DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-18, in the reply filed on 28 July 2026, is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
In an email from Robert Joynes on 15 October 2026 (email included in the instant Office Action) a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the species of water, poloxamer 407, ascorbic acid, b-calcium pyrophosphate and a-tricalcium phosphate, polyethylene glycol (PEG), and water.
Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action.
Status of Claims
The amendment, filed on 28 July 2026, is acknowledged.
Claim 19 is amended.
Claims 1-26 and 31 are pending in the instant Office Action.
Claims 19-26 and 31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 28 July 2026.
Claim 12 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Specifically, claim 12 limits the binder material to comprise carboxymethyl cellulose, which is not the elected species poloxamer 407. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 15 October 2026.
Claims 1-11 and 13-18 are under consideration in the instant Office Action, to the extent of the following elected species:
the specific liquid carrier is water;
the specific binder material is poloxamer 407; and
the specific antioxidant is ascorbic acid.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of parent Swedish Application No. SE 2250155-5, filed on 16 February 2022, has been received from the International Bureau.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 30 July 2024 and 26 November 2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDSs are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “macropores” are defined as pores having a pore diameter > 100 mm (see specification page 10, lines 9-10). Claim 1 also quantifies total porosity (60-80 vol% by Archimedes method). While this definition supplies some guidance, the claim does not require that any particular fraction of the measured porosity consist of or comprises macropores (>100 mm). A composition whose 60-80 vol% porosity which is composed entirely of micropores would still literally satisfy the numerical limitation yet fall outside the ordinary meaning of “macropores” as used in the specification. This renders the recitation “macroporous” ambiguous or unclear. Claims 2-11 and 13-18 do not clarify the issue and are added in the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy (U.S. Patent No. 3,929,971, published on 30 December 1975) in view of Lee et al. (Clinics in Ortho. Surg. 2012, 23, 1941., hereafter referred to as Lee), Atkinson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,876,532 B2, published on 4 November 2014, hereafter referred to as Atkinson), and Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2015/0072017 A1, published on 12 March 2015, hereafter referred to as Kim).
Roy teaches a synthetic material having a microstructure that corresponds to phosphate skeletal material that consists of hydroxyapatite and/or whitlockite (Abstract and claims 1 and 4). The material, which is interpreted as equivalent to the granules recited in instant claim 1, is taught to have a uniform porosity ranging from 10-90%, with the values modifiable to match high or low calcification in the human bone that the material is replacing (col. 1, lines 13-20, col. 2, lines 31-42, and claim 1). Roy additionally teaches that the material can be used to fill pores in the range of 5-500 microns (col. 2, lines 31-41). Roy teaches that some substitution occurs in the hydroxyapatite skeletal material, and that “[t]he amount may be approximately equivalent to that in human bone, such as in the range 0.1-10%” (col. 4, line 53 - col. 5, line 29) and that calcium orthophosphates may be used in the bone filling material (col. 7, lines 34-58). This is interpreted as being equivalent to teaching hydroxyapatite to be present in an amount from 90-99.9% w/w. One example of a calcium orthophosphate is whitlockite, chemical formula Ca3(PO4)2, otherwise known as tricalcium phosphate, which is described as a useful material for skeletal material in part because of its ability to control pore size (col. 7, lines 23-49). Finally, Roy teaches that because the synthetic materials used in their invention are produced at elevated temperatures and pressures, the “resulting produced materials are sterilized during manufacture and would, of course, be capable of resterilization” (col. 3, line 66 - col. 4, line 2).
Roy does not teach the inclusion of calcium pyrophosphate nor a putty comprising the bone filling material, a liquid carrier, and a binding material. These deficiencies are offset by the teachings of Lee, Atkinson, and Kim.
Lee teaches the use of b-calcium pyrophosphate (b-CPP) to improve the fusion success of posterolateral lumbar fusion (PLF) in 31 human patients, the first clinical trial of b-CPP as a “novel bone graft extender” in PLF humans (Title and Abstract). Posterolateral lumbar arthrodesis, the joining of two or more spine bones using a bone graft, is taught to be used as a treatment for numerous spine conditions, but Lee notes that two common issues arise including the morbidity of harvesting autogenous bone grafts and pseudoarthrosis, the failure of bones to fuse and heal properly (pg. 238, right col., para. 1). Well known bone graft extenders hydroxyapatite (HA) and b-tricalcium phosphate (b-TCP) are taught to exhibit bioactivity and form “chemical bonds directly with natural bone”, but have drawbacks including low resorption of HA such that it remains in the body for a long time, relatively high biodegradability of b-TCP such that it “might not provide the temporary persistence required as a scaffold for the formation of bone”, and a low fusion rate in b-TCP (pg. 238, right col., para. 1 - pg. 239, left col., para. 1). Lee explains that previous studies have demonstrated that b-CPP is an alternative graft material due to its bioactivity, non-toxicity, greater bone incorporation as compared to HA, and a relatively high fusion rate (pg. 239, left col., para. 2).
