DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/04/2026 with respect to the drawing objection made on 06/04/2026 has been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument: On pg. 9, Applicant argues that MPEP 608.02 states “the applicant shall furnish a drawing where necessary for the understanding of the subject matter to be patented” and 37 CFR § 1.81(a) states “[t]he applicant for a patent required to furnish a drawing of the invention where necessary for the understanding of the subject matter sought to be patented.” Applicant notes that “an express illustration of receiving, determining, and performing recited in the claims is not necessary for understanding by one of ordinary skill in the art of the subject matter to be patented.” First, the Examiner directs Applicant to MPEP 1.83(a) which states “The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box).” Second, at least the limitation of “determine RRC parameters for the first candidate cell based on the anchor RRC configuration and the delta configuration for the first candidate cell” is necessary for the understanding because it is not clear how the RRC parameters are determined based on anchor RRC configuration and delta configuration. Regarding this limitation, Applicant argues on pg. 11 that “in Ali, the cell-specific configuration would replace the previous configuration.” However, Ali teaches in Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4) … the UE may combine the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration to form a full configuration for the target cell in the first base station gNB-1. [0123]: At the UE, the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration is applied, thereby applying a full RRC message for the cell. [0127]: the base configuration comprises a configuration (e.g., a set of configuration parameters) common to the plurality of first cells served by the first network node, or a set of first cells among the plurality of first cells. Each cell-specific configuration comprises a configuration (e.g., a set of configuration parameters) specific to a cell among the plurality of first cells, or the set of first cells among the plurality of first cells. In other words, Ali teaches that the UE combines the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration to obtain a full configuration for the target cell. This reads on the broad limitation “determine RRC parameters for the first candidate cell based on the anchor RRC configuration and the delta configuration for the first candidate cell.” Therefore, a drawing should be provided to clearly how the determination is made.
The objection to applicant's specification, i.e., abstract, made on 06/04/2026 is withdrawn in response to applicant’s correction filed 09/04/2026.
Applicant's arguments filed 09/04/2026 with respect to claim(s) 16, 22, and 28 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument: On pgs. 10-11, Applicant argues that Ali does not teach the limitations “receive an indication that the first RRC configuration associated with the first candidate cell comprises a delta configuration” and determine RRC parameters for the first candidate cell based on the anchor RRC configuration and the delta configuration for the first candidate cell.” Regarding the delta configuration, Applicant argues that “after Ali’s UE receives the RRC Reconfiguration, the UE receives only the MAC CE Command before the cell change.” Regarding the determination, Applicant argues that “in Ali, the cell-specific configuration would replace the previous configuration.” Examiner’s response: Regarding the first argument, Examiner notes that it appears Applicant is arguing the claim requires the limitation “receive an indication that the first RRC configuration associated with the first candidate cell comprises a delta configuration” to occur after the reception of the MAC CE and before the cell change. It also appears that Applicant is arguing the receiving the indication is a separate signal from the RRC configuration and MAC CE. However, the current claim set does not specify these specific interpretations. The limitation to receive an indication may be performed before the reception of the MAC CE, and/or may be included in the RRC configuration and/or the MAC CE. For example, Ali discloses in [0248]: The reconfiguration messages may comprise one or more PreparedCellConfig information elements defining a set of parameters to one or more cells (e.g., prepared cells). The PreparedCellConfig information elements may represent the cell-specific configurations for the cells. In other examples, a PreparedCellConfig information element may comprise at least one of: a cellGroupId indicating a cell group, a physCellId identifying the physical cell ID (PCI) of a prepared cell, a newUE-Identity indicating a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) to be used to identify the UE in the prepared cell, a rach-ConfigDedicated indicating random access channel (RACH) parameters to be used in the prepared cell, and a p-NR-FR1 indicating power to be used in the prepared cell. [0249]: The PreparedCellConfig information elements may represent the variable part (per cell) configuration. In other words, the RRC Reconfiguration message in step 2 of Fig. 15 includes the PreparedCellConfig IE which represents the cell-specific configurations and comprises various information, such as cellGroupId, physCellId, newUEIdentity, rach-ConfigDedicated, and p-NR-FR1. Since the feature “delta configuration” is not defined in the claims, it may be mapped to one of the PreparedCellConfig IE and various information. Especially