DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/29/24 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
CLAIM 16
Claim 16 recites:
“said protective jacket has a form of a flexible bellows, capable of being displaced into itself; and/or said flexible bellows is grounded.”
The claim is indefinite because the “and/or” language creates an alternative in which only “said flexible bellows is grounded” is required. However, claim 15, from which claim 16 depends, recites a “protective jacket” and does not previously recite a “flexible bellows.” Therefore, under at least one reading of claim 16, “said flexible bellows” lacks clear antecedent basis, and it is unclear whether the protective jacket must be a flexible bellows, whether grounding alone is sufficient, or whether both features are required.
Applicant may clarify by replacing “and/or” with separate dependent claims or by reciting, for example: “wherein the protective jacket is a flexible bellows capable of being displaced into itself, and wherein the flexible bellows is grounded.” If grounding is intended to be optional, applicant should place the bellows limitation in one claim and the grounding limitation in a separate dependent claim.
CLAIMS 21 AND 22
Claim 21 recites, in part:
“in order to avoid an uncontrolled detachment of said transmission line in an event of a separation of a combination of said vehicle and said trailer outside of operation.”
Claim 22 similarly recites:
“in an event of a separation outside of operation where said two-part coupling is opened.”
The phrase “outside of operation” is indefinite because the claim does not set forth reasonably clear boundaries for what operational state is excluded or included. It is unclear whether “outside of operation” means that the vehicle/trailer combination is not moving, is not in revenue service, is outside normal operation, is in an emergency or abnormal breakaway state, or is in some other non-operational condition. This ambiguity affects the required function of the two-part coupling and the circumstances under which the coupling must avoid uncontrolled detachment and seal the transmission line.
Applicant may clarify by replacing “outside of operation” with language tied to an objective condition. For example, if intended, applicant may recite “during an abnormal separation of the vehicle and trailer,” “during a non-operational uncoupling event,” or “during a separation event occurring outside normal operating relative movement of the vehicle and trailer.”
CLAIM 23
Claim 23 recites:
“said transmission line is coupled with said signal line functioning as said protective device for said transmission line, and monitors a separation of said transmission line.”
The claim is indefinite because it is unclear what element performs the monitoring. Grammatically, the phrase “and monitors a separation of said transmission line” may refer to the transmission line, the signal line, or the protective device. The claim therefore does not clearly define whether the signal line monitors separation of the transmission line, whether the transmission line monitors its own separation, or whether another protective-device function is intended.
Applicant may clarify by reciting, for example: “wherein the signal line monitors separation of the transmission line” or “wherein the signal line is configured to detect a separation condition of the transmission line.”
CLAIM 24
Claim 24 recites, in part:
“said signal line is damaged by a mechanical tensioning, and therefore indicates an impending separation in good time.”
The phrase “in good time” is indefinite because it is a term of degree that does not provide an objective boundary for the timing of the indication. The claim does not specify a threshold distance, tensile force, time interval, valve-actuation condition, or other measurable standard that would inform the scope of “in good time.” It is therefore unclear how early the signal line must indicate impending separation to fall within the scope of the claim.
The phrase “impending separation” also lacks clear objective boundaries when combined with “in good time.” The claim does not identify when a separation becomes “impending” or how the claimed mechanical tensioning is distinguished from ordinary operational relative movement between the vehicle and trailer.
Applicant may clarify by reciting an objective condition, for example: “before tensile stress in the transmission line exceeds a predetermined tensile-stress value,” “before separation of the two-part coupling,” or “when tensile stress in the signal line exceeds a predetermined threshold.”
CLAIM 25
Claim 25 recites:
“switchable shut-off valves, which are closed as a consequence of a damaged said signal line.”
The phrase “a damaged said signal line” is indefinite because it combines an indefinite article with “said” language and is grammatically unclear. It is unclear whether the valves close as a consequence of damage to the signal line of claim 24 or as a consequence of another damaged signal line.
Applicant may clarify by reciting, for example: “switchable shut-off valves configured to close in response to damage to the signal line.”
CLAIM 26
Claim 26 recites several alternatives joined by “and/or,” including:
“said traction motor of said vehicle is an electric traction motor; and/or”
and
“said galvanic cell is a fuel cell with which electrical propulsive energy, which is supplied to said electric traction motor for a purpose of propulsion, is created by a chemical reaction of the gas-bound hydrogen, supplied to said fuel cell continuously, with the oxidizing agent.”
The claim is indefinite because the “and/or” format permits the final fuel-cell limitation to be selected without also selecting the earlier limitation that the traction motor is an electric traction motor. Under that reading, “said electric traction motor” lacks clear antecedent basis because claim 14 recites only a “traction motor,” not an “electric traction motor.”
The claim is also indefinite because the final fuel-cell limitation recites “the gas-bound hydrogen,” while claim 14 recites a “gas-bound energy-carrier” and claim 26 separately recites that the gas-bound energy-carrier may be “gas bound hydrogen or natural gas.” Under the “and/or” structure, the fuel-cell limitation may be read without the hydrogen alternative being selected, and may also be read together with the natural-gas alternative. Thus, it is unclear whether the claimed gas-bound energy-carrier must be hydrogen, may be natural gas, or may be natural gas while the fuel cell uses hydrogen.
The phrase “gas bound hydrogen” is further unclear because the claim does not make clear whether the intended subject matter is hydrogen gas, gaseous hydrogen, hydrogen bound in a gas, or hydrogen as the gas-bound energy-carrier.
