DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 8/13/26 has been entered. Claims 1-8, 10, 14,-25 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the (Specification, Drawings, and Claims) have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 5/12/26.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 14-17 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “body-shape defining measurements of a portion of a body of interest” in Claim 1 Line 3 needs review for how the term relates to “body measurements” in Claim 1 Line 20; Claim 1 Line 20 is interpreted “the body-shape defining measurements”
Claim 14 Line 2 should read “the number of the available warp lines” for proper antecedent basis with Claim 1 Line 13
Claim 15 Line 2 should read “the gear ratios of the loom motors” for proper antecedent basis with Claim 1 Line 13
Claim 16 Line 2 before “desired” add –the—for proper antecedent basis with Claim 1 Line 12
Claim 17 Line 2 before “weaving” add –the—for proper antecedent basis with Claim 1 Line 12
Disagreement with any of the aforementioned may warrant at least a 112(b) indefiniteness rejection without constituting a new rejection
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
Claim(s) 24, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The term “verifying comprises checking that diameter transitions in the weave shape data are achievable within mechanical limits of the variable diameter weaving ring” in Claim 24 is considered new matter. The only related recitations are in [0043] “weave parameters 662 may be constrained by physical limitations imposed by loom parameters” and [0044] “WCode translator 664 also verifies that the desired shape can be woven on a specific loom and will report an error if it is not possible.” None of the recitations or the parameters are regarding diameter transitions, let alone of the variable diameter weaving ring within the data.
Similarly, the term “verifying comprises determining that a rate of change of diameter transitions specified in the weave shape data does not exceed a maximum rate of diameter change achievable by the variable diameter weaving ring per unit length of the woven article of clothing of the apparel” in Claim 25 is new matter. As aforementioned, the only related recitations are in [0043], [0044], neither of which are regarding diameter transitions, let alone a rate of change, within the data, or a maximum rate.
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 14-25 is/are rejected under U.S.C. 112(b).
The term “control instructions” beginning in Claim 1 Lines 19-20 is unclear and therefore renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear how this differs from “computer-readable instructions” in Claim 1 Line 10. For the purposes of applying art and providing rejections, the terms will be considered the same.
The term “unit length” in Claim 25 Line 3 is unclear and therefore renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear how the term relates to “length” in Claim 1 Line 22. For the purposes of applying art and providing rejections, the terms will be considered the same.
Dependent claims are rejected at the least for depending on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10, 14-17, 19, 22, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutierrez (ES 2217943) in view of Calzolai (WO 2005/123998), Arnold (DE 102013003439), Sainen (EP 1091032), Tasca (WO 2004/072342), and Tajima et al (USPN 4960061), herein Tajima.
Regarding Claim 1, Gutierrez teaches a method for manufacturing apparel (if a prior art, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily describe a device capable of performing the steps of the method or process, then the device claimed will be considered to be inherent by the prior art process or method. When the prior art process or method is the same as a process or method described in the specification for describing the claimed device, it can be assumed the process or method will inherently describe the claimed device capable of performing the different steps of the process or method. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). MPEP 2112.02; as such, see below structure for the method, especially [0005] "present invention relates to a system for making one -piece garments"), comprising:
receiving body data ([0019] "invention proposes …obtained the usual measures of the carrier…namely heights and circumferences, and/or the vertical/horizontal and volumetric dimensions of the body"; [0019] "body measurements are taken, either manually, or…through an operation of scanned");
extracting body-shape defining measurements of a portion of a body of interest from the body data ([0024] "Figure 3 is a representation of a multiplicity of loom sections, corresponding to the different positions that these sections should occupy, and in function of the specific garment to be manufacture"; [0029] "If the content of Figure 3 is now observed of the drawings, it can be seen that they are represented multiple sections 10 with different shapes and contours, according to correspond to one or another part of the body, and also dependent of the type of garment to be made. These sections, which reproduce the exact shape of the body as stated previously, they correspond to neck 10.1, neck turned 10.2, 10.3 shoulders with reproduction of the closed perimeter that passes through the back and torso, chest 10.4 with rounded protruding parts, waist 10.5 and hips 10.6, while section 10.7 corresponds to the bottom of the dress. Section 10.10 allows form the right sleeve, and section 10.9 the left sleeve, while sections intended to allow terminations of the right sleeve and the left sleeve have been referenced like 10.11 and 10.8, respectively”, wherein it's been extracted inasmuch as Fig. 3 has sections);
