DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to because it appears that the last three pages of the drawings show duplicates of Figures 8, 9A-9D, 10A-10D, and 11. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
4. Figure 11 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated (see paragraph 18 of the specification). See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-3, 5, 8-11, 13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bailey (US 2005/0105230).
Per claim 1, Bailey teaches an apparatus (Figs. 1 and 2A-2B; power source monitor 10; ¶22) comprising:
a module configured to measure a line voltage at an AC power outlet (A line voltage at an outlet is measured corresponding to a shifted voltage 28 measured between a power line 45 and a neutral line 44 (Fig. 1; ¶25 and 27));
a module configured to measure a neutral voltage at the AC power outlet (A neutral voltage at the outlet is measured corresponding to a shifted voltage 27 measured between the neutral line 44 and a ground line 46 (Fig. 1; ¶25 and 27));
a module configured to determine a line/neutral ratio between the line voltage and the neutral voltage; and a module configured to detect an electrical fault based at least in part on the line/neutral ratio (A ratio of the voltages 27 and 28 is determined and used to detect a fault. For example, if the voltage 27 is between one third to two thirds of the voltage 28, an open ground fault is determined (¶25)).
Per claim 2, Bailey teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a module configured to provide an alert in response to detection of the electrical fault (An audible and visual alert is generated in response to the detection of a fault (Fig. 1; ¶26)).
Per claim 3, Bailey teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the module configured to measure the line voltage is configured to measure a root-mean-square (RMS) value of the line voltage; and the module configured to measure the neutral voltage is configured to measure an RMS value of the neutral voltage; the line/neutral ratio being a ratio between the RMS value of the line voltage and the RMS value of the neutral voltage (The power source monitor 10 uses an RMS voltage measurement technique (¶10)).
Per claim 5, Bailey teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the module configured to detect an electrical fault is further configured to identify an electrical fault type (A type of fault, such as an open ground fault or a polarity fault, is identified (¶12 and 25)).
Per claim 8, Bailey teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the module configured to detect an electrical fault is configured to detect the electrical fault in response to the line/neutral ratio falling below a predetermined threshold (A fault may be detected when the ratio of the voltages 27 and 28 is less than two thirds (¶25)).
Per claim 9, Bailey teaches a method comprising:
measuring a line voltage at an AC power outlet (A line voltage at an outlet is measured corresponding to a shifted voltage 28 measured between a power line 45 and a neutral line 44 (Fig. 1; ¶25 and 27));
measuring a neutral voltage at the AC power outlet (A neutral voltage at the outlet is measured corresponding to a shifted voltage 27 measured between the neutral line 44 and a ground line 46 (Fig. 1; ¶25 and 27));
determining a line/neutral ratio between the line voltage and the neutral voltage; and detecting an electrical fault based at least in part on the line/neutral ratio (A ratio of the voltages 27 and 28 is determined and used to detect a fault. For example, if the voltage 27 is between one third to two thirds of the voltage 28, an open ground fault is determined (¶25)).
Per claim 10, Bailey teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising providing an alert in response to detection of the electrical fault (An audible and visual alert is generated in response to the detection of a fault (Fig. 1; ¶26)).
Per claim 11, Bailey teaches the method of claim 9, wherein: measuring the line voltage comprises measure a root-mean-square (RMS) value of the line voltage; and measuring the neutral voltage comprises measuring an RMS value of the neutral voltage; the line/neutral ratio being a ratio between the RMS value of the line voltage and the RMS value of the neutral voltage (The power source monitor 10 uses an RMS voltage measurement technique (¶10)).
Per claim 13, Bailey teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising identifying an electrical fault type (A type of fault, such as an open ground fault or a polarity fault, is identified (¶12 and 25)).
Per claim 16, Bailey teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the electrical fault is detected in response to the line/neutral ratio falling below a predetermined threshold (A fault may be detected when the ratio of the voltages 27 and 28 is less than two thirds (¶25)).
Per claim 17, Bailey teaches an apparatus (Figs. 1 and 2A-2B; power source monitor 10; ¶22) comprising:
a set of power plug prongs including at least a line prong, a neutral prong, and a ground prong (A power source monitor 10 includes prongs connecting to a power line 45, a neutral line 44, and a ground line 46 (Fig. 2B; ¶21 and 23));
at least one analog-to-digital converter (Fig. 1; analog to digital converter 26; ¶22) coupled to the set of power plug prongs (An analog to digital converter 26 is electrically connected to the power line 45, the neutral line 44, and the ground line 46 (Fig. 1; ¶22));
at least one processor (Fig. 1; microprocessor 20; ¶22) configured to receive input from the at least one analog-to-digital converter and to perform at least:
obtaining a line voltage at an AC power outlet (A line voltage at an outlet is obtained corresponding to a shifted voltage 28 measured between a power line 45 and a neutral line 44 (Fig. 1; ¶25 and 27));
obtaining a neutral voltage at the AC power outlet (A neutral voltage at the outlet is obtained corresponding to a shifted voltage 27 measured between the neutral line 44 and the ground line 46 (Fig. 1; ¶25 and 27));
determining a line/neutral ratio between the line voltage and the neutral voltage; and detecting an electrical fault based at least in part on the line/neutral ratio (A ratio of the voltages 27 and 28 is determined and used to detect a fault. For example, if the voltage 27 is between one third to two thirds of the voltage 28, an open ground fault is determined (¶25)).
