DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “valve connected to a feeler” (claim 9) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the term "preferably" in lines 5 (“preferably coplanar to a work table”) and 13 (“preferably relative to a horizontal axis”) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang CN 201300419 Y (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim1 , Wang discloses a device adapted to handle flat elements (11) for a printing machine (intended use), of the type adapted to be positioned at the inlet or at the outlet of the printing machine, or both, said device comprising:
a supporting structure, defining a supporting surface (9) substantially parallel and preferably coplanar to a work table of the printing machine, adapted to accommodate a flat element (11) in a position to be able to be arranged at the inlet to the printing machine for the printing process or a flat element at the outlet from the printing machine after the printing process; and
handling means (10, 2, and 8) configured to move said flat element at least between the supporting surface and a loading or unloading position;
wherein said handling means comprise at least one arm (8, shown in FIG. 1), connected to the supporting structure, comprising articulated elements and provided with pick-up means (2, 10) of the flat element, wherein said arm is configured to rotate the flat element, preferably relative to a horizontal axis, parallel to the supporting surface.
Note: As best understood, claim 1 does not positively recite a printing machine and therefore the limitations of the printing machine (including “work table”) are not part of the claimed device.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the arm is connected to a movable support (mobile structure having wheels), which can move along a direction substantially horizontal, or parallel, to the ground.
Regarding claim 6, wherein each arm comprises a manipulating arm (2 or 8) to which the pick-up means are rotatably connected.
Regarding claim 7,wherein said pick-up means comprise a support arm (2) and a plurality of vacuum suction cups (10) mounted on said support arm.
Regarding claim 8, wherein said pick-up means comprise at least two assemblies of suction cups, the suction cups of each assembly being arranged aligned along respective staggered pick-up surfaces.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
Wang teaches the claimed invention except wherein said suction cups are provided with a valve connected to a feeler adapted to open the air suction passage only when these are in contact with a surface of the flat element so that said feeler is activated. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange a valve connected to a feeler, since the examiner takes official notice that it was commonly known to provide a valve and feeler structure in order to properly ensure timing of suction to the suction cups.
Claims 1, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallucci in view of Wang.
Regarding claim 1, 10, and 11, Gallucci teaches a device (turning over apparatus 1) adapted handle flat elements (100) arranged at an inlet or outlet of a printing machine ([0061]). Gallucci does not explicitly teach the device comprising:
a supporting structure, defining a supporting surface substantially parallel and preferably coplanar to a work table of the printing machine, adapted to accommodate a flat element in a position to be able to be arranged at the inlet to the printing machine for the printing process or a flat element at the outlet from the printing machine after the printing process; and
handling means configured to move said flat element at least between the supporting surface and a loading or unloading position;
wherein said handling means comprise at least one arm, connected to the supporting structure, comprising articulated elements and provided with pick-up means of the flat element, wherein said arm is configured to rotate the flat element, preferably relative to a horizontal axis, parallel to the supporting surface.
Wang teaches a device comprising:
a supporting structure, defining a supporting surface (9) substantially parallel and preferably coplanar to a work table of the printing machine, adapted to accommodate a flat element (11) in a position to be able to be arranged at the inlet to the printing machine for the printing process or a flat element at the outlet from the printing machine after the printing process; and
handling means (10, 2, and 8) configured to move said flat element at least between the supporting surface and a loading or unloading position;
wherein said handling means comprise at least one arm (8, shown in FIG. 1), connected to the supporting structure, comprising articulated elements and provided with pick-up means (2, 10) of the flat element, wherein said arm is configured to rotate the flat element, preferably relative to a horizontal axis, parallel to the supporting surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute Gallucci’s device with the device of Wang in order to achieve the same predictable result of overturning a flat element.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LUIS A GONZALEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653