analyzing, via a fitment engine, the body-shape defining measurements to create a fitment for the article of clothing based on fitment metrics (for fitment engine --[0026] "From the processing device 2, the data is transferred to the anatomical loom device 3, which is programmed for realization of the desired garment"; for this fitment data being of the measurements -- [0026] "the process begins with the taking of user measurements, for which a device 1 of scanner for an exact determination of the characteristics dimensional and volumetric of the person in question, from where the carrier signals of the obtained data are sent, up to a processing device that, preferably, will consist of a computer 2 or similar, in which a previously stored specific program related to this application, and where they are stored data received from the scanning device, creating the corresponding files of each person. From the processing device 2, the data is transferred to the anatomical loom device 3, which is programmed for realization of the desired garment"; [0028] "aforementioned sections 10 are separated from each other by distances predetermined, and are positioned at height in exact correspondence with the user's body parts at which represent"); and
producing weave shape data based on the fitment ([0019] "between the scanner and the anatomical loom…a database is located, with a specific application program, whose mission is to send the data of the measurements on the loom, and thus be able to form files…of the people scanned"; [0026] "the process begins with the taking of user measurements, for which a device 1 of scanner for an exact determination of the characteristics dimensional and volumetric of the person in question, from where the carrier signals of the obtained data are sent, up to a processing device that, preferably, will consist of a computer 2 or similar, in which a previously stored specific program related to this application, and where they are stored data received from the scanning device, creating the corresponding files of each person. From the processing device 2, the data is transferred to the anatomical loom device 3, which is programmed for realization of the desired garment", wherein the loom indicates the data being weave shape, further in light of [0032] weft and warp threads; see aforementioned wherein it was established that the data is of fitment),
automatically producing the woven article of clothing of the apparel on a variable diameter circular loom based on the weave shape data ([0026] "the process begins with the taking of user measurements, for which a device 1 of scanner for an exact determination of the characteristics dimensional and volumetric of the person in question, from where the carrier signals of the obtained data are sent, up to a processing device that, preferably, will consist of a computer 2 or similar, in which a previously stored specific program related to this application, and where they are stored data received from the scanning device, creating the corresponding files of each person. From the processing device 2, the data is transferred to the anatomical loom device 3, which is programmed for realization of the desired garment", for variable diameter--see Figs. 2, 3 for loom sections 10 of different diameters in [0028]),
the circular loom comprising a weaving ring configured to receive control instructions derived from a parametric garment model based on body measurements (as best understood in light of the 112(b) rejections--see Figs. 2, 3 for sections 10 of weaving rings on device 3 of [0028]; for derived from parametric garment model -- "[0026] "the process begins with the taking of user measurements, for which a device 1 of scanner for an exact determination of the characteristics dimensional and volumetric of the person in question", wherein parameters are dimension and volume of the person/garment model; for control instructions based on measurements-- [0026] "user measurements....data are sent, up to a processing device...transferred to the anatomical loom device 3, which is programmed for realization of the desired garment", wherein programming indicates control instructions based on the body measurements, and the rings are of device 3)
and in response to the control instructions to produce the woven article of clothing of the apparel having a varying circumference along a length of the woven article of clothing of the apparel ([0028] "in Figure 2…loom 3 consists of a central column 8, of vertical positioning, with a lower support base 9, said column being adapted to allow displacement, to along it, of corresponding sections 10 perimeter with the dimensions of the body in the different positions", wherein the sections 10 have varying circumference and therefore varying circumference for length of article).
