027-0030] discloses one monitored metric being a measure of load, such as radio throughput as a proportion of radio capacity or the proportion of radio resources being used) …
Regarding Claim 19, Fripp discloses the method of claim 12 and further discloses further comprising transmitting conversion information to the network device, wherein the conversion information is used for instructing the network device to convert a current energy consumption state into an energy consumption state indicated in the conversion information (Fripp at least [0060] discloses 1. The first base station 100 entering energy saving mode for all services (i.e. its 4G and 5G service) and the second base station 200 entering compensation mode for the first base station’s 4G and 5G services; [0061] 2. The second base station 200 entering energy saving mode for all services (i.e. its 2G, 4G and 5G service) and the first base station 100 entering compensation mode for the second base station’s 4G and 5G services only; [0062] 3. The second base station 200 entering energy saving mode for its 2G and 4G services (thus maintaining its 5G service), and the first base station 100 enabling a 2G service and entering compensation mode for the second base station’s 2G and 4G services).
Regarding Claim 22, Fripp discloses the method of claim 1 and further discloses a network device (Fripp see at least Fig. 1), comprising:
a memory, configured to store a computer program;
a transceiver, configured to transceive data under the control of a processor;
wherein the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and execute the network energy saving method according to claim 1 (Fripp see at least Fig. 1; [0009-0010] disclosing a computer program comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the first aspect of the disclosure; there is provided a network node having a processor configured to carry out the first aspect of the disclosure).
Claims 33-37 and 40 are rejected on the same grounds set forth in the rejection of claims 12-16 and 19, respectively. Claims 33-37 and 40 recite similar features as in claims 12-16 and 19, respectively, for an apparatus of a terminal device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fripp, as applied to claims above, in view of Liu et al. US 20250016678 A1, hereinafter Liu.
Regarding Claim 4, Fripp discloses the method of claim 3, and further discloses wherein the preset information comprises load information of a communication system where the network device is located, and the load information comprises at least one of the following: system resource usage rate, system resource utilization rate of the communication system (Fripp at least [0027-0030] discloses one monitored metric being a measure of load, such as radio throughput as a proportion of radio capacity or the proportion of radio resources being used) …
Fripp fails to explicitly disclose the preset information comprises attachment node information of the network device, and the attachment node information comprises number and/or proportion of attachment nodes of the network device; or the preset information comprises target measurement quantity, and the target measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indication (RSSI).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu more specifically discloses the preset information comprises attachment node information of the network device, and the attachment node information comprises number and/or proportion of attachment nodes of the network device; or the preset information comprises target measurement quantity, and the target measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indication (RSSI) (Liu [0044] disclose prediction models for network traffic, load, user movement, etc. and developing power saving strategies based on the results of the predictions; [0053] specifically discloses information that may be used as training data include UE measurement reports (e.g. RSRP, RSRQ, SINR reports) of the target base station and its neighboring base station, real-time information of number of users of the target base station and its neighboring base station); [0059] further, the prediction unit is configured to obtain input data (including the same metrics listed above) to obtain the output strategy data; [0071, 0075-0076] discloses energy saving operations based on the strategy data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fripp with the teachings of Liu for dynamic and efficient energy saving techniques.
Regarding Claim 10, Fripp discloses the method of claim 1 and further discloses further comprising:
converting an energy consumption state based on at least one of the following ways:
… acquiring conversion information to convert the current energy consumption state of the network device into an energy consumption state indicated in the conversion information (Fripp at least [0060] discloses 1. The first base station 100 entering energy saving mode for all services (i.e. its 4G and 5G service) and the second base station 200 entering compensation mode for the first base station’s 4G and 5G services; [0061] 2. The second base station 200 entering energy saving mode for all services (i.e. its 2G, 4G and 5G service) and the first base station 100 entering compensation mode for the second base station’s 4G and 5G services only; [0062] 3. The second base station 200 entering energy saving mode for its 2G and 4G services (thus maintaining its 5G service), and the first base station 100 enabling a 2G service and entering compensation mode for the second base station’s 2G and 4G services); or
in response to the change of a numerical value of the preset information, converting the current energy consumption state of the network device into an energy consumption state corresponding to the preset information according to the numerical value of the preset information (Fripp [0027-0030] discloses monitoring plurality of metrics, including: a measure of load, measure of energy consumption, or an identifier of each service offering and commitment; and [0031-0032] determining if the metric meet at least one energy saving criterion including comparison to a threshold; determination of a suitable energy saving solution is triggered based on the comparison to the threshold);
wherein the transceiving the data at least based on the target energy consumption state comprises:
transceiving data normally by the network device in response to the target energy consumption state being a first energy consumption state (Fripp at least [0059] discloses acting in normal (active) mode based on the evaluation of scores); or
… turning off the network device and/or reserving a transceiving function for a preset signal in response to the target energy consumption state being a third energy consumption state (Fripp at least [0059-0062] discloses acting in energy saving mode for all service or part of services based on the evaluation of scores).
