DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 7/30/2024 in which claims 1-14, 16, and 19-22 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fischer et al. (US20200053690A1).
As to claims 1, 7, 14, and 16, Fischer teaches a method for sending system information, comprising: (claim 1. A method for broadcasting positioning assistance data in a wireless network performed by a location server,)
sending, by a network side, first system information to a terminal, wherein the first system information comprises first information of a group of second system information, and the first information comprises one or a combination of:
an indication of a control information aggregation level of the second system information, a number of multiple input multiple output (MIMO) layers of the second system information, a valid area of the second system information, valid time of the second system information, receiving condition information of the second system information, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) index indicating a modulation and coding scheme of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) of the second system information, a modulation mode of the second system information, a subcarrier spacing for sending the second system information, a sending period of the second system information, encrypted information of the second system information, an encrypted public key of the second system information, and a number of sending repetitions of the second system information; and (abstract Positioning assistance data (PAD) may be partitioned into positioning System Information Blocks (posSIBs) and periodically broadcast by a base station. A posSIB or scheduling information for a posSIB may include a validity time and a validity tag that indicates whether the PAD for a posSIB has changed. A user equipment (UE) may receive a posSIB comprising PAD and the validity time and the validity tag for the posSIB. [0053] The mapping of posSIBs to SI messages may be flexibly configured according to a pos-schedulingInfoList parameter included in a SIB 1 message (also referred to as SIB1), which is also regularly broadcast from an eNB (e.g. eNB 104))
sending, by the network side, the group of second system information to the terminal based on the first information. (abstract Positioning assistance data (PAD) may be partitioned into positioning System Information Blocks (posSIBs) and periodically broadcast by a base station. A posSIB or scheduling information for a posSIB may include a validity time and a validity tag that indicates whether the PAD for a posSIB has changed. A user equipment (UE) may receive a posSIB comprising PAD and the validity time and the validity tag for the posSIB.)
(fig. 9-11 show the devices of the disclosure including a processor, memory and transceiver/external interface)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 8-11, 13, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of Hwang et al. (US20230164673A1).
As to claims 2 and 8, Fischer teaches the method of claim 1,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the receiving condition information of the second system information comprises: a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold and/or a timing advance (TA) threshold.
However Hwang teaches the receiving condition information of the second system information comprises: a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold and/or a timing advance (TA) threshold. ([0020] Selecting the transmission method of the message for requesting the positioning system information, based on the selected uplink type and the identified configuration information may include, when the configuration information for requesting the positioning system information in the SUL is included in the SIB1, and the SUL is selected based on the predetermined RSRP threshold condition, or when the configuration information for requesting the positioning system information in the NUL is included in the SIB1 and the NUL is selected based on the predetermined RSRP threshold condition, selecting the transmission method through the Msg 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fischer with the SIB1 of Hwang in order to transmit system information to a UE.
As to claims 3, 10, 19, and 20, Fischer teaches the method of claim 1,
But does not specifically teach:
before sending, by the network side, the first system information to the terminal, further comprising: receiving a request message of the system information or terminal auxiliary information sent by the terminal.
However Hwang teaches before sending, by the network side, the first system information to the terminal, further comprising: receiving a request message of the system information or terminal auxiliary information sent by the terminal. (Fig. 7 shows a request received in step 7-35 and 7-45 for the system information transmitted at step 7-50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fischer with the requests of Hwang in order to transmit system information to a UE.
As to claims 4 and 11, Fischer in view of Hwang teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the request message of the system information or terminal auxiliary information comprises one or a combination of: system information requested by the terminal; an MCS requested by the terminal; a control channel element (CCE) aggregation level requested by the terminal; a modulation order request requested by the terminal; a subcarrier spacing for sending the second system information requested by the terminal; a sending period for sending the second system information requested by the terminal; an encrypted mode of the second system information requested by the terminal; and a number of sending repetitions of the second system information requested by the terminal.
(Hwang Fig. 7 shows a request received in step 7-35 and 7-45 for the system information transmitted at step 7-50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fischer with the requests of Hwang in order to transmit system information to a UE.
As to claim 5, Fischer in view of Hwang teaches the method of claim 3, further comprising: configuring, by the network side, the first information based on the request message of the system information or the terminal auxiliary information. (Hwang [0213] According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the serving base station 7-10 may broadcast new system information according to the request of the terminal 7-5 (operation 7-50). For example, when the terminal 7-5 requests the normal SI, the normal SI may be broadcast, and when the terminal 7-5 requests the pos SI, the pos SI may be broadcast)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fischer with the requests of Hwang in order to transmit system information to a UE.
As to claims 9, 13, 21, and 22, Fischer teaches the method of claim 8,
But does not specifically teach:
further comprising: receiving, by the terminal, the second system information when an RSRP measured by the terminal exceeds the RSRP threshold; and/or receiving, by the terminal, the second system information when a TA of the terminal is lower than the TA threshold
However Hwang teaches receiving, by the terminal, the second system information when an RSRP measured by the terminal exceeds the RSRP threshold; and/or receiving, by the terminal, the second system information when a TA of the terminal is lower than the TA threshold (Hwang [0173] When the measured RSRP value is greater than or equal to the threshold value, a normal UL carrier may be used for random access.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fischer with the method of Hwang in order to transmit system information to a UE.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465