Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshimura (US 20060165335 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshimura (in fig. 25) discloses a shoe (9) for hydrodynamic bearing configured to be placed in contact with a lubricating fluid,
said shoe (9) comprising:
a base (9a) made of metallic material (para. [0060], steel);
a coating (9b, 9g) made of insulating material coupled to said base (9a, para. [0060] discloses that 9b is made of PTFE and para. [0103] disclose that 9g is made out of Teflon);
a temperature probe (9d and 13);
wherein said probe (9d and 13) comprises a temperature sensor (13) placed inside said coating (9b, 9g), the temperature sensor (13) being completely immersed within the coating (9b, 9g, the temperature sensor is under or below the outer surface of 9b and covered on the other side by 9g and is thus considered "immersed", see remarks below) and a conducting wire (9d) extending between a first end connected to said temperature sensor (13) and a second end facing outside said coating (9b, 9g) and configured to be in contact with said lubricating fluid (para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshimura discloses the shoe (9) according to claim 1, wherein said coating (9b, 9g) comprises a first portion (9g) connected to the base (9a) and a second portion (9b) placed on the first portion (9g) and configured to contact the lubricating fluid; said temperature sensor (tip of 13) being interposed between said first portion (9g) and said second portion (9b) or being immersed in said first portion (9g), said conducting wire (9d) being at least partially surrounded by the second portion (9b).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshimura discloses the shoe (9) according to claim 2, wherein said first portion (9g) and said second portion (9b) are made of the same material (para. [0060] and [0103] discloses 9b is made out of PTFE and 9g is made out of Teflon; however; Teflon and PTFE is the same. Teflon is a brand name for PTFE.)
Regarding claim 7, Yoshimura discloses the shoe (9) according to claim 2, wherein at least one of said first portion (9g) and said second portion (9b) comprises PEEK and/or PTFE (para. [0060] discloses that 9b is made of PTFE and para. [0103] disclose that 9g is made out of Teflon, which are the both PTFE);
Regarding claim 8, Yoshimura discloses (in fig. 1) a bearing (fig. 1) comprising the shoe (9) according to claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 9-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not disclose nor render obvious the combination set forth in claims 3.
The prior art of record does not disclose nor render obvious the shoe comprising said second portion being deposited in the form of a layer on said first portion within and outside said groove in combination with the other claim limitations.
Response to Arguments
With regards to the drawing objections, applicant amendments have overcome the previously raised issue.
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections, applicant amendments have overcome the previously raised issue.
Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 8-10, Applicant is arguing that Yoshimura does not teach or suggest a temperature sensor placed inside said coating, the temperature sensor being completely immersed with the coating, as recited in claim 1. However, the temperature sensor 13 is under or below the outer surface of 9b and covered on the other side by 9g and is thus considered "immersed.”
Fig. 25 of Yoshimura is similar to figs. 2-3 of the instant application. In Yoshimura fig. 25, the temperature sensor 13 is covered by the coating 9b, 9g and it is attached to the similar component acting as a conducting wire 9d. Similarly, in the instant application, the temperature sensor 5 is covered by a coating and attached to a conducting wire 6; where the conducting wire can be its own component like 9d of Yoshimura. As a result, Yoshimura would have a similar structure to the instant application.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIMEE TRAN NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3617
/JOHN OLSZEWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3617