Per claim 18, Bailey teaches the apparatus of claim 17, wherein: obtaining the line voltage comprises calculating a root-mean-square (RMS) value of the line voltage from a plurality of line voltage measurements from the at least one analog-to-digital converter; and obtaining the neutral voltage comprises calculating an RMS value of the neutral voltage from a plurality of neutral voltage measurements from the at least one analog-to-digital converter; the line/neutral ratio being a ratio between the RMS value of the line voltage and the RMS value of the neutral voltage (The power source monitor 10 uses an RMS voltage measurement technique (¶10)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Bailey in view of Lee (US 2019/0372340).
Per claim 4, Bailey does not explicitly teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the module configured to measure the line voltage is configured to measure a root-mean-square (RMS) value of the line voltage relative to an outlet ground voltage; and the module configured to measure the neutral voltage is configured to measure an RMS value of the neutral voltage relative to the outlet ground voltage; the line/neutral ratio being a ratio between the RMS value of the line voltage and the RMS value of the neutral voltage (The power source monitor 10 uses an RMS voltage measurement technique (¶10), but does not explicitly teach the line voltage as being an RMS value of a line voltage relative to a ground voltage and the neutral voltage as being an RMS value of a neutral voltage relative to the ground voltage).
In contrast, Lee teaches a detector 1000 for measuring a voltage between a phase 100 and a ground, and a voltage between a neutral wire 200 and the ground. When an AC 220 V is used, a normal connection is determined when the phase to ground voltage is AC 220 V and the neutral to ground voltage is from AC 1 V to 30 V. When detected voltages are outside of these ranges, it is determined that the connection is abnormal (Fig. 1A; ¶26-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Bailey such that the measured line voltage is an RMS value of a line voltage relative to a ground voltage and the neutral voltage is an RMS value of a neutral voltage relative to the ground voltage. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification because a voltage between a line and a ground and a voltage between a neutral wire and the ground have predetermined values when a connection is normal. Therefore, an abnormal connection can be detected based on said voltages (Lee; ¶28).
Per claim 12, Bailey does not explicitly teach the method of claim 9, wherein: measuring the line voltage comprises measuring a root-mean-square (RMS) value of the line voltage relative to an outlet ground voltage; and measuring the neutral voltage comprises measuring an RMS value of the neutral voltage relative to the outlet ground voltage; the line/neutral ratio being a ratio between the RMS value of the line voltage and the RMS value of the neutral voltage (The power source monitor 10 uses an RMS voltage measurement technique (¶10), but does not explicitly teach the line voltage as being an RMS value of a line voltage relative to a ground voltage and the neutral voltage as being an RMS value of a neutral voltage relative to the ground voltage).
In contrast, Lee teaches a detector 1000 for measuring a voltage between a phase 100 and a ground, and a voltage between a neutral wire 200 and the ground. When an AC 220 V is used, a normal connection is determined when the phase to ground voltage is AC 220 V and the neutral to ground voltage is from AC 1 V to 30 V. When detected voltages are outside of these ranges, it is determined that the connection is abnormal (Fig. 1A; ¶26-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bailey such that the measured line voltage is an RMS value of a line voltage relative to a ground voltage and the neutral voltage is an RMS value of a neutral voltage relative to the ground voltage. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification because a voltage between a line and a ground and a voltage between a neutral wire and the ground have predetermined values when a connection is normal. Therefore, an abnormal connection can be detected based on said voltages (Lee; ¶28).
9. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Bailey in view of Yang (US 2007/0210808).
Per claim 20, Bailey does not explicitly teach the apparatus of claim 17, further comprising a network interface, wherein the processor is further configured to report the electrical fault through the network interface.
In contrast, Yang teaches a monitoring device 100 for an AC mains 200 including a power lead 202, a neutral lead 201, and a ground lead 203. The monitoring device 100 includes a network interface unit 150 in communication with a network 500 to enable the delivery of an alarm to a remote user (Fig. 2B; ¶36 and 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Bailey such that it comprises a network interface, wherein the processor is further configured to report the electrical fault through the network interface. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of presenting information to a remote user (Yang; ¶40).
Claim Objections
10. Claims 6-7, 14-15, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Per claim 6, the prior art of record is silent on the apparatus of claim 5, wherein for at least a first range of line/neutral ratio values, the electrical fault type is determined based on the line/neutral ratio and on a difference between the line voltage and the neutral voltage.
Per claim 7, the prior art of record is silent on the apparatus of claim 5, wherein for at least a second range of line/neutral ratio values, the electrical fault type is determined based on an average of the line voltage and the neutral voltage.
Per claim 14, the prior art of record is silent on the method of claim 13, wherein, for at least a first range of line/neutral ratio values, the electrical fault type is determined based on the line/neutral ratio and on a difference between the line voltage and the neutral voltage.
Per claim 15, the prior art of record is silent on the method of claim 13, wherein, for at least a second range of line/neutral ratio values, the electrical fault type is determined based on an average of the line voltage and the neutral voltage.
Per claim 19, the prior art of record is silent on the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to identify an electrical fault type, and wherein: for at least a first range of line/neutral ratio values, the electrical fault type is determined based on the line/neutral ratio and on a difference between the line voltage and the neutral voltage; and for at least a second range of line/neutral ratio values, the electrical fault type is determined based on an average of the line voltage and the neutral voltage.
Conclusion
/JAS A SANGHERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852