DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/833,932 filed on 07/29/2024.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 07/29/2024, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 4, 6, 8-10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20-26, 31, 33, 35-37, 39, 41-52, 54-78, 80-157 are cancelled.
-Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 27-30, 32, 34, 38, 40, 53, 79 are pending.
-Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 27-30, 32, 34, 38, 40, 53, 79 are rejected.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of a 371 of PCT/CN2023/072381, filed 01/16/2023.
5. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/29/2024, 07/07/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
7. Claim 1, 2, 5, 7, 11, 13, 17, 19, 27, 28, 32, 34, 38, 40, 53, 79 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A. Regarding Claim 1 and dependent claims 2, 5, 7, 11, 13, 17, 19 (i.e. also representative of independent claim 27 and dependent claims 28, 32, 34, 38, 40 and claim 79; independent claim 53) - Claim 1 recites “the indication information” subsequent to reciting “transmitting indication information on an uplink transmission resource configured by a configured grant (CG), or receiving indication information on a downlink transmission resource configured by a ” […] , where to avoid questions of a lack of clear antecedent basis and ambiguity associated with subsequent recitations of “the indication information” in both claim 1 and claims depending from claim 1, the office action interprets a first recitation of “indication information” firstly associated with “transmitting” and a second recitation of “indication information” secondly associated with “receiving”, as separate distinct instances of “indication information” comprised in limitations “transmitting indication information on an uplink transmission resource configured by a configured grant (CG)” and “receiving indication information on a downlink transmission resource configured by ” respectively, where the limitations referenced are separated by a recitation “or”. Furthermore, the limitations referenced including the separate distinct instances of “indication information” which are separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight.
Independent claim 27 and dependent claims 28, 32, 34, 38, 40 and claim 79, and independent claim 53, which recite similar features, are subject to similar parallel interpretations and issues noted above for claim 1 and claims depending from claim 1.
Should applicant contend otherwise and for verification, applicant is requested to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted. Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible.
B. Claims 11, 38 both recite instances of terms “and/or”. Utilization of “/” in the terms “and/or” can be interpreted as “and” and “or” as being equivalent substitutes for each other, or as “and” or “or” utilized possibly in the alternative, or possibly even as both “and” and “or” as considered together, etc. Questions are raised as to what applicant’s objective is for the terms “and/or”, including which one of many possible interpretations resulting from the utilization of “/” in the terms “and/or” is the objective of the applicant. For the purposes of examination limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative an not required together.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to utilize descriptive word recitations in place of “/”, to appropriately address questions raised and avoid any potential issues with reflecting applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
C. Regarding claim 79, where the claim 79 recites “A network device, comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor, and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory” and furthermore recites “and perform the method of claim 27”, for clarity and consistency, the office action suggests that claim 79 which appears to indicate dependence on Claim 27, incorporate and recite within Claim 79, steps and processes recited in claim 27.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claim 7, 11, 34, 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A. Regarding Claim 7, and claim 34 (i.e. using claim 7 as an example representing claim 34) - Claim 7 (i.e. which depends from claim 5) recites terms “a PUSCH carrying the indication information” after a preceding recitation of “the PUSCH carries the indication information” in Claim 5, where the office action presents a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “a PUSCH” in Claim 7 finds antecedent basis, i.e. whether the recitation of “the PUSCH carries” in claim 5 serves as the antecedent basis for Claim 7, or whether the recitation “a PUSCH” in recitation “a PUSCH carrying” in claim 7 refers to a separate instance of “a PUSCH” different from “the PUSCH carries” in claim 5.
Claim 34 (i.e. which depends from claim 32) is subject to similar issues as presented for claim 7.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and clarify as applicable to reflect applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
B. Regarding Claim 11, and claim 38 (i.e. using claim 11 as an example representing claim 38) - Claim 11 recites terms “a CG transmission opportunity” a second time and a third time after a first preceding recitation of “a CG transmission opportunity” within claim limitations. The office action presents a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “a CG transmission opportunity” the second time and the third time find antecedent basis, i.e. whether the first preceding recitation of “a CG transmission opportunity” serves as the antecedent basis for the recitation of the terms “a CG transmission opportunity” the second time and the third time , or whether the recitation of the terms “a CG transmission opportunity” the second time and the third time refer to a separate instances of “a CG transmission opportunity” different from “the first preceding recitation of “a CG transmission opportunity”.
Claim 38 is subject to similar issues as presented for claim 11.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and clarify as applicable to reflect applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
11. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 11, 27-30, 32, 34, 38, 40, 53, 79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WONG et. al (US 20240305411 A1) i.e. “WONG”.