Gutierrez does not explicitly teach translating the weave shape data into the computer-readable instructions by combining the weave shape data with weave parameters or loom parameters, wherein the weave parameters comprise at least one of desired speed or weaving density, and the loom parameters comprise at least one of number of available warp lines or gear ratios of loom motors.
However, Gutierrez at least suggests translating the weave shape data into computer-readable instructions (see [0026] where data is transferred to programmable loom),
and weave parameters ([0028] "In Figure 2 they have been represented, in a way schematized, the characteristic details of an anatomical loom 3 through views taken in elevation and plan. According to representations, loom 3 consists of a central column 8, of vertical positioning, with a lower support base 9, said column being adapted to allow displacement, to along it, of corresponding sections 10 perimeter with the dimensions of the body in the different positions...The different sections 10 have on their periphery appropriate means for fastening the warp threads 4").
Calzolai teaches translating the weave shape data into computer-readable instructions by combining the weave data with weave parameters or loom parameters (page 2 Line 30-page 3 Line 20 "method of making fabric cut portions…comprising the steps of: creating, by a photo editing program, a mask…creating an image file of said mask…transforming said image file into a readable format file by the loom control system...acquisition of said readable format file...weaving said yarns by said loom under said readable format file by the loom control system, said loom being capable of weaving weft and/or warp yarns in at least two different colours; weaving said yarns by said loom under said readable format file obtaining a woven fabric according to said background and said graphic elements contained in said geometric figures", wherein loom parameters are colors, wherein weave shape data are geometric figures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gutierrez’s method to be computer-readable including parameters as taught Calzolai as a known format/method/form of data to weave a product from data in order to provide variation based on user choices (page 4 Lines 9-12).
Gutierrez does not explicitly teach wherein the weave parameters comprise at least one of desired speed or weaving density, and
the loom parameters comprise at least one of number of available warp lines or gear ratios of loom motors.
Sainen teaches wherein the weave parameters includes desired speed or weaving density (for speed--[0008] "let-off control device of the invention for a weaving machine comprises…control amplifier for controlling the speed of the let-off motor"; for density--[0025] "weft density A…are entered to the basic speed calculator 11"; [0023] "let-off control device…10 of a weaving machine comprises as its principal elements a basic speed calculator 11"),
wherein the loom parameters includes gear ratios of loom motors (see [0023-0025], especially [0025] "gear ratio m of the reduction gear unit…are entered to the basic speed calculator 11"; [0023] "let-off control device…10 of a weaving machine comprises as its principal elements a basic speed calculator 11").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gutierrez’s weave parameters and loom parameters, as taught by Calozai, to include those as taught by Sainen in order to provide desirable controllability as affected by speed (abstract).
Tasca teaches wherein the loom parameters includes number of available warp lines (page 8 Lines 10-15 "the considered parameter is the number of warp yarns. The processing unit U counts, on the image acquired by the optical reader 1, the number of warp yarns and then compares…the total number of warp yarns mounted on the loom").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gutierrez’s loom parameters as taught by Tasca in order to detect breakage (page 8 Lines 25-32).
Gutierrez does not explicitly teach that the weaving ring is a variable diameter weaving ring,
and to adjust a diameter of the variable weaving ring in response to the control instructions.
Arnold teaches the circular loom comprising a variable diameter weaving ring configured to receive control instructions (see Fig. 1; [0001] "production of circular woven tubes whose diameter can be continuous changed...to produce...products...using high-performance fibers"; [0001] "device can be retrofitted to existing circular weaving machines"; [0005] "depending on the desired hose diameter, the device is designed to automatically adjust the height position of the web ring"; [0007] "produce round fabrics with variable diameters by gradually raising or lowering the weaving ring on a circular weaving machine while simultaneously changing the diameter of the weaving ring"; for ring configured to receive control instructions -- [0008] "the control unit enables the production of hoses with diameter gradients"; [0010] "drives for changing the height and diameter of web ring are provided by actuators (5) and (7), with control being carried out by an electronic control unit (6)")
and to adjust a diameter of the variable weaving ring in response to the control instructions to produce the woven article having a varying circumference along a length (see Fig. 1; [0008]; [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gutierrez with Arnold’s variable diameter weaving ring as an improvement in technology ([0001]), especially as it is known in the art that Gutierrez’s multiple fixed weaving rings are interchangeable with a single variable diameter weaving ring (see extrinsic evidence Alonso USPN 1860975).
