CTNF 18/834,130 CTNF 91742 DETAILED ACTION This office action is a response to the application filed 29 July 2024 as a national entry of PCT/CN2022/080827 filed 15 March 2022, wherein claims 1-30 are pending and ready for examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 29 July 2024 and 8 December 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4-16, 18-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al. (US 2024/0098526 A1), hereafter referred Matsumura . Regarding claim 1 , Matsumura teaches an apparatus for communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory (Matsumura, Fig. 10, [0317]-[0325]; the base station and the user terminal may be formed as a computer apparatus that includes a processor, a memory, and a communication apparatus, where the processor is coupled to the memory and executes a program stored in memory and the communication apparatus may include the transmitting/receiving antenna used to communicate with a wireless network) , the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from a network entity associated with a set of transmission reception points (TRPs), a first set of beam failure detection (BFD) reference signal (RS) (BFD RS), each BFD RS in the first set of BFD RS correspond with one TRP in the set of TRPs (Matsumura, Fig. 4, [0196]-[0205]; a plurality of BFD-RSs in a BFD-RS set corresponding to a TRP may be included with a CORESET and received by the UE, where in the example illustrated by Fig. 4, CORESET #1 is configured for TRP #1, where BFD-RS set #1 including the BFD-RS #a is associated with TRP #1) , the first set of BFD RS being received based on radio resource control (RRC), a first medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or derived based on downlink control information (DCI) (Matsumura, [0157]; in a case where the BFD-RS is explicitly configured by the RRC) ; and receive, from the network entity, a second MAC-CE indicating a second set of BFD RS, each BFD RS in the second set of BFD RS correspond with the one TRP in set of TRPs (Matsumura, Fig. 4, [0196]-[0205]; the UE may receive an MAC CE and then update the BFD-RS based on the MAC CE, where in the example illustrated by Fig. 4, the BFD-RS automatic updates to BFD-RS #d for TRP #1 from BFD-RS #a following receiving the MAC CE) . Regarding claim 15 , Matsumura teaches an apparatus for communication at a network entity associated with a set of transmission reception points (TRPs), comprising: memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory (Matsumura, Fig. 10, [0317]-[0325]; the base station and the user terminal may be formed as a computer apparatus that includes a processor, a memory, and a communication apparatus, where the processor is coupled to the memory and executes a program stored in memory and the communication apparatus may include the transmitting/receiving antenna used to communicate with a wireless network) , the at least one processor is configured to: transmit, for a user equipment (UE), a first set of beam failure detection (BFD) reference signal (RS) (BFD RS), each BFD RS in the first set of BFD RS correspond with one TRP in the set of TRPs (Matsumura, Fig. 4, [0196]-[0205]; a plurality of BFD-RSs in a BFD-RS set corresponding to a TRP may be included with a CORESET and received by the UE, where in the example illustrated by Fig. 4, CORESET #1 is configured for TRP #1, where BFD-RS set #1 including the BFD-RS #a is associated with TRP #1) , the first set of BFD RS being received based on radio resource control (RRC), a first medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or derived based on downlink control information (DCI) (Matsumura, [0157]; in a case where the BFD-RS is explicitly configured by the RRC) ; and transmit, a second MAC-CE indicating a second set of BFD RS, each BFD RS in the second set of BFD RS correspond with the one TRP in set of TRPs (Matsumura, Fig. 4, [0196]-[0205]; the UE may receive an MAC CE and then update the BFD-RS based on the MAC CE, where in the example illustrated by Fig. 4, the BFD-RS automatic updates to BFD-RS #d for TRP #1 from BFD-RS #a following receiving the MAC CE) . Regarding claim 27 , Matsumura teaches a method for communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network entity associated with a set of transmission reception points (TRPs), a first set of beam failure detection (BFD) reference signal (RS) (BFD RS), each BFD RS in the first set of BFD RS correspond with one TRP in the set of TRPs (Matsumura, Fig. 4, [0196]-[0205]; a plurality of BFD-RSs in a BFD-RS set corresponding to a TRP may be included with a CORESET and received by the UE, where in the example illustrated by Fig. 4, CORESET #1 is configured for TRP #1, where BFD-RS set #1 including the BFD-RS #a is associated with TRP #1) , the first set of BFD RS being received based on radio resource control (RRC), a first medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or derived based on downlink control information (DCI) (Matsumura, [0157]; in a case where the BFD-RS is explicitly configured by the RRC) ; and receiving, from the network entity, a second MAC-CE indicating a second set of BFD RS, each BFD RS in the second set of BFD RS