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended) WONG discloses: A method for transmitting signaling (WONG – FIG. 17 & ¶0108 […] the MAC-CE in a PDSCH of a used SPS instance will indicate which other SPS instances belong to the same SPS Group. […] the communications device is configured to determine, based on a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE, within one of the received downlink channels, the plurality of SPS instances that form the SPS group (or, more generally, the plurality of downlink transmission occasions); FIG. 19 & ¶0033 […] a MAC-CE is used to indicate SPS subsets which are used by a UE […]; ¶0117 […] the SPS subset is indicated in a Medium Access Control Element (MAC-CE) of a PDSCH in one or more SPS instances in an SPS Group. An example is shown in FIG. 19, in which an SPS Group 291 has four SPS instances SPS #1, SPS #2, SPS #3 and SPS #4. Here SPS #2 contains a PDSCH and a MAC-CE of this PDSCH, represented by an arrow 293 indicates that SPS #1 and SPS #3 belong to a second SPS subset 295 and SPS #2 and SPS #4 belong to the first SPS subset 297. The PDSCH in SPS #4 can also repeat the SPS subset indication in its MAC-CE to improve its reliability; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0108 i.e. the MAC-CE in a PDSCH of a used SPS instance will indicate and per ¶0117 i.e. the SPS subset is indicated in a Medium Access Control Element (MAC-CE) of a PDSCH reads on: A method for transmitting signaling per ¶0033 to a UE for use by the UE ),
comprising: transmitting indication information on an uplink transmission resource configured by a configured grant (CG) (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
receiving indication information on a downlink transmission resource configured by a (WONG FIG. 19 & ¶0108 See above; ¶0117 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0108 i.e. the MAC-CE in a PDSCH of a used SPS instance will indicate and per ¶0117 i.e. the SPS subset is indicated in a Medium Access Control Element (MAC-CE) of a PDSCH reads on: receiving indication information i.e. receiving by UE. Per ¶0117 i.e. the SPS subset is indicated in a Medium Access Control Element (MAC-CE) of a PDSCH reads on: on a downlink transmission resource , furthermore per ¶0117 i.e. in a Medium Access Control Element (MAC-CE) of a PDSCH i.e. in one or more SPS instances in an SPS Group reads on: configured by semipersistent scheduling (SPS) ),
wherein the indication information s configured to indicate a target transmission resource (WONG FIG. 17 & FIG. 19 & ¶0108 See above; ¶0117 See above; ¶0121 […] the UE can determine whether an SPS instance contains a PDSCH downlink transmission based on an indication in a MAC-CE of a PDSCH downlink transmission in one of the SPS instances. Here the MAC-CE will indicate whether one or more SPS instances contains a PDSCH downlink transmission; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0121 i.e. based on an indication in a MAC-CE of a PDSCH downlink transmission in one of the SPS instances reads on: wherein the indication information is used is configured , per ¶0121 i.e. the UE can determine whether an SPS instance reads on: to indicate a target , where furthermore per ¶0121 whether an SPS instance i.e. contains a PDSCH downlink transmission reads on: a target transmission resource ).
Regarding Claim 2. (Original) WONG discloses: The method of claim 1,
(Claim 2 depends from claim 1, and the claim 2 limitation associates with and recites “the uplink transmission resource configured by the CG” which is presented in the alternative in claim 1 and not required, and therefore the limitations in claim 2 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required)
wherein transmitting the indication information on the uplink transmission resource configured by the CG comprises: transmitting the indication information on a first uplink CG resource set, wherein the target transmission resource comprises a second uplink CG resource set, and a first association relationship exists between the first uplink CG resource set and the second uplink CG resource set (Claim 2 depends from claim 1, and the claim 2 limitation associates with and recites “the uplink transmission resource configured by the CG” which is presented in the alternative in claim 1 and not required, and therefore the limitations in claim 2 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 3. (Currently Amended) WONG discloses: The method of claim 2,
(Claim 3 depends from claim 2, where the limitations in claim 2 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 2, limitations in claim 3 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein the first association relationship comprises: a CG corresponding to the first uplink CG resource set and a CG corresponding to the second uplink CG resource set are configured with a same first parameter, wherein the first parameter comprises at least one of the following: a CG group identity; or a transmission periodicity(Claim 3 depends from claim 2, where the limitations in claim 2 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 2, limitations in claim 3 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 5. (Currently Amended) WONG discloses: The method of claim 2,
