Status of claims
The claims filed 08/04/2026 are hereby being considered. Claims 1-2 and 5 are currently amended. Claims 3, 9-10, and 12 are original. Claim 4 is cancelled. Claims 6-8, 11, and 13-19 are previously presented. Claims 1-3 and 5-19 are pending and under examination.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/SE2023/050171, filed on 02/27/2023. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. SWEDEN 2250275-1, filed on 02/28/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/04/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objections/Rejections withdrawn
All 35 USC § 112 (b) rejections imposed in the previous correspondence are hereby withdrawn due to applicant’s amendments of claims 2 and 5.
The 35 USC § 103 rejections imposed on claims 1, 5-10, 13-19 over Unosson et al. (WO2021086252A1) are hereby withdrawn due to applicant’s incorporation of previously presented claim 4’s key limitations into claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejections maintained in view of applicant’s amendments (i.e., deleting claim 4 and moving its key limitations into independent claim 1): prior arts unchanged, prior art mappings unchanged, obviousness statements unchanged.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg et al. (Berg, Camilla et al. “Amorphous Calcium Magnesium Phosphate Particles for Treatment of Dentin Hypersensitivity: A Mode of Action Study.” ACS biomaterials science & engineering vol. 6,6 (2020): 3599-3607. doi:10.1021/acsbiomaterials.0c00262) in view of Day et al. (US20040170692A1) as evidenced by Reynolds (US7312193B2).
Berg et al. studies the mode of action of spherical particles of amorphous calcium magnesium phosphate (180–440 nm in diameter) [Abstract]. Berg et al. teaches that particles were hollow, spherical, and amorphous, and had diameters ranging between 180 and 440 nm exhibiting smooth particle surfaces with a composition of 22 ± 2 wt % Ca, 6 ± 2 wt % Mg, 58 ± 2 wt % PO4, and 14 ± 2 wt % H2O [page 3600, column 2, paragraph 1, section 2: Materials and Methods], which satisfies all of the morphological, calcium, magnesium, phosphate, and water components and concentrations of all present claims. Berg et al. also discusses characterization of the particles and their effects on substrates by X-ray diffraction (XRD), Inductively coupled plasma optical emission spectroscopy (ICP-OES), and energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy [page 3600, column 2, paragraph 3-4; page 3601, column 1, paragraph 1]. Berg et al. teaches that such compositions can be used to treat dentin hypersensitivity [title]. Berg et al. further notes that fluorides are added to dentifrices (dental compositions) to enhance mineralization and prevent dental caries [page 3600, column 1, paragraph 1].
However, Berg et al. fails to teach fluoride being incorporated into such particles at concentrations overlapping with 1-10% w/w of the particles as specified in present claims 1-3.
Day et al. discloses processes for making calcium phosphate bodies (which may be particles [¶49, ¶63]) comprising amorphous calcium phosphate, hydroxyapatite or calcium triphosphate [abstract]. Day et al. discusses that the particles can be hollow spheres with a size of 500 nm [¶51]. Day et al. teaches that a shell surrounds the inner void of the particle [¶20]. Day et al. teaches that the particles of the composition can have metals such as magnesium [¶30, ¶57]. Day et al. teaches that the particles can have dopants such as fluorides at concentrations ranging from 0.01% to 10% by weight [¶27, ¶29]. Day et al. teaches that such compositions may be prepared in an aqueous solution [¶33]. Day et al. discloses that such compositions can be used for dental applications [¶48].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the amorphous, hollow calcium magnesium phosphate particles of Berg et al. to further include fluoride as taught by Day et al., because Berg et al. itself recognizes that fluoride-containing dental compositions enhance remineralization and prevent dental caries, and Day et al. expressly teaches that fluoride can be incorporated into amorphous calcium phosphate particles at concentrations overlapping the claimed range for dental applications, demonstrating compatibility. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate fluoride into the particles of Berg et al. to provide a single composition capable of delivering calcium, magnesium, phosphate, and fluoride ions to further enhance remineralization and treatment of dentin hypersensitivity. A reasonable expectation of success would have existed because both Berg et al. and Day et al. disclose aqueous, hollow, and amorphous calcium phosphate particles for dental use, and Day et al. demonstrates that fluoride can successfully be incorporated into such particles at concentrations overlapping with those claimed. Further, the recited ‘bound water’ would have been inherent or at least obvious, as amorphous calcium phosphate and fluoride-containing amorphous calcium phosphate phases are known to be hydrated structures that include water as part of the amorphous phase, as evidenced by Reynolds [column 3, lines 27-41; Abstract], which describes such materials as having formulas including “x H2O”, indicating hydrated phases. Accordingly, claims 1-7 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art over Berg et al. in view of Day et al. as evidenced by Reynolds.
