DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claims 16, 22, and 28 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 18-22, 24-30, and 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ali et al. (US 2025/0142432 A1).
Regarding claims 16 and 22, Ali discloses A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor configured to (claim 16) and A method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising (claim 22) (Fig. 5: communication device 500 comprises a processing entity 501):
receive radio resource control (RRC) configuration information, wherein the RRC configuration information comprises an indication of a plurality of candidate cells, delta configurations for at least a subset of the plurality of candidate cells, and an anchor RRC configuration (Fig. 15, [0178]: At step 2, the first base station gNB-1 sends a reconfiguration message (e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration message) to the UE. The reconfiguration message includes a base configuration and a plurality of cell-specific configurations. Each of the plurality of cell-specific configurations (also referred to as variable part per cell) relates to one of the plurality of first cells. [0123], [0127], [0137]: cell-specific configurations may be delta configurations. [0248]: The reconfiguration messages may comprise one or more PreparedCellConfig information elements defining a set of parameters to one or more cells (e.g., prepared cells) … a PreparedCellConfig information element may comprise at least one of: … a physCellId identifying the physical cell ID (PCI) of a prepared cell);
receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that indicates that the WTRU should perform a handover to a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells (Fig. 15, [0181]: The first base station gNB-1 may initiate the mobility (i.e., the intra-gNB L1/L2 mobility) towards cell 4 as target cell using a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) sent to the UE at step 6), wherein RRC configuration information comprises a delta configuration for the candidate cell ([0178]: The reconfiguration message includes a plurality of cell-specific configurations. Each of the plurality of cell-specific configurations (also referred to as variable part per cell) relates to one of the plurality of first cells. [0182]: the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4));
determine RRC parameters for the candidate cell based on the anchor RRC configuration and the delta configuration for the candidate cell (Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4));
perform a handover to the candidate cell based on the RRC parameters (Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4). [0183]: At step 8, the UE executes the mobility procedure (i.e., the intra-gNB L1/L2 mobility) and performs connection establishment to the target cell (i.e., cell 4)); and
maintain the anchor RRC configuration and the delta configurations for at least a subset of the plurality of candidate cells after handover to the candidate cell is complete (Fig. 15, [0179]: At step 3, the UE may store the base configuration (i.e., the base template) and the plurality of cell-specific configurations (i.e., the variable part per cell) for the first base station gNB-1. If the UE already comprises a stored base configuration for the first base station gNB-1, which was received previously (e.g., received with a previous reconfiguration message), the UE may replace at least part of the stored base configuration by the base configuration received at step 2. [0133], [0143]: UE is also determining whether a plurality of cell-specific configurations are received with a previous reconfiguration message and are already stored. [0263]: If the UE moves over all the N cells, N RRC reconfiguration messages and N−1 preparation messages are saved. Fig. 15, [0191]: At step 14, the UE may store the base configuration (i.e., the base template) and the plurality of cell-specific configurations (i.e., the variable part per cell) for the second base station gNB-2. If the UE already comprises a stored base configuration for the second base station gNB-2, which was received previously (e.g., received with a previous reconfiguration message), the UE may replace at least part of the stored base configuration by the base configuration received at step 13. Note: Ali does not disclose the base configuration and the plurality of cells-specific configurations are released. On the contrary, Ali discloses that the UE may replace at least a part of the stored configurations with the newly received configurations).a
Regarding claim(s) 18 and 24, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 16 and 22 as outlined above.
Ali discloses wherein the RRC configuration information and the MAC CE are received from a serving cell ([0168]: A user equipment (UE) may be connected to the network. For example, the UE may be connected to a cell (i.e., a serving cell) served by the first network node. To connect the UE to the serving cell, the UE may have performed a connection procedure (e.g., a RRC connection procedure) and established a session (e.g., a PDU session). See Fig. 15: RRC connection and PDU session establishment. [0178]: At step 2, the first base station gNB-1 sends a reconfiguration message (e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration message) to the UE. [0181]: The first base station gNB-1 may initiate the mobility (i.e., the intra-gNB L1/L2 mobility) towards cell 4 as target cell using a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) sent to the UE at step 6. [0183]: the UE changes from the serving cell (i.e., cell 1) to the target cell (i.e., cell 4) both served by the first base station gNB-1), and wherein the determined RRC parameters are not RRC parameters used with the serving cell (Fig. 15, Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4)).
Regarding claim(s) 19 and 25, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 16 and 22 as outlined above.
