DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 22 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only and/or cannot depend on any other multiple dependent claims. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, claims 11 and 22 have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 22, it is unclear whether it is an apparatus claim or method claim. The claim 22 is a radiotherapy system by itself depending on the system claimed in claim 12. Nonetheless, claim 22 claims the limitation of any one of multiple dependent method claims 1-10. Rule against indefiniteness is not only a technical one, but to protect public and keep patentee from taking an advantage to which he is not entitled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thomas et al. (WO 2020/107121 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Thomas et al. teaches a method of establishing a biomechanical model of an anatomical region of a radiotherapy patient for use in a radiotherapy system, the method comprising the steps of (see abstract; Figs. 1-7A; paragraphs 0083-0230):
establishing a point-based or mesh-based model of the anatomical region (see paragraph 0088); associating static and/or dynamic features to points or mesh nodes of the point-based or mesh-based model, the features comprising a world-space coordinate (x) of the points or mesh nodes and state variable (u) representing spatial-temporal displacement of the anatomical region and, for each point or mesh node, at least one feature characterizing body tissue in the anatomical region (see paragraph 0131); representing the model as a graph in a graph neural network system (see paragraph 0142-0146); and training the model on a cyclic or semi-cyclic motion of the anatomical region (see paragraph 0142-0146).
With respect to claim 2, Thomas et al. teaches the method according to claim 1 (see paragraphs 0088, 0101, 0131, 0138, 0141-00146), wherein the at least one feature characterizing body tissue in the anatomical region comprises at least one variable characterizing interaction between the anatomical region and an ionizing radiation beam (see paragraph 0138).
With respect to claim 3, Thomas et al. teaches the method according to claim 2 (see paragraphs 0088, 0101, 0131, 0138, 0141-00146), wherein the at least one feature characterizing interaction between the anatomical region and the ionizing radiation beam comprises at least one of: linear stopping power; relative stopping power; radiodensity and radiopacity (see paragraphs 0088, 0101, 0131, 0138, 0141-00146).
With respect to claim 8, Thomas et al. teaches the method according to claim 1 (see paragraphs 0088, 0101, 0131, 0138, 0141-00146), wherein the point-based or mesh-based model incorporates at least one of a linear elasticity model and a hyperelasticity model adopted to the physical characteristics of the anatomical region (see paragraphs 0088, 0101, 0131, 0138, 0141-00146).
With respect to claim 9, Thomas et al. teaches the method according to claim 1 (see paragraphs 0088, 0101, 0131, 0138, 0141-00146), comprising the steps of: dividing the anatomical region into at least a first anatomical sub-region displaying a first set of physical properties and a second anatomical sub-region displaying a second set of physical properties being different from the first set of physical properties (see paragraphs 0088, 0101, 0131, 0138, 0141-00146); for the first anatomical sub-region, assigning the point-based or mesh-based model a first point-based or mesh-based sub-model adopted to the first set of physical properties; and for the second anatomical sub-region, assigning the point-based or mesh-based model a second point-based or mesh-based sub-model adopted to the second set of physical properties (see paragraphs 0088, 0101, 0131, 0138, 0141-00146).
With respect to claim 10, Thomas et al. teaches the method according claim 9 (see paragraphs 0088, 0101, 0131, 0138, 0141-00146), wherein the first and the second anatomical sub-region share a common boundary, the method comprising the step of assigning the first and the second point-based or mesh-based sub-model common boundary conditions in the common boundary (see paragraphs 0088, 0101, 0131, 0138, 0141-00146).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12-21 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claims 4-7, the most relevant prior art, Thomas et al. Thomas et al. (WO 2020/107121 A1) teaches the method according to claim 1 (see paragraphs 0088, 0101, 0131, 0138, 0141-00146), wherein the step of representing the model as a graph in a graph neural network system comprises establishing graph nodes, graph edges and graph global elements having features reflecting the static and dynamic variables of the biomechanical model; wherein the graph network system comprises an input, a graph processing neural network, an updater and an output, and wherein the graph processing neural network comprises an encoder, a processor and a decoder (see paragraphs 0088, 0101, 0131, 0138, 0141-00146) but fails to explicitly teach or make obvious that the encoder is configured to receive a current state (M.sup.t) of the mesh-based biomechanical model from the input and encode an input graph (G.sup.0) from the current state (M.sup.t) of the biomechanical model; wherein the processor is configured to process the input graph (G.sup.0) and provide an output graph (G.sup.M) having updated node and edge embeddings; wherein the decoder is configured to decode the output graph (G.sup.M) extracting output features corresponding to the static and dynamical variables of the biomechanical model; and wherein the updater is configured to update the output features to produce an inferred future state (M.sup.t+1) of the mesh-based biomechanical model and provide the inferred state (M.sup.t+1) to the output as claimed including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 12, Thomas et al. (WO 2020/107121 A1) teaches a radiotherapy system comprising (see paragraphs 0088, 0101, 0131, 0138, 0141-00146): at least one beam source arranged to provide an ionizing radiation beam to an irradiation target located in an anatomical region; a beam supervising system configured to control position and/or alignment of the at least one beam source; and a monitoring system arranged to monitor the anatomical region, wherein: a control system comprising a computer-implemented graph network system in which a model of the anatomical region, trained on cyclic or semi-cyclic motion of the anatomical region, is implemented (see paragraphs 0088, 0101, 0131, 0138, 0141-00146) but fails to explicitly teach or make obvious that the graph network system being configured to establish a current state (M.sup.t) of the trained model based on data on a current position and/or on a current orientation in space of the anatomical region received from the monitoring system, and being configured to establish an inferred future state (M.sup.t+1) of the trained model based on the current state (M.sup.t); and the control system being configured to instruct the beam supervising system to control the ionizing radiation beam of the at least one beam source based on the inferred future state (M.sup.t) as claimed in combination with all of the remaining limitations of the claim.
Claims 13-21 are allowed by virtue of their dependence.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bystrov et al. (US PAP 2013/0135305 A1) teaches
interactive mesh deformation for in-plane 3D segmentation/delineation for radiation therapy planning done on a slice by slice basis of a region/a volume of interest (VOI, ROI).
Segmentation starts by some automatic 3D algorithm approximating the organ surface roughly by some triangular surface mesh which mesh is afterwards manually refined by the user who deforms it to bring it closer to the region of interest. The deformation is an invertible, i.e. one-to-one, mapping avoiding self-intersections of the deformed mesh thereby preserving the topology of the anatomy (see abstract; figs. 1-16; 0002, 0003, 0006-0012 and 0072-0074).
Conclusion
Irakli Kiknadze
/IRAKLI KIKNADZE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/I.K./ October 15, 2026