Claims 8-10, 14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg et al. (Berg, Camilla et al. “Amorphous Calcium Magnesium Phosphate Particles for Treatment of Dentin Hypersensitivity: A Mode of Action Study.” ACS biomaterials science & engineering vol. 6,6 (2020): 3599-3607. doi:10.1021/acsbiomaterials.0c00262) in view of Day et al. (US20040170692A1) in further view of Xia et al. (US20160051453A1).
Berg et al. and Day et al. jointly teach all required limitations of claims 1-7, 13, and 15.
However, Berg et al. and Day et al. fail to teach the limitations of Claims 8-10, 14, and 16-19.
Xia et al. discloses an invention is to provide hollow, and preferably porous, spherical particles containing calcium, magnesium, and phosphate for dental applications [abstract]. Xia et al. describes the spheres as having amorphous components [¶24]. Xia et al. teaches that The particles of the present invention are hollow with an outer shell [¶68]. Xia et al. teaches that the composition may contain fluoride as an ion [¶66]. Xia et al. teaches that the composition according to the invention contains 0.5% to 50% of such particles, and the paste-forming component may be glycerol [¶105]. Xia et al. teaches that the particles can have a mean particle size of 200 to 1500 nm [¶67]. Xia et al. teaches that the composition of the present invention may be used for dental applications such as: 1) treating cavities (a form of dental caries that causes dentin hypersensitivity) [¶106], and 2) tooth anti-sensitivity and remineralization agent [¶105], rendering the composition a form of medicament. Xia et al. further teaches that the particles of the present invention can be formulated as a toothpaste [¶17], a bleaching (or whitening) paste [¶16], dental filling material [¶21], and teeth remineralization agent (which treats white spot lesions) [¶22]. Berg et al. shows that the composition may contain water [¶98].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fluoride-containing amorphous, hollow calcium magnesium phosphate particles jointly taught by Berg et al. and Day et al. into the dental compositions and products of Xia et al., because Xia et al. teaches that the same class of Hollow calcium/magnesium/phosphate particles is useful in dental compositions for treating cavities, tooth sensitivity, and remineralization, and further teaches formulating such particles with paste-forming compounds, including glycerol, into toothpastes, whitening pastes, filling materials, and remineralization agents. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to provide a practical dental dosage form for delivering the remineralization particles of Berg et al. and Day et al. to tooth surfaces. A reasonable expectation of success would have existed because Berg et al., Xia et al., and Day et al. all concern calcium phosphate-based dental particles made or used in aqueous dental systems, and Xia et al. expressly demonstrates that such particles can be incorporated into paste-forming dental compositions and products while retaining their intended re-mineralizing and anti-sensitivity properties.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg et al. (Berg, Camilla et al. “Amorphous Calcium Magnesium Phosphate Particles for Treatment of Dentin Hypersensitivity: A Mode of Action Study.” ACS biomaterials science & engineering vol. 6,6 (2020): 3599-3607. doi:10.1021/acsbiomaterials.0c00262) in view of Day et al. (US20040170692A1) in further view of Xia et al. (US20160051453A1) in further view of Lopez et al. (US20170209491A1).
Berg et al. and Day et al. jointly teach all required limitations of claims 1-7, 13, and 15.
However, Berg et al. and Day et al. fail to teach the limitations of Claims 11 and 12.
Xia et al. teaches the limitations previously presented. Additionally, Xia et al. further teaches methods of preparing hollow calcium phosphate particles [e.g., ¶8-15] comprising calcium, phosphate, and magnesium ions, wherein an aqueous phosphate buffer-containing solution is provided and calcium and magnesium ions are added in [¶¶ 8-15, 74-76, 107]. Xia et al. teaches magnesium being present at concentrations of up to 5 mM [¶¶ 112, 75, 107], which overlaps with the lower bound of the claimed range. The resulting mixture is heated at temperatures over 60 °C to 200 °C [¶¶13, 82-84, 107], to induce precipitation and form particles, resulting in a suspension (or slurry) from which particles are formed [¶¶ 13-14, 83, 107]. Xia et al. teaches that the particles are then isolated or retrieved via filtration or centrifugation [¶¶ 14, 83, 107], and may optionally be washed using a suitable solvent [¶¶ 15, 83, 107]. Xia et al. further teaches that the particles may incorporate ions such as fluoride [¶ 55].