because Ali teaches in [0133] “In response to determining that a base configuration and/or a plurality of cell-specific configurations are received with a previous reconfiguration message and are already stored, the UE may replace at least part of the previous configuration(s) by the respective configuration received from the first network node at block 1020. In some examples, before storing the configurations, the UE may determine based on a comparison as described above whether previous configuration(s) correspond to the respective configuration received from the first network node at block 1020” where the cell-specific configuration(s) is/are compared to previously stored configurations. In other words, the PreparedCellConfig IE indicate the cell-specific configuration that further indicate various information that may have changed. Regarding the second argument, Ali teaches in Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4) … the UE may combine the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration to form a full configuration for the target cell in the first base station gNB-1. [0123]: At the UE, the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration is applied, thereby applying a full RRC message for the cell. [0127]: the base configuration comprises a configuration (e.g., a set of configuration parameters) common to the plurality of first cells served by the first network node, or a set of first cells among the plurality of first cells. Each cell-specific configuration comprises a configuration (e.g., a set of configuration parameters) specific to a cell among the plurality of first cells, or the set of first cells among the plurality of first cells. In other words, Ali teaches that the UE combines the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration to obtain a full configuration for the target cell.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claims 16, 22, and 28 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 16-29, 31-34, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 16, 22, and 28 recite new limitation “receive an indication that the first RRC configuration associated with the first candidate cell comprises a delta configuration.” There appears to be no support for the limitation. Applicant notes the amendment “can be found throughout the disclosure, and particularly in paragraphs 0087, 0130, and 0132.” A review of the cited paragraphs reveals no support for the limitation. With respect to the delta configuration, [0087] discloses “For example, the cell configurations may include a target cell configuration which may, for example, be indicated as a delta configuration on a source cell configuration. L1/L2 mobility as described herein, may refer to a WTRU that is configured to perform mobility (e.g., frequent mobility without significant signaling overhead). The WTRU may be provided with the cell configurations of one or more (e.g., multiple) cells available at the WTRU. For example, the configuration may not be provided to the WTRU in full (e.g., the confirmation may reference a cell as a delta configuration),” [0130] discloses “The anchor cell may be configured via a delta RRC configuration. The candidate cell may have a delta configuration. For example, a WTRU may receive one or more candidate cell configurations in the form of delta configuration. The WTRU may determine a full cell configuration. The WTRU may determine the full cell configuration by applying the delta configuration to an existing configuration. Additionally, or alternatively, the WTRU may apply the delta configuration to the existing configuration on the anchor cell. For example, a WTRU may determine a full cell configuration by applying that cell configuration (e.g., obtained using delta signaling) to the anchor cell configuration associated with an SCell,” and [0132] discloses “For example, upon reception of an L3 mobility (HO/CHO/CPAC), the WTRU may apply one or more delta configurations. Also, or alternatively, the WTRU may apply one or more delta configuration upon receiving a new candidate cell with/after a network controlled anchor cell change. The one or more delta configurations may be applied on top of the new anchor cell's configuration (e.g., which may be indicated in the anchor cell change).” None of the recited paragraphs teach that the UE “receive[s] an indication that the first RRC configuration associated with the first candidate cell comprises a delta configuration.” The recited paragraphs merely disclose that the cell configuration includes a target cell configuration indicated as delta configuration, or a cell is referenced as a delta configuration, see [0087], or the candidate cell has a delta configuration where the UE receives cell configuration(s) in the form of delta configuration, see [0130], or delta configuration may be applied to the new anchor cell’s configuration that is indicated in the anchor cell change, see [0132]. As can be seen, none of the paragraphs disclose “receive an indication that the first RRC configuration associated with the first candidate cell comprises a delta configuration.” Therefore, there is no support for the new limitation. Especially because it appears Applicant is arguing the receiving an indication occurs after the reception of the MAC CE and before the cell change and that the receiving an indication is a separate signal from the RRC configuration and MAC CE which is also not taught in the cited paragraphs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 18-22, 24-29, 32-34, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ali et al. (US 2025/0142432 A1).