correspond with the one TRP in set of TRPs (Matsumura, Fig. 4, [0196]-[0205]; the UE may receive an MAC CE and then update the BFD-RS based on the MAC CE, where in the example illustrated by Fig. 4, the BFD-RS automatic updates to BFD-RS #d for TRP #1 from BFD-RS #a following receiving the MAC CE) . Regarding claim 30 , Matsumura teaches a method for communication at a network entity associated with a set of transmission reception points (TRPs), comprising: transmitting, for a user equipment (UE), a first set of beam failure detection (BFD) reference signal (RS) (BFD RS), each BFD RS in the first set of BFD RS correspond with one TRP in the set of TRPs (Matsumura, Fig. 4, [0196]-[0205]; a plurality of BFD-RSs in a BFD-RS set corresponding to a TRP may be included with a CORESET and received by the UE, where in the example illustrated by Fig. 4, CORESET #1 is configured for TRP #1, where BFD-RS set #1 including the BFD-RS #a is associated with TRP #1) , the first set of BFD RS being received based on radio resource control (RRC), a first medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or derived based on downlink control information (DCI) (Matsumura, [0157]; in a case where the BFD-RS is explicitly configured by the RRC) ; and transmitting, a second MAC-CE indicating a second set of BFD RS, each BFD RS in the second set of BFD RS correspond with the one TRP in set of TRPs (Matsumura, Fig. 4, [0196]-[0205]; the UE may receive an MAC CE and then update the BFD-RS based on the MAC CE, where in the example illustrated by Fig. 4, the BFD-RS automatic updates to BFD-RS #d for TRP #1 from BFD-RS #a following receiving the MAC CE) . Regarding claims 2, 16, and 28 , Matsumura teaches the apparatus of claim 1, the apparatus of claim 15, and the method of claim 27 above. Further, Matsumura teaches wherein the second MAC-CE is associated with a cell identifier (ID) associated with the second set of BFD RS and a bandwidth part (BWP) ID (Matsumura, [0217]-[0220]; MAC CE includes one or two BFD-RS fields, one serving cell ID field, and one BWP ID field) . Regarding claims 4 and 18 , Matsumura teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 15 above. Further, Matsumura teaches wherein the second MAC-CE further indicates at least one of a cell ID or a bandwidth part (BWP) ID for each BFD RS in the second set of BFD RS (Matsumura, [0217]-[0220]; MAC CE includes one or two BFD-RS fields, one serving cell ID field, and one BWP ID field) . Regarding claims 5 and 19 , Matsumura teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 15 above. Further, Matsumura teaches wherein the second MAC-CE further indicates a local resource identifier (ID) from a configured BFD RS pool as BFD RS ID for each BFD RS in the second set of BFD RS (Matsumura, [0217]-[0220]; MAC CE includes a first and second BFD-RS ID fields, one serving cell ID field, and one BWP ID field) . Regarding claim 6 , Matsumura teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above. Further, Matsumura teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: monitor for the second set of BFD RS instead of the first set of BFD RS in response to reception of the second MAC-CE (Matsumura, [0140]-[0152]; the UE monitors PDCCHs in all CORESETs on the SCell specified by the MAC CE with the same antenna port QCL parameters associated with the corresponding index q, where the set q is an implicit BFD-RS) . Regarding claim 7 , Matsumura teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above. Further, Matsumura teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit, to the network entity based on receiving the second MAC-CE, an acknowledgment (ACK); and apply, after a time period following transmission of the ACK, the second set of BFD RS (Matsumura, [0082]-[0085]; an active TCI pool may be configured by the MAC CE where the UE transmits HARQ-ACK information on the PUCCH/PUSCH and the timing of updating the common beam is after the UE transmits the HARQ-ACK information) . Regarding claims 8 and 20 , Matsumura teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 15 above. Further, Matsumura teaches wherein the second MAC-CE is associated with multiple cells associated with the network entity (Matsumura, [0222]; MAC CE includes one or more sets, where each set includes one serving cell ID field, and one or more sets indicate different serving cell IDs) . Regarding claims 9 and 21 , Matsumura teaches the apparatus of claim 8 and the apparatus of claim 20 above. Further, Matsumura teaches wherein the second MAC-CE further indicates that the second set of BFD RS is associated with a one cell in the multiple cells associated with the network entity (Matsumura, [0222]; MAC CE includes one or more sets, where each set includes one BFD-RS field, one serving cell ID field, and one BWP ID field and one or more sets indicate different serving cell IDs) . Regarding claims 10 and 22 , Matsumura teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 15 above. Further, Matsumura teaches wherein the second MAC-CE is associated with a single cell associated with the network entity (Matsumura, [0217]-[0220]; MAC CE includes one or two BFD-RS fields, one serving cell ID field, and one BWP ID