(Claim 5 depends from claim 2, where the limitations in claim 2 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 2, limitations in claim 5 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required)wherein transmitting the indication information on the first uplink CG resource set comprises: transmitting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) on the first uplink CG resource set, wherein the PUSCH carries the indication information, wherein the first uplink CG resource set comprises part or all of CG transmission opportunities used for a PUSCH transmission having data(Claim 5 depends from claim 2, where the limitations in claim 2 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 2, limitations in claim 5 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 7. (Currently Amended) WONG discloses: The method of claim [[6]]5,
(Claim 7 depends from claim 5, which furthermore depends from claim 2, where the limitations in claim 2 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 2, limitations in claim 7 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein the part or all of the CG transmission opportunities used for the PUSCH transmission having the data comprise a first CG transmission opportunity, in the first uplink CG resource set, used for a PUSCH transmission having data after a first timing, wherein the first timing is determined from a first periodicity and a first offset configured by a network device: or wherein the part or all of the CG transmission opportunities used for the PUSCH transmission having the data comprise one or more CG transmission opportunities; or wherein the part or all of the CG transmission opportunities used for the PUSCH transmission having the data comprise all of the CG transmission opportunities, in the first uplink CG resource set, used for a PUSCH transmission having data within a first time window, wherein a start point and a duration of the first time window are configured by a network device or predefined by a protocol, wherein an end point of the first time window is a time point when a terminal receives first hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledge (HARQ-ACK) feedback information, wherein the first HARQ-ACK feedback information is configured to indicate that a PUSCH carrying the indication information is decoded correctly(Claim 7 depends from claim 5, which furthermore depends from claim 2, where the limitations in claim 2 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 2, limitations in claim 7 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 11. (Currently Amended) WONG discloses: The method of claim 2,
(Claim 11 depends from claim 2, where the limitations in claim 2 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 2, limitations in claim 11 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein the target transmission resource comprises a resource block group in a CG transmission opportunity in the second uplink CG resource set; wherein the indication information comprises a first-level indication bit field and/or a second-level indication bit field, wherein the first-level indication bit field is configured to indicate that no data is transmitted on a CG transmission opportunity, and the second-level indication bit field is configured to indicate that no data is transmitted on a resource block group in a CG transmission opportunity(Claim 11 depends from claim 2, where the limitations in claim 2 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 2, limitations in claim 11 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 27. (Currently Amended) WONG discloses: A method for transmitting signaling (WONG – FIG. 17 & ¶0108 See claim 1; FIG. 19 & ¶0117 […] See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0108 i.e. the MAC-CE in a PDSCH of a used SPS instance will indicate and per ¶0117 i.e. the SPS subset is indicated in a Medium Access Control Element (MAC-CE) of a PDSCH reads on: A method for transmitting signaling by GNB to UE ),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 27 pertaining to a network device and associated method, recites similar and parallel features which are reciprocally performed in association with a corresponding terminal device and associated method of claim 1, where for example i.e. the claim 27 associates with “receiving indication information on an uplink transmission resource” and “transmitting indication information on a downlink transmission resource” and reciprocally the corresponding terminal device of claim 1 associates with “transmitting indication information on an uplink transmission resource” and “receiving indication information on a downlink transmission resource” respectively. The rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 27. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) comprising: receiving indication information on an uplink transmission resource configured by a configured grant (CG), or transmitting indication information on a downlink transmission resource configured by a semipersistent scheduling (SPS), wherein the indication information is used to indicate a target transmission resource(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 27 pertaining to a network device and associated method, recites similar and parallel features which are reciprocally performed in association with a corresponding terminal device and associated method of claim 1, where for example i.e. the claim 27 associates with “receiving indication information on an uplink transmission resource” and “transmitting indication information on a downlink transmission resource” and reciprocally the corresponding terminal device of claim 1 associates with “transmitting indication information on an uplink transmission resource” and “receiving indication information on a downlink transmission resource” respectively. The rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 27. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) .