Regarding claims 16, 22, and 28, Ali discloses A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor configured to (claim 16) and A method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising (claim 22) and A method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising (claim 28) (Fig. 5: communication device 500 comprises a processing entity 501):
receive radio resource control (RRC) configuration information, wherein the RRC configuration information comprises an indication of a plurality of candidate cells, a plurality of RRC configurations for the candidate cells, and an anchor RRC configuration (Fig. 15, [0178]: At step 2, the first base station gNB-1 sends a reconfiguration message (e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration message) to the UE. The reconfiguration message includes a base configuration and a plurality of cell-specific configurations. Each of the plurality of cell-specific configurations (also referred to as variable part per cell) relates to one of the plurality of first cells. [0248]: The reconfiguration messages may comprise one or more PreparedCellConfig information elements defining a set of parameters to one or more cells (e.g., prepared cells) … a PreparedCellConfig information element may comprise at least one of: … a physCellId identifying the physical cell ID (PCI) of a prepared cell);
receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that indicates that the WTRU should perform a handover to a first candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells (Fig. 15, [0181]: The first base station gNB-1 may initiate the mobility (i.e., the intra-gNB L1/L2 mobility) towards cell 4 as target cell using a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) sent to the UE at step 6. [0178]: a plurality of cell-specific configurations. [0182]: cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4)), wherein a first RRC configuration of the plurality of RRC configurations is for the first candidate cell ([0178]: a reconfiguration message (e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration message) … The reconfiguration message includes a plurality of cell-specific configurations. Each of the plurality of cell-specific configurations (also referred to as variable part per cell) relates to one of the plurality of first cells. [0182]: the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4));
receive an indication that the first RRC configuration associated with the first candidate cell comprises a delta configuration ([0248]: The reconfiguration messages may comprise one or more PreparedCellConfig information elements defining a set of parameters to one or more cells (e.g., prepared cells). The PreparedCellConfig information elements may represent the cell-specific configurations for the cells. In other examples, a PreparedCellConfig information element may comprise at least one of: a cellGroupId indicating a cell group, a physCellId identifying the physical cell ID (PCI) of a prepared cell, a newUE-Identity indicating a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) to be used to identify the UE in the prepared cell, a rach-ConfigDedicated indicating random access channel (RACH) parameters to be used in the prepared cell, and a p-NR-FR1 indicating power to be used in the prepared cell. [0249]: The PreparedCellConfig information elements may represent the variable part (per cell) configuration);
determine RRC parameters for the first candidate cell based on the anchor RRC configuration and the delta configuration for the first candidate cell (Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4) … the UE may combine the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration to form a full configuration for the target cell in the first base station gNB-1. [0123]: At the UE, the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration is applied, thereby applying a full RRC message for the cell. [0127]: the base configuration comprises a configuration (e.g., a set of configuration parameters) common to the plurality of first cells served by the first network node, or a set of first cells among the plurality of first cells. Each cell-specific configuration comprises a configuration (e.g., a set of configuration parameters) specific to a cell among the plurality of first cells, or the set of first cells among the plurality of first cells); and
perform the handover to the first candidate cell based on the RRC parameters (Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4) … the UE may combine the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration to form a full configuration for the target cell in the first base station gNB-1 and apply the full configuration. [0123]: At the UE, the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration is applied, thereby applying a full RRC message for the cell. [0183]: At step 8, the UE executes the mobility procedure (i.e., the intra-gNB L1/L2 mobility) and performs connection establishment to the target cell (i.e., cell 4). [0127]: the base configuration comprises a configuration (e.g., a set of configuration parameters) common to the plurality of first cells served by the first network node, or a set of first cells among the plurality of first cells. Each cell-specific configuration comprises a configuration (e.g., a set of configuration parameters) specific to a cell among the plurality of first cells, or the set of first cells among the plurality of first cells).
Regarding claim(s) 18 and 24, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 16 and 22 as outlined above.
Ali discloses wherein the RRC configuration information and the MAC CE are received from a serving cell ([0168]: A user equipment (UE) may be connected to the network. For example, the UE may be connected to a cell (i.e., a serving cell) served by the first network node. To connect the UE to the serving cell, the UE may have performed a connection procedure (e.g., a RRC connection procedure) and established a session (e.g., a PDU session). See Fig. 15: RRC connection and PDU session establishment. [0178]: At step 2, the first base station gNB-1 sends a reconfiguration message (e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration message) to the UE. [0181]: The first base station gNB-1 may initiate the mobility (i.e., the intra-gNB L1/L2 mobility) towards cell 4 as target cell using a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) sent to the UE at step 6. [0183]: the UE changes from the serving cell (i.e., cell 1) to the target cell (i.e., cell 4) both served by the first base station gNB-1), and wherein the determined RRC parameters are not RRC parameters used with the serving cell (Fig. 15, Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4)).
Regarding claim(s) 19 and 25, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 16 and 22 as outlined above.
Ali discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
apply the delta configuration for the first candidate cell to the anchor RRC configuration to determine RRC parameters for the first candidate cell (Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4). That is, the UE uses the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. That is, the UE may determine whether the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 has changed since applying the base configuration to connect to cell 1 (i.e., whether one or more configuration parameters of the base configuration have changed). If the base configurations differ, the UE applies the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. In some examples, the UE may combine the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration to form a full configuration for the target cell in the first base station gNB-1 and apply the full configuration. In other examples, the UE may first apply the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and then apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. Otherwise, if the base configurations do not differ, the UE may apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4) to the base configuration currently applied, thereby replacing the cell-specific configuration for the serving cell (i.e., cell 1). That is, the UE may load the base configuration currently applied and apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell to the base configuration currently applied).