Lopez et al. discloses a process for obtaining fluoride-doped citrate-coated amorphous calcium phosphate nanoparticles, which can be used in dental in toothpastes, mouthwashes, chewing gums, gels and fluoride varnishes as a re-mineralizing agent of dentine and enamel [abstract]. Lopez et al. teaches a two-solution precipitation method for forming calcium phosphate particles, wherein a first solution comprising calcium chloride (CaCl2, which contains Cl– in its ionic state) of about 0.08 to 0.12 M (80-120 mM) is prepared [¶¶ 18, 23, 42], and a second solution comprising sodium hydrogen phosphate (Na2HPO4, which contains HPO42– in its ionic state) at 0.1- 0.15 M (100-150 mM), and a fluoride compound (which contains F– in its ionic state) at about 0.01 to 0.1 M (10-100 mM) is separately prepared [¶¶ 19, 23-24, 43-45]. The first and second solutions are then mixed in a 1:1 volume ratio to form a reaction mixture that produces a precipitate [¶¶ 20, 41-43], after which the particles are retrieved by centrifugation, the supernatant is removed, and the particles are washed and collected [¶¶ 21-22, 44].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the fluoride-containing, amorphous, hollow calcium magnesium phosphate particles jointly taught by Berg et al. and Day et al., and the dental particle forming methods of Xia et al., to employ the two solutions, 1:1 precursor-mixing process of Lopez et al. This is because Berg et al. and Day et al. teach the claimed particle composition and dental utility, Xia et al. teaches preparing hollow phosphate particles containing calcium, magnesium, and phosphate particles by aqueous precipitation under heating at temperatures overlapping the claimed 60-90°C range and also includes magnesium concentrations meeting and overlapping the lower bound of the MG2+ range. Meanwhile, while Lopez et al. teaches that separately preparing a calcium-containing first solution and a phosphate/fluoride-containing second solution at concentrations overlapping the claimed Ca2+, HPO42–, H2PO4– (which includes 0 mM), and F– ranges, followed by 1:1 volume ratio mixing to precipitate the calcium phosphate particles. Further, both Xia et al. and Lopez et al. jointly teach the washing of the precipitated particles once formed, which covers the required elements of claimed 12. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to provide a predictable aqueous precipitation method for making fluoride-containing calcium magnesium phosphate particles of Berg et al. and Day et al. using Lopez et al.’s known two-solution mixing format while retaining Xia et al.’s heating conditions that promote hollow particle formation. A reasonable expectation of success would have existed because all references concern calcium phosphate-based dental particles formed or used in aqueous dental systems, while Xia et al. demonstrates a heated precipitation method to form hollow calcium/magnesium/phosphate particles, and Lopez et al. demonstrates that fluoride-containing calcium phosphate particles can be successfully precipitated from separate precursor solutions and washed––all of which when combined would lead to the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-10, and 13-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following claims of issued U.S. Patent No. 12,383,474 B2 (referred to as patent ‘474): 1, 8, 9 (for present claims 1-3, 5); 1 (for present claim 6); 1, 7, 8 (for present claim 7); 1, 3, 9, 13 (for present claim 8); 3 (for present claim 9); 2, 3, 13, 38 (for present claim 10), 1, 3, 9, 30 (for present claim 13-19)––in view of Day et al. (US20040170692A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the above claims (or claim groups) of patent ‘474 teach all limitations of their corresponding claim(s) listed in the present application, except for the following difference: present claims 1-3 teach the concentration of fluoride in the particles to specifically range from 1-10% w/w of the particles, which is not taught by patent ‘474. Day et al. remedies this deficiency by teaching that such particles can have dopants such as fluorides at concentrations ranging from 0.01% to 10% by weight [¶27, ¶29]. The inclusion and concentration adjustment of conventional dopants such as fluoride in these dental compositions is a matter of routine formulation design for a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize variables such as teeth mineralization and dental caries prevention efficacy. Therefore, adjusting such dental compositions by adjusting fluoride concentration represents no more than a routine and predictable variation using known components for their established functions, made with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, the present claims differ from the claims of patent ‘474 only by an obvious variation that does not impart a patentable distinction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments (p. 9, ¶ 4; p. 10, ¶1) that Berg fails to disclose the incorporation of fluoride into amorphous calcium magnesium phosphate particles:
One cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As previously established, Berg teaches XRD-amorphous, hollow calcium magnesium phosphate particles having the claimed morphology, dimensions, and overlapping elemental concentrations. While Berg does not expressly teach the claimed fluoride concentration, Day teaches incorporating dopant anions into calcium phosphate bodies at concentrations encompassing those claimed and expressly identifies alkali metal fluorides as suitable dopants introduced through the phosphate-containing solution. Accordingly, the rejection relies on the collective teachings of Berg and Day, rather than berg independently.