Gutierrez does not explicitly teach wherein the translating comprises verifying that the weave shape data is physically realizable on the variable diameter circular loom.
Tajima teaches verifying that the manufacturing data is physically realizable on the manufacturing machine (Col. 17 Lines 48-68 "possible to judge whether or not the design graphic pattern data and the frame graphic pattern data cross each other on the basis of comparison, in data form, of the two data prepared for displaying purpose... whereby whether or not the selected embroidery design can fit in the embroidery frame to be used can be automatically judge...The design graphic pattern data consisting of bit pattern data and the frame graphic pattern data modified with the offset value are compared bit by bit to obtain logical product for each bit. If there is even a single bit in which logical product is satisfied, the embroidery design crosses the embroidery frame at the position corresponding to this bit so that it is judged that the embroidery design does not fit in the embroidery frame. If there is no bit in which logical product is satisfied at all, it is judged that the embroidery design fits in the embroidery frame"; Col. 18 Lines 17-20 "whether or not the embroidery design fits in the embroidery frame is confirmed before starting of the actual embroidering operation"; Col. 22 Lines 12-18 "if there is even one bit (dot) in which logical product has been satisfied, this means that the embroidery design crosses the embroidery frame so that the embroidery design does not fit in the embroidery frame. In this case, the processing proceeds to step 77 in which an "error" display of a predetermined soft frame is displayed").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gutierrez with the verification as taught by Tajima as it is known to check a data file for physically realizability before actuating on a machine as a same art of endeavor, especially as it is known in the art that methods for embroidering and weaving can be interchangeable (see extrinsic evidence Colaianni et al USPN 10228682; see extrinsic evidence Waldie USPN 11969042).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Modified Gutierrez further teaches wherein the translating comprises reporting an error when the weave shape data is determined to not be physically realizable on the variable diameter circular loom (see Tajima Col. 22 Lines 13-18 "if there is even one bit (dot) in which logical product has been satisfied, this means that the embroidery design crosses the embroidery frame so that the embroidery design does not fit in the embroidery frame. In this case, the processing proceeds to step 77 in which an "error" display of a predetermined soft frame is displayed").
Regarding Claim 4, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Gutierrez further teaches wherein the receiving of the body data includes taking a three-dimensional body scan ([0019] "invention proposes …obtained the usual measures of the carrier…namely heights and circumferences, and/or the vertical/horizontal and volumetric dimensions of the body"; [0019] "body measurements are taken, either manually, or…through an operation of scanned").
Regarding Claim 10, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Gutierrez further teaches wherein producing the weave shape data includes combining order information details with the received body data ([0035] "allows the buyer choose the garment that best suits…taste, conditions and preferences, this information being automatically sent to loom for the beginning and realization of the requested garment", wherein loom is also receiving body data ([0026]) and therefore combined), and
wherein the order information details includes at least one of customer ID, material, fit, preference, or style information ([0035]).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Modified Gutierrez further teaches wherein the loom parameters includes number of available warp lines (see rejection of Claim 1 with Tasca).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Modified Gutierrez further teaches wherein the loom parameters includes gear ratios of loom motors (see rejection of Claim 1 with Sainen).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Modified Gutierrez further teaches wherein the weave parameters includes desired speed (see rejection of Claim 1 with Sainen).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Modified Gutierrez further teaches wherein the weave parameters includes weaving density (see rejection of Claim 1 with Sainen).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Gutierrez further teaches wherein the body data is a three-dimensional body scan ([0019] "invention proposes …obtained the usual measures of the carrier…namely heights and circumferences, and/or the vertical/horizontal and volumetric dimensions of the body"; [0019] "body measurements are taken, either manually, or…through an operation of scanned").