Regarding claim(s) 20 and 26, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 19 and 25 as outlined above.
Ali discloses wherein handover to the first candidate cell is further based on condition that the delta configuration for the first candidate cell is applied to the anchor RRC configuration (Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4). That is, the UE uses the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. That is, the UE may determine whether the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 has changed since applying the base configuration to connect to cell 1 (i.e., whether one or more configuration parameters of the base configuration have changed). If the base configurations differ, the UE applies the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. In some examples, the UE may combine the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration to form a full configuration for the target cell in the first base station gNB-1 and apply the full configuration. In other examples, the UE may first apply the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and then apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. Otherwise, if the base configurations do not differ, the UE may apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4) to the base configuration currently applied, thereby replacing the cell-specific configuration for the serving cell (i.e., cell 1). That is, the UE may load the base configuration currently applied and apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell to the base configuration currently applied. [0184]: At step 8, the UE executes the mobility procedure (i.e., the intra-gNB L1/L2 mobility) and performs connection establishment to the target cell (i.e., cell 4)).
Regarding claim(s) 21 and 27, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 16 and 22 as outlined above.
Ali discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
perform measurements for each of the plurality of candidate cells (Fig. 15, [0177]: cell quality measurements with respect to the serving cell (i.e., cell 1) and one or more of the first cells (i.e., cells 2 . . . . N) served by the first base station gNB-1.); and
send one or more reports that indicate the measurements of each of the plurality of candidate cells (Fig. 15, [0177]: Starting at step 1, the UE may send a measurement report to the first base station gNB-1. The measurement report may include cell quality measurements with respect to the serving cell (i.e., cell 1) and one or more of the first cells (i.e., cells 2 . . . . N) served by the first base station gNB-1).
Regarding claim(s) 29 and 36, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 28 and 16 as outlined above.
Ali discloses further comprising maintaining the anchor RRC configuration and the delta configurations (claim 29) / RRC configurations (claim 36) for at least a subset of the plurality of candidate cells after the handover to the first candidate cell is complete (Fig. 15, [0179]: At step 3, the UE may store the base configuration (i.e., the base template) and the plurality of cell-specific configurations (i.e., the variable part per cell) for the first base station gNB-1. If the UE already comprises a stored base configuration for the first base station gNB-1, which was received previously (e.g., received with a previous reconfiguration message), the UE may replace at least part of the stored base configuration by the base configuration received at step 2. [0263]: If the UE moves over all the N cells, N RRC reconfiguration messages and N−1 preparation messages are saved. Fig. 15, [0191]: At step 14, the UE may store the base configuration (i.e., the base template) and the plurality of cell-specific configurations (i.e., the variable part per cell) for the second base station gNB-2. If the UE already comprises a stored base configuration for the second base station gNB-2, which was received previously (e.g., received with a previous reconfiguration message), the UE may replace at least part of the stored base configuration by the base configuration received at step 13. [0133], [0143]: UE is also determining whether a plurality of cell-specific configurations are received with a previous reconfiguration message and are already stored. Note: Ali does not disclose the base configuration and the plurality of cells-specific configurations are released. On the contrary, Ali discloses that the UE may replace at least a part of the stored configurations (steps 2-3) with the newly received configurations (steps 13-14). Therefore, the stored configurations from step 3 are maintained after the handover to cell 3 of gNB-1 in step 8).
Regarding claim(s) 32, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 28 as outlined above.
Ali discloses wherein the RRC configuration information and the MAC CE are received from a serving cell ([0168]: A user equipment (UE) may be connected to the network. For example, the UE may be connected to a cell (i.e., a serving cell) served by the first network node. To connect the UE to the serving cell, the UE may have performed a connection procedure (e.g., a RRC connection procedure) and established a session (e.g., a PDU session). See Fig. 15: RRC connection and PDU session establishment. [0178]: At step 2, the first base station gNB-1 sends a reconfiguration message (e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration message) to the UE. [0181]: The first base station gNB-1 may initiate the mobility (i.e., the intra-gNB L1/L2 mobility) towards cell 4 as target cell using a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) sent to the UE at step 6. [0183]: the UE changes from the serving cell (i.e., cell 1) to the target cell (i.e., cell 4) both served by the first base station gNB-1), and wherein the determined RRC parameters are not RRC parameters used with the serving cell (Fig. 15, Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4). [0194]: At step 17, the UE changes the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration for the target cell using the base configuration for the second base station and the cell-specific configuration for the target cell).