Regarding Claim 28. (Original) WONG discloses: The method of claim 27, (Claim 28 depends from claim 27, and the claim 28 limitation associates with and recites “the uplink transmission resource configured by the CG” which is presented in the alternative in claim 27 and not required, and therefore the limitations in claim 28 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required)
wherein receiving the indication information on the uplink transmission resource configured by the CG comprises: receiving the indication information on a first uplink CG resource set, wherein the target transmission resource comprises a second uplink CG resource set, and a first association relationship exists between the first uplink CG resource set and the second uplink CG resource set(Claim 28 depends from claim 27, and the claim 28 limitation associates with and recites “the uplink transmission resource configured by the CG” which is presented in the alternative in claim 27 and not required, and therefore the limitations in claim 28 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 29. (Original) WONG discloses: The method of claim 28, (Claim 29 depends from Claim 28, where the limitations in Claim 28 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to Claim 28, limitations in Claim 29 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein after receiving the indication information on the first uplink CG resource set, the method further comprises: reallocating the second uplink CG resource set(Claim 29 depends from Claim 28, where the limitations in Claim 28 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to Claim 28, limitations in Claim 29 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 30. (Currently Amended) WONG discloses: The method of claim 28,
(Claim 30 depends from Claim 28, where the limitations in Claim 28 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to Claim 28, limitations in Claim 30 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein the first association relationship comprises: a CG corresponding to the first uplink CG resource set and a CG corresponding to the second uplink CG resource set are configured with a same first parameter, wherein the first parameter comprises at least one of the following: a CG group identity; or a transmission periodicity(Claim 30 depends from Claim 28, where the limitations in Claim 28 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to Claim 28, limitations in Claim 30 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 32. (Currently Amended) WONG discloses: The method of claim 28, (Claim 32 depends from Claim 28, where the limitations in Claim 28 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to Claim 28, limitations in Claim 32 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required)wherein receiving the indication information on the first uplink CG resource set comprises: receiving a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) on the first uplink CG resource set, wherein the PUSCH carries the indication information, wherein the first uplink CG resource set comprises part or all of CG transmission opportunities used for a PUSCH transmission having data(Claim 32 depends from Claim 28, where the limitations in Claim 28 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to Claim 28, limitations in Claim 32 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 34. (Currently Amended) WONG discloses: The method of claim [[33]]32, (Claim 34 depends from claim 32, which furthermore depends from claim 28, where the limitations in claim 28 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 28, limitations in claim 34 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein the part or all of the CG transmission opportunities used for the PUSCH transmission having the data comprise a first CG transmission opportunity, in the first uplink CG resource set, used for a PUSCH transmission having data after a first timing, wherein the first timing is determined from a first periodicity and a first offset configured by a network device; or wherein the part or all of the CG transmission opportunities used for the PUSCH transmission having the data comprise one or more CG transmission opportunities; or wherein the part or all of the CG transmission opportunities used for the PUSCH transmission having the data comprise all of the CG transmission opportunities, in the first uplink CG resource set, used for a PUSCH transmission having data within a first time window, wherein a start point and a duration of the first time window are configured by a network device or predefined by a protocol, wherein an end point of the first time window is a time point when the network device transmits first hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledge (HARQ-ACK) feedback information, wherein the first HARQ-ACK feedback information is configured to indicate that a PUSCH carrying the indication information is decoded correctly(Claim 34 depends from claim 32, which furthermore depends from claim 28, where the limitations in claim 28 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 28, limitations in claim 34 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 38. (Currently Amended) WONG discloses: The method of claim 28, (Claim 38 depends from Claim 28, where the limitations in Claim 28 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to Claim 28, limitations in Claim 38 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required)wherein the target transmission resource comprises a resource block group in a CG transmission opportunity in the second uplink CG resource set, wherein the indication information comprises a first-level indication bit field and/or a second-level indication bit field, wherein the first-level indication bit field is configured to indicate that no data is to be received on a CG transmission opportunity, and the second-level indication bit field is configured to indicate that no data is to be received on a resource block group in a CG transmission opportunity(Claim 38 depends from Claim 28, where the limitations in Claim 28 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to Claim 28, limitations in Claim 38 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 40. (Currently Amended) WONG discloses: The method of claim 27,
furthermore WONG discloses: wherein transmitting the indication information on the downlink transmission resource configured by the SPS comprises: transmitting the indication information on a first downlink SPS resource set, wherein the target transmission resource comprises a second downlink SPS resource set, and a second association relationship exists between the first downlink SPS resource set and the second downlink SPS resource set(See the rejection of Claim 13, Claim 40 pertaining to the network device and the associated method of Claim 27, recites similar and parallel features reciprocally performed in association with the corresponding terminal device and associated method of Claim 13, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 13 applies similarly to Claim 40. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate);
