DETAILED ACTION
The Preliminary Amendment filed on 07/29/2024 has been acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 111 in Figure 2; 400 in Figure 4; 822 in Figure 8. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the inner shaft" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The remaining claims are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-15 & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Avisse (US 6986285 B2) as cited in IDS filed on 09/29/2025.
In regards to claim 1, Avisse teaches a sensing device (2) comprising a pedestal (210, i.e. support piece) having a sensing element assembly (21, i.e. pressure detector element) associated therewith (Column 8, lines 11-29; Figure 3); and a port assembly (20, i.e. pressure-takeoff body) configured to mate with the pedestal (210) (Column 8, lines 11-29; Figure 3), wherein the port assembly (20) includes an axial passage (201, i.e. duct) having a top portion (Column 7, line 35-46 & Column 8, lines 37-55) including an undercut feature (See Figure 3 below) positioned to engage with a welded portion (Column 8, lines 11-29; Figure 3).
In regards to claim 2, Avisse teaches wherein the undercut feature includes a rounded portion (See Figure 3 below).
In regards to claim 3, Avisse teaches wherein the sensing element assembly (21) includes a pressure sensor (Column 8, lines 11-29; Figure 3).
In regards to claim 4, Avisse teaches wherein the port assembly (20) is welded to the sensing element assembly (21) (Column 8, lines 11-29; Figure 3).
In regards to claim 5, Avisse teaches wherein the sensing element assembly (21) includes a strain gauge (212, i.e. strain gauge circuit) (Column 8, lines 24-29).
In regards to claim 7, Avisse teaches wherein the pedestal (210) includes a glass portion located on the top of the pedestal (210) (Column 7, lines 47-66).
In regards to claim 8, Avisse teaches wherein the pedestal (210) includes a base portion having an inner diameter and a top portion and a bottom portion each having a larger diameter than the base portion (See Figure 3 below).
In regards to claim 9, Avisse teaches further comprising an internal guide (218, i.e. thin empty space) configured to allow for positioning of the sensing element assembly (21) or the port assembly (20) (Column 11, lines 20-34; Figure 3).
In regards to claim 10, Avisse teaches wherein at least a portion of the sensing element assembly (21) extends through a top portion of the port assembly (20) (See Figure 4).
In regards to claim 11, Avisse teaches a method for manufacturing a sensing device (2) comprising providing a port assembly (20, i.e. pressure-takeoff body) having an axial passage (201, i.e. duct) disposed therein (Column 8, lines 11-29; Figure 3), wherein the inner shaft includes a top portion having an undercut feature (See Figure below); welding the undercut features with at least a portion of the port assembly (210) (Column 8, lines 11-29; Figure 3); and attaching a pedestal (210, i.e. support piece) having a sensing element assembly (21, i.e. pressure detector element) associated therewith to the port assembly (20) (Column 8, lines 11-29; Figure 3).
In regards to claim 12, Avisse teaches wherein the undercut feature includes a rounded portion (See Figure 3).
In regards to claim 13, Avisse teaches wherein the sensing element assembly (21) includes a pressure sensor (Column 8, lines 11-29; Figure 3).
In regards to claim 14, Avisse teaches further comprising: generating a fillet portion resulting from the welding (Column 8, lines 11-29; Figure 3).
In regards to claim 15, Avisse teaches wherein the sensing element assembly (21) includes a strain gauge (212, i.e. strain gauge circuit) (Column 8, lines 24-29).
In regards to claim 17, Avisse teaches wherein the pedestal (210) includes a glass portion located on the top of the pedestal (210) (Column 7, lines 47-66).
In regards to claim 18, Avisse teaches wherein the pedestal (210) includes a base portion having an inner diameter and a top portion and a bottom portion each having a larger diameter than the base portion (See Figure 3 below).
In regards to claim 19, Avisse teaches further comprising positioning the sensing element assembly (21) or the port assembly (20) using an internal guide (218, i.e. thin empty space) (Column 11, lines 20-34; Figure 3).
In regards to claim 20, Avisse teaches further comprising extending at least a portion of the sensing element assembly (21) through a top portion of the pedestal (20) (See Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avisse (US 6986285 B2) as cited in IDS filed on 09/29/2025.
In regards to claims 6 & 16, Avisse teaches a sensing device (2) having a pedestal (210) having a generally square shape (See Figure 4 below).
It is well-known to one skilled in the art to provide a pedestal being manufactured into a round shape or an elliptical shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention being made to manufacture Avisse’s pedestal for the purpose of being easy to manufacture and readily available. Also, a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Noh et al (KR 20250068142 A) - The present invention relates to a pressure sensor unit and a method for manufacturing the same. More specifically, the present invention relates to a pressure sensor unit that is fastened to an object to introduce fluid and measures the pressure of the introduced fluid, and a method for manufacturing the same.
Stopel et al (US 11385119 B2) - The present disclosure related to a sensor apparatus having a crimped housing and a method of assembling a sensor apparatus having a crimped housing.
Hanley (US 10969288 B2) - The subject disclosure relates to sensing technology and more particularly to devices for sensing fluid pressure.
Eckhardt et al (US 8817483 B2) - The present disclosure relates to sensors including pressure sensors, humidity sensors, flow sensors, etc. In some cases, a connector assembly for a sensor assembly may include an electrical connector, a printed circuit board and a conductive outer housing. The electrical connector may include a mechanical connector and electrical terminals exposed at a first end and at a second end of the mechanical connector. The electrical connector, printed circuit board and conductive outer housing may all be electrically connected to one another.
Panhoelzl et al (DE 102011078048 A) - The invention is based on the recognition that by the joining step of said manufacturing process, i. the welding process, a notch at the weld arises. The notch effect increases the stress at the weld. In addition to the notch effect, there is a jump in stiffness between the sensor body and the sensor element, which imposes additional shear stresses on the weld seam, due to the weld pool protection required for the welding process. These are due to different expansion properties of the sensor element and the sensor body. These stresses negatively affect the strength of the connection between the sensor body and the sensor element, i. the greater the stresses occurring, the lower the strength or stability of the welded joint between these components.
/J.L.J/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855