Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 22, Okada and Purser fail to disclose, teach or suggest the limitations that read, “wherein determining, in response to the detection of the second operational command indicating the second terminal function during the execution of the first terminal function, the priority relationship of the first terminal function and the second terminal function, comprises: determining, in response to the detection of the second operational command indicating the second terminal function during the execution of the first terminal function, a remaining duration for completing the execution of the first terminal function execution; and determining, in response to the remaining duration being greater than a preset threshold, the priority relationship of the first terminal function and the second terminal function”, in combination with all the limitations of claims 1 and 3 from which claim 22 depends.
Claim 23 depends from claim 22 and inherits the language of claim 22; therefore, claim 23 is objected due to its dependency from claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 20-21, 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6711626 B1 (Takahiro Okada, hereinafter Okada).
Regarding claim 1, Okada discloses a terminal control method, comprising:
obtaining multiple terminal functions supported by a target driver module in a terminal (col. 11, line 32 to col. 13, line 29);
determining, in response to detection of an operational command indicating at least two terminal functions commands (col. 11, line 32-49, “printing”, “coping” and “scanning”), a priority relationship of the at least two terminal functions (col. 12, lines 56-61, “an order of priority between commands is previously set in the computer 1 or the operation panel 35…”); and
executing, based on the priority relationship, one terminal function out of the at least two terminal functions through the target driver module (col. 13, lines 4-11, “When determining that the printer 40 is carrying out printing, the controller 30 interrupts the printing operation since the print command is set to have priority over the copy command (step S320). The printing operation is performed on the basis of the print command and print data (step S325). The copying operation is on standby until the printing operation is completed.”).
Regarding claim 20, Okada discloses a communication device (figs. 2 and 6, “copier 10”), comprising; a processor (Fig. 2, “controller 30”); and
a memory (copiers inherently comprise at least a memory) storing a program executable by the processor (col. 14, lines 50-59, “control program”), wherein the processor is configured to:
obtain multiple terminal functions supported by a target driver module in a terminal (col. 11, line 32 to col. 13, line 29);
determine, in response to detection of an operational command indicating at least two terminal functions (col. 11, line 32-49, “printing”, “coping” and “scanning”),
a priority relationship of the at least two terminal functions (col. 12, lines 56-61, “an order of priority between commands is previously set in the computer 1 or the operation panel 35…”); and
execute, based on the priority relationship, one terminal function out of the at least two terminal functions through the target driver module (col. 13, lines 4-11, “When determining that the printer 40 is carrying out printing, the controller 30 interrupts the printing operation since the print command is set to have priority over the copy command (step S320). The printing operation is performed on the basis of the print command and print data (step S325). The copying operation is on standby until the printing operation is completed.”).
Regarding claim 21, Okada discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a program stored thereon (claim 8), wherein when the program is executed by a processor (claim 8), the processor is caused to perform a terminal control method comprising:
obtaining multiple terminal functions supported by a target driver module in a terminal (col. 11, line 32 to col. 13, line 29);
determining, in response to detection of an operational command indicating at least two terminal functions (col. 11, line 32-49, “printing”, “coping” and “scanning”), a priority relationship of the at least two terminal functions (col. 12, lines 56-61, “an order of priority between commands is previously set in the computer 1 or the operation panel 35…”); and
executing, based on the priority relationship, one terminal function out of the at least two terminal functions through the target driver module (col. 13, lines 4-11, “When determining that the printer 40 is carrying out printing, the controller 30 interrupts the printing operation since the print command is set to have priority over the copy command (step S320). The printing operation is performed on the basis of the print command and print data (step S325). The copying operation is on standby until the printing operation is completed.”).
Regarding claim 2, Okada discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Okada further discloses wherein determining, in response to the detection of the operational command indicating the at least two terminal functions, the priority relationship of the at least two terminal functions, comprises:
determining, in response to the detection of the operational command indicating the at least two terminal functions when the target driver module is in an idle state, the priority relationship of the at least two terminal functions (col. 13, lines 4-11, “When determining that the printer 40 is carrying out printing, the controller 30 interrupts the printing operation since the print command is set to have priority over the copy command (step S320). The printing operation is performed on the basis of the print command and print data (step S325). The copying operation is on standby until the printing operation is completed.”).
Regarding claim 3, Okada discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Okada further discloses wherein determining, in response to the detection of the operational command indicating the at least two terminal functions when the target driver module is in the idle state, the priority relationship of the at least two terminal functions, comprises:
executing, in response to detection of a first operational command indicating a first terminal function when the target driver module is in the idle state, the first terminal function through the target driver module (col. 13, lines 4-11, “When determining that the printer 40 is carrying out printing, the controller 30 interrupts the printing operation since the print command is set to have priority over the copy command (step S320). The printing operation is performed on the basis of the print command and print data (step S325). The copying operation is on standby until the printing operation is completed.”); and determining, in response to detection of a second operational command indicating a second terminal function during execution of the first terminal function, the priority relationship of the first terminal function and the second terminal function (col. 13, lines 4-11, “When determining that the printer 40 is carrying out printing, the controller 30 interrupts the printing operation since the print command is set to have priority over the copy command (step S320). The printing operation is performed on the basis of the print command and print data (step S325). The copying operation is on standby until the printing operation is completed.”).
Regarding claim 4, Okada discloses all the limitations of claim 3. Okada further discloses wherein executing, based on the priority relationship, one terminal function out of the at least two terminal functions through the target driver module, comprises:
continuing, in response to a first priority of the first terminal function being higher than a second priority of the second terminal function, the execution of the first terminal function through the target driver module (col. 13, lines 4-11); or
stopping, in response to the second priority of the second terminal function being higher than the first priority of the first terminal function, the execution of the first terminal function, and executing the second terminal function through the target driver module (col. 13, lines 4-11, “When determining that the printer 40 is carrying out printing, the controller 30 interrupts the printing operation since the print command is set to have priority over the copy command (step S320). The printing operation is performed on the basis of the print command and print data (step S325). The copying operation is on standby until the printing operation is completed.”).
Regarding claim 5, Okada discloses all the limitations of claim 4. Okada further discloses comprising: restoring, in response to execution of the second terminal function being completed, the execution of the first terminal function through the target driver module (col. 13, lines 12-14, “Upon completion of the printing operation, the controller 30 re-starts the copying operation which has been interrupted at step S320 (step S335). On the other hand, when the command interpreted at step S310 is a copy command for the controller 30 (step S340)”).
Regarding claim 7, Okada discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Okada further discloses wherein determining the priority relationship of the at least two terminal functions, comprises one of:
obtaining the priority relationship of the at least two terminal functions preset in the terminal (col. 11, line 32-49, “printing”, “coping” and “scanning”); or
determining the priority relationship of the at least two terminal functions based on historical execution records of the at least two terminal functions.
Regarding claim 24, Okada discloses all the limitations of claim 4. Okada further discloses wherein executing the second terminal function through the target driver module, comprises:
determining a driving parameter corresponding to execution of the second terminal function (Fig. 7, where a second terminal function is indicated/input by the user. The driving parameter can be availability, priority, motor driving function of a scanner, among others); and
executing the second terminal function through the target driver module based on the driving parameter (Fig. 7, where a second terminal function is indicated/input by the user. A second function being one of copying, scanning or printing. Input parameter or current requested function reads on current parameter).
Regarding claim 25, Okada discloses all the limitations of claim 24. Okada further discloses wherein the driving parameter comprises at least one of a voltage parameter, a current parameter (Fig. 7, current parameter being the function inputted), or a power parameter.
Regarding claim 26, Okada discloses all the limitations of claim 5. Okada further discloses wherein restoring, in response to the execution of the second terminal function being completed, the execution of the first terminal function through the target driver module, comprises: determining, in response to the execution of the second terminal function being completed, whether the first terminal function meets an execution condition; and restoring, in response to the first terminal function meeting the execution condition, the execution of the first terminal function through the target driver module (col. 13, lines 12-14, “Upon completion of the printing operation, the controller 30 re-starts the copying operation which has been interrupted at step S320 (step S335). On the other hand, when the command interpreted at step S310 is a copy command for the controller 30 (step S340)”, where the function is not continued or restored if the conditions are not met).
Regarding claim 27, Okada discloses all the limitations of claim 26. Okada further discloses wherein restoring the execution of the first terminal function through the target driver module, comprises:
determining a driving parameter corresponding to the execution of the first terminal function (Fig. 7, where a second terminal function is indicated/input by the user. A second function being one of copying, scanning or printing. Input parameter or current requested function reads on current parameter); and restoring the execution of the first terminal function through the target driver module based on the driving parameter (col. 13, lines 12-14, “Upon completion of the printing operation, the controller 30 re-starts the copying operation which has been interrupted at step S320 (step S335). On the other hand, when the command interpreted at step S310 is a copy command for the controller 30 (step S340)”, where scanning can be the restored operation/function).
Regarding claim 8, Okada discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Okada further discloses wherein the terminal function comprises at least one of a wireless charging function, a motor driving function, or an On-The-Go (OTG) function for data exchange (col. 8, lines 57-67; col9, lines 1-17, “scanning” reads on “motor driving function”).
Regarding claim 9, Okada discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Okada further discloses wherein executing one terminal function out of the at least two terminal functions through the target driver module, comprises:
outputting prompt information indicating execution of a target terminal function out of the at least two terminal functions; and executing, in response to detection of a preset operation corresponding to the prompt information, the target terminal function through the target driver module (col. 7, lines 31-52, “…standby notifying unit C32 and status notifying unit C33.” Prompts the user with information regarding the current status of the operation being executed).