Applicant may clarify by splitting the alternatives into separate dependent claims. For example, one dependent claim may recite that the traction motor is an electric traction motor. Another may recite that the vehicle is a rail vehicle. Another may recite that the gas-bound energy-carrier is hydrogen or natural gas. A further dependent claim may recite the fuel-cell embodiment using hydrogen, and should provide antecedent basis for “electric traction motor” and “hydrogen.”
CLAIM OBJECTIONS - INFORMALITIES
Claims 14, 20, 25, and 26 are objected to because of informalities in the claim language. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 14, the phrase “with said energy-generation unit propulsive energy is created” is grammatically awkward. The intended language appears to be “with which said energy-generation unit creates propulsive energy” or “wherein propulsive energy is created by said energy-generation unit.”
In claim 20, the phrase “and, for tightening said transmission line” contains an unnecessary comma and reads awkwardly. The intended language appears to be “and for tightening said transmission line to a predetermined mechanical tensile stress.”
In claim 25, the phrase “a damaged said signal line” should be corrected to “the damaged signal line” or “damage to the signal line.”
In claim 26, “gas bound hydrogen” should be corrected if applicant intends “gas-bound hydrogen,” “hydrogen gas,” or “gaseous hydrogen.” The correction should be consistent with the terminology used in the specification.
The repeated use of “and/or” in the dependent claims is also objected to as reducing clarity. Applicant is encouraged to replace the “and/or” language with separate dependent claims or with “at least one of” language where appropriate and unambiguous.
REFERENCES USED
Reference 1: U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0033738 A1, “Methods and Systems for a Rail Vehicle Including a Source of Gaseous Natural Gas.”
Reference 2: U.S. Patent No. 8,117,969 B1, “Hydrogen Fuel Cell Hybrid Locomotives.”
Reference 3: U.S. Patent No. 4,865,077 A, “L.P.G. Hose Breakaway Coupling.”
Reference 4: U.S. Patent No. 7,222,644 B2, “High-Pressure Hose and Pressure Washer.”
Reference 5: U.S. Patent No. 8,394,471 B2, “Electrically-Conductive Hose.”
Reference 6: U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0231648 A1, “Flexible Shower Arm Assembly.”
Reference 7: U.S. Patent No. 8,146,952 B2, “Cryogenic Gimbal Coupling.”
Reference 8: U.S. Patent No. 4,244,449 A, “Tensioning Device for Tensioning of Hydraulic Hoses on Telescopic Lift Mast Assemblies.”
Reference 9: U.S. Patent No. 9,850,119 B2, “Automatic Truck Tank Fill System.”
Reference 10: U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0116515 A1, “Fluid Dispensing System with Break-Away Coupling.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth below.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 14 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3
A configuration for propelling a vehicle coupled with a trailer, the configuration comprising: said vehicle having a traction motor for propelling said vehicle; said trailer being connected to said vehicle and having a tank storing a gas-bound energy-carrier; said vehicle having a galvanic cell being an energy-generation unit, with said energy-generation unit propulsive energy is created by a chemical reaction of the gas-bound energy-carrier, supplied to said energy-generation unit continuously, with an oxidizing agent and is supplied to said traction motor for a purpose of propulsion; a transmission line, wherein said vehicle and said trailer are connected to one another via said transmission line, so that the gas-bound energy-carrier passes from said tank of said trailer to said energy-generation unit of said vehicle; and a protective device, wherein said transmission line is coupled with said protective device such that damage to said transmission line during operation of said vehicle connected to said trailer is prevented by said protective device.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses a configuration for propelling a vehicle coupled with a trailer. In Reference 1, first locomotive 100 is a vehicle configured to travel on rail 102. Fuel tender 110 is coupled to first locomotive 100 and supplies propulsion fuel to first locomotive 100. Fuel tender 110 corresponds to the claimed trailer because it is a separate coupled rail vehicle carrying fuel for the locomotive.
Reference 1 discloses said vehicle having a traction motor for propelling said vehicle. First locomotive 100 includes traction motor 132. Electrical power is provided through power conversion unit 120 and electrical bus 128 to traction motor 132. Traction motor 132 drives the locomotive wheels and thereby propels first locomotive 100.
Reference 1 discloses said trailer being connected to said vehicle and having a tank storing an energy carrier. Fuel tender 110 is connected to first locomotive 100 and includes LNG storage tank 212. Fuel tender 110 further includes regasification unit 234 and gaseous natural gas fluidic coupling 114, so that gaseous fuel is supplied from fuel tender 110 to first locomotive 100. Reference 1 therefore teaches the claimed trailer/tank/fuel-supply relationship at least for a natural-gas energy carrier supplied in gaseous form to the vehicle. Reference 1 also expressly contemplates fuels other than natural gas, including hydrogen.
To the extent the phrase “gas-bound energy-carrier” is interpreted to require that the energy carrier stored in the trailer tank be gaseous hydrogen or gaseous natural gas, Reference 2 teaches hydrogen fuel storage for a fuel-cell locomotive. Reference 2 discloses hydrogen tanks 204 and fuel-cell power modules 201a and 201b for a locomotive propulsion system. It would have been obvious to use the tender tank arrangement of Reference 1 to store and supply the hydrogen fuel taught by Reference 2, because Reference 1 already teaches supplying gaseous propulsion fuel from fuel tender 110 to locomotive 100 and expressly recognizes hydrogen as a usable alternative fuel.