field) . Regarding claims 11 and 23 , Matsumura teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 15 above. Further, Matsumura teaches wherein the second MAC-CE is associated with a candidate RS set indication representing a candidate RS set associated with the second set of BFD RS or one or more candidate RS identifiers (IDs), the candidate RS set indication being included in the second MAC-CE or a third MAC-CE (Matsumura, [0217]-[0220]; MAC CE includes one or two BFD-RS fields, one serving cell ID field, and one BWP ID field, where Fig. 6A illustrates the MAC CE field includes a T field, a serving cell ID field, a BWP ID field, a first R field, a first BFD-RS ID, and a second BFD-RS ID field, where each BFD-RS field may be accompanied with a flag for identifying whether a CSI-RS resource ID or an SSB ID is indicated) . Regarding claims 12 and 24 , Matsumura teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 15 above. Further, Matsumura teaches wherein the second MAC-CE is associated with a candidate RS indication representing whether each candidate RS in a set of candidate RS is a channel status information (CSI) reference signal (CSI RS) or a synchronization signal block (SSB) or representing candidate RS identifier (ID) associated with each candidate RS in the set of candidate RS, the candidate RS indication being included in the second MAC-CE or a third MAC-CE (Matsumura, [0217]-[0220]; MAC CE includes one or two BFD-RS fields, one serving cell ID field, and one BWP ID field, where Fig. 6A illustrates the MAC CE field includes a T field, a serving cell ID field, a BWP ID field, a first R field, a first BFD-RS ID, and a second BFD-RS ID field, where each BFD-RS field may be accompanied with a flag for identifying whether a CSI-RS resource ID or an SSB ID is indicated) . Regarding claims 13 and 25 , Matsumura teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 15 above. Further, Matsumura teaches wherein the second MAC-CE further indicates an existence of a candidate RS set associated with a cell associated with the second set of BFD RS (Matsumura, [0217]-[0220]; MAC CE includes one or two BFD-RS fields, one serving cell ID field, and one BWP ID field, where Fig. 6A illustrates the MAC CE field includes a T field, a serving cell ID field, a BWP ID field, a first R field, a first BFD-RS ID, and a second BFD-RS ID field, where each BFD-RS field may be accompanied with a flag for identifying whether a CSI-RS resource ID or an SSB ID is indicated) . Regarding claims 14 and 26 , Matsumura teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 15 above. Further, Matsumura teaches further comprising at least one of a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor (Matsumura, Fig. 10, [0317]-[0325]; the base station and the user terminal may be formed as a computer apparatus that includes a processor, a memory, and a communication apparatus, where the processor is coupled to the memory and executes a program stored in memory and the communication apparatus may include the transmitting/receiving antenna used to communicate with a wireless network) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 3, 17, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura as applied to claim s 1, 15, and 27 above, and further in view of Wei et al. (US 2020/0267797 A1), hereafter referred Wei . Regarding claims 3, 17, and 29 , Matsumura teaches the apparatus of claim 1, the apparatus of claim 15, and the method of claim 27 above. Matsumura does not expressly teach wherein the second MAC-CE is associated with one or more beam failure recovery (BFR) RS set identifiers (IDs). However, Wei teaches wherein the second MAC-CE is associated with one or more beam failure recovery (BFR) RS set identifiers (IDs) (Wei, [0042]-[0044]; the MAC CE for BFR (e.g. BFRQ MAC CE) may include an RS Identity (ID) field) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Matsumura to include the above recited limitations as taught by Wei in order to support an improved BFR procedure for UEs operating on multiple serving cells (Wei, [0004]-[0005]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RODRICK MAK whose telephone number is (571)270-0284. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9:30 am - 5:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached at 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /R.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2416 /NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/834,130 Page 2 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/834,130 Page 3 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/834,130 Page 4 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/834,130 Page 5 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/834,130 Page 6 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/834,130 Page 7 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/834,130 Page 8 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/834,130 Page 9 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/834,130 Page 10 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/834,130 Page 11 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/834,130 Page 12 Art Unit: 2416