After performing PLF and analyzing outcomes of a sample size of 31 patients, Lee found that a mixture of b-CPP and an autograft of patients successfully achieved posterolateral spinal fusion, with “no signs of toxicity or abnormal laboratory findings” (pg. 239-240, Methods and pg. 243, right col., para. 2). The fusion rates in patients varied from the autograft alone as compared to b-CPP and HA, with b-CPP exhibiting greater fusion than HA over the same time period but both calcium phosphate ceramics demonstrating lower fusion than the autograft alone (pg. 242, right col., final para.). Lee theorized this result is due to the greater bioactivity of b-CPP as compared to HA, with an evident advantage when “no foreign body remains in the [body] long term” and a stronger bone following degradation of the porous ceramic material as compared to a ceramic/newly formed bone combination (pg. 242, right col., final para. - pg. 243, left col., para. 1). Lee also notes that while b-TCP is biodegradable, it is not an effective bone graft extender for the procedure in this study (pg. 243, left col., para. 1). Lee concludes that b-CPP can be used as a novel bone graft extender for intertransverse process fusion (pg. 243, right col., para. 2).
Atkinson teaches a bone repair putty that comprises porous particulate that is derived from hydroxyapatite and a resorbable carrier (Abstract). Atkinson et al. teach the particulate to be present in an amount from 30-75% w/w (col. 3, line 66 - col. 4, line 1). The resorbable carrier is taught to be a gel (col. 3, line 63) present in an amounts that complement the particulate to 100% w/w (Table 1) and are therefore interpreted to be 25-70% w/w. In one embodiment, the resorbable carrier gel is taught to comprise water and glycerol, considered equivalent to a liquid carrier, and gel forming materials, considered equivalent to binder materials, hyaluronic acid, (Examples 1 and 4-5), hydroxypropyl cellulose (Example 2), methyl cellulose (Example 3), and carboxymethyl cellulose (Example 6). Water is taught to be used in a variety of amounts including ~42% w/w (Example 2), ~35% w/w (Example 3), and ~51% w/w (Example 6).
Kim teaches osteogenic implants, carriers, and concentrates for use in delivering proteins to musculoskeletal tissues (Abstract and para. [0001]). The invention of Kim is taught to take the form of an implant comprising a therapeutic material in the form of a bone putty or paste or a concentrate which may be diluted to form the bone paste or putty (para. [0008-0009]). In each instance, the compositions are taught to comprise b-TCP, a binder, an osteogenic agent, and optionally a collagen (para. [0008-0009]). The binder is taught to be a synthetic or natural polymer which holds the mineral granules together, contributes to the plasticity and deformability of the putty, allows the putty to be shaped, and influences physical characteristics (para. [0022]). A particularly preferred polymer is taught to be poloxamer 407 due to its temperature sensitivity, surfactant and stabilizing properties, and ability to reduce the chances a bone implant will become displaced (para. [0022-0023] and claim 3). The binder is taught to be present in amounts from 10-80% w/w prior to dilution (para. [0023]). In Example 2 poloxamer is taught to be present in the putty from 10-50% w/w, with one example comprising a final quantity of poloxamer 470 of (42%/(0.53g liquid carrier+1 g solid mixture))= ~27% w/w of the putty composition.
Guidelines on the obviousness of similar and overlapping ranges, amounts, and proportions are provided in MPEP § 2144.05. With respect to claimed ranges which “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). These guidelines apply to the quantities of hydroxyapatite, tricalcium phosphate, and other calcium orthophosphates taught by Roy, the particle size and porosity taught by Roy, and the quantities of components in the putty taught by Atkinson and Kim.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to combine the teachings of Lee, Atkinson, and Kim with the teachings of Roy to arrive at the invention of instant claims 1-11, 13-14, and 17-18 because use of a known technique in similar inventions to improve an invention yields predictable results. Roy teaches a synthetic material for filling damaged bone and bone voids that consists of hydroxyapatite and/or whitlockite, in the equivalent of 90-99.9% w/w, with uniform porosity ranging from 10-90%, in the size of 5-500 microns, and 0.1-10% substitution with calcium orthophosphates such as tricalcium phosphate, taught as whitlockite. Roy additionally teaches that because the synthetic materials in their invention are sterilized and capable of resterilization.