Regarding claim(s) 33, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 28 as outlined above.
Ali discloses further comprising applying the delta configuration for the first candidate cell to the anchor RRC configuration to determine the RRC parameters for the first candidate cell (Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4). That is, the UE uses the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. That is, the UE may determine whether the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 has changed since applying the base configuration to connect to cell 1 (i.e., whether one or more configuration parameters of the base configuration have changed). If the base configurations differ, the UE applies the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. In some examples, the UE may combine the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration to form a full configuration for the target cell in the first base station gNB-1 and apply the full configuration. In other examples, the UE may first apply the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and then apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. Otherwise, if the base configurations do not differ, the UE may apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4) to the base configuration currently applied, thereby replacing the cell-specific configuration for the serving cell (i.e., cell 1). That is, the UE may load the base configuration currently applied and apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell to the base configuration currently applied).
Regarding claim(s) 34, Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 33 as outlined above.
Ali discloses wherein the handover to the first candidate cell is further based on condition that the delta configuration for the first candidate cell is applied to the anchor RRC configuration (Fig. 15, [0182]: At step 7, the UE loads the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and applies the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4). That is, the UE uses the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. That is, the UE may determine whether the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 has changed since applying the base configuration to connect to cell 1 (i.e., whether one or more configuration parameters of the base configuration have changed). If the base configurations differ, the UE applies the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. In some examples, the UE may combine the base configuration and the cell-specific configuration to form a full configuration for the target cell in the first base station gNB-1 and apply the full configuration. In other examples, the UE may first apply the base configuration for the first base station gNB-1 and then apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell. Otherwise, if the base configurations do not differ, the UE may apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell (i.e., cell 4) to the base configuration currently applied, thereby replacing the cell-specific configuration for the serving cell (i.e., cell 1). That is, the UE may load the base configuration currently applied and apply the cell-specific configuration for the target cell to the base configuration currently applied. [0184]: At step 8, the UE executes the mobility procedure (i.e., the intra-gNB L1/L2 mobility) and performs connection establishment to the target cell (i.e., cell 4)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 23, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ali et al. (US 2025/0142432 A1) in view of Deng et al. (WO 2023/045173 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 17, 23, and 31 , Ali discloses all features of claim(s) 16, 22, and 28 as outlined above.
Ali discloses wherein the RRC configuration information and the MAC CE are received from a serving cell ([0168]: A user equipment (UE) may be connected to the network. For example, the UE may be connected to a cell (i.e., a serving cell) served by the first network node. To connect the UE to the serving cell, the UE may have performed a connection procedure (e.g., a RRC connection procedure) and established a session (e.g., a PDU session). See Fig. 15: RRC connection and PDU session establishment. [0178]: At step 2, the first base station gNB-1 sends a reconfiguration message (e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration message) to the UE. [0181]: The first base station gNB-1 may initiate the mobility (i.e., the intra-gNB L1/L2 mobility) towards cell 4 as target cell using a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) sent to the UE at step 6. [0183]: the UE changes from the serving cell (i.e., cell 1) to the target cell (i.e., cell 4) both served by the first base station gNB-1)
Ali does not disclose, but Deng discloses release RRC parameters for a serving cell of the WTRU prior to performing the handover to the first candidate cell (Pg. 11 second section: After the source network device determines that a certain DRB of the terminal device needs to be configured with DAPS switching, it can reconfigure the source-side wireless parameter configuration information of the terminal device on the source network device. Exemplarily, a manner of reducing the configuration of the source network device may be reducing the number of serving cells, for example, reducing from multiple serving cells to one or two serving cells. Pg. 13 last section: the source network device may simultaneously indicate the release of the serving cell and the target cell in one RRC signaling After receiving the wireless parameter configuration information on the wireless side, the terminal device first releases the serving cell, and then performs handover according to the wireless parameter configuration information on the target side. The source network device can also use two independent RRC signaling to indicate the release of the serving cell and the target side wireless parameter configuration information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Ali, to release the serving cell and then perform handover to a target side based on receiving RRC signaling(s), as taught by Deng.
Doing so is beneficial for the target network device to make full use of the unused processing capability of the terminal device, and reasonably configure the bandwidth combination on the target network device side (Deng: pg. 11 section section).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov