DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (2021/0280806).
Regarding Claim 1: Park teaches a display module, comprising: a display panel (fig. 1a) having a light exit side (side near WP in fig. 5) and a backlight side (side towards PCB in fig. 5) opposite to the light exit side (fig. 5), wherein the display panel includes a protective cover plate (ISL), a display substrate (PPL) and a heat dissipation film (section between PPL and RHL); the display substrate is located between the protective cover plate and the heat dissipation film (fig. 5), and the protective cover plate is located on a side of the display substrate facing the light exit side (fig. 5); the heat dissipation film includes an adhesive layer (AL6), at least one buffer layer (CVL) and at least one heat dissipation layer (RHL); the at least one buffer layer is located between the adhesive layer and the at least one heat dissipation layer (fig. 5), and the adhesive layer is located on a side of the at least one buffer layer proximate to the protective cover plate (fig. 5); a flexible circuit board (BA and AA2 sections of DM with the PCB in fig. 5), wherein the flexible circuit board includes a main body portion (BA, AA2), a neck portion (overlap portion of PCB) and a connection portion (far edge of PCB); the neck portion is located between the main body portion and the connection portion (fig. 5); an end of the main body portion away from the neck portion is connected to an edge of the display panel (figs. 2a-5); the connection portion, the neck portion and at least part of the main body portion are located on the backlight side of the display panel (fig. 5); and an adhesive structure (AL5 or AL11) located between the main body portion and the at least one heat dissipation layer (fig. 5), wherein at least part of the adhesive structure is located in an edge area of the main body portion proximate to the neck portion (fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 24: Park teaches A display apparatus, comprising the display module according to claim 1 (figs. 1a-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-7, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (2021/0280806).
Regarding Claim 2: Park teaches the adhesive structure includes a first adhesive structure (fig. 5); the first adhesive structure includes a first portion (AL5); the first portion is located in the edge area of the main body portion proximate to the neck portion (fig. 5); an extension direction of the neck portion is a first direction (fig. 5); but lacks a specific teaching of a ratio of a dimension of the first portion in the first direction to a dimension of the main body portion in the first direction is greater than or equal to 10% and less than or equal to 50%.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Park by having a ratio of a dimension of the first portion in the first direction to a dimension of the main body portion in the first direction is greater than or equal to 10% and less than or equal to 50% in order to allow for a proper coverage with the adhesive member to guarantee the components stay together while in use in order to stay within the standards of reliability so the computing components do not lose connection which could cause damage to the internal components requiring repair or replacement of the components. This can be accomplished merely by changing the size of the already disclosed components to the desired dimensions since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237.
Regarding Claim 3: Park teaches wherein a direction parallel to a display surface of the display panel and perpendicular to the first direction is a second direction (fig. 5); and at least one end of the first portion in the second direction extends beyond the neck portion (fig. 5); or a direction parallel to a display surface of the display panel and perpendicular to the first direction is a second direction: at least one end of the first portion in the second direction extends beyond the neck portion: and a dimension of the first portion in the second direction is greater than a dimension of the neck portion in the first direction.
Regarding Claim 5: Park lacks a specific teaching of wherein two ends of the first portion in the first direction are substantially flush with two ends of the edge area of the main body portion proximate to the neck portion in the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Park by having wherein two ends of the first portion in the first direction are substantially flush with two ends of the edge area of the main body portion proximate to the neck portion in the first direction in order to allow for a proper coverage with the adhesive member to guarantee the components stay together while in use in order to stay within the standards of reliability so the computing components do not lose connection which could cause damage to the internal components requiring repair or replacement of the components. This can be accomplished merely by relocating the already disclosed elements of the apparatus wherein it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding Claim 6: Park teaches wherein the first adhesive structure further includes a second portion (left side of AL5); the second portion is located on a side of the first portion away from the neck portion (fig. 5), and the second portion is connected to the first portion (fig. 5); but lacks a specific teaching of a ratio of a sum of dimensions of the first portion and the second portion in the first direction to the dimension of the main body portion in the first direction is greater than or equal to 50% and less than or equal to 90%; or the ratio of the sum of the dimensions of the first portion and the second portion in the first direction to the dimension of the main body portion in the first direction is equal to 100%.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Park by having a ratio of a sum of dimensions of the first portion and the second portion in the first direction to the dimension of the main body portion in the first direction is greater than or equal to 50% and less than or equal to 90%; or the ratio of the sum of the dimensions of the first portion and the second portion in the first direction to the dimension of the main body portion in the first direction is equal to 100% in order to allow for a proper coverage with the adhesive member to guarantee the components stay together while in use in order to stay within the standards of reliability so the computing components do not lose connection which could cause damage to the internal components requiring repair or replacement of the components. This can be accomplished merely by changing the size of the already disclosed components to the desired dimensions since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237.
Regarding Claim 7: Park teaches an orthographic projection of both the first portion and the second portion (fig. 5) on a display surface of the display panel (fig. 5) overlaps with an orthographic projection of the main body portion on the display surface of the display panel (fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 12: Park teaches wherein the main body portion (BA, AA2) includes a first side edge proximate to the neck portion (fig. 5); the first side edge includes a first line segment (fig. 2a), a second line segment (fig. 2a) and a third line segment (fig. 2a); the second line segment is connected to the neck portion (fig. 2a), and the first line segment and the third line segment are located on both sides of the second line segment (fig. 2a); an extension direction of the neck portion is a first direction (fig. 2a); a direction parallel to a display surface of the display panel and perpendicular to the first direction is a second direction (fig. 2a); and at least one of the first line segment and the third line segment extends in the second direction (fig. 2a), but lacks a specific teaching of the line segment having a length greater than or equal to 2 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Park by having the line segment having a length greater than or equal to 2 mm in order to allow for a proper coverage with the adhesive member to guarantee the components stay together while in use in order to stay within the standards of reliability so the computing components do not lose connection which could cause damage to the internal components requiring repair or replacement of the components. This can be accomplished merely by changing the size of the already disclosed components to the desired dimensions since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (2021/0280806) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Choi (2020/0022261).
Regarding Claim 8: Park lacks a specific teaching of the first adhesive structure further includes a third portion; and the third portion and the first portion are connected to constitute a frame-shaped structure by enclosing extending along an edge of the main body portion.
Choi teaches the first adhesive structure further includes a third portion (figs. 3F, 3I, 5A, and 5B); and the third portion and the first portion are connected to constitute a frame-shaped structure (figs. 3F, 3I, 5A, and 5B) by enclosing extending along an edge of the main body portion (figs. 3F, 3I, 5A, and 5B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Park by having the first adhesive structure further includes a third portion; and the third portion and the first portion are connected to constitute a frame-shaped structure by enclosing extending along an edge of the main body portion as disclosed by Choi in order to allow for a proper coverage with the adhesive member to guarantee the components stay together while in use in order to stay within the standards of reliability so the computing components do not lose connection which could cause damage to the internal components requiring repair or replacement of the components.
Regarding Claim 9: Park lacks a specific teaching of the adhesive structure further includes a second adhesive structure; the second adhesive structure is located inside the frame-shaped structure, and the second adhesive structure and the frame-shaped structure are spaced apart.
Choi teaches the adhesive structure further includes a second adhesive structure (figs. 3F, 3I, and 5a-5b); but lacks a specific teaching of the second adhesive structure is located inside the frame-shaped structure, and the second adhesive structure and the frame-shaped structure are spaced apart.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Park by having the adhesive structure further including a second adhesive structure as disclosed by Choi in order to allow for a proper coverage with the adhesive member to guarantee the components stay together while in use in order to stay within the standards of reliability so the computing components do not lose connection which could cause damage to the internal components requiring repair or replacement of the components.
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Park in view of Choi by having the second adhesive structure is located inside the frame-shaped structure, and the second adhesive structure and the frame-shaped structure are spaced apart in order to allow for a proper coverage with the adhesive member to guarantee the components stay together while in use in order to stay within the standards of reliability so the computing components do not lose connection which could cause damage to the internal components requiring repair or replacement of the components. This can be accomplished merely by relocating the already disclosed elements of the apparatus wherein it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding Claim 10: Park lacks a specific teaching of the adhesive structure further includes a third adhesive structure; and the third adhesive structure is located on a side of the first portion away from the neck portion, and the third adhesive structure and the first portion are spaced apart.
Choi teaches the adhesive structure further includes a third adhesive structure (figs. 5a-5b); and the third adhesive structure is located on a side of the first portion away from the neck portion (figs. 5a-5b), and the third adhesive structure and the first portion are spaced apart (figs. 5a-5b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Park by having the adhesive structure further includes a third adhesive structure; and the third adhesive structure is located on a side of the first portion away from the neck portion, and the third adhesive structure and the first portion are spaced apart as disclosed by Choi in order to allow for a proper coverage with the adhesive member to guarantee the components stay together while in use in order to stay within the standards of reliability so the computing components do not lose connection which could cause damage to the internal components requiring repair or replacement of the components.
Regarding Claim 11: Park lacks a specific teaching of the third adhesive structure includes a plurality of fourth portions, and the plurality of fourth portions are arranged at intervals in the first direction.
Choi teaches the third adhesive structure includes a plurality of fourth portions (figs. 5a-5b), and the plurality of fourth portions are arranged at intervals in the first direction (figs. 5a-5b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Park by having the third adhesive structure includes a plurality of fourth portions, and the plurality of fourth portions are arranged at intervals in the first direction as disclosed by Choi in order to allow for a proper coverage with the adhesive member to guarantee the components stay together while in use in order to stay within the standards of reliability so the computing components do not lose connection which could cause damage to the internal components requiring repair or replacement of the components.
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (2021/0280806) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Zhang (10,863,654).
Regarding Claim 13: Park teaches wherein the first line segment and the third line segment both extend in the second direction (fig. 2a); the first side edge further includes a fourth line segment (fig. 2a); but lacks a specific teaching of the fourth line segment is connected between the first line segment and the second line segment, and a middle portion of the fourth line segment protrudes toward a second side edge; the second side edge is an edge of the main body portion opposite to the first side edge; and the fourth line segment defines a groove structure, and a dimension of the groove structure in the second direction is greater than or equal to a dimension of the groove structure in the first direction; or the second line segment extends in the second direction: and an included angle between the first line segment and a side edge of the neck portion extending in the first direction is an obtuse angle.
Zhang teaches the fourth line segment (fig. 3) is connected between the first line segment and the second line segment (fig. 3), and a middle portion of the fourth line segment protrudes toward a second side edge (fig. 3); the second side edge is an edge of the main body portion opposite to the first side edge (fig. 3); and the fourth line segment defines a groove structure (fig. 3), and a dimension of the groove structure in the second direction is greater than or equal to a dimension of the groove structure in the first direction (fig. 3); or the second line segment extends in the second direction (fig. 3); and an included angle between the first line segment and a side edge of the neck portion extending in the first direction is an obtuse angle (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Park by having the fourth line segment is connected between the first line segment and the second line segment, and a middle portion of the fourth line segment protrudes toward a second side edge; the second side edge is an edge of the main body portion opposite to the first side edge; and the fourth line segment defines a groove structure, and a dimension of the groove structure in the second direction is greater than or equal to a dimension of the groove structure in the first direction; or the second line segment extends in the second direction: and an included angle between the first line segment and a side edge of the neck portion extending in the first direction is an obtuse angle as disclosed by Zhan in order to allow for full coverage of the circuit board section with the adhesive section which decreases the chances of the elements coming apart which could cause damage to the components or for loss of connection and in turn helps the device work more efficiently.
Regarding Claim 15: Park lacks a specific teaching of the neck portion including a transition portion proximate to the main body portion; and the transition portion includes a mesh structure or the neck portion includes a transition portion proximate to the main body portion; the transition portion includes a mesh structure; the transition portion includes a first transition portion and a second transition portion: the first transition portion is closer to the main body portion than the second transition portion; and a width of the first transition portion gradually decreases in a first direction: the first direction is an extension direction of the neck portion.
