Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7-24-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues the limitation, “at least one reference light emitting element configured for emitting reference light in a reference spectrum, wherein the at least one reference light emitting element is separate from the at least one light emitting element,” is not taught by Houk. The applicant argues that since what is shown is a light source (104) that emits light for both the reference and measurement paths that this doesn’t meet the limitation of the reference light emitting element is separate from the at least one light emitting element. However, as the examiner pointed out in the rejection that light source may be a plurality of LEDs emitting light and thus, they would be separate from each other. Thus there would be one element emitting a reference light and one a measurement light separate from it.
Thus, the examiner will be maintaining the rejection of the independent claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: at least one light emitting element, at least one reference light emitting element, at least one interface element, at least one segmented aperture, in claims 1-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 11, & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Houck et al (PGPub 2021/0063241) (Houck).
Regarding Claim 1, Houck discloses a spectrometer device for analyzing a sample (Paragraph 10), comprising:
at least one light emitting element (104, fig. 2) configured for emitting light in a measurement spectrum (202);
at least one reference light emitting element (104) configured for emitting reference light in a reference spectrum, wherein the at least one reference light emitting element is separate from the at least one light emitting element (Paragraph 17). Houck states that the light source may be a plurality of LEDs thus the portion of the light source (104) emitting the measurement light (202) would be separate from the portion of the light source (104) emitting the reference light (204);
at least one interface element (110, 116, & 118) configured for receiving light of the measurement spectrum and transferring light of the measurement spectrum to at least one detector array (114-1), wherein the interface element is further configured for blocking reference light of the reference spectrum (Paragraph 30);
at least one segmented aperture configured for acting as one or more of an angle filter and a stray light filter (Paragraph 21). Houck states that the cover (110) may include an aperture stop meeting this limitation;
at least one optical separation element (112, Paragraph 24); and
the at least one detector array comprising a plurality of detector elements (Paragraph 26);
wherein the detector array is configured for generating at least one detector signal according to an illumination of the plurality of detector elements by one or more of the measurement spectrum and the reference spectrum (Paragraph 26),
wherein each detector element is configured for receiving at least a portion of one or more of the measurement spectrum and the reference spectrum (Paragraph 26).
Regarding Claim 2, Houck discloses the aforementioned. Further, Houck discloses wherein the interface element, the reference light emitting element and the detector array are arranged such that the light emitted by the reference light emitting element travels to the detector array along an optical reference path (Fig. 2, 204), wherein the optical reference path is fully arranged within the spectrometer device. As can be seen the reference path is separate from the measurement path and remains internal to the device.
Regarding Claim 3, Houck discloses the aforementioned. Further, Houck discloses wherein the interface element is arranged such that the light (204) emitted by the reference light emitting element is at least partially reflected by the interface element (Paragraph 30) and that the light (202) emitted by the light emitting element is at least partially transmitted by the interface element (Paragraph 38).
Regarding Claim 4, Houck discloses the aforementioned. Further, Houck discloses wherein the light emitting element and the reference light emitting element are arranged within a housing of the spectrometer device (See fig. 2), wherein the interface element and the light emitting element are arranged such that the light emitted by the light emitting element is transmitted by the interface element and that light reflected by the sample is transmitted by the interface element wherein the interface element and the reference light emitting element are arranged such that the light emitted by the reference light emitting element is reflected by the interface element (Fig. 2, Paragraphs 30 & 38).
Regarding Claim 6, Houck discloses the aforementioned. Further, Houck discloses wherein the optical separation element (108) is disposed in an optical path before the detector elements of the detector array (see fig. 2);
wherein the optical separation element is configured for separating light into a spectrum of constituent wavelength components (Paragraph 21). This is the function of an optical diffractive element;
wherein each of the detector elements is configured for receiving at least a portion of one of the constituent wavelength components and for generating a respective detector signal depending on the illumination of the respective detector element by the at least one portion of the respective constituent wavelength component (Paragraph 26).
Regarding Claim 8, Houck discloses the aforementioned. Further, Houck discloses wherein the at least one light emitting element is a light emitting diode (LED), wherein the at least one reference light emitting element is an LED (Paragraphs 16 & 17).
Regarding Claim 9, Houck discloses the aforementioned. Further, Houck discloses wherein the at least one light emitting element and the reference light emitting element are infrared LEDs configured for emitting light in an infrared spectral range, such that the measurement spectrum and the reference spectrum lie within the infrared spectral range (Paragraph 16).
Regarding Claim 11, Houck discloses the aforementioned. Further, Houck discloses an electronics unit configured for determining information regarding a spectrum by evaluating the at least one detector signal generated by the detector array of the spectrometer device (Paragraph 40).
Regarding Claim 18, Houck discloses the aforementioned. Further, the limitation, “wherein each detector element of the detector array is configured for receiving at least a portion of one or more of the measurement spectrum and the reference spectrum,” is met since this is an apparatus claim a structural element only needs to be capable of performing a function and the detector element shown is capable of performing this function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 10, & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houck.
Regarding Claim 5, Houck discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the segmented aperture is disposed in an optical path in between the interface element and the detector array; Houck disclose that the cover component (110) can include a lens, a window, an optical diffuser, an optical filter, an aperture stop, a reflective optical element, a diffractive optical element, a refractive optical element, and/or the like. Thus, it would stand that the cover component can be any combination of these things;
Thus, the examiner takes official notice that this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the segmented aperture is disposed in an optical path in between the interface element and the detector array;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Houck with wherein the segmented aperture is disposed in an optical path in between the interface element and the detector array because the arrangement of optics is immaterial as long as it produces the desired results and having the aperture between, for example, a window and the detector would be a trivial matter that would be done for reasons such as preventing the aperture from being exposed to the environment outside the device.
Regarding Claim 10, Houck discloses the aforementioned. Further, Houck discloses at least one driving unit configured for controlling the at least one light emitting element and the at least one reference light emitting element by one or more of turning the light emitting element on and/or off, turning the reference light emitting element on and/or off, modulating the measurement spectrum and modulating the reference spectrum (Paragraph 18);
Houck fails to explicitly disclose wherein the spectrometer device further comprises at least one evaluation unit configured to generate the information related to the spectrum from the detector signal by calculating an absorbance of a sample from the detector signal depending on a location of the individual detector element in the detector array;
However, the examiner takes official notice that this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Houck with at least one evaluation unit configured to generate the information related to the spectrum from the detector signal by calculating an absorbance of a sample from the detector signal depending on a location of the individual detector element in the detector array because absorption spectrometry is a well-known form of spectrometry commonly used to determine the composition of the sample by the wavelengths absorbed by the sample. One would choose to use absorption measurements of light because it is highly sensitive, non-destructive, and can be used to measure trace amounts in a sample.
Regarding Claim 12, Houck discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the electronics unit comprises at least one data processor configured for processing and/or storing data wherein the at least one data processor is configured for processing and/or storing the calculated absorbance of the sample;
However, the examiner takes official notice that this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Houck with wherein the electronics unit comprises at least one data processor configured for processing and/or storing data wherein the at least one data processor is configured for processing and/or storing the calculated absorbance of the sample because this is common computer hardware for processing data and the ability to process and store data allows for the quick and efficient processing of a large sum of data and storing it allows for recall at a later date for analysis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to Claim 7 the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein the reference spectrum comprises electromagnetic radiation having smaller wavelengths than electromagnetic radiation comprised by the measurement spectrum, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 September 29, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877