DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted 7/29/2024 and 1/02/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in part “when the radio wave reflector is in a flat state and is caused to reflect a radio wave”. This recitation is indefinite because the radio wave reflector can be in a state where it is never flat which renders all of the subsequent claims unnecessary. The term “when” is interpreted to read as a conditional statement. If the radio wave reflector is not flat then none of the technical features following this statement are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekisui – of record and disclosed by IDS – “Developed transparent flexible radio wave reflection film for 5G communication”.
Regarding claim 1 Sekisui discloses a radio wave reflector for reflecting radio waves, wherein when the radio wave reflector is in a flat state and is caused to reflect a radio wave at an incident angle of an incident wave of 15 degrees or more and 75 degrees or less, the intensity of a reflective wave as specular reflection of the incident wave is −30 dB or more relative to the intensity of the incident wave at a frequency, the change rate of the surface resistivity of the radio wave reflector curved along a curved surface with a curvature radius of 200 mm with respect to the surface resistivity of the radio wave reflector in a flat state is −10% or more and 10% or less, and the radio wave reflector has a flexural modulus of 0.05 GPa or more and 4 GPa or less (Sekisui discloses a transparent flexible thin film reflector made of 4 layers which is used to reflect radio waves ).
Regarding claim 2 Sekisui further discloses the radio wave reflector according to claim 1, wherein the incident wave has any frequency of 2 GHz or more and 300 GHz or less (e.g., page 1, point 2).
Regarding claim 3 Sekisui does not explicitly disclose or require the radio wave reflector according to claim 1, which has a Young's modulus of 0.01 GPa or more and 80 GPa or less.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the radio wave reflector according to claim 1, which has a Young's modulus of 0.01 GPa or more and 80 GPa or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
Regarding claim 4 Sekisui does not explicitly disclose or require the radio wave reflector according to claim 1, which has a thickness of 0.01 mm or more and 0.5 mm or less.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to the radio wave reflector according to claim 1, which has a thickness of 0.01 mm or more and 0.5 mm or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
Regarding claim 5 Sekisui further discloses the radio wave reflector according to claim 1, which comprises at least a conductive thin film layer comprising an electric conductor for reflecting radio waves, and a substrate layer comprising a substrate and laminated to the conductive thin film layer (e.g., page 1, point 2).
Regarding claim 6 Sekisui further discloses the radio wave reflector according to claim 5, wherein the radio wave reflector comprises the conductive thin film layer, the substrate layer, a protective layer comprising a protective material for protecting the conductive thin film layer, and an adhesive layer comprising an adhesive for bonding the conductive thin film layer and the layer comprising the protective material, and the substrate layer, the conductive thin film layer, the adhesive layer, and the protective layer are laminated in this order (e.g., page 1, point 2).
Regarding claim 7 Sekisui further discloses the radio wave reflector according to claim 1, wherein the surface resistivity of the radio wave reflector in a flat state is 0.003 Ω/□ or more and 10 Ω/□ or less (the examiner notes claims 1 and 7 are conditional statements that only apply if the radio wave reflector is in a flat state).
Regarding claim 8 Sekisui further discloses the radio wave reflector according to claim 6, wherein the protective layer is subjected to anti-glare treatment or anti-reflection treatment (the examiner notes claims 1 and 7 are conditional statements that only apply if the radio wave reflector is in a flat state).
Regarding claim 9 Sekisui further discloses a building material comprising the radio wave reflector of claim 1 (e.g., page 1, point 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bridgestone (EP 0186517) – of record and disclosed by IDS filed 1/02/2026.
Regarding claim 1 Bridgestone discloses a radio wave reflector for reflecting radio waves, wherein when the radio wave reflector is in a flat state and is caused to reflect a radio wave at an incident angle of an incident wave of 15 degrees or more and 75 degrees or less, the intensity of a reflective wave as specular reflection of the incident wave is −30 dB or more relative to the intensity of the incident wave at a frequency, the change rate of the surface resistivity of the radio wave reflector curved along a curved surface with a curvature radius of 200 mm with respect to the surface resistivity of the radio wave reflector in a flat state is −10% or more and 10% or less, and the radio wave reflector has a flexural modulus of 0.05 GPa or more and 4 GPa or less (Bridgestone discloses a transparent flexible thin film reflector made of 4 layers which is used to reflect radio waves. (Since the reflector is parabolic it is not flat and thus does not require the features claimed after “when the radio wave reflector is in a flat state”; see also page 1 lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 2 Bridgestone further discloses or the radio wave reflector according to claim 1, wherein the incident wave has any frequency of 2 GHz or more and 300 GHz or less (e.g., page 1, line 24 – page 2 line 1).
Regarding claim 3 Bridgestone does not explicitly disclose or require the radio wave reflector according to claim 1, which has a Young's modulus of 0.01 GPa or more and 80 GPa or less.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the radio wave reflector according to claim 1, which has a Young's modulus of 0.01 GPa or more and 80 GPa or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
Regarding claim 4 Bridgestone does not explicitly disclose or require the radio wave reflector according to claim 1, which has a thickness of 0.01 mm or more and 0.5 mm or less (e.g., page 5, see also examples 1 and 2 for some discussion on thicknesses).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to the radio wave reflector according to claim 1, which has a thickness of 0.01 mm or more and 0.5 mm or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
Regarding claim 5 Bridgestone further discloses the radio wave reflector according to claim 1, which comprises at least a conductive thin film layer comprising an electric conductor for reflecting radio waves, and a substrate layer comprising a substrate and laminated to the conductive thin film layer (e.g., Fig. 1, at 12, 16, 18, 20).
Regarding claim 6 Bridgestone further discloses the radio wave reflector according to claim 5, wherein the radio wave reflector comprises the conductive thin film layer, the substrate layer, a protective layer comprising a protective material for protecting the conductive thin film layer, and an adhesive layer comprising an adhesive for bonding the conductive thin film layer and the layer comprising the protective material, and the substrate layer, the conductive thin film layer, the adhesive layer, and the protective layer are laminated in this order (e.g., Fig. 1, at 12, 16, 18, 20).
Regarding claim 7 Bridgestone further discloses the radio wave reflector according to claim 1, wherein the surface resistivity of the radio wave reflector in a flat state is 0.003 Ω/□ or more and 10 Ω/□ or less (the examiner notes claims 1 and 7 are conditional statements that only apply if the radio wave reflector is in a flat state).
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 1/02/2026 prompted the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The IDS filed 1/02/2026 includes an International Search Report (ISR) that contains additional references and analysis considered highly relevant to the current application. The Examiner suggests an interview if it will help advance prosecution.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
DAVID E. LOTTER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/DAVID E LOTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845