Zhang teaches a transition portion (fig. 3) proximate to the main body portion (fig. 3); or the neck portion includes a transition portion (fig. 3) proximate to the main body portion (fig. 3); the transition portion includes a first transition portion (fig. 3) and a second transition portion (fig. 3); the first transition portion is closer to the main body portion than the second transition portion (fig. 3); and a width of the first transition portion gradually decreases in a first direction (fig. 3); the first direction is an extension direction of the neck portion (fig. 3), but lacks a specific teaching of the transition portion including a mesh structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Park by having a transition portion proximate to the main body portion; or the neck portion includes a transition portion proximate to the main body portion; the transition portion includes a first transition portion and a second transition portion: the first transition portion is closer to the main body portion than the second transition portion; and a width of the first transition portion gradually decreases in a first direction: the first direction is an extension direction of the neck portion in order to allow for full coverage of the circuit board section with the adhesive section which decreases the chances of the elements coming apart which could cause damage to the components or for loss of connection and in turn helps the device work more efficiently.
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Park in view of Zhang by having the transition portion includes a mesh structure in order to allow for full coverage of the circuit board section with the adhesive section which decreases the chances of the elements coming apart which could cause damage to the components or for loss of connection and in turn helps the device work more efficiently. This would be accomplished merely by choosing the correct type of material for the desired effect within the apparatus wherein it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (2021/0280806) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Nishimura (2019/0006444).
Regarding Claim 17: Park teaches the at least one buffer layer includes a first buffer layer (BRL) and a second buffer layer (CUL); the first buffer layer is located between the adhesive layer and the second buffer layer (fig. 5); an elastic modulus of the second buffer layer is greater than an elastic modulus of the first buffer layer (paragraphs [0085]-[0087]); but lacks a specific teaching of the at least one heat dissipation layer includes a first heat dissipation layer and a second heat dissipation layer, and the second heat dissipation layer is located on a side of the first heat dissipation layer away from the adhesive layer.
Nishimura the at least one heat dissipation layer includes a first heat dissipation layer (43) and a second heat dissipation layer (45), and the second heat dissipation layer is located on a side of the first heat dissipation layer away from the adhesive layer (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Park by having at least one heat dissipation layer includes a first heat dissipation layer and a second heat dissipation layer, and the second heat dissipation layer is located on a side of the first heat dissipation layer away from the adhesive layer in order to allow for better more quality heat dissipation of the apparatus in order to decrease the chances of the components overheating which could cause damage to the system and in turn require repair or replacement of damaged components.
Claim(s) 18-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (2021/0280806) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Li (2022/0007513).
Regarding Claim 18: Park teaches further comprising a shielding film (fig. 5), wherein the shielding film (CTL) is located on a side of the main body portion away from the display panel (fig. 5); an orthographic projection of the shielding film on a display surface of the display panel (fig. 5) covers an orthographic projection of the main body portion on the display surface of the display panel (fig. 5); but lacks a specific teaching of at least one edge of the orthographic projection of the shielding film on the display surface of the display panel is located outside the orthographic projection of the main body portion on the display surface of the display panel.
Li teaches at least one edge of the orthographic projection of the shielding film on the display surface of the display panel (figs. 4 and 7-8) is located outside the orthographic projection of the main body portion on the display surface of the display panel (figs. 4 and 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Park by having at least one edge of the orthographic projection of the shielding film on the display surface of the display panel is located outside the orthographic projection of the main body portion on the display surface of the display panel as disclosed by Li in order to properly shield the internal components of the apparatus to decrease the chances of damage do the components due to electromagnetic interference which can cause a problem with the connection between components of the device or the overall use of the device and can lead to damage to the components requiring repair or replacement of the damaged components.
Regarding Claim 19: Park teaches wherein the orthographic projection of the shielding film on the display surface of the display panel (fig. 5) includes a first edge proximate to the neck portion (fig. 5); or the orthographic projection of the shielding film on the display surface of the display panel (fig. 5) includes a first edge proximate to the neck portion (fig. 5) and a second edge (fig. 5); the second edge and the first edge are connected and have an obtuse angle therebetween (fig. 5); but lacks a specific teaching of the first edge is located outside the orthographic projection of the main body portion on the display surface of the display panel; or the first edge is located outside the orthographic projection of the main body portion on the display surface of the display panel: and the second edge is located outside the orthographic projection of the main body portion on the display surface of the display panel.
