6
DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Domestic Benefit
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Instant application is a U.S. National Stage Entry of PCT/US2023/011919, filed 01/31/2023. PCT/US2023/011919 claims benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/304,746, filed 01/31/2022. Therefore, the effective filing date is 01/31/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/01/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objections – Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the resolution of FIG. 2 is too low, and therefore, the details of the figure cannot be seen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the treatment of myelofibrosis comprising administering a crystalline form of Pelabresib, does not reasonably provide enablement for the treatment of any disease or disorder associated with BET comprising administering a crystalline form of Pelabresib. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is undue. These factors include, but are not limited to: (a) breadth of the claims; (b) nature of the invention; (c) state of the prior art; (d) level of one of ordinary skill in the art; (e) level of predictability in the art; (f) amount of direction provided by the inventor or joint inventor; (g) existence of working examples; and (h) quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. {See Ex parte Forman 230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986); and In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988)}.
The above factors, regarding the present invention, are summarized as follows:
Breadth of the claims
The breadth of the claim includes a method of treating a BET-inhibition associated disease in a patient, which includes “cancer and other proliferative disorders, inflammatory diseases, sepsis, autoimmune disease, and viral infections”, comprising administering a crystalline form of Pelabresib.
Nature of the invention
The nature of the invention is performance of a method of treating a BET-inhibition associated disease in a patient, comprising administering a crystalline form of Pelabresib.
State of the prior art
No single drug has been discovered that is effective in treating the myriad of diseases that Applicant claims, in paragraph [0029]-[0030] of the specification, are BET-inhibition associated diseases, including, but not limited to, “cancer and other proliferative disorders, inflammatory diseases, sepsis, autoimmune disease, and viral infections”, further including “adrenal cancer, acinic cell carcinoma, acoustic neuroma, acral lentiginous melanoma, acrospiroma, acute eosinophilic leukemia, acute erythroid leukemia, acute lymphoblastic leukemia, acute megakaryoblastic leukemia, acute monocytic leukemia, acute promyelocytic leukemia, adenocarcinoma, adenoid cystic carcinoma, adenoma, adenomatoid odontogenic tumor, adenosquamous carcinoma, adipose tissue neoplasm, adrenocortical carcinoma, adult T-cell leukemia/lymphoma, aggressive NK-cell leukemia, AIDS-related lymphoma, alveolar rhabdomyosarcoma, alveolar soft part sarcoma, ameloblastic fibroma, anaplastic large cell lymphoma, anaplastic thyroid cancer, angioimmunoblastic T-cell lymphoma, angiomyolipoma, angiosarcoma, astrocytoma, atypical teratoid rhabdoid tumor, B-cell chronic lymphocytic leukemia, B-cell prolymphocytic leukemia, B-cell lymphoma, basal cell carcinoma, biliary tract cancer, bladder cancer, blastoma, bone cancer, Brenner tumor, Brown tumor, Burkitt's lymphoma, breast cancer, brain cancer, carcinoma, carcinoma in situ, carcinosarcoma, cartilage tumor, cementoma, myeloid sarcoma, chondroma, chordoma, choriocarcinoma, choroid plexus papilloma, clear-cell sarcoma of the kidney, craniopharyngioma, cutaneous T-cell lymphoma, cervical cancer, colorectal cancer, Degos disease, desmoplastic small round cell tumor, diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, dysembryoplastic neuroepithelial tumor, dysgerminoma, embryonal carcinoma, endocrine gland neoplasm, endodermal sinus tumor, enteropathy-associated T-cell lymphoma, esophageal cancer, fetus in fetu, fibroma, fibrosarcoma, follicular lymphoma, follicular thyroid cancer, ganglioneuroma, gastrointestinal cancer, germ cell tumor, gestational choriocarcinoma, giant cell fibroblastoma, giant cell tumor of the bone, glial tumor, glioblastoma multiforme, glioma, gliomatosis cerebri, glucagonoma, gonadoblastoma, granulosa cell tumor, gