Claim Objection
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 16, “potion” should be – portion --. Appropriate correction is required.
35 USC 102 Rejections
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2003-257531.
Regarding claim 1, JP ‘531 (Figures 2 and 4) discloses a connector, comprising: a housing 25 including a terminal accommodation chamber 21; a terminal fitting 10 to be inserted into the terminal accommodation chamber from behind the housing; a locking lance 37 formed in a peripheral wall portion constituting the terminal accommodation chamber, the locking lance retaining the terminal fitting; and an excessive deflection restricting portion 44 for keeping a deflection amount of the locking lance within a certain range when the locking lance is resiliently deformed in a direction separating from the terminal fitting, the locking lance being arranged in a state exposed on an inner peripheral surface and an outer peripheral surface of the peripheral wall portion, the excessive deflection restricting portion being arranged within a thickness range of the peripheral wall portion, the locking lance being shaped such that a narrow portion 34 and a wide portion 32 having a larger width than the narrow portion are connected in a deflection direction of the locking lance, the narrow portion projecting further forward than the wire portion, a part of the wide portion projecting in a width direction from the narrow portion having a function as a contact portion for restricting excessive deflection of the locking lance by butting against the excessive deflection restricting portion, the narrow portion being formed with a jig contact portion 41, and the jig contact portion having a smaller width than the wide portion.
Regarding claim 3, JP ‘531 discloses the wide portion 32 has a function as a locking projection for retaining and locking the terminal fitting 10.
Regarding claim 6, JP ‘531 discloses a sealing ring 45 is arranged at a position separated rearward from a rear end of the locking lance 37 on the outer peripheral surface of the peripheral wall portion.
35 USC 103 Rejection
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2003-257531.
To form the peripheral wall portion of JP ‘531 with a hollow cylindrical shape in a front view of the locking lance would have been an obvious matter of design, since this would not substantially affect the function of the peripheral wall portion.
Claim Defining Over Prior Art
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art discloses or teaches the intervals as recited; in combination with the rest of the subject matter of the independent claim.
/GARY F PAUMEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834