DETAILED ACTON
This Action is responsive to the Application filed on 7/29/2024. Claims 1-11, 13-14, 16-22 are pending in the case. Claims 12 and 15 have been canceled.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 14 recites a “computer readable storage medium” storing instructions that perform various functions. In the Specification of the present application, the “computer readable storage medium” is expressly defined as including transmission media (see Paragraph 0109, where the computer readable storage medium includes non-statutory medium: “optical, electromagnetic, infrared”). Thus, the broadest, reasonable interpretation of “computer readable storage medium” encompasses nonstatutory subject matter (transmission media) that is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Accordingly, Claim 14 fails to recite statutory subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 13-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thall et al. (US 20210136025, hereinafter Thall) in view of Dong et al. (US 20220214800 A1, hereinafter Dong).
As to independent claim 1, Thall teaches an interaction method, comprising:
receiving a first trigger operation acting with webpage in view [0095] C1.2 Page activity feed in bottom sheet showing discussion about this page in context with live web [0096] C1.3 Body of a post [0097] C1.4 Avatar of person who has made a post [0098] C1.5 # of posts on this URL. [0099] C1.6 Handle to slide up or down bottom sheet [0100]);
switching a current page from the personal homepage to an object display page and displaying an object received by the target user on the object display page, in response to the first trigger operation (FIG. 10, C2.2 Page activity will bottom sheet pulled all the way up revealing a series of posts a user can scroll through [0106] C2.3 Handle to slide up or down bottom sheet [0107]).
Thall does not appear to expressly teach receiving a first trigger operation acting on a personal homepage of a target user
Dong teaches receiving a first trigger operation acting on a target GUI (“FIG. 9A to FIG. 9D are a schematic diagram in which the user enters a left-to-right pan (pan) gesture on the child page to enable the electronic device to switch from the child page to the parent page. A pan (pan) gesture is a gesture that a hand (for example, a finger) of the user slowly slides on the display. In some embodiments, the pan (pan) gesture may also be referred to as a follow-hand slide gesture. Duration of the pan (pan) gesture is greater than preset duration. A length of a sliding track of the pan (pan) gesture is greater than a preset length. The preset length may be preset. For example, the preset length may be a half of a width of the display.” Paragraph 0328).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Thall to comprise receiving a first trigger operation acting on a personal homepage of a target user. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides a better visual effect for the user, and improves user experience (Dong [0007]).
As to dependent claim 2, Thall teaches the method according to claim 1, Thall further teaches the method comprising:
receiving a second trigger operation acting Handle to slide up to reveal bottom sheet [0113] C4.3 Condensed view of profiles and showing a few avatars of users who have posted here and the number of public posts that appear here [0114]);
displaying the object received by the target user in an object display region of the personal homepage, in response to the second trigger operation (C4.2 Handle to slide up to reveal bottom sheet [0114]).
As to dependent claim 3, Thall teaches the method according to claim 2, Thall further teaches wherein the first trigger operation and the second trigger operation are slide operations, the first trigger operation and the second trigger operation have a same slide direction (Handle C2.3, C4.2 to slide up to reveal bottom sheet).
Thall does not appear to expressly teach a slide distance of the first trigger operation is greater than or equal to a first distance threshold, and a slide distance of the second trigger operation is greater than or equal to a second distance threshold and less than the first distance threshold.
Dong teaches a slide distance of the first trigger operation is greater than or equal to a first distance threshold, and a slide distance of the second trigger operation is greater than or equal to a second distance threshold and less than the first distance threshold (“FIG. 9A to FIG. 9D are a schematic diagram in which the user enters a left-to-right pan (pan) gesture on the child page to enable the electronic device to switch from the child page to the parent page. A pan (pan) gesture is a gesture that a hand (for example, a finger) of the user slowly slides on the display. In some embodiments, the pan (pan) gesture may also be referred to as a follow-hand slide gesture. Duration of the pan (pan) gesture is greater than preset duration. A length of a sliding track of the pan (pan) gesture is greater than a preset length. The preset length may be preset. For example, the preset length may be a half of a width of the display.” Paragraph 0328, this implies that the slide distance of the first trigger and the second distance trigger may be preset. Examiner also notes that this a well-known technique in the GUI art).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Thall to comprise a slide distance of the first trigger operation is greater than or equal to a first distance threshold, and a slide distance of the second trigger operation is greater than or equal to a second distance threshold and less than the first distance threshold. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides a better visual effect for the user, and improves user experience (Dong [0007]).
As to dependent claim 4, Thall teaches the method according to claim 2, Thall further teaches wherein after the displaying the object received by the target user on the object display page, the method further comprises: switching the current page from the object display page to the personal homepage, in response to a trigger operation for a first control on the object display page (C2.3 Button to close page activity revealing webpage underneath [0108]).
As to dependent claim 5, Thall teaches the method according to claim 2, Thall further teaches wherein after the displaying the object received by the target user on the object display page, the method further comprises: switching the current page from the object display page to the personal homepage (slide up or down bottom sheet [0107] )and displaying the object received by the target user in the object display region of the personal homepage, in response to a trigger operation for a second control on the object display page (C2.4 Handle to slide up or down bottom sheet [0107]).
As to dependent claim 6, Thall teaches the method according to claim 2, Thall further teaches wherein after the displaying the object received by the target user in the object display region of the personal homepage, the method further comprises: cancelling the display of the object, in response to a third trigger operation acting on the personal homepage (C2.3 button to close page activity in Fig. 10).
Claims 13-14 and 16-17 are substantially the same as claim 1 and 6 are therefore rejected under similar rationale as above.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-11 and 18-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Matas US 20150277691 Fig. 5A-5C, as a user swipes a finger in the left direction horizontally across the touchscreen, it causes content item 510 to gradually move toward the left of the screen, corresponding to the movement of the user's finger, as illustrated in FIG. 5B. At the same time, the next content item in the series, content item 520, gradually moves onto the screen, also illustrated in FIG. 5B. If the user continues to swipe the finger in the left direction, then eventually, content item 510 shall move completely off the screen, and content item 520 shall move completely onto the screen, as illustrated in FIG. 5C. At this point, content item 520 has replaced content item 510 as the content item that is currently displayed to the user.
Misiaszek et al. US 20240302944 A1 Drawer page overlay for multitasking
Reckhow et al. US 20160334973 A1 a user input (e.g., drag/swipe gesture) is detected in which a user is scrolling through the GUI to view the other displayed feed items 400.
/MAHELET SHIBEROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171