Li teaches the first edge is located outside the orthographic projection of the main body portion on the display surface of the display panel (figs. 4 and 7-8); or the first edge is located outside the orthographic projection of the main body portion on the display surface of the display panel (figs. 4 and 7-8): and the second edge is located outside the orthographic projection of the main body portion on the display surface of the display panel (figs. 4 and 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Park by having the first edge is located outside the orthographic projection of the main body portion on the display surface of the display panel; or the first edge is located outside the orthographic projection of the main body portion on the display surface of the display panel: and the second edge is located outside the orthographic projection of the main body portion on the display surface of the display panel as disclosed by Li in order to properly shield the internal components of the apparatus to decrease the chances of damage do the components due to electromagnetic interference which can cause a problem with the connection between components of the device or the overall use of the device and can lead to damage to the components requiring repair or replacement of the damaged components.
Regarding Claim 21: Park teaches wherein the shielding film includes a first insulating layer (ITP1), a shielding layer (CTL) and a second insulating layer (ITP2); the shielding layer is located between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer (fig. 5), and the first insulating layer is closer to the main body portion than the shielding layer (fig. 5); and a thickness of the second insulating layer is greater than or equal to a thickness of the first insulating layer (fig. 5).
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (2021/0280806) in further view of Li (2022/0007513) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Kapusta (2010/0108370).
Regarding Claim 22: Park teaches further comprising a driver chip (DDV), wherein the driver chip is located on the backlight side of the display panel (fig. 5), and the driver chip is used to drive the display panel (Paragraph [0039]); but lacks a specific teaching of the first insulating layer includes a first via hole; the driver chip is in contact with the shielding layer through the first via hole; and in a direction parallel to the display surface of the display panel, a portion of the shielding layer protrudes from the main body portion and the first insulating layer, so that the portion of the shielding layer is to be in contact with the heat dissipation film.
Kapusta teaches the first insulating layer (figs. 2-4) includes a first via hole (figs. 2-4); the driver chip is in contact with the shielding layer through the first via hole (figs. 2-4); and in a direction parallel to the display surface of the display panel (figs. 2-4), a portion of the shielding layer protrudes from the main body portion and the first insulating layer (figs. 2-4), so that the portion of the shielding layer is to be in contact with the heat dissipation film (figs. 2-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Park by having the first insulating layer includes a first via hole; the driver chip is in contact with the shielding layer through the first via hole; and in a direction parallel to the display surface of the display panel, a portion of the shielding layer protrudes from the main body portion and the first insulating layer, so that the portion of the shielding layer is to be in contact with the heat dissipation film as disclosed by Kapusta in order to properly shield the internal components of the apparatus to decrease the chances of damage do the components due to electromagnetic interference which can cause a problem with the connection between components of the device or the overall use of the device and can lead to damage to the components requiring repair or replacement of the damaged components.
Regarding Claim 23: Park lacks a specific teaching of a thermally conductive structure, wherein the thermally conductive structure includes a first thermally conductive structure and a second thermally conductive structure; the driver chip is in contact with the shielding layer through the first thermally conductive structure; and the shielding layer is in contact with the heat dissipation film through the second thermally conductive structure.
Kapusta teaches a thermally conductive structure (figs. 2-4), wherein the thermally conductive structure includes a first thermally conductive structure (53) and a second thermally conductive structure (55); the driver chip (figs. 2-4) is in contact with the shielding layer through the first thermally conductive structure (figs. 2-4); and the shielding layer (26) is in contact with the heat dissipation film (46) through the second thermally conductive structure (figs. 2-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Park by having a thermally conductive structure, wherein the thermally conductive structure includes a first thermally conductive structure and a second thermally conductive structure; the driver chip is in contact with the shielding layer through the first thermally conductive structure; and the shielding layer is in contact with the heat dissipation film through the second thermally conductive structure as disclosed by Kapusta in order to properly shield the internal components of the apparatus to decrease the chances of damage do the components due to electromagnetic interference which can cause a problem with the connection between components of the device or the overall use of the device and can lead to damage to the components requiring repair or replacement of the damaged components.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841