Regarding Claim 22, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Modified Gutierrez further teaches wherein the length of the woven article of clothing of the apparel is seamless (see Arnold [0006] "invention makes it possible…for the production of seamless hoses with variable diameters", such that Gutierrez’s article of clothing is seamless, and therefore the length).
Regarding Claim 23, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Modified Gutierrez further teaches wherein the variable diameter weaving ring is configured to adjust the diameter of the variable diameter weaving ring during production of the woven article of clothing of the apparel (see Arnold [0001], [0005], [0008], [0010]).
Claim(s) 3, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutierrez (ES 2217943) in view of Calzolai (WO 2005/123998), Arnold (DE 102013003439), Sainen (EP 1091032), Tasca (WO 2004/072342), and Tajima et al (USPN 4960061), herein Tajima, further in view of Alselimi (US Publication 2016/0292770).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Gutierrez does not explicitly teach wherein the receiving of the body data includes
taking a picture of the portion of the body of interest and
highlighting landmarks on the body of interest.
Alselimi teaches taking a picture of the portion of the body of interest ([0048] "Based on the one or more images of the body of the shopper uploaded to the server 106 and the one or more body measurements provided by the shopper, the processing circuitry of the server 106 interpolates one or more remaining body measurements that may factor into one or more clothing size determinations for the shopper") and
highlighting landmarks on the body of interest (for landmarks-- [0064] "based on the shopper body profile determined at step S510, the processing circuitry can determine one or more locations on the body of the shopper where the articles of clothing may not fit properly. For example, if the shopper is purchasing a pair of pants with an inseam that is long based on the height of the shopper, the processing circuitry of the server 106 highlight the lower edge of the pants that have been virtually tried on the shopper avatar to indicate that the pants the shopper has selected may be too long for the shopper").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gutierrez’s method of receiving body data as taught by Alselimi as a known form of determining body data/measurements (Alselimi indicates doing so with a picture), and to help with fit, such as at landmark of legs for pant height ([0064]).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Gutierrez teaches wherein the body data is generated two-dimensionally ([0019] "invention proposes …obtained the usual measures of the carrier…namely heights and circumferences…of the body"; [0019] "body measurements are taken, either manually, or…through an operation of scanned").
Gutierrez does not explicitly teach wherein the body data is generated from a video or picture.
Alselimi teaches wherein the body data is generated from a video or picture ([0048] "Based on the one or more images of the body of the shopper uploaded to the server 106 and the one or more body measurements provided by the shopper, the processing circuitry of the server 106 interpolates one or more remaining body measurements that may factor into one or more clothing size determinations for the shopper").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gutierrez’s method of receiving body data as taught by Alselimi as a known form of determining body data/measurements.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 8, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutierrez (ES 2217943) in view of Calzolai (WO 2005/123998), Arnold (DE 102013003439), Sainen (EP 1091032), Tasca (WO 2004/072342), and Tajima et al (USPN 4960061), herein Tajima, further in view of Holloway et al (US Publication 2004/0093105), herein Holloway.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Gutierrez does not explicitly teach wherein the receiving of the body data includes generating the body data from user-input metrics.
Holloway further teaches wherein the receiving of the body data includes generating the body data from user-input metrics (see [0015]-[0019] for user-input metrics generating body data; for user-input metrics, see especially [0017] "potential consumer …would provide the information needed for sizing"; for generating body data, see especially [0018] "once the information is collected from the potential consumer, a series of formulas (also referred to as a 'fitting model') are used to determine the exact garment dimensions for that consumer" and [0019] "The first part of the model contains formulas that relate various dimensions of the human body to one another, and are used to infer body dimensions that are not reported by the consumer from those that are reported by the consumer" and therefore generating body data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gutierrez’s method to incorporate user-input metrics as taught by Holloway in order to help with fit ([0017], [0019]).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Gutierrez does not explicitly teach wherein the extracting of the body-shape defining measurements includes employing linear regression on the measurements.