Reference 1 does not expressly disclose the claimed galvanic cell. Reference 2 discloses said vehicle having a galvanic cell being an energy-generation unit. In Reference 2, fuel-cell power modules 201a and 201b are positioned on locomotive 100 and operate as energy-generation units. The fuel-cell power modules receive hydrogen fuel from hydrogen tanks 204 and receive oxidizing air from the locomotive air system. The hydrogen and oxygen react electrochemically in the fuel-cell modules to produce electrical power. The generated electrical energy is supplied through the locomotive electrical system, including bus 207, to traction motors 209a, 209b, 209c, and 209d for propulsion. The fuel-cell power modules 201a and 201b therefore teach the claimed galvanic cell/energy-generation unit.
In the proposed combination, first locomotive 100 of Reference 1 is modified to include the hydrogen fuel-cell power modules 201a and 201b of Reference 2 in place of, or in addition to, the engine-generator propulsion source of Reference 1. Fuel tender 110 of Reference 1 supplies the gas-bound energy carrier to those vehicle-mounted fuel-cell modules. The resulting vehicle includes a galvanic cell that generates propulsive electrical energy by chemical reaction of the gas-bound energy carrier with an oxidizing agent, and the energy is supplied to the traction motor for propulsion.
Reference 1 discloses a transmission line connecting the vehicle and trailer so that the energy carrier passes from the tank of the trailer to the vehicle. Reference 1 discloses gaseous natural gas fluidic coupling 114 between fuel tender 110 and first locomotive 100. Reference 1 also discloses detachable interface coupling 236 and associated conduits/control valves 232 for delivering gaseous fuel from fuel tender 110 to first locomotive 100. This gaseous fuel path corresponds to the claimed transmission line. In the proposed combination, this same intervehicle transmission line supplies hydrogen or natural gas from fuel tender 110 to the vehicle-side fuel-cell energy-generation unit.
Reference 1 does not expressly disclose the claimed protective device coupled with the intervehicle transmission line. Reference 3 discloses a protective device for a gaseous-fuel hose line. Reference 3 discloses breakaway coupling 1 installed in hose line 2 for an LPG dispensing system 3. Hose 4 is protected by restraining wire 5, collar 6, and anchor point 7. Breakaway coupling 1 is configured to separate in a controlled manner when an excessive pulling force is applied, thereby preventing uncontrolled tearing, rupture, or damage of the gaseous-fuel hose line. Reference 3 further teaches that the breakaway coupling seals the separated portions of the hose line so that fuel release is avoided or reduced.
It would have been obvious to provide the intervehicle gaseous-fuel transmission line of Reference 1, including fluidic coupling 114 and detachable interface coupling 236, with the breakaway protective device of Reference 3. The combined protective device prevents damage to the transmission line during operation of first locomotive 100 connected to fuel tender 110 by causing controlled separation at the breakaway coupling before the fuel line is torn, overstressed, or pulled from the vehicle/tender connection.
Motivation to Combine
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine References 1 and 2 because Reference 1 already teaches a rail vehicle receiving gaseous propulsion fuel from a coupled fuel tender, while Reference 2 teaches using hydrogen fuel cells on a locomotive to generate electrical propulsion power for traction motors. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute or supplement Reference 1’s engine-generator propulsion arrangement with Reference 2’s fuel-cell propulsion arrangement to reduce combustion emissions, provide electrical traction power, and use a gaseous fuel supply compatible with rail propulsion. It further would have been obvious to supply the hydrogen or gaseous fuel from tender 110 of Reference 1 to the fuel-cell modules 201a and 201b of Reference 2 because the tender arrangement increases fuel capacity without requiring all fuel storage to be carried on the locomotive itself.
It also would have been obvious to combine Reference 3 with the rail-fuel transmission arrangement of References 1 and 2 because the intervehicle fuel line carries flammable gaseous fuel and is subject to relative movement, pulling, and accidental separation between coupled vehicles. Reference 3’s breakaway coupling 1 provides a predictable safety improvement by causing controlled separation of hose line 2 and preventing uncontrolled rupture or damage. Applying that coupling to fluidic coupling 114/interface coupling 236 would have yielded the predictable result of protecting the gaseous-fuel transmission line between locomotive 100 and fuel tender 110.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 15 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, and further in view of Reference 4
The configuration according to claim 14, wherein said transmission line is surrounded, at least in a region between said vehicle and said trailer, by a protective jacket being said protective device.
Analysis
Reference 1, as modified by References 2 and 3 for claim 14, discloses the configuration including first locomotive 100, fuel tender 110, traction motor 132, a vehicle-side fuel-cell energy-generation unit as taught by fuel-cell modules 201a and 201b of Reference 2, and an intervehicle gaseous-fuel transmission line including gaseous natural gas fluidic coupling 114 and detachable interface coupling 236. Reference 3 teaches protecting such a gaseous-fuel hose line using breakaway coupling 1.
Reference 4 discloses a transmission hose surrounded by protective structure. Reference 4 discloses high-pressure hose 14 having inner core 15, flexible intermediate metallic reinforcing sheath 16, and outer jacket 17. Metallic reinforcing sheath 16 surrounds inner core 15 and protects the pressure-carrying conduit against mechanical loading. Outer jacket 17 also surrounds the hose structure and protects the metallic sheath and inner core. Thus, Reference 4 teaches a protective jacket surrounding a transmission line.