Roy does not teach the calcium orthophosphate calcium pyrophosphate nor a putty comprising the bone filling material, a liquid carrier, and a binding material. However, these modifications would be obvious in view of the teachings of Lee and Atkinson. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use calcium pyrophosphate in the synthetic material taught by Roy because Lee teaches the material to exhibit greater bone incorporation as compared to hydroxyapatite and to have a relatively high fusion rate, which the ordinary artisan would recognize as useful in the material taught by Roy. In addition, Lee teaches that b-CPP can successfully be used as a novel bone graft extender for intertransverse process fusion and the ordinary artisan would reasonably expect to have success in using the material in a synthetic bone treatment material.
In view of the teachings of Atkinson, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to use the synthetic material in a putty to fill bone voids because the ordinary artisan would desire a practical application of the material rendered obvious by the teachings of Roy and Lee. The teachings of Atkinson would allow a person of ordinary skill to apply the invention to a subject and further teach a composition of the putty, including the equivalents of a liquid carrier and a binder material, that is appropriate to use in a practical application.
While Atkinson teaches a range of quantities of gels and water to be used in their composition, they only provide exemplary quantities of gel forming materials to be used in their composition. In view of the teachings of Kim, the ordinary artisan would be motivated use poloxamer 407 as a binder because Kim teaches the species to impart the benefits of temperature sensitivity, surfactant and stabilizing properties, and ability to reduce the chances a bone implant will become displaced which one of ordinary skill would recognize as beneficial to their bone putty composition. A person of ordinary skill would further be motivated to optimize within the range of 10-80% w/w poloxamer 407 because Kim teaches this range to be suitable for poloxamer 407 used as a binder in bone putty formulations, providing missing information from the teachings of Roy, Lee, and Atkinson that the ordinary artisan would need to complete their invention. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 1-11, 13-14, and 17-18 in view of the teachings of Roy, Lee, Atkinson, and Kim.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy (U.S. Patent No. 3,929,971, published on 30 December 1975) in view of Lee (Clinics in Ortho. Surg. 2012, 23, 1941.), Atkinson (U.S. Patent No. 8,876,532 B2, published on 4 November 2014), and Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2015/0072017 A1, published on 12 March 2015) as applied to claims 1-11, 13-14, and 17-18 above, and further in view of Hashemi et al. (J. Drug Deliv. Sci. Technol. 2021, 61, 102077., hereafter referred to as Hashemi).
Roy, Lee, and Kim have been described above.
Roy, Lee, and Kim do not teach the inclusion of the antioxidant ascorbic acid. This deficiency is offset by the teachings of Hashemi.
Hashemi teaches in vitro and in vivo studies on the effect of a poly(lactic acid) (PLA)/polycaprolactone (PCL)/gelatin scaffold that releases ascorbic acid on bone healing (Abstract). Ascorbic acid is taught to aid collagen production in humans, accelerate the healing process of skin and bone, and protect the body from free radicals, among other positive impacts (pg. 2, left col., para. 2). Particularly relevant to bone healing, Hashemi teaches that ascorbic acid increases the production of genes that positively impact osteogenesis and decreases “bone destructive genes” such as cathepsin K, demonstrating possible applications in tissue engineering (pg. 2, left col., para. 2-3).
To explore the utility of ascorbic acid in bone healing, Hashemi developed PLA/PCL/gelatin scaffolds that contained varying concentrations of ascorbic acid and analyzed their impact on bone healing in cells and rat models (pg. 2, left col., para. 4). In vitro studies demonstrated that the PLA/PCL/gelatin scaffolds loaded with ascorbic acid “exhibited appropriate properties for using as bone scaffolds and they have cytocompatibility and osteoinductivity” (pg. 9, 5. Conclusion). During in vivo experiments, Hashemi found that scaffolds comprising ascorbic acid demonstrated “favorable bone healing effects” as compared to scaffolds lacking ascorbic acid (pg. 9, 5. Conclusion). Hashemi concluded that ascorbic acid has applicability in the treatment of bone defects (pg. 9-10, 5. Conclusion).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to use ascorbic acid in the putty composition rendered obvious above in view of the teachings of Hashemi because the combination of prior art elements from similar inventions to impart a known benefit yields predictable results. The teachings of Roy, Lee, Atkinson, and Kim rendered obvious a putty composition comprising 30-75% w/w particulate, which is interpreted as equivalent to the claimed granules, comprising hydroxyapatite, calcium pyrophosphate, and tricalcium phosphate in the quantities recited in instant claims 1 and 3. The teachings above further rendered obvious the putty composition comprising water and poloxamer 407 in quantities that encompass the ranges recited in instant claims 6-8 and 10-11.