Ali discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
apply the delta configuration for the candidate cell to the anchor RRC configuration to determine RRC parameters for the candidate cell (Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4). That is, the UE uses the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. That is, the UE may determine whether the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 has changed since applying the base configuration to connect to cell 1 (i.e., whether one or more configuration parameters of the base configuration have changed). If the base configurations differ, the UE applies the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. In some examples, the UE may combine the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration to form a full configuration for the target cell in the first base station gNB-1 and apply the full configuration. In other examples, the UE may first apply the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and then apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. Otherwise, if the base configurations do not differ, the UE may apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4) to the base configuration currently applied, thereby replacing the cell-specific configuration for the serving cell (i.e., cell 1). That is, the UE may load the base configuration currently applied and apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell to the base configuration currently applied).
Regarding claim(s) 20 and 26, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 19 and 25 as outlined above.
Ali discloses wherein handover to the candidate cell is further based on condition that the delta configuration for the candidate cell is applied to the anchor RRC configuration (Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4). That is, the UE uses the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. That is, the UE may determine whether the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 has changed since applying the base configuration to connect to cell 1 (i.e., whether one or more configuration parameters of the base configuration have changed). If the base configurations differ, the UE applies the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. In some examples, the UE may combine the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration to form a full configuration for the target cell in the first base station gNB-1 and apply the full configuration. In other examples, the UE may first apply the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and then apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. Otherwise, if the base configurations do not differ, the UE may apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4) to the base configuration currently applied, thereby replacing the cell-specific configuration for the serving cell (i.e., cell 1). That is, the UE may load the base configuration currently applied and apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell to the base configuration currently applied. [0184]: At step 8, the UE executes the mobility procedure (i.e., the intra-gNB L1/L2 mobility) and performs connection establishment to the target cell (i.e., cell 4)).
Regarding claim(s) 21 and 27, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 16 and 22 as outlined above.
Ali discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
perform measurements for each of the plurality of candidate cells (Fig. 15, [0177]: cell quality measurements with respect to the serving cell (i.e., cell 1) and one or more of the first cells (i.e., cells 2 . . . . N) served by the first base station gNB-1.); and
send one or more reports that indicate the measurements of each of the plurality of candidate cells (Fig. 15, [0177]: Starting at step 1, the UE may send a measurement report to the first base station gNB-1. The measurement report may include cell quality measurements with respect to the serving cell (i.e., cell 1) and one or more of the first cells (i.e., cells 2 . . . . N) served by the first base station gNB-1).
Regarding claim 28, Ali discloses A method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising (Fig. 5: communication device 500 comprises a processing entity 501):
receiving radio resource control (RRC) configuration information, wherein the RRC configuration information comprises an indication of a plurality of candidate cells, delta configurations for at least a subset of the plurality of candidate cells, and an anchor RRC configuration (Fig. 15, [0178]: At step 2, the first base station gNB-1 sends a reconfiguration message (e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration message) to the UE. The reconfiguration message includes a base configuration and a plurality of cell-specific configurations. Each of the plurality of cell-specific configurations (also referred to as variable part per cell) relates to one of the plurality of first cells. [0123], [0127], [0137]: cell-specific configurations may be delta configurations. [0248]: The reconfiguration messages may comprise one or more PreparedCellConfig information elements defining a set of parameters to one or more cells (e.g., prepared cells) … a PreparedCellConfig information element may comprise at least one of: … a physCellId identifying the physical cell ID (PCI) of a prepared cell);
receiving a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that indicates that the WTRU should perform a handover to a first candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells (Fig. 15, [0181]: The first base station gNB-1 may initiate the mobility (i.e., the intra-gNB L1/L2 mobility) towards cell 4 as target cell using a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) sent to the UE at step 6), wherein RRC configuration information comprises a delta configuration for the first candidate cell ([0178]: The reconfiguration message includes a plurality of cell-specific configurations. Each of the plurality of cell-specific configurations (also referred to as variable part per cell) relates to one of the plurality of first cells. [0182]: the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4));
determining first RRC parameters for the first candidate cell based on the anchor RRC configuration and the delta configuration for the candidate first cell (Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4));
performing handover to the first candidate cell based on the first RRC parameters and the delta configuration for the first candidate cell (Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4). [0183]: At step 8, the UE executes the mobility procedure (i.e., the intra-gNB L1/L2 mobility) and performs connection establishment to the target cell (i.e., cell 4));
receiving a second MAC CE that indicates that the WTRU should perform a handover to a second candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells (Fig. 15, [0193]: the first base station gNB-1 may decide that the UE is to switch from the first base station gNB-1 to the second base station gNB-2 (i.e., handover is to be performed). The first base station gNB-1 may initiate the mobility (i.e., the inter-gNB L1/L2 mobility) towards the second base station gNB-2 using a MAC CE. That is, the first base station gNB-1 may send a handover command at step 16 to switch to the second base station gNB-2 and change to a target cell served by the second base station gNB-2);
determining second RRC parameters for the second candidate cell based on the anchor RRC configuration (Fig. 15, [0194]: At step 17, the UE changes the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration for the target cell using the base configuration for the second base station and the cell-specific configuration for the target cell); and
performing handover to the second candidate cell based on the second RRC parameters (Fig. 15, [0194]: At step 17, the UE changes the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration for the target cell using the base configuration for the second base station and the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. [0195]: At step 18, the UE executes the mobility procedure (i.e., the inter-gNB L1/L2 mobility) and performs connection establishment to the target cell (i.e., cell x) of the second base station gNB-2).
Regarding claim(s) 29, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 28 as outlined above.
Ali discloses further comprising maintaining the anchor RRC configuration and the delta configurations for at least a subset of the plurality of candidate cells after handover to the first candidate cell is complete (Fig. 15, [0179]: At step 3, the UE may store the base configuration (i.e., the base template) and the plurality of cell-specific configurations (i.e., the variable part per cell) for the first base station gNB-1. If the UE already comprises a stored base configuration for the first base station gNB-1, which was received previously (e.g., received with a previous reconfiguration message), the UE may replace at least part of the stored base configuration by the base configuration received at step 2. [0263]: If the UE moves over all the N cells, N RRC reconfiguration messages and N−1 preparation messages are saved. Fig. 15, [0191]: At step 14, the UE may store the base configuration (i.e., the base template) and the plurality of cell-specific configurations (i.e., the variable part per cell) for the second base station gNB-2. If the UE already comprises a stored base configuration for the second base station gNB-2, which was received previously (e.g., received with a previous reconfiguration message), the UE may replace at least part of the stored base configuration by the base configuration received at step 13. [0133], [0143]: UE is also determining whether a plurality of cell-specific configurations are received with a previous reconfiguration message and are already stored. Note: Ali does not disclose the base configuration and the plurality of cells-specific configurations are released. On the contrary, Ali discloses that the UE may replace at least a part of the stored configurations (steps 2-3) with the newly received configurations (steps 13-14). Therefore, the stored configurations from step 3 are maintained after the handover to cell 3 of gNB-1 in step 8).
Regarding claim(s) 30, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 29 as outlined above.
Ali discloses further comprising maintaining the anchor RRC configuration and the delta configurations for at least a subset of the plurality of candidate cells after handover to the second candidate cell is complete (Fig. 15, [0191]: At step 14, the UE may store the base configuration (i.e., the base template) and the plurality of cell-specific configurations (i.e., the variable part per cell) for the second base station gNB-2. For example, the base configuration and the plurality of cell-specific configurations may be stored in the memory of the UE for inter-gNB L1/L2 mobility. That is, the UE may store sets of base configuration and cell-specific configurations for different base stations. If the UE already comprises a stored base configuration for the second base station gNB-2, which was received previously (e.g., received with a previous reconfiguration message), the UE may replace at least part of the stored base configuration by the base configuration received at step 13. [0133], [0143]: UE is also determining whether a plurality of cell-specific configurations are received with a previous reconfiguration message and are already stored. [0263]: If the UE moves over all the N cells, N RRC reconfiguration messages and N−1 preparation messages are saved. Note: Ali does not teach that the base configuration and the plurality of cell-specific configurations are released after handover. Ali teaches that the UE stores the configurations in a memory but may replace information received with a previous reconfiguration message. Ali also teaches that the UE moves over multiple cells and saves each RRC reconfiguration. Therefore, the reference teaches that the stored configurations from step 14 are maintained after handover to cell x of gNB-2 in step 18).
Regarding claim(s) 32, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 28 as outlined above.
Ali discloses wherein the RRC configuration information and the MAC CE are received from a serving cell ([0168]: A user equipment (UE) may be connected to the network. For example, the UE may be connected to a cell (i.e., a serving cell) served by the first network node. To connect the UE to the serving cell, the UE may have performed a connection procedure (e.g., a RRC connection procedure) and established a session (e.g., a PDU session). See Fig. 15: RRC connection and PDU session establishment. [0178]: At step 2, the first base station gNB-1 sends a reconfiguration message (e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration message) to the UE. [0181]: The first base station gNB-1 may initiate the mobility (i.e., the intra-gNB L1/L2 mobility) towards cell 4 as target cell using a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) sent to the UE at step 6. [0183]: the UE changes from the serving cell (i.e., cell 1) to the target cell (i.e., cell 4) both served by the first base station gNB-1), and wherein the determined first RRC parameters and second RRC parameters are not RRC parameters used with the serving cell (Fig. 15, Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4). [0194]: At step 17, the UE changes the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration for the target cell using the base configuration for the second base station and the cell-specific configuration for the target cell).
