DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (CN107619137A, , Machine Translation) herein known as Ma, in view of Terrat et al. (WO 9634127 A1, Machine Translation) herein known as Terrat, in further in view of Sato et al. (JP-3695643-B2, Machine Translation) herein known as Sato.
Regarding Claim 7 and 9, Ma is directed to the field of wastewater treatment technology, and in particular to an
apparatus and method for recovering calcium and magnesium from desulfurization
wastewater by carbonization [0002].
Ma discloses a method for treating waste waters or residue sludge from an oxidation bath to recover carbonate salts, ([0020], [0030], [0039]; [0018], (The resulting precipitate is discharged to the calcium carbonate precipitation tank 6 through the bottom outlet. The calcium carbonate precipitate is returned to the desulfurization tower for continued use)), the treatment method comprising the following steps:- transforming hydroxide ions of waste waters or residue sludge from the oxidation bath by reaction of said hydroxide ions with carbon dioxide to form carbonate ions and water, - separating water and carbonate salts, wherein the carbonate salts are formed by carbonate ions and metal cations from oxidation salts, and recovering the carbonate salts ([0018], [0020], [0030], [0063]-[0064]) (Claim 7).
However, Ma is silent to at least one installation for nitridation in a molten salt bath comprising a nitridation bath, and a stop bath, and the method further comprising, after separating water and carbonate salts, a step of reinjecting carbonate salts into the nitridation bath (Claim 7), the method further comprising, after separating water and carbonate salts, a step of reinjecting carbonate salts into the nitridation bath (Claim 9), the method further comprising, before reinjecting carbonate salts into the nitridation bath, a step of readjusting contents of cations in the carbonate salts to contents of the nitridation bath, to make the carbonate salts compatible with nitridation salts (Claim 10).
Terrat is directed to a composition of salt baths for a surface oxidation treatment of ferrous metal parts, in particular nitrides (Page1, Description, Lines 3-5).
Terrat discloses a method for treating waste waters or residue sludge from an oxidation bath to recover carbonate salts, in at least one installation for nitridation in a molten salt bath comprising a nitridation bath and an oxidation bath, the treatment method comprising the following steps:- transforming hydroxide ions of waste waters or residue sludge from the oxidation bath by reaction of said hydroxide ions with carbon dioxide to form carbonate ions and water, - separating water and carbonate salts, wherein the carbonate salts are formed by carbonate ions and metal cations from oxidation salts, and recovering the carbonate salts (Claim 7). ( Page 1, Description, Lines 3-5, [The invention relates to a composition of salt baths for a surface oxidation treatment of ferrous metal parts, in particular nitrides, in order to increase their resistance to corrosion]; Page2, Lines 4-6, [Document FR-A-2 463 821 describes a process for treating nitrided ferrous metal parts which consists in immersing the parts in a bath of molten salts consisting of sodium and potassium hydroxides with 2 to 20% by weight of nitrates of these alkali metals]; Page 2, lines 45-47, [ and reaction of the hydroxides of the bath with atmospheric carbon dioxide]; Page 2, Lines 49-50; Page 3, Lines 1-5, [More particularly, the enrichment of carbonates in the baths, due to the oxidation of cyanates in nitriding baths, and to the absorption of atmospheric carbon dioxide causes precipitation of carbonates, forming sludge at the bottom of the bath. The removal of this sludge gives rise to entrainment of active compounds from the bath, the invention relates to oxidizing bath compositions based on nitrates of alkaline earth metals which have a reliable and repetitive oxidizing power. The invention therefore provides a composition of salt baths for a surface oxidation treatment of ferrous metal parts, in particular nitrides]; Page 3, Lines 31-33, [The preferred bath compositions comprise, in stoichiometric equilibrium with the alkali metal cations, in addition to nitrate anions, carbonate and hydroxyl anions]; Page 4, lines 31-33, [When the salt bath of the invention is used daily in production, a weekly scrub to remove the sludge deposited at the bottom of the crucible leads to the elimination of 70 kg of salts containing 60% by weight of carbonates]).
Sato is directed to iron-based parts, and more particularly to a technique for imparting both mechanical properties such as wear resistance and high corrosion resistance [0001].
Sato discloses the method comprising stop bath (Claim 7), ([0025], [a cut piece of a low carbon steel round bar was treated in the same molten salt at 500 ° C. for 300 minutes, followed by water cooling to produce a gray-colored compound layer], [after nitriding treatment at 600 ° C. for 90 minutes, it was cooled with water to form a carbonitriding layer having a gray surface gradient composition of about 20 μm]).
Sato also discloses injecting carbonate salts into the nitridation bath (Claim 9) ([0034], (carbonate of Na carbonate-K carbonate-Li carbonate (carbonate salts ) is used as a base material).
Sato disclose the method further comprising a step of adjusting contents of cations in the carbonate salts to contents of the nitridation bath, to make the carbonate salts compatible with nitridation salts (Claim 10) ( [0024], (Na carbonate, K carbonate and Li carbonate are mixed in approximately the same molar ratio, and a part of the mixed carbonate is mixed with CNO..sup.-)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ma ‘s method for treating waste waters or residue sludge, as taught by Terrat and Sato, Wherein to at least one installation for nitridation in a molten salt bath comprising a nitridation bath, and a stop bath, and the method further comprising, after separating water and carbonate salts, a step of reinjecting carbonate salts into the nitridation bath (Claim 7), the method further comprising, after separating water and carbonate salts, a step of reinjecting carbonate salts into the nitridation bath (Claim 9), the method further comprising, before reinjecting carbonate salts into the nitridation bath, a step of readjusting contents of cations in the carbonate salts to contents of the nitridation bath, to make the carbonate salts compatible with nitridation salts (Claim 10). ), in order to form a carbonitriding layer having a gray surface (See Sato, [0025]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Ma et al. (CN107619137A, , Machine Translation) herein known as Ma, in view of Terrat et al. (WO 9634127 A1, Machine Translation) herein known as Terrat, in further in view of Sato et al. (JP-3695643-B2, Machine Translation) herein known as Sato, as applied to the claim above, and further in view of Konishi (US 20100065502 A1) here known as Konishi.
Modified Ma teaches all the limitations in the claim as set forth above.
However, Modified Ma is silent to the method comprising before transforming hydroxide ions into carbonate ions, a step of separating metal particles or metal oxides present in the waste waters or the residue sludge.
Konishi is directed to a method and an apparatus for removing metals from waste water. Specifically, the invention relates to a method and an apparatus for removing metals such as thallium, lead, cadmium, chromium, and mercury [0001].
Konishi discloses the invention has an object to provide a method and an apparatus for removing metals from waste water to improve the water quality by removing metals such as thallium, lead, cadmium, chromium, and mercury contained in waste water, and adjusting the concentration of these metals to a discharge standard or less [0019].
Konishi discloses a step of separating metal particles or metal oxides present in the waste waters or the residue sludge (Abstract; [0021]- [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Ma ‘s method for treating waste waters or residue sludge, as taught by Konishi wherein the method comprising before transforming hydroxide ions into carbonate ions, a step of separating metal particles or metal oxides present in the waste waters or the residue sludge in order to improve the water quality by removing metals such as thallium, lead, cadmium, chromium, and mercury contained in waste water, and adjusting the concentration of these metals to a discharge standard or less (See Konishi, [0019]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable unpatentable Ma et al. (CN107619137A, Machine Translation) herein known as Ma, in view of Terrat et al. (WO 9634127 A1, Machine Translation) herein known as Terrat, in further in view of Sato et al. (JP-3695643-B2, Machine Translation) herein known as Sato, as applied to the claim above, and further in view of Ye et al. (CN105568210B, Machine Translation) herein known as Ye.
Modified Ma teaches all the limitations in the claim as set forth above.
However, Modified Ma is silent to the method further comprising, after separating water and carbonate salts, a step of recycling water to the stop bath or at least one washing bath.
Ye is directed to a waste treatment method for the resource-based treatment of wastewater and waste residue generated during nitrogen, carbon, and oxygen complex treatment processes [0002].
Ye discloses recycling of wastewater, achieve the purpose of energy saving and emission reduction, maximize resource utilization, and reduce production costs [0034].
Ye discloses a step of recycling water to the stop bath or at least one washing bath ([0007] [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Ma ‘s method for treating waste waters or residue sludge, as taught by Ye, wherein the method further comprising, after separating water and carbonate salts, a step of recycling water to the stop bath or at least one washing bath, in order to achieve the purpose of energy saving and emission reduction, maximize resource utilization, and reduce production costs (See Ye, [0034]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD MOTAZ ABDEL LATIF/
Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/BENJAMIN L LEBRON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773