In view of the teachings of Hashemi, a person of ordinary skill would be motivated to include ascorbic acid in the putty composition rendered obvious above because Hashemi teaches the species to increases the production of genes that positively impact osteogenesis and decrease bone destructive genes, which the ordinary artisan would recognize as beneficial in a bone repair composition. Further, Hashemi demonstrated that the presence of ascorbic acid in bone scaffolds exhibited “favorable bone healing effects” and one of ordinary skill would reasonably expect the species to impart a similar benefit to their bone repair composition. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of instant claims 15-16 in view of the teachings of Roy, Lee, Atkinson, and Kim and further in view of the teachings of Hashemi.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7, and 14-15 of copending Application No. 18/834,249 in view of Atkinson (U.S. Patent No. 8,876,532 B2, published on 4 November 2014), Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2015/0072017 A1, published on 12 March 2015), and Hashemi (J. Drug Deliv. Sci. Technol. 2021, 61, 102077.).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Commonly assigned copending Application No. 18/834,249 recites a macroporous cement composition comprising 80-95% w/w hydroxyapatite, b-calcium pyrophosphate, and a-tricalcium phosphate with a porosity of 60-80% (claims 1-2). The b-calcium pyrophosphate is recited to be present in amounts from 0.1-10% w/w and the a-tricalcium phosphate is recited to be present in amounts less than 10% w/w (claims 3-4). The average particle size is taught to be 50-800 microns (claim 7). Finally, Application ‘249 recites a putty formulation comprising the macroporous cement composition and a carrier (claims 14-15).
Commonly assigned copending Application No. 18/834,249 does not recite the quantity of macroporous cement composition or carrier in the putty formulation, the presence of a binder or antioxidant in the putty formulation, nor the specific species water, poloxamer 407, or ascorbic acid. These deficiencies are offset by the teachings of Atkinson, Kim, and Hashemi.
Atkinson, Kim, and Hashemi have been described above.
Instant claims 1-18 are obvious variations of copending Application No. 18/834,249 because it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the invention recited by Application ‘249 to use the quantities recited in the instant claims, to include a binder, and to use water, poloxamer 407, and ascorbic acid in view of the teachings of Atkinson, Kim, and Hashemi.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to select water as the carrier in the invention recited by Application ‘249 in view of the teachings of Atkinson because Atkinson teaches the species to be an appropriate carrier for a bone repair putty composition that comprises hydroxyapatite. Application ‘249 does not recite a specific carrier nor quantity and the teachings of Atkinson provide missing information that the ordinary artisan would require to complete their invention. In view of the teachings of Kim, the ordinary artisan would be motivated use poloxamer 407 as a binder because Kim teaches the species to impart the benefits of temperature sensitivity, surfactant and stabilizing properties, and ability to reduce the chances a bone implant will become displaced which one of ordinary skill would recognize as beneficial to their bone putty composition. A person of ordinary skill would further be motivated to optimize within the range of 10-80% w/w poloxamer 407 because Kim teaches this range to be suitable for poloxamer 407 used as a binder in bone putty formulations, providing missing information from the invention recited in ‘249 and from the teachings of Atkinson that the ordinary artisan would need to complete their invention.
Finally, in view of the teachings of Hashemi, a person of ordinary skill would be motivated to include ascorbic acid in the putty composition of ‘249 because Hashemi teaches the species to increases the production of genes that positively impact osteogenesis and decrease bone destructive genes, which the ordinary artisan would recognize as beneficial in a bone repair composition. Further, Hashemi demonstrated that the presence of ascorbic acid in bone scaffolds exhibited “favorable bone healing effects” and one of ordinary skill would reasonably expect the species to impart a similar benefit to their bone repair composition.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/S.J.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/TIGABU KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619