It would have been obvious to provide the intervehicle fuel transmission line of Reference 1, as modified by References 2 and 3, with a surrounding protective jacket as taught by Reference 4. The jacket/sheath arrangement of Reference 4 would be positioned at least in the region between first locomotive 100 and fuel tender 110, where the transmission line is exposed to relative vehicle movement, bending, debris, abrasion, and impact.
The claimed protective jacket is met by the metallic reinforcing sheath 16 and/or jacket 17 of Reference 4 when applied around the fuel transmission line including fluidic coupling 114/interface coupling 236 of Reference 1. The protective jacket functions as the claimed protective device because it mechanically protects the transmission line from damage.
Motivation to Combine
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Reference 4 with References 1-3 because the intervehicle gaseous-fuel transmission line is a flexible high-pressure fuel conduit requiring protection from abrasion, bending, crushing, and external mechanical loads. Reference 4 teaches that a flexible hose can be protected by surrounding the pressure-carrying core 15 with metallic reinforcing sheath 16 and jacket 17. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have applied that known hose-protection structure to the exposed intervehicle fuel line of Reference 1 to improve durability and reduce the risk of leakage or rupture during rail operation. The modification is a predictable use of a known protective jacket on a known fuel/fluid transmission line.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 16 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, and further in view of References 4, 5, and 6
The configuration according to claim 15, wherein: said protective jacket has a form of a flexible bellows, capable of being displaced into itself; and/or said flexible bellows is grounded.
Analysis
Reference 1, as modified by References 2, 3, and 4 for claims 14 and 15, discloses the vehicle/trailer fuel-cell propulsion configuration and a protective jacket surrounding the intervehicle gaseous-fuel transmission line.
Reference 6 teaches a protective flexible sheath having the form of a bellows-like structure capable of compression and extension. Reference 6 discloses flexible arm assembly 34 with internal hose 50 extending through internal cavity 48. Sheath 52 surrounds and protects the flexible structure. Sheath 52 includes a corrugated outer surface with ribs 228 and foldable/compressible webbing, allowing the sheath to flex, compress, and extend as the underlying conduit moves. Such a corrugated, compressible sheath corresponds to a flexible bellows capable of being displaced into itself.
It would have been obvious to form the protective jacket around the intervehicle fuel transmission line as a flexible bellows as taught by Reference 6. The intervehicle region between locomotive 100 and fuel tender 110 must accommodate angular displacement, vibration, draft/buff movement, and bending during operation. A flexible bellows-shaped jacket permits such movement while continuing to shield the transmission line.
Reference 5 teaches grounding or electrical conductivity for a fuel hose. Reference 5 discloses hose 10 having conductive structures, including conductive layer 16 and other conductive/reinforcing structures, configured to dissipate electrical charge. Reference 5 is particularly relevant to fuel transfer lines such as CNG or other fuel hoses, where static charge dissipation reduces ignition risk. Therefore, Reference 5 teaches that a flexible fuel hose or surrounding protective structure may be electrically conductive and grounded.
It would have been obvious to ground the flexible bellows protective jacket of the combined system using the electrically conductive hose structures of Reference 5. The gaseous-fuel line between locomotive 100 and tender 110 carries flammable hydrogen or natural gas; therefore, static dissipation through a grounded conductive bellows or conductive jacket would provide a predictable safety benefit.
Motivation to Combine
It would have been obvious to combine Reference 6 with References 1-4 because a bellows-shaped protective jacket is a known flexible cover for protecting a movable conduit while allowing compression, extension, and bending. The region between locomotive 100 and fuel tender 110 experiences relative motion, and a corrugated bellows structure such as sheath 52 with ribs 228 would protect the transmission line without preventing necessary movement.
It further would have been obvious to combine Reference 5 with the modified configuration because gaseous fuel lines are subject to static charge accumulation, and Reference 5 teaches electrically conductive fuel-hose structures for charge dissipation. Grounding the flexible bellows would reduce ignition risk and provide a predictable safety improvement for a hydrogen or natural-gas fuel transmission line.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 17 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, and further in view of References 4 and 5
The configuration according to claim 15, wherein: said protective jacket has a form of a flexible metallic fabric or a flexible, mechanically loadable hollow body; and/or said protective jacket has electrically conducting structures for grounding.
Analysis
Reference 1, as modified by References 2, 3, and 4 for claims 14 and 15, discloses the vehicle/trailer fuel-cell propulsion configuration and a protective jacket surrounding the intervehicle gaseous-fuel transmission line.
Reference 4 teaches the claimed flexible metallic fabric or flexible, mechanically loadable hollow body. Reference 4 discloses high-pressure hose 14 having inner core 15 surrounded by flexible metallic reinforcing sheath 16. Metallic reinforcing sheath 16 is a grid or interwoven metallic fiber structure and is mechanically loadable because it reinforces the hose against internal pressure and external mechanical loading. The sheath surrounds the pressure-carrying conduit and therefore forms a hollow protective body around the line. When applied to the intervehicle fuel line of Reference 1, metallic reinforcing sheath 16 corresponds to the claimed flexible metallic fabric or flexible, mechanically loadable hollow body.