Fripp fails to explicitly disclose converting an energy consumption state based on at least one of the following ways:
converting a current energy consumption state of the network device into a preset energy consumption state according to preset conversion time;
wherein the transceiving the data at least based on the target energy consumption state comprises:
transceiving data by the network device during a preset second time window in response to the target energy consumption state being a second energy consumption state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu more specifically discloses converting an energy consumption state based on at least one of the following ways:
converting a current energy consumption state of the network device into a preset energy consumption state according to preset conversion time (Liu [0075] discloses the strategy data output may include a recommended time period for a sleeping mode and a valid time window for an energy saving strategy);
wherein the transceiving the data at least based on the target energy consumption state comprises:
transceiving data by the network device during a preset second time window in response to the target energy consumption state being a second energy consumption state (Liu [0075] discloses the strategy data output may include a recommended time period for a sleeping mode and a valid time window for an energy saving strategy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fripp with the teachings of Liu for dynamic and efficient energy saving techniques.
Regarding Claim 16, Fripp discloses the method of claim 12 and further discloses wherein the preset information comprises load information of a communication system where the network device is located, and the load information comprises at least one of the following: system resource usage rate, system resource utilization rate of the communication system (Fripp at least [0027-0030] discloses one monitored metric being a measure of load, such as radio throughput as a proportion of radio capacity or the proportion of radio resources being used) …
Fripp fails to explicitly disclose the preset information comprises attachment node information of the network device, and the attachment node information comprises number and/or proportion of attachment nodes of the network device; or the preset information comprises target measurement quantity, and the target measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indication (RSSI).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu more specifically discloses the preset information comprises attachment node information of the network device, and the attachment node information comprises number and/or proportion of attachment nodes of the network device; or the preset information comprises target measurement quantity, and the target measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indication (RSSI) (Liu [0044] disclose prediction models for network traffic, load, user movement, etc. and developing power saving strategies based on the results of the predictions; [0053] specifically discloses information that may be used as training data include UE measurement reports (e.g. RSRP, RSRQ, SINR reports) of the target base station and its neighboring base station, real-time information of number of users of the target base station and its neighboring base station); [0059] further, the prediction unit is configured to obtain input data (including the same metrics listed above) to obtain the output strategy data; [0071, 0075-0076] discloses energy saving operations based on the strategy data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fripp with the teachings of Liu for dynamic and efficient energy saving techniques.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fripp, as applied to claims above, in view of Magnusson et al. US 20190014537 A1, hereinafter Magnusson.
Regarding Claim 8, Fripp discloses the method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the acquiring energy consumption indication information comprises at least one of the following:
receiving the energy consumption indication information, wherein the energy consumption indication information is obtained based on a numerical value of preset information (Fripp [0027-0030] discloses monitoring plurality of metrics, including: a measure of load, measure of energy consumption, or an identifier of each service offering and commitment) … the network energy saving method further comprises:
determining that the numerical value of the preset information meets a first value in response to the numerical value of the preset information being greater than or equal to a first threshold value; or determining that the numerical value of the preset information meets a second value or a first value in response to the numerical value of the preset information being greater than or equal to a second threshold value; or determining that the numerical value of the preset information meets a third value or a second value in response to the numerical value of the preset information being greater than or equal to a third threshold value (Fripp [0027-0030] discloses monitoring plurality of metrics, including: a measure of load, measure of energy consumption, or an identifier of each service offering and commitment; and [0031-0032] determining if the metric meet at least one energy saving criterion including comparison to a threshold; determination of a suitable energy saving solution is triggered based on the comparison to the threshold).
Fripp fails to explicitly disclose the numerical value of the preset information is obtained by measuring the communication system based on a first time window; and/or obtaining the numerical value of the preset information by measuring the communication system through the first time window, and determining the energy consumption indication information based on the numerical value of the preset information; wherein the first time window is a fixed time window or a sliding time window.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Magnusson more specifically discloses and the numerical value of the preset information is obtained by measuring the communication system based on a first time window; and/or obtaining the numerical value of the preset information by measuring the communication system through the first time window, and determining the energy consumption indication information based on the numerical value of the preset information; wherein the first time window is a fixed time window or a sliding time window (Magnusson Fig. 2, [0046] discloses variations of the load for the access node over time; load is considered over a period of time and decisions to switch to an energy saving mode or compensation mode, such as taking over traffic from other access nodes, are implemented).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fripp with the teachings of Magnusson for efficient management of energy saving modes as power consumption and energy saving requirement vary over time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al. US 12200550 B2
Fehrenbach et al. US 20260032481 A1
Wang et al. WO 2021184197 A1
Nader et al. WO 2023163630 A1
/Y.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/John Pezzlo/
Primary Patent Examiner, AU 2465B
5 August 2026