Holloway further teaches wherein the extracting of the body-shape defining measurements includes employing linear regression on the measurements ([0018] "Once the information is collected from the potential consumer, a series of formulas (also referred to as a "fitting model") are used to determine the exact garment dimensions for that consumer”; [0023] "First, a relatively large number of potential models, using a variety of subsets of independent variables, and that have been derived by multiple linear regression, are tested for their predictive value using the well-known statistical technique of prediction squared error, which allows the winnowing out of the least predictive models").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gutierrez’s method with linear regression as taught by Holloway in order to find the most accurate fit model ([0023]-[0025]).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Gutierrez does not explicitly teach wherein the analyzing of the body-shape defining measurements includes
forming panel shapes from the measurements and
processing the panel shapes with a shape correcting algorithm.
Holloway teaches forming panel shapes from the measurements ([0020] "the output of the second part of the fitting model--the calculated garment dimensions--would be used as inputs to a pattern maker (either human or automated), which would then use techniques well known to those of ordinary skill in the pattern-making arts to generate exact fabric cutting templates and sewing instructions on the basis of the calculated garment dimensions and intended style of the garment") and
processing the panel shapes with a shape correcting algorithm ([0025] "Once the unreported body measurements have been inferred from the reported body measurements on the basis of the anthropometric model, the actual garment dimensions are calculated. This is the second part of the overall fitting model. This second part of the model may be generated on the basis of the experiences of the garment designer with garment design and patternmaking, and takes into account a number of factors. These factors include adjustments to the body measurements to allow for "ease" in the garment. Ease refers to the fact that if a garment were constructed that had the exact same dimensions-waist, seat, inseam, etc.--as the body dimensions of the wearer, the garment would be "skin tight", uncomfortable, and correctly perceived as ill-fitting. In order to compensate for this, it is well known in the art to add an amount of ease to the body dimensions when calculating the garment dimensions", especially for fitting model).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gutierrez’s method with that of Holloway in order to find the most accurate fit model ([0023-0025]).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Gutierrez does not explicitly teach wherein the body data is generated from user-input metrics.
Holloway teaches wherein the body data is generated from user-input metrics (see [0015]-[0019] for user-input metrics generating body data; for user-input metrics, see especially [0017] "potential consumer …would provide the information needed for sizing"; for generating body data, see especially [0018] "once the information is collected from the potential consumer, a series of formulas (also referred to as a 'fitting model') are used to determine the exact garment dimensions for that consumer" and [0019] ". The first part of the model contains formulas that relate various dimensions of the human body to one another, and are used to infer body dimensions that are not reported by the consumer from those that are reported by the consumer" and therefore generating body data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gutierrez’s method to incorporate user-input metrics as taught by Holloway in order to help with fit ([0017], [0019]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutierrez (ES 2217943) in view of Calzolai (WO 2005/123998), Arnold (DE 102013003439), Sainen (EP 1091032), Tasca (WO 2004/072342), and Tajima et al (USPN 4960061), herein Tajima, further in view of Song et al (US Publication 2013/0315475), herein Song.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Gutierrez does not explicitly teach wherein the analyzing of the body-shape defining measurements includes
conducting principal component analysis to reduce a number of dimensions in the measurements and then
applying machine learning techniques on the measurements.