Reference 5 teaches electrically conducting structures for grounding in a fuel hose. Reference 5 discloses hose 10 with conductive layer 16 and additional conductive or reinforcing structures configured to provide electrical conductivity and static charge dissipation. When applied to the protective jacket surrounding the fuel line of Reference 1, these conductive structures provide the claimed grounding function.
The combination therefore teaches the protective jacket having the form of a flexible metallic fabric or mechanically loadable hollow body and also having electrically conducting structures for grounding.
Motivation to Combine
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Reference 4 with References 1-3 because a high-pressure gaseous-fuel transmission line between coupled rail vehicles benefits from reinforcement against bending, pressure loads, abrasion, and impact. Reference 4’s metallic reinforcing sheath 16 provides a known flexible mechanical reinforcement around a hose core and would predictably improve the durability of the intervehicle transmission line.
It further would have been obvious to combine Reference 5 because a hydrogen or natural-gas line presents static discharge and ignition concerns. Conductive grounding structures in the protective jacket would dissipate charge and reduce ignition risk. The modification merely applies known electrically conductive fuel-hose technology to the known intervehicle fuel line of Reference 1.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 18 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, and further in view of References 4 and 7
The configuration according to claim 15, further comprising a cardanic suspension, said protective jacket is fastened to said vehicle and/or to said trailer via said cardanic suspension.
Analysis
Reference 1, as modified by References 2, 3, and 4 for claims 14 and 15, discloses the vehicle/trailer fuel-cell propulsion configuration and a protective jacket surrounding the intervehicle gaseous-fuel transmission line between locomotive 100 and fuel tender 110.
Reference 7 teaches a cardanic or gimbal suspension for a flexible fluid-transfer pipe. Reference 7 discloses a cryogenic transfer arrangement including flexible pipe section 5 supported by a gimbal or cardan joint. The cardanic support includes a support ring around the flexible pipe section and arms or pivoting supports that allow angular movement about transverse axes. Reference 7 further teaches using the gimbal coupling to support a flexible hose or pipe used for cryogenic fluid transfer.
It would have been obvious to fasten the protective jacket and fuel transmission line of the Reference 1/Reference 4 combination to locomotive 100 and/or fuel tender 110 through a cardanic suspension as taught by Reference 7. The gimbal/cardanic support would allow relative angular motion between the coupled rail vehicles while preventing the transmission line and its protective jacket from bearing excessive bending or twisting loads.
The claimed cardanic suspension is met by the gimbal/cardanic support of Reference 7 when applied to support the protective jacket surrounding the intervehicle fuel line at or near fluidic coupling 114/interface coupling 236 of Reference 1.
Motivation to Combine
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Reference 7 with References 1-4 because the intervehicle fuel line must accommodate relative angular motion between the locomotive and tender. Reference 7 teaches that a flexible fluid-transfer pipe can be supported by a gimbal/cardanic coupling to permit multidirectional angular displacement while mechanically supporting the pipe. Applying such a support to the protected intervehicle line of Reference 1 would predictably reduce bending stress, twisting stress, and fatigue in the line and protective jacket.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 19 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, and further in view of Reference 8
The configuration according to claim 14, wherein said protective device is a resilient unit, said transmission line is connected to said vehicle and/or to said trailer via said resilient unit which functions as said protective device for said transmission line.
Analysis
Reference 1, as modified by References 2 and 3 for claim 14, discloses the vehicle/trailer fuel-cell propulsion configuration and the intervehicle gaseous-fuel transmission line between locomotive 100 and fuel tender 110.
Reference 8 teaches a resilient unit for supporting and protecting flexible fluid transmission lines. Reference 8 discloses a tensioning device for hydraulic flexible tubes on a movable lift mast assembly. The device includes holder 16 or holder 40, spring 20 or spring 43, pulley 25 or pulley 46, and guide structure for resiliently supporting and tensioning flexible hydraulic tubes. The spring-loaded arrangement protects the hoses by accommodating movement and preventing slack, oscillation, and damage during operation.
It would have been obvious to connect the intervehicle fuel transmission line of Reference 1 to locomotive 100 and/or fuel tender 110 through a resilient unit as taught by Reference 8. In the combined system, the resilient unit supports the transmission line, absorbs motion-induced loads, maintains a controlled line path, and protects the line from snagging, excessive bending, or impact.
The claimed resilient unit is met by the spring-loaded support/tensioning arrangement of Reference 8 when used to connect and support the intervehicle fuel line of Reference 1.
Motivation to Combine
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Reference 8 with References 1-3 because a flexible fuel transmission line between coupled rail vehicles is subject to relative motion, vibration, and changes in spacing or alignment. Reference 8 teaches that a resilient spring-loaded unit can support flexible fluid tubes and reduce damaging movement. Applying that resilient support to the gaseous-fuel line between locomotive 100 and fuel tender 110 would predictably protect the transmission line during operation.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 20 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, and further in view of Reference 8
The configuration according to claim 19, wherein said resilient unit is configured for resilient support and fastening of said transmission line and, for tightening said transmission line to a predetermined mechanical tensile stress.
Analysis
Reference 1, as modified by References 2, 3, and 8 for claim 19, discloses the vehicle/trailer fuel-cell propulsion configuration and a resilient unit connecting and supporting the intervehicle transmission line.
Reference 8 further teaches that the resilient unit is configured for resilient support and fastening of the transmission line and for tightening the transmission line to a predetermined mechanical tensile stress. Reference 8 discloses holders 16 and 40 for fastening the flexible tubes, springs 20 and 43 for applying resilient tension, and pulleys 25 and 46 for guiding the hose path. The spring-loaded arrangement maintains a controlled tension on the flexible tubes. The spring force can be selected or adjusted to provide the desired hose tension during movement.
When applied to the intervehicle fuel transmission line of Reference 1, the spring-loaded holder/pulley arrangement of Reference 8 resiliently supports and fastens the transmission line and tightens it to a predetermined mechanical tensile stress. This prevents excessive slack while avoiding rigid attachment that could overstress the fuel line during relative motion between locomotive 100 and fuel tender 110.
Motivation to Combine
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Reference 8 with References 1-3 for the same reasons discussed for claim 19. Additionally, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that merely supporting a flexible intervehicle gas line is insufficient if the line can sag, loop, snag, or whip during operation. Reference 8 teaches maintaining a controlled tensile load using spring-loaded support components. Applying that teaching to the fuel line between locomotive 100 and tender 110 would predictably maintain a safe line position and reduce mechanical damage.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 21 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3
The configuration according to claim 14, wherein in a region between said vehicle and said trailer said transmission line has a two-part coupling which functions as said protective device for said transmission line, in order to avoid an uncontrolled detachment of said transmission line in an event of a separation of a combination of said vehicle and said trailer outside of operation.
Analysis
Reference 1, as modified by References 2 and 3 for claim 14, discloses the vehicle/trailer fuel-cell propulsion configuration and the intervehicle gaseous-fuel transmission line between locomotive 100 and fuel tender 110.
Reference 1 discloses an intervehicle coupling for fuel transmission in the region between locomotive 100 and fuel tender 110. Gaseous natural gas fluidic coupling 114 and detachable interface coupling 236 provide a connection between the locomotive-side and tender-side fuel conduits.
Reference 3 teaches a two-part coupling functioning as a protective device for a gaseous-fuel transmission line. Reference 3 discloses breakaway coupling 1 located in hose line 2. Breakaway coupling 1 includes separable coupling components associated with the respective hose-line portions. The coupling is configured to separate when excessive tensile loading occurs, thereby avoiding uncontrolled detachment, tearing, or rupture of the hose line.
In the combined configuration, breakaway coupling 1 of Reference 3 is placed in the region between locomotive 100 and fuel tender 110, for example at or near detachable interface coupling 236. The two-part coupling functions as the protective device for the transmission line because it creates a controlled separation point. If the locomotive/tender combination separates outside normal intended connected operation, the breakaway coupling opens in a controlled manner before the intervehicle fuel line is torn or detached uncontrollably.
Motivation to Combine
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Reference 3 with References 1 and 2 because the fuel line between locomotive 100 and fuel tender 110 carries flammable gaseous fuel and spans a separable vehicle interface. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the desirability of a controlled breakaway point to prevent uncontrolled hose rupture if the vehicles separate or the fuel line is pulled. Reference 3 provides that known controlled breakaway function for gaseous-fuel hose line 2, and applying it to Reference 1’s interface coupling 236 would predictably protect the transmission line and reduce fuel leakage risk.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 22 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3
The configuration according to claim 21, wherein said two-part coupling is constructed such that in an event of a separation outside of operation where said two-part coupling is opened, in each instance one coupling part of said two-part coupling remains at a respectively assigned end of said transmission line and seals said respectively assigned end of said transmission line in a pressure-tight manner.
Analysis
Reference 1, as modified by References 2 and 3 for claims 14 and 21, discloses the vehicle/trailer fuel-cell propulsion configuration and an intervehicle two-part breakaway coupling in the fuel transmission line.
Reference 3 further teaches that the two-part coupling seals the respective ends of the transmission line in a pressure-tight manner when the coupling opens. Reference 3 discloses breakaway coupling 1 installed in hose line 2. Upon separation, the respective coupling portions remain associated with their assigned hose-line ends. Reference 3 teaches self-closing valve structures, including spring-loaded valve elements associated with the coupling parts, that close when the coupling separates. These structures seal the separated ends of the hose line and prevent fuel escape.
When applied to the intervehicle transmission line of Reference 1, one part of the breakaway coupling remains at the locomotive-side end of the line and the other part remains at the tender-side end of the line. Upon separation, the self-sealing structures close the respective ends in a pressure-tight manner. Thus, the combination teaches the claimed two-part coupling construction.
Motivation to Combine
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include Reference 3’s self-sealing breakaway structure in the fuel line of References 1 and 2 because merely separating a gaseous-fuel line without sealing would create leakage, fire, and explosion hazards. Reference 3 teaches the predictable safety improvement of automatically closing both separated ends of a gaseous-fuel hose line. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have applied that sealing function to the locomotive/tender fuel transmission line so that, if separation occurs, both the vehicle-side and trailer-side line ends are sealed.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 23 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, and further in view of References 9 and 10
The configuration according to claim 14, wherein said protective device is a signal line, said transmission line is coupled with said signal line functioning as said protective device for said transmission line, and monitors a separation of said transmission line.
Analysis
Reference 1, as modified by References 2 and 3 for claim 14, discloses the vehicle/trailer fuel-cell propulsion configuration and the intervehicle gaseous-fuel transmission line. Reference 3 teaches mechanical protection of a gaseous-fuel hose line using a breakaway device.