furthermore WONG discloses: wherein the second association relationship comprises that an SPS corresponding to the first downlink SPS resource set and an SPS corresponding to the second downlink SPS resource set are configured with a same second parameter, wherein the second parameter comprises at least one of the following: an SPS group identity; or a transmission periodicity(See the rejection of Claim 15, Claim 40 pertaining to the network device and the associated method of Claim 27, recites similar and parallel features reciprocally performed in association with the corresponding terminal device and associated method of Claim 15, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 15 applies similarly to Claim 40. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 53. (Currently Amended) WONG discloses: A terminal device (FIG. 3 & ¶0047 […] a TRP 10 as shown in FIG. 2 comprises, as a simplified representation, a wireless transmitter 30, a wireless receiver 32 and a controller or controlling processor 34 which may operate to control the transmitter 30 and the wireless receiver 32 to transmit and to receive radio signals to one or more UEs 14; FIG. 17 & ¶0108 See claim 1; FIG. 19 & ¶0033 See claim 1; ¶0107 […] the gNB configures seven SPS configurations labelled as SPS #1, SPS #2, SPS #3, SPS #4, SPS #5, SPS #6 and SPS #7 ; ¶0117 […] See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per FIG. 19 & ¶0033 i.e. operation performed by a communications device (UE) according to an example embodiment in which a MAC-CE is used to indicate SPS subsets which are used by a UE or UEs of ¶0047 reads on: A terminal device),
comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor, and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and perform following steps(WONG – FIG. 3 & ¶0047 […] See above; ¶0048 […] controllers 34, 44, as well as other controllers described in relation to examples and embodiments of the present disclosure, may be, for example, a microprocessor, a CPU, or a dedicated chipset, etc., configured to carry out instructions, which are stored on a computer readable medium, such as a non-volatile memory.; FIG. 17 & ¶0108 See claim 1; FIG. 19 & ¶0033 See claim 1; ¶0107 […] the gNB configures seven SPS configurations labelled as SPS #1, SPS #2, SPS #3, SPS #4, SPS #5, SPS #6 and SPS #7 ; ¶0117 […] See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0047 i.e. an example UE 14 is shown to include a corresponding transmitter 49, a receiver 48 and a controller 44 which is configured to control the transmitter 49 and the receiver 48 to transmit signals representing uplink data to the wireless communications network via the wireless access interface reads on: comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor . Per ¶0048 i.e. controllers 34, 44, as well as other controllers described in relation to examples and embodiments of the present disclosure, may be, for example, a microprocessor, a CPU, or a dedicated chipset, etc., configured to carry out instructions, which are stored on a computer readable medium, such as a non-volatile memory reads on: wherein the memory is used is configured to store a computer program . Furthermore per ¶0048 i.e. a controller or controlling processor 34 which may operate to control the transmitter 30 and the wireless receiver 32 to transmit and to receive radio signals reads on: the transceiver is used is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor, and the processor is used is configured to read the computer program in the memory and perform):
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 53 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 53 applies similarly to Claim 1. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) transmitting indication information on an uplink transmission resource configured by a configured grant (CG), or receiving indication information on a downlink transmission resource configured by a semipersistent scheduling (SPS), wherein the indication information is configured to indicate a target transmission resource(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 53 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 53 applies similarly to Claim 1. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 79. (Currently Amended) WONG discloses: A network device(WONG – FIG. 3 & ¶0047 […] a TRP 10 as shown in FIG. 2 comprises, as a simplified representation, a wireless transmitter 30, a wireless receiver 32 and a controller or controlling processor 34 which may operate to control the transmitter 30 and the wireless receiver 32 to transmit and to receive radio signals to one or more UEs 14; FIG. 17 & ¶0108 See claim 1; FIG. 19 & ¶0033 See claim 1; ¶0107 […] the gNB configures seven SPS configurations labelled as SPS #1, SPS #2, SPS #3, SPS #4, SPS #5, SPS #6 and SPS #7 ; ¶0117 […] See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0107 i.e. the gNB or per ¶0047 FIG. 3 TRP reads on: A network device which configures i.e. SPS configurations and per ¶0108 i.e. transmits PDSCH),
comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor, and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and perform (WONG – FIG. 3 & ¶0047 See above; ¶0048 […] controllers 34, 44, as well as other controllers described in relation to examples and embodiments of the present disclosure, may be, for example, a microprocessor, a CPU, or a dedicated chipset, etc., configured to carry out instructions, which are stored on a computer readable medium, such as a non-volatile memory; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0047 i.e. a wireless transmitter 30, a wireless receiver 32 and a controller or controlling processor 34 which may operate to control the transmitter 30 and the wireless receiver 32 to transmit and to receive radio signals to one or more UEs reads on: comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor . Per ¶0048 i.e. controllers 34, 44, as well as other controllers described in relation to examples and embodiments of the present disclosure, may be, for example, a microprocessor, a CPU, or a dedicated chipset, etc., configured to carry out instructions, which are stored on a computer readable medium, such as a non-volatile memory reads on: wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program . Furthermore per ¶0048 i.e. a controller or controlling processor 34 which may operate to control the transmitter 30 and the wireless receiver 32 to transmit and to receive radio signals reads on: the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor, and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and perform) the method of claim 27 (See the rejection of Claim 27, Claim 79 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 27, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 79 applies similarly to Claim 27. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
13. Claims 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WONG in view of YANG et al. (US 20220070837 A1) i.e. “YANG”.