Song teaches conducting principal component analysis to reduce a number of dimensions in the measurements ([0122] "A computer-based method is also provided for identifying the appropriate body-shape prototype guiding pattern for an individual person's (e.g., customer's) set of measurements. In one embodiment, the method comprises the step of computer-analyzing a full set of body measurements wherein the step of computer-analyzing comprises the steps of: conducting a principle component analysis (PCA) of all measurements in the set of body measurements; obtaining principle component measurements from the PCA; and performing an unsupervised clustering algorithm on the most significant principle components, thereby obtaining one or more prototype body shapes"; [0123] The full set of body measurements (widths, breadths, depths, arc measurements, circumferences, angles, and proportions of these measures) can be obtained from a plurality of people, wherein the plurality is representative of a population of interest and wherein the full set of body measurements from the plurality is representative of a spectrum of body shapes and postures for which garments are to be designed. An individual person's measurements may be taken by hand or by using computer analysis of a 3D body scan", wherein it is known in the art that PCA reduces # of dimensions (see extrinsic evidence Built In NPL)and then
applying machine learning techniques on the measurements ([0127] "Systems and method for computer-assisted design of custom fit clothing are also provided. In one embodiment, the system can comprise the following components: (a) An adaptable "guiding pattern" that comprises a structural form and a set of customizable distance parameters. The values of the parameters can be matched to the shape (detailed dimensions) of the customer so that the parameterized pattern will specify a good-fit garment for that individual. (b) A machine learning system that can predict a set of distance parameters for a guiding pattern given a set of measurements taken from the customer; and (c) A computer algorithm that can combine the specific parameters for a customer with the structural form of a guiding pattern to produce a conventional pattern from which the custom-fit garment can be made. For each guiding pattern, a documented database can be established comprising multiple tuples of distance parameter values, associated distance parameters, and good-fit outcomes. This database is used to train the machine learning system"; [0128] "According to this embodiment, customer measurements may be taken by hand or by using computer analysis of a 3D body scan. Pattern parameterizations may be conducted using conventional commercial standards or by methods that are optimized for a machine learning method (see Section 5.4 below). The documented database may contain instances of both good and poor good-fit outcomes. The documented database can be created by experimenting with a range of predictions and involving a panel of experts to determine the good-fit outcomes by observing the garments on a set of models", especially for “machine learning system” and “machine learning method”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gutierrez’s method with the principal component analysis (PCA) taught by Song in order to improve fit (abstract).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutierrez (ES 2217943) in view of Calzolai (WO 2005/123998), Arnold (DE 102013003439), Sainen (EP 1091032), Tasca (WO 2004/072342), and Tajima et al (USPN 4960061), herein Tajima, further in view of Molnar (US Publication 2016/0069003).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Modified Gutierrez further teaches wherein the step of automatically producing the woven article of clothing of the apparel includes producing multiple woven articles of clothing (Arnold [0007] "produce round fabrics with variable diameters”).
Gutierrez does not explicitly teach wherein the step of automatically producing the woven article of clothing of the apparel includes producing the woven article of clothing of the apparel sequentially with multiple woven articles of clothing.
Molnar teaches wherein producing the woven article of clothing of the apparel sequentially with multiple woven articles of clothing (for woven sequentially-- [0004] "there is provided a method of producing an aggregate textile comprising a plurality of different textiles that a plurality of different customers requested be produced...specifying that the aggregate textile is to be woven by weaving the two or more textiles in a series during a single run of a loom", wherein series indicates sequentially; for article of clothing-- [0035] "textiles...refer to materials that may be woven to produce...goods...such as garments"; for multiple -- see Fig. 3 wherein group textiles are separated into individual textiles and then provided to customers, and therefore multiple; furthermore for sequentially-- [0100] "order of the textiles during production may correspond to an order in which the textiles were received by the facility from customers"; wherein an order indicates sequence).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gutierrez’s production to be multiple articles produced sequentially as taught by Molnar in order to produce multiple customer requests in an effective manner (see above) in order to utilize Gutierrez’s loom cost effectively, as opposed to only ever creating a single garment.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutierrez (ES 2217943) in view of Calzolai (WO 2005/123998), Arnold (DE 102013003439), Sainen (EP 1091032), Tasca (WO 2004/072342), and Tajima et al (USPN 4960061), herein Tajima, further in view of Yoshimura et al (USPN 7313457), herein Yoshimura.
Regarding Claim 24, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Modified Gutierrez does not explicitly teach wherein the verifying comprises checking that diameter transitions in the weave shape data are achievable within mechanical limits of the variable diameter weaving ring.