Reference 9 teaches a signal line coupled with a fluid transmission line for detecting separation and reducing damage. Reference 9 discloses hose 18 connected to pipe 12 and fill spout 28 for filling tank 30. Reference 9 further discloses sensor wire 34 connected through electronic breakaway connector 36 to controller 42. If the hose connection is pulled or separated, electronic breakaway connector 36 disconnects and the controller responds. Sensor wire 34 therefore functions as a signal line associated with the fluid transmission arrangement and monitors a separation condition.
Reference 10 also teaches monitoring separation of a fuel transmission line using an electrical sensor arrangement. Reference 10 discloses breakaway coupling 100 in fuel delivery system 10, including nozzle-side architecture 101, dispenser-side architecture 102, break-away body 103, break-away slot 110, and sensor plug 125. Sensor plug 125 or the associated sensor arrangement detects whether the coupling has separated and can initiate a shutoff response.
It would have been obvious to couple the intervehicle fuel transmission line of Reference 1 with a signal line as taught by References 9 and 10. In the combined configuration, the signal line extends across or along the intervehicle region between locomotive 100 and fuel tender 110 and monitors whether the fuel transmission line, including fluidic coupling 114/interface coupling 236 or the breakaway coupling of Reference 3, is separating or has separated. The signal line functions as the claimed protective device because it detects the separation condition and allows protective action to be taken before uncontrolled damage or fuel release occurs.
Motivation to Combine
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine References 9 and 10 with References 1-3 because a mechanical breakaway coupling protects against physical rupture, but an associated signal line provides an additional safety function by detecting separation and enabling a control response. Reference 9 teaches sensor wire 34 and electronic breakaway connector 36 for detecting disconnection of a fluid-transfer arrangement, and Reference 10 teaches sensor plug 125 for detecting separation of breakaway coupling 100. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have applied these known signal-line monitoring features to the locomotive/tender fuel transmission line to detect separation and initiate shutdown or warning functions in a predictable manner.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 24 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, and further in view of References 9 and 10
The configuration according to claim 23, wherein said signal line is connected to said vehicle and to said trailer such that in an event of an impending separation of a combination of said vehicle and said trailer, said signal line is damaged by a mechanical tensioning, and therefore indicates an impending separation in good time.
Analysis
Reference 1, as modified by References 2, 3, 9, and 10 for claim 23, discloses the vehicle/trailer fuel-cell propulsion configuration and a signal line coupled with the intervehicle transmission line for monitoring separation.
Reference 9 teaches a signal line that is mechanically disconnected when the fluid-transfer connection is pulled. Sensor wire 34 is connected through electronic breakaway connector 36 to controller 42. When hose 18 is pulled or the vehicle/tank connection separates, electronic breakaway connector 36 disconnects. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claimed signal line being “damaged by a mechanical tensioning” includes the signal path being broken, opened, disconnected, or otherwise rendered non-continuous by a tensile separation event. Reference 9 therefore teaches a signal line that indicates a separation condition when mechanical tension causes the signal connection to open.
Reference 10 similarly teaches a sensor arrangement associated with breakaway coupling 100. Sensor plug 125 and the associated electrical sensing structure detect whether the breakaway coupling is intact or separated. Upon separation of the coupling portions, the electrical signal condition changes, indicating separation.
Reference 3 additionally teaches arranging a non-fluid line associated with a fuel hose so that the non-fluid line takes tension before the hose is damaged. Reference 3 discloses restraining wire 5 associated with hose 4 and breakaway coupling 1. Restraining wire 5 transmits pulling load to the breakaway device and promotes controlled separation before uncontrolled hose damage occurs. This teaches the principle of arranging a line associated with the fuel hose to respond to mechanical tension in advance of hose rupture.
It would have been obvious to connect the signal line of References 9 and 10 between locomotive 100 and fuel tender 110 so that impending separation mechanically tensions and breaks/disconnects the signal line before the fuel transmission line is damaged. The signal line would then indicate the impending separation in time to trigger protective action, such as valve closure or traction/fuel-system shutdown.
Motivation to Combine
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to configure the signal line to be tensioned and broken or disconnected during impending vehicle/trailer separation because early detection of separation reduces the chance of fuel-line rupture and uncontrolled fuel release. Reference 9 teaches that an electronic breakaway connector 36 can disconnect in response to a pulled hose arrangement and signal controller 42. Reference 10 teaches detecting breakaway-coupling separation using sensor plug 125. Reference 3 teaches using restraining wire 5 to respond mechanically before hose line 2 is damaged. Combining these teachings would have predictably provided an early mechanical/electrical indication of separation for the locomotive/tender fuel line.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 25 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3, and further in view of References 9 and 10
The configuration according to claim 24, further comprising switchable shut-off valves, which are closed as a consequence of a damaged said signal line, wherein said switchable shut-off valves are disposed in said vehicle and/or in said trailer and/or in a region between them as part of said transmission line.
Analysis
Reference 1, as modified by References 2, 3, 9, and 10 for claim 24, discloses the vehicle/trailer fuel-cell propulsion configuration, the intervehicle fuel transmission line, and a signal line that indicates impending or actual separation.
Reference 1 discloses valves associated with the fuel transmission system, including control valves 232, pass-through control valve 156, and fuel-control structure associated with gaseous natural gas fluidic coupling 114 and interface coupling 236. These valves are disposed in the locomotive, in the tender, and/or in the intervehicle fuel path and are part of the fuel transmission arrangement.