Regarding Claim 13. (Currently Amended) WONG discloses: The method of claim 1,
furthermore WONG discloses: wherein receiving the indication information on the downlink transmission resource configured by the SPS (WONG FIG. 19 & ¶0108 See Claim 1; ¶0117 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0108 i.e. the MAC-CE in a PDSCH of a used SPS instance will indicate and per ¶0117 i.e. the SPS subset is indicated in a Medium Access Control Element (MAC-CE) of a PDSCH reads on: wherein receiving the indication information. Per ¶0117 i.e. the SPS subset is indicated in a Medium Access Control Element (MAC-CE) of a PDSCH reads on: on the downlink transmission resource , furthermore per ¶0117 i.e. in a Medium Access Control Element (MAC-CE) of a PDSCH i.e. in one or more SPS instances in an SPS Group reads on: configured by the SPS )
comprises: receiving the indication information on a first downlink SPS resource set (WONG FIG. 19 & ¶0108 See Claim 1; ¶0117 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per FIG. 19 depicts MAC CE = (2, 1, 2, 1) & ¶0117 i.e. SPS #2 contains a PDSCH and a MAC-CE of this PDSCH, represented by an arrow 293 indicates reads on: comprises: receiving the indication information on , furthermore per ¶0117 i.e. a MAC-CE of this PDSCH, represented by an arrow 293 indicates i.e. that SPS #1 and SPS #3 belong to a second SPS subset reads on: a first downlink SPS resource set ),
wherein the target transmission resource comprises a second downlink SPS resource set (WONG FIG. 19 & ¶0108 See Claim 1; ¶0117 See Claim 1; ¶0122 […] utilize techniques in which a MAC-CE is used to indicate presence/absence of PDSCH downlink transmission in one or more SPS instances […]; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: ¶0122 utilize techniques in which a MAC-CE is used to indicate i.e. presence/absence of PDSCH downlink transmission in one or more SPS instances & i.e. Per FIG. 19 depicts MAC CE = (2, 1, 2, 1) with SPS # 2 & SPS#4 being subject to an & operation depicted as indicating A interpreted as ACK reads on: wherein the target transmission resource and furthermore i.e. ¶0117 i.e. SPS #2 and SPS #4 belong to the first SPS subset 297 reads on: comprises a second downlink SPS resource set ),
and a second association relationship exists between the first downlink SPS resource set and the second downlink SPS resource set (WONG FIG. 19 & ¶0108 See Claim 1; ¶0117 See Claim 1; ¶0122 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0117 i.e. the SPS subset is indicated in a Medium Access Control Element (MAC-CE) of a PDSCH in one or more SPS instances i.e. in an SPS Group where FIG. 19 depicts SPS #2 and SPS #4 i.e. the first SPS and SPS #1 and SPS #3 i.e. second SPS subset i.e. belong to the same SPS Group reads on: and a second association relationship exists i.e. FIG. 19 depicting the SPS group relationship between i.e. SPS #1 and SPS #3 i.e. second SPS subset and i.e. SPS #2 and SPS #4 i.e. the first SPS reads on: between the first downlink SPS resource set and the second downlink SPS resource set );
skipping detection and reception on an SPS transmission opportunity in the second downlink SPS resource set (WONG FIG. 19 & ¶0108 See Claim 1; ¶0117 See Claim 1; ¶0122 See above; ¶0124 […] ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0122 […] utilize techniques in which a MAC-CE is used to indicate i.e. absence of PDSCH downlink transmission in one or more SPS instances reads on: skipping detection and reception on an SPS transmission opportunity when absence is indicated. Furthermore per ¶0122 i.e. one or more SPS instances includes range of subsets including per FIG. 19 i.e. SPS #2 and SPS #4 i.e. the first SPS reads on: in the second downlink SPS resource set ).