Regarding claim 10, Okada discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Okada further discloses wherein the terminal function comprises a wireless charging function, a motor driving function, and an On-The-Go (OTG) function; and when the target driver module is currently executing the wireless charging function, executing, based on the priority relationship, one terminal function out of the at least two terminal functions through the target driver module, comprises one of:
continuing execution of the wireless charging function, or stopping the execution of the wireless charging function and executing the motor driving function or the OTG function through the target driver module (col. 13, lines 4-11, “When determining that the printer 40 is carrying out printing, the controller 30 interrupts the printing operation since the print command is set to have priority over the copy command (step S320). The printing operation is performed on the basis of the print command and print data (step S325). The copying operation is on standby until the printing operation is completed.”; where the condition would apply for the scanning function).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada in view of US 7966622 B1 (Purser et al., hereinafter Purser).
Regarding claim 6, Okada discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Okada does not specifically disclose wherein further comprising: obtaining an alternative execution mode corresponding to a terminal function that is not executed by the target driver module out of the at least two terminal functions; and executing, based on the alternative execution mode, the terminal function that is not executed by the target driver module.
In related art concerning interfacing a device driver with an application using virtual driver interface, Purser discloses: obtaining an alternative execution mode corresponding to a terminal function that is not executed by the target driver module out of the at least two terminal functions; and executing, based on the alternative execution mode, the terminal function that is not executed by the target driver module (col. 3, lines 11-30, “the virtual driver interface to determine which of the device drivers to use to enable a selected application to interact with the device. … based on a priority list, a look-up table, a date that the driver was created, a selected application program interface (API), a selected version of the device driver, a selected configuration of devices interfaced with the computing device”; where if an application is called, the virtual driver can select an “alternative” driver to execute the function based on priority or look-up table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Purser’s teachings about using an alternative execution mode for a specific function with the composite device disclosed by Okada because one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a look-up table can provide alternative execution modes that can be used to execute a desired function when a device does not have an optimal execution mod available to execute the function.
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada in view of US 20120013926 A1 (Yousuke Sugai, hereinafter Sugai) and further in view of US 20070255460 A1 (Douglas D. Lopata, hereinafter Lopata).
Regarding claim 28, Okada discloses all the limitations of claim 16. Okada further discloses wherein the terminal function comprises a [wireless charging function], a motor driving function (col. 8, lines 57-67; col9, lines 1-17, “scanning” reads on “motor driving function”), and an [On-The-Go (OTG) function]; and
when the target driver module is currently executing the OTG function, executing, based on the priority relationship, one terminal function out of the at least two terminal functions through the target driver module (where the device can be executing any of the functions, including an OTG function), comprises one of:
continuing execution of the OTG function, or stopping the execution of the OTG function and executing the wireless charging function or the motor driving function through the target driver module (col. 13, lines 4-11, “When determining that the printer 40 is carrying out printing, the controller 30 interrupts the printing operation since the print command is set to have priority over the copy command (step S320). The printing operation is performed on the basis of the print command and print data (step S325). The copying operation is on standby until the printing operation is completed.”).
Okada does not specifically disclose a wireless charging function and On-The-Go (OTG) function.
In related art concerning information processing apparatus and method for controlling the same, Sugai discloses On-The-Go (OTG) function (par. [0047], “printer driver… scanner driver…provided in the multipurpose machine 3 via plug-and-play”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Sugai’s teachings about an On-The-Go (OTG) function with the composite device disclosed by Okada because one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that an On-The-Go (OTG) function that would allow the electronic device to act as a host device by allowing it to connect directly to and control various USB peripherals.
Okada and Sugai do not specifically disclose a wireless charging function.
In related art concerning an integrated current fault controller, Lopata discloses a wireless charging function (par. [0027], “power loads 16a-e include supply regulators, battery chargers, accessory switch control, one or more switched mode power supplies (SMPS), LED drivers, etc. Additional load functions that might advantageously be of limited priority can be, e.g., vibrator drivers, ringer drivers, camera modules, video processors, Bluetooth modules, MP3 audio players, etc.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Lopata’s teachings about wireless charging functions with the composite device disclosed by Okada and Sugai because one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a wireless charging function is one of many functions available in electronic devices that can be managed utilizing an independent driver.
Regarding claim 29, Okada discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Okada further discloses wherein the terminal function comprises a [wireless charging function], a motor driving function (col. 8, lines 57-67; col9, lines 1-17, “scanning” reads on “motor driving function”), and an [On-The-Go (OTG) function];
and when the target driver module is currently executing the motor driving function, executing, based on the priority relationship, one terminal function out of the at least two terminal functions through the target driver module (where the device can be executing any of the functions, including an OTG function), comprises one of: continuing execution of the motor driving function, or stopping the execution of the motor driving function and executing the wireless charging function or the OTG function through the target driver module (col. 13, lines 4-11, “When determining that the printer 40 is carrying out printing, the controller 30 interrupts the printing operation since the print command is set to have priority over the copy command (step S320). The printing operation is performed on the basis of the print command and print data (step S325). The copying operation is on standby until the printing operation is completed.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 8825909 B1 relates to application directed by dynamic driver substitution.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2600's customer service number is 703-306-0377.
/ANGELICA M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649