Reference 9 teaches switchable shutoff valve closure in response to a signal-line breakaway condition. Reference 9 discloses solenoid valve 40 controlled by controller 42. Sensor wire 34 and electronic breakaway connector 36 provide a signal condition indicating separation or disconnection. In response, controller 42 closes valve 40 to stop flow through the fluid-transfer system.
Reference 10 similarly teaches fuel-line shutoff in response to separation detected by a sensor associated with breakaway coupling 100. Reference 10 discloses sensor plug 125 and shutoff structures including poppets 220 and 240 that close the respective line portions. The sensor condition can cause the dispensing system to perform a shutoff response.
It would have been obvious to configure the valves of Reference 1, such as control valves 232 and/or pass-through control valve 156, as switchable shut-off valves closed as a consequence of damage, breaking, or disconnection of the signal line. In the combined system, the valves may be located in locomotive 100, fuel tender 110, or the intervehicle region near fluidic coupling 114/interface coupling 236, and they form part of the transmission line carrying the gas-bound energy carrier.
Motivation to Combine
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to close switchable shut-off valves when the signal line is damaged or disconnected because the signal-line condition indicates that the fuel transmission line is separating or at risk of damage. Reference 9 teaches using controller 42 to close solenoid valve 40 in response to electronic breakaway connector 36. Reference 10 teaches sensor-triggered shutoff and self-closing flow-control elements at breakaway coupling 100. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have applied this known fail-safe valve response to the locomotive/tender fuel transmission line to prevent continued flow of hydrogen or natural gas during separation.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 26 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3
The configuration according to claim 14, wherein: said traction motor of said vehicle is an electric traction motor; and/or said vehicle is a rail vehicle; and/or said gas-bound energy-carrier is gas bound hydrogen or natural gas; and/or said galvanic cell is a fuel cell with which electrical propulsive energy, which is supplied to said electric traction motor for a purpose of propulsion, is created by a chemical reaction of the gas-bound hydrogen, supplied to said fuel cell continuously, with the oxidizing agent.
Analysis
Reference 1, as modified by References 2 and 3 for claim 14, discloses the vehicle/trailer fuel-cell propulsion configuration.
Reference 1 discloses that the traction motor of the vehicle is an electric traction motor. Traction motor 132 receives electrical power from power conversion unit 120 through electrical bus 128 and drives the wheels/axles of first locomotive 100. Reference 2 also discloses electric traction motors 209a, 209b, 209c, and 209d receiving electrical propulsion power from the locomotive electrical system.
Reference 1 discloses that the vehicle is a rail vehicle. First locomotive 100 travels on rail 102 and is coupled with fuel tender 110. Reference 2 likewise discloses locomotive 100 as a rail vehicle.
Reference 1 discloses natural gas as the gas-bound energy carrier supplied from fuel tender 110 to locomotive 100 through gaseous natural gas fluidic coupling 114. Reference 1 also identifies hydrogen as an alternative fuel. Reference 2 discloses hydrogen fuel stored in hydrogen tanks 204 and supplied to fuel-cell power modules 201a and 201b. Thus, the combined references teach a gas-bound energy carrier that is hydrogen or natural gas.
Reference 2 discloses that the galvanic cell is a fuel cell. Fuel-cell power modules 201a and 201b generate electrical energy by electrochemical reaction of hydrogen fuel with oxygen from air. The electrical energy is supplied through bus 207 to electric traction motors 209a-209d for propulsion. In the proposed combination with Reference 1, the hydrogen is supplied continuously from the tender-side fuel supply through the intervehicle transmission line to the vehicle-side fuel-cell energy-generation unit. The fuel cell thereby creates electrical propulsive energy supplied to the electric traction motor for propulsion.
Reference 3 remains relied upon for the protective-device feature of base claim 14, as discussed above.
Motivation to Combine
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide the features of claim 26 in the configuration of claim 14 because Reference 1 already teaches a rail locomotive with electric traction motor 132 and a tender 110 supplying gaseous natural gas fuel, while Reference 2 teaches a hydrogen fuel-cell locomotive in which hydrogen is reacted with oxygen in fuel-cell power modules 201a and 201b to generate electrical propulsion energy for traction motors 209a-209d. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the fuel-cell/electric traction architecture of Reference 2 with the tender fuel-supply architecture of Reference 1 to obtain a rail propulsion system using hydrogen or natural gas fuel with reduced emissions and extended onboard fuel capacity. Reference 3’s protective breakaway device would have been included for the safety reasons discussed for claim 14.
PRIOR ART REVIEWED BUT NOT USED
EP 3556594 A1 was reviewed. That reference is generally relevant to rail vehicles and vehicle energy systems, but it was not used in the above rejection because it does not provide the strongest teaching of a trailer/tender tank supplying a gas-bound energy carrier through an intervehicle transmission line protected by the claimed protective-device arrangements. Reference 1 is a stronger primary reference for the coupled locomotive/fuel-tender architecture.
GB 2474100 A was reviewed. That reference is generally relevant to a vehicle towing or coupling arrangement and electrical connection between vehicles, but it was not used because it does not disclose a trailer tank storing hydrogen or natural gas, a vehicle-side galvanic/fuel-cell energy-generation unit supplied by the trailer, or the claimed gaseous-fuel transmission-line protective devices.
Conclusion
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615