While WONG teaches i.e. absence of PDSCH downlink transmission in one or more SPS instances as indicated by the MAC-CE indicates UE therefore skipping detection and reception on an SPS transmission opportunity, assuming skipping is implied and therefore:
WONG does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note: WONG implies i.e. see italicized portions): skipping detection and reception on an SPS transmission opportunity;
YANG teaches: skipping detection and reception on an SPS transmission opportunity in the downlink SPS resource set (YANG FIG.4 ¶0064 […] example 400 associated with skipping SPS occasion ; ¶0065 […]the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, an indication that the periodic set of SPS occasions is configured for skipping […] and the UE 120 may receive, the SPS-Config data structure including a new parameter […] indicating that the periodic set of SPS occasions is configured for skipping; ¶0068 […] the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, an indication (e.g., DCI 415a, DCI 415b, and/or DCI 415c in example 400) that the base station 110 will not transmit data during one or more SPS occasions (e.g., the next SPS occasion, the next two SPS occasions, the next three SPS occasions, and so on) within the periodic set of SPS occasions. Accordingly, the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, an indication that the one or more SPS occasions will be skipped. In some aspects, the indication may comprise control information, such as DCI. As an alternative, the indication may comprise a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0068 where i.e. the indication may comprise control information, such as DCI i.e. comprise a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), and furthermore per ¶0068 i.e. the base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, an indication that the one or more SPS occasions will be skipped reads on: skipping detection and reception and per ¶0068 i.e. an indication that the one or more SPS occasions reads on: on an SPS transmission opportunity i.e. an indication (e.g., DCI 415a, DCI 415b, and/or DCI 415c in example 400) that the base station 110 will not transmit data during one or more SPS occasions (e.g., the next SPS occasion, the next two SPS occasions, the next three SPS occasions, and so on) within the periodic set of SPS occasions reads on: in the downlink SPS resource set);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of WONG with teachings of YANG, since YANG enables procedures where “skipping” SPS occasions may also be referred to as “temporarily releasing” SPS occasions, and as a result, the base station reduces network overhead and conserves power and processing resources at the base station, and additionally, the UE conserves power and processing resources as compared with monitoring SPS occasions in which the base station does not transmit data (YANG - ¶0062).
Regarding Claim 15. (Currently Amended) WONG in view of YANG teaches: The method of claim 13,
furthermore WONG discloses: wherein the second association relationship comprises that an SPS corresponding to the first downlink SPS resource set and an SPS corresponding to the second downlink SPS resource set are configured with a same second parameter (WONG FIG. 19 & ¶0108 See Claim 1; ¶0117 See Claim 1; ¶0122 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0117 i.e. the SPS subset is indicated in a Medium Access Control Element (MAC-CE) of a PDSCH in one or more SPS instances i.e. in an SPS Group where FIG. 19 depicts SPS #2 and SPS #4 i.e. the first SPS and SPS #1 and SPS #3 i.e. second SPS subset i.e. belong to the same SPS Group reads on: wherein the second association relationship comprises that an SPS corresponding to the first downlink SPS resource set and an SPS corresponding to the second downlink SPS resource set, where combined with per ¶0108 i.e. the MAC-CE in a PDSCH of a used SPS instance will indicate which other SPS instances i.e. belong to the same SPS Group reads on: are configured with a same second parameter ),
wherein the second parameter comprises at least one of the following: an SPS group identity (WONG FIG. 19 & ¶102 […] each SPS instance can be RRC configured with a group ID, such that SPS instances that share the same group ID may be determined to belong to the same SPS Group ; ¶0108 See Claim 1; ¶0117 See Claim 1; ¶0122 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0108 i.e. the MAC-CE in a PDSCH of a used SPS instance will indicate which other SPS instances i.e. belong to the same SPS Group where per ¶0102 i.e. each SPS instance can be RRC configured with a group ID, such that SPS instances that i.e. share the same group ID reads on: wherein the second parameter comprises at least one of the following: an SPS group identity);
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a transmission periodicity (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
14. Claims 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WONG in view of YANG, further in view of Bagheri et al. (US 20240349267 A1) i.e. “Bagheri”.
Regarding Claim 17. (Currently Amended) WONG in view of YANG teaches: The method of claim 13,
WONG in view of YANG does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note: i.e. see italicized portions): the indication information on the first downlink SPS resource set comprises: receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) on the first downlink SPS resource set;
wherein the first downlink SPS resource set comprises transmission opportunities used for a PDSCH transmission having data;
Bagheri teaches discloses: wherein receiving the indication information on the first downlink SPS resource set comprises: receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) on the first downlink SPS resource set, wherein the PDSCH carries the indication information (Bagheri FIG. 3 & ¶0104 […] the additional indication includes a MAC Control Element (“CE”) indication, e.g., separately coded within the PDSCH.; ¶0105 […] the data-associated control information may be located in a symbol/time unit that is common or overlapping (e.g., first common/overlapping symbol) to at least a subset of the set of SPS configurations […] the data-associated control information may be located on the first symbol of slot, which corresponds to the first symbol of the second SPS configuration 303 and fourth SPS configuration 307, and which symbol is common to all four SPS configurations (i.e., first SPS configuration 301, second SPS configuration 303, third SPS configuration 305, and fourth SPS configuration 307; ¶0106 […] the additional indication includes a SPS-ConfigIndicator, e.g., MAC CE or data-associated control information which is transmitted on separate SPS and/or PDSCH resources, which is indicating whether the data transmission for an SPS period occurs, e.g., on the first set of SPS configurations (e.g., the first SPS configuration 301 and third SPS configuration 305 in FIG. 3) or the second set of SPS configurations (e.g., second SPS configuration 303 and fourth SPS configuration 307 in FIG. 3); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶104 i.e. a MAC Control Element (“CE”) indication, e.g., separately coded within the PDSCH where per ¶0105 i.e. the data-associated control information may be located in a symbol/time unit that is common or overlapping (e.g., first common/overlapping symbol) to at least a subset of the set of SPS configurations i.e. which symbol is common to all four SPS configurations (i.e., first SPS configuration 301, second SPS configuration 303, third SPS configuration 305, and fourth SPS configuration 307) and per ¶0106 i.e. the additional indication includes a SPS-ConfigIndicator, e.g., MAC CE or data-associated control information which is transmitted on separate SPS and/or PDSCH resources, i.e. such as common to all four SPS configuration but where i.e. whether the data transmission for an SPS period occurs, e.g., on the first set of SPS configurations (e.g., the first SPS configuration 301 and third SPS configuration 305 in FIG. 3) or the second set of SPS configurations (e.g., second SPS configuration 303 and fourth SPS configuration 307 in FIG. 3 reads on: wherein receiving the indication information on the first downlink SPS resource set comprises: receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) on the first downlink SPS resource set out any of the four sets 301, 303, 305, 307. Furthermore per ¶0104 i.e. per ¶104 i.e. a MAC Control Element (“CE”) indication, e.g., separately coded within the PDSCH and per ¶0106 the additional indication includes a SPS-ConfigIndicator, e.g., MAC CE or data-associated control information which is transmitted on separate SPS and/or PDSCH resources reads on: wherein the PDSCH carries the indication information );
wherein the first downlink SPS resource set comprises part or(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
all of SPS transmission opportunities used for a PDSCH transmission having data (Bagheri FIG. 3 & ¶106 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0106 i.e. a SPS-ConfigIndicator, e.g., MAC CE or data-associated control information which is transmitted on separate SPS and/or PDSCH resources, which is indicating i.e. whether the data transmission for an SPS period occurs, e.g., on the first set of SPS configurations (e.g., the first SPS configuration 301 and third SPS configuration 305 in FIG. 3) or the second set of SPS configurations (e.g., second SPS configuration 303 and fourth SPS configuration 307 in FIG. 3 reads on: wherein the first downlink SPS resource set comprises part or all of SPS transmission opportunities used for a PDSCH transmission having data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of WONG in view of YANG, with teachings of Bagheri, since Bagheri enables procedures for more efficient (e.g., in terms of satisfying XR service requirements for a greater number of UEs, or in terms of UE power saving) XR service delivery (Bagheri ¶041).
Regarding Claim 19. (Currently Amended) WONG in view of YANG and Bagheri teaches: The method of claim [[18]]17,
furthermore WONG teaches: wherein the part or all of the SPS transmission opportunities comprise an SPS transmission opportunity, in the first downlink SPS resource set, used for a first PDSCH transmission having data after a second time, wherein the second time is determined from a second periodicity and a second offset configured by a network device; (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
wherein the part or(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) all of SPS transmission opportunities comprise one or more SPS transmission opportunities (WONG FIG. 19 & ¶0108 See Claim 1; ¶0117 See Claim 1; ¶0122 […] utilize techniques in which a MAC-CE is used to indicate presence/absence of PDSCH downlink transmission in one or more SPS instances […]; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: ¶0122 utilize techniques in which a MAC-CE is used to indicate i.e. presence/absence of PDSCH downlink transmission in one or more SPS instances & i.e. Per FIG. 19 depicts MAC CE = (2, 1, 2, 1) with SPS # 2 & SPS#4 being subject to an & operation depicted as indicating A interpreted as ACK reads on: wherein the part or all of SPS transmission opportunities and furthermore i.e. ¶0117 i.e. SPS #2 and SPS #4 belong to the first SPS subset 297 reads on: comprise one or more SPS transmission opportunities );
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
wherein the part or all of the SPS transmission opportunities comprise all SPS transmission opportunities, in the first downlink SPS resource set, used for the PDSCH transmission having the data within a second time window, wherein a start point and a duration of the second time window are configured by a network device (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) predefined by a protocol, wherein an end point of the second time window is a time point when a terminal transmits second HARQ-ACK feedback information, wherein the second HARQ-ACK feedback information is configured to indicate that a PDSCH carrying the indication information is decoded correctly (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
06/18/2026
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414