DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by IL22583A (submitted by applicants with IDS on 9/29/24).
On page 3, Example 2, art discloses a method where pilocarpine reacted with benzoic acid to produce pilocarpine benzoate. Pilocarpine benzoate anticipated the claimed compound when R1-R5 are H and R is COOH. The disclosed method of preparation anticipates the method of claim 6. On page 5, claim 7, art discloses therapeutic preparation containing pilocarpine benzoate, which anticipates claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 8-10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IL22583A.
Scope of prior art
Art teaches that salts of pilocarpine are used for treatment of glaucoma. Art also teaches the conventional salts such as HCl or nitrate have a drawback due to their acidity (page 2, 2ng paragraph). Art teaches pilocarpine benzoate as a solution to the low pH drawback of conventional salts (page 3, paragraph 3).
Ascertaining the difference
With regards to claim 5, claimed compounds JQ-3 and JQ-6 have a methyl substituent on the benzene ring. Benzoate has a hydrogen atom in that position.
With regards to claim 8, art teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising Pilocarpine benzoate (page 5, claim 7), but does not recite the concertation of Pilocarpine benzoate in the composition.
With regards to claims 9-10 and 12-13 art teaches that pilocarpine salt can be used for treatment of glaucoma, but does not exemplify such treatment with pilocarpine benzoate.
Obviousness
Claim 5:
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare a methylated derivative of pilocarpine benzoate. Substitution of a hydrogen atom for a methyl group on the benzoate ion be expected to result in a compound that has similar pharmacological properties as the parent compound because benzoate is there to serve as a counter ion and is not taught to be a pharmacologically active portion of the salt. Additionally, it is well established that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Lincoln, 126 U.S. P.Q. 477, 51 U.S.P.Q. 40 (C.C.P.A. 1942); In re Druey, 319 F.2d 237, 138 U.S.P.Q. 39 (C.C.P.A. 1963); In re Lohr, 317 F.2d 388, 137 U.S.P.Q. 548 (C.C.P.A. 1963): In re Hoehsema, 399 F.2d 269, 158 US.P.Q. 598 (C.C.P.A. 1968); In re Wood, 582 F.2d 638, 199 U.S.P.Q. 137 (C.C.P.A. 1978); In re Hoke, 560 F.2d 436, 195 U.S.P.Q. 148 (C.C.P.A. 1977); Ex parte Fauque, 121 U.S.P.Q. 425 (P.O.B.A. 1954); Ex parte Henkel. 130 U.S.P.Q. 474. (P.O.B.A. 1960).
Regarding claim 8:
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to filing of the current application, would have found it obvious to determine through routine experimentation the optimal concertation of pilocarpine benzoate. Determining the optimal effective and safe amount of a pharmaceutical agent to include in a formulation is within the scope of routine optimization.
Regarding claims 9-10 and 12-13:
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the earliest effective filing date of the current application, would have found it obvious to treat glaucoma by administering to a subject in need a composition comprising pilocarpine benzoate. Art teaches pilocarpine as having utility in treatment of glaucoma and discloses the benzoate salt as an improvement over conventional HCl and nitrate salts.
Claim(s) 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IL22583A as applied to claims 9 and 10 above, and further in view of Kandula et al (WO 2019150341).
Ascertaining the difference
IL22583A teaches treatment of glaucoma by administration of pilocarpine salt, but does not recite presbyopia.
Secondary reference
Kandula teaches composition comprising a pilocarpine salt (page 50, claim 16) and it’s utility in treatment of glaucoma and presbyopia (page 50, claim 20).
Obviousness
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective filing date of the current application, would have found it obvious to utilize pilocarpine benzoate of IL22583A in treatment of conditions for which administration of pilocarpine salt is indicated. Kandula teaches that presbyopia is a ocular condition that can be treated by administration of a composition comprising pilocarpine HCl. Since IL22583A teaches that the benzoate salt is preferable to chloride salt due to reduced acidity of the formulation, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to substitute the benzoate salt for HCl salt of pilocarpine in treatment of presbyopia.
Conclusion
Claims 1-14 are pending
Claims 1-14 are rejected
/YEVGENY VALENROD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628