Regarding applicant’s arguments (p. 10, ¶¶ 2-3; p. 11, ¶¶ 1-2) that fluoride incorporation would result in CaF2 precipitation, thereby preventing successful formation of the claimed particles:
Examiner acknowledges that CaF2 precipitation may occur under certain reaction conditions. However, applicant’s precipitation calculations and examples do not establish that fluoride incorporation into calcium phosphate particles would necessarily result exclusively in CaF2 precipitation. Day expressly teaches introducing fluoride into an aqueous phosphate -containing solution to produce doped calcium phosphate bodies. Thus, the possibility of competing CaF2 precipitation does not by itself establish that a skilled artisan would lack reasonable expectation of successfully incorporating fluoride into the calcium phosphate particles of Berg via routine experimentation and optimization.
Regarding applicant’s arguments (p. 12, ¶¶ 1-3; continued to p. 13) that Day concerns glass-bead systems rather than the aqueous precipitation system of Berg:
Examiner notes that Day’s teaching is not limited to the composition of the starting glass. Day expressly describes the incorporation of dopant anions into the resulting calcium phosphate bodies, including through the addition of fluoride-containing salts to the aqueous phosphate solution. Accordingly, although the references employ different starting materials, Day provides an express teaching of fluoride incorporation into calcium phosphate bodies. The rejection proposes applying that teaching to the particles of berg and does not require physically substituting Day’s entire glass-transformation process for Berg’s particle system.
Regarding applicant’s arguments (p. 13, ¶ 1) that Reynolds fails to establish fluoride incorporation without CaF2 precipitation:
Examiner notes that Reynolds was cited as corroborating evidence concerning bound water in hydrated amorphous calcium phosphate bases, rather than the primary teaching of fluoride incorporation. Reynolds describes hydrated calcium phosphate materials containing water as part of the amorphous phase. Accordingly, applicant’s argument does not directly address the specific teaching for which Reynolds was relied upon.
Regarding applicant’s arguments (p. 14, ¶¶ 3-4, cont. to p. 15) that the remaining claims are patentable because they depend directly or indirectly upon amended the allegedly non-obvious claim 1:
This argument is not persuasive, as applicant has not established patentability of the particles of claim 1. As collectively taught by Berg and Day, the claimed particles would have been obvious for the reasons discussed above. As set forth in the 35 USC 103 rejections above, claims 8-10, 14, and 16-19 remain unpatentable by the collective teachings of Berg, Day, and Xia.
Regarding applicant’s arguments (p. 15, ¶¶ 1-3; cont. to p. 16) that Lopez requires citrate and carbonate and therefore cannot reasonably combine with Berg, Day, and Xia, in addition to applicant’s improper hindsight argument:
Examiner notes that Lopez was relied upon for its teachings concerning separately prepared calcium-containing and phosphate-containing precursor solutions, overlapping precursor concentrations, mixing at a 1:1 ratio, particle precipitation, recovery, and washing. Xia further teaches heated aqueous precipitation of hollow calcium magnesium phosphate particles. The proposed modification employs Lopez’s two-solution mixing arrangement together with Xia’s elevated-temperature precipitation conditions, rather than requiring wholesale incorporation of Lopez’s citrate-containing formulation. The differences in precursor chemistry are acknowledged––however, they do not negate the identified procedural teachings or independently establish that the proposed modification would have been beyond the ordinary skill.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding applicant’s arguments (pp. 16, ¶¶ 3-4; cont. to p. 17) that the double patenting rejection must be lifted due to the non-disclosed concentration of fluoride:
This double patenting rejection is an obviousness-type rejection in view of Day, which provides the fluoride as dopants in calcium phosphate bodies at concentrations encompassing those claimed. Applicant’s arguments of the CaF2 precipitation have been considered but are also unpersuasive due to the reasons set forth above. Thus, the double patenting rejection is maintained.
Conclusions
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Arya A. Bazargani, Ph.D.
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1613
/MARK V STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613