Yoshimura teaches wherein the verifying comprises checking transitions in the shape data are achievable within mechanical limits of manufacturing (Col. 2 Lines 6-11 "object of the invention to provide an embroidery data editor and a method of displaying embroidery frames, capable of preventing the user from mistakenly using an inappropriate embroidery frame"; Abstract "first determining portion determines, before the selected embroidery pattern is edited...whether each of a plurality of embroidery frames is usable...a second determining portion determines, after the selected embroidery pattern is edited...whether each of the plurality of embroidery frames is usable for sewing the edited embroidery pattern...reporting portion reports when at least one embroidery frame determined to be usable by the second determining portion is different from the at least one embroidery frame determined to be usable by the first determining portion").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gutierrez's verifying, as provided by Tajima, to be in regards to transitions as taught by Yoshimura, as known to do so for elements involved in manufacturing limits (such as Gutierrez’s diameter weaving ring) in order to prevent mistakes, especially as it is known in the art that methods for embroidering and weaving can be interchangeable (see extrinsic evidence Colaianni et al USPN 10228682; extrinsic evidence Waldie USPN 11969042).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutierrez (ES 2217943) in view of Calzolai (WO 2005/123998), Arnold (DE 102013003439), Sainen (EP 1091032), Tasca (WO 2004/072342), and Tajima et al (USPN 4960061), herein Tajima, further in view of de Ghetto (USPN 2335654), herein Ghetto, and Schwarz (USPN 3703195).
Regarding Claim 25, modified Gutierrez teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Gutierrez does not explicitly teach wherein the verifying comprises determining that a rate of change of diameter transitions specified in the weave shape data does not exceed a maximum rate of diameter change achievable by the variable diameter weaving ring per unit length of the woven article of clothing of the apparel.
However, Ghetto teaches that there are elements that affect the diameter of variable diameter weaving ring transitions in a variable weaving loom (see Fig. 4; page 2 Col. 1 Lines 6-8 "change-speed gears…through which is driven a conveyor drive shaft 43"; "shaft 43…drives…conveyor chain 53"; page 2 Col. 1 Lines 24-35 "conveyor 53 is supported and guided on a frame 55 which may be arranged to be vertically adjusted…by this means the conveyor is made adjustable to manufacture tubes or hose of varying diameters").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gutierrez’s variable weaving loom, as provided by Arnold, with the elements of Ghetto, as a known method of varying the diameter.
Schwarz teaches wherein the verifying comprises determining that a rate of change of weave transitions specified does not exceed a maximum rate of change achievable (Col. 3 Lines 40, 50-54 "loom...control of the draw hooks must occur during this time. The faster the working speed, the shorter is the control time so that errors are readily possible. A further increase of the working speed is therefore limited").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gutierrez’s verifying, as provided by Tajima, to be in regards to the rate of elements involved in manufacturing limits (such as Gutierrez’s variable diameter weaving ring, as indicated by Ghetto) as taught by Schwarz in order to prevent errors.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that modified Gutierrez teaches wherein the verifying comprises determining that a rate of change of diameter transitions specified in the weave shape data does not exceed a maximum rate of diameter change achievable by the variable diameter weaving ring per unit length of the woven article of clothing of the apparel (as best understood in light of the 112(b) rejections--verifying, based on Tajima, a maximum rate of transition changes, based on Ghetto, achievable by Guetierrez’s variable diameter ring, taught by Arnold, for the length of apparel).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8, 10, 14-25 have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment. Therefore, see aforementioned rejections for the argued missing limitations.
Pertaining to remarks on page 7 that support for claim amendments are on pages 2-3, 15-17 and Figs. 5-7—examiner respectfully disagrees. The original specification of 7/29/24 uses paragraph numbers, and none of the paragraph numbers on pages 2, 3, 15-17 or Figs. 5-7 provide support for the limitations under 112(a) new matter rejections herein. The majority of amendments are a combination of dependent claims previously rejected. The additional limitations regarding verification, such as in Claim 1, is known.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon but is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be used to formulate a rejection if necessary: Bajaj et al (USPN 11064750), Wilcox (US Publication 2022/0087352), Oommen (US Publication 2025/0366544) directed to body scans to create data files for manufacturing apparel; Koyake (US Publication 2009/0064912) directed to ensuring pattern can physically be made.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRACE HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732