Regarding claim(s) 33, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 28 as outlined above.
Ali discloses further comprising applying the delta configuration for the first candidate cell to the anchor RRC configuration to determine the first RRC parameters for the first candidate cell (Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4). That is, the UE uses the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. That is, the UE may determine whether the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 has changed since applying the base configuration to connect to cell 1 (i.e., whether one or more configuration parameters of the base configuration have changed). If the base configurations differ, the UE applies the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. In some examples, the UE may combine the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration to form a full configuration for the target cell in the first base station gNB-1 and apply the full configuration. In other examples, the UE may first apply the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and then apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. Otherwise, if the base configurations do not differ, the UE may apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4) to the base configuration currently applied, thereby replacing the cell-specific configuration for the serving cell (i.e., cell 1). That is, the UE may load the base configuration currently applied and apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell to the base configuration currently applied).
Regarding claim(s) 34, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 33 as outlined above.
Ali discloses wherein handover to the first candidate cell is further based on condition that the delta configuration for the first candidate cell is applied to the anchor RRC configuration (Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4). That is, the UE uses the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. That is, the UE may determine whether the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 has changed since applying the base configuration to connect to cell 1 (i.e., whether one or more configuration parameters of the base configuration have changed). If the base configurations differ, the UE applies the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. In some examples, the UE may combine the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration to form a full configuration for the target cell in the first base station gNB-1 and apply the full configuration. In other examples, the UE may first apply the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and then apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. Otherwise, if the base configurations do not differ, the UE may apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4) to the base configuration currently applied, thereby replacing the cell-specific configuration for the serving cell (i.e., cell 1). That is, the UE may load the base configuration currently applied and apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell to the base configuration currently applied. [0184]: At step 8, the UE executes the mobility procedure (i.e., the intra-gNB L1/L2 mobility) and performs connection establishment to the target cell (i.e., cell 4)).
Regarding claim(s) 35, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 28 as outlined above.
Ali discloses wherein the RRC configuration information does not comprise a delta configuration for the second candidate cell (Fig. 15, [0178]: The reconfiguration message includes a plurality of cell-specific configurations. Each of the plurality of cell-specific configurations (also referred to as variable part per cell) relates to one of the plurality of first cells. For example, a cell-specific configuration for cell 1 comprises configuration parameters specific to the cell 1. [0182]: cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4). Note: this reconfiguration message includes cell-specific configurations for at least cells 1 and 4 of gNB-1, and not a target cell x of gNB-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 23, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ali et al. (US 2025/0142432 A1) in view of Deng et al. (WO 2023/045173 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 17, 23, and 31 , Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 16, 22, and 28 as outlined above.
Ali discloses wherein the RRC configuration information and the MAC CE are received from a serving cell ([0168]: A user equipment (UE) may be connected to the network. For example, the UE may be connected to a cell (i.e., a serving cell) served by the first network node. To connect the UE to the serving cell, the UE may have performed a connection procedure (e.g., a RRC connection procedure) and established a session (e.g., a PDU session). See Fig. 15: RRC connection and PDU session establishment. [0178]: At step 2, the first base station gNB-1 sends a reconfiguration message (e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration message) to the UE. [0181]: The first base station gNB-1 may initiate the mobility (i.e., the intra-gNB L1/L2 mobility) towards cell 4 as target cell using a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) sent to the UE at step 6. [0183]: the UE changes from the serving cell (i.e., cell 1) to the target cell (i.e., cell 4) both served by the first base station gNB-1)
Ali does not disclose, but Deng discloses release RRC parameters for a serving cell of the WTRU prior to performing handover to the candidate cell (Pg. 11 second section: After the source network device determines that a certain DRB of the terminal device needs to be configured with DAPS switching, it can reconfigure the source-side wireless parameter configuration information of the terminal device on the source network device. Exemplarily, a manner of reducing the configuration of the source network device may be reducing the number of serving cells, for example, reducing from multiple serving cells to one or two serving cells. Pg. 13 last section: the source network device may simultaneously indicate the release of the serving cell and the target cell in one RRC signaling After receiving the wireless parameter configuration information on the wireless side, the terminal device first releases the serving cell, and then performs handover according to the wireless parameter configuration information on the target side. The source network device can also use two independent RRC signaling to indicate the release of the serving cell and the target side wireless parameter configuration information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Ali, to release the serving cell and then perform handover to a target side based on receiving RRC signaling(s), as taught by Deng.
Doing so is beneficial for the target network device to make full use of the unused processing capability of the terminal device, and reasonably configure the bandwidth combination on the target network device side (Deng: pg. 11 section section).
Conclusion
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov