DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “52” has been used to designate both the first portion and the central abutment.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
21, connecting block
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, line 2, what does “it” refer to?
Regarding claim 4, line 3, it is unclear if the “multiple blocks” are referring to the blocks of claim 1, or if Applicant is reciting additional blocks or different blocks. This also applies to the “second layer of blocks”.
Regarding claim 4, line 4, it is unclear if the “connection elements” are referring to the connecting elements of claim 1, or if Applicant is reciting additional connecting elements. Further, is “a first connection element” one of the connection elements already recited or is the recitation providing additional connection elements. The same applies for the second connection element.
Regarding claim 5, line 2, is it unclear if “a connection element” is reciting additional elements or if the recitation refers back to the connection elements already recited previously.
Regarding claim 7, line 2, what does “it” refer to?
Claims 5-9 either depend from claim 4 or include the limitations of claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 0041792 A1 to Bach in view of JP 2021504065 A (JP herein) in view of DE 20303476 U1 to Knickenberg. (See provided translations)
Regarding claim 1, Bach discloses a building element comprising: a block (30, Fig.5) comprising an upper wall (top horizontal surface of 30, Fig.5), a front wall (front wall of block in same formation as Fig.1), a rear wall (opposite surface of block, Fig.1) and two lateral walls (left and right vertical surfaces, Fig.5), defining an inner space (32), the lower portions of the walls defining an inner edge (bottom edge of the block 30) developing seamlessly to form a bottom edge surface; an internal duct (33) disposed in the inner space, each defining a first feedthrough opening (38) provided on the upper wall, and an opposite second feedthrough opening (bottom of 33 near the bottom surface of 30, Fig.5) facing the bottom edge surface; the building element further comprises a connecting element (20, Fig.3 and 7), each inserted in a corresponding duct of the block (Fig.7), so that a first portion of the connection element is exposed outside the first feedthrough opening provided on the upper wall and is suitable to be inserted in a second feedthrough opening facing the bottom edge surface of a duct of a further block superimposed to the block (Fig.7).
Bach does not specifically disclose wherein the blocks are 3D printed, nor does Bach disclose wherein the blocks have different sizes including multiple ducts and multiple connecting elements.
JP discloses wherein the blocks are 3D printed (Abstract; Page 3, lines 7-16). JP also discloses wherein the blocks are four pegs long on to which provides the ability to have multiple ducts and multiple connectors (Fig.1).
Knickenberg discloses providing a block having a plurality of ducts and a plurality of connecting elements (Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used an additive manufacturing method as taught by JP to manufacture the blocks of Bach so to provide a method of accurately forming more complex shapes and designs without the increased costs of forming intricate molds and eliminating extensive molding processes. Using molding for complex designs results in many design flaws and wasted materials.
It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the blocks of Bach having multiple ducts and connecting elements as taught by Knickenberg so to enable larger blocks to be used and also to enable offset stacking of the blocks in the same stacking manner as traditional masonry work.
Regarding claim 2, Bach discloses wherein the duct comprises two internal abutments (39,40 and 41,42), the first internal abutment provided in the upper portion of the duct (39, 40) and the second internal abutment provided in the lower portion of the duct (41, 42).
Regarding claim 3, Bach discloses wherein the connecting element comprises a central abutment (21), an external diameter of the central abutment being greater than an internal diameter of the duct (Fig.7).
Regarding claim 4, Bach in view of JP in view of Knickenberg disclose a masonry structure comprising a plurality of 3D printed building elements according to claim 1 (See claim 1 above).
Bach discloses providing a first block on a lower level, a second block located on top of the first block, and the connecting element inserted into the lower block and connecting into the duct of the second block.
Knickenberg discloses the idea of multiple first blocks in a first row, connecting elements inserted into the ducts of the first row, and further providing multiple blocks on top of the first blocks, a first connecting element from a first block and another connecting elements from a second block inserted into the same block located on top (Fig.1). In other words, Knickenberg teaches using multiple connecting elements into multiple ducts, and offset laying of the blocks.
Regarding claim 7, Bach discloses wherein it further comprises a plurality of anchoring elements (23a) connected to a plurality of blocks of the first layer of the masonry structure (Fig.7).
Regarding claim 8, as recited in claim 1 above, JP discloses 3D printing of the blocks.
Although the idea of identifying, printing, transporting is not specifically taught by Bach in view of JP further in view of Knickenberg, the idea identifying the needed blocks, printing the blocks, and transporting the blocks where they will be installed are obvious design steps in the formation of any structure, and therefore the steps are well known in the art, do not require undue experimentation, nor will the steps yield unexpected results. Any person skilled in the art would be able to identify which shapes, sizes, and count of blocks to be used and will know that the blocks need to be moved to the installation site.
Regarding claim 9, Knickenberg discloses characterized in that it further comprises the steps of: place a first layer of multiple blocks on the ground (Fig.1), inserting a plurality of connection elements into the feedthrough openings provided on the upper wall of each block of the first layer (Fig.1), superimposing a second layer of blocks on the first layer by inserting a first connection element of a block of the first layer in a feedthrough opening provided on the bottom edge surface of a first block of the second layer (Fig.1), and inserting a second connector element of the same block of the first layer in a feedthrough opening provided on the bottom edge surface of a second block of the second layer disposed adjacent to the first block of the second layer (Fig.1).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 0041792 A1 to Bach in view of JP 2021504065 A (JP herein) in view of DE 20303476 U1 to Knickenberg. (See provided translations) in view of US 4,823,532 to Westerburgen.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Bach does not disclose wherein a connection element is filled with concrete in order to reinforce the overall structure.
Westerburgen discloses wherein it is known to form toy-like blocks as larger construction blocks and providing concrete within openings of the blocks so to create greater strength for a more permanent structure (Column 1, lines 38-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have poured concrete into the openings occupied by the connecting elements of Bach as taught by Westerburgen so to provide the needed strength to ensure the blocks stay in position to form walls of a finished structure.
Conclusion
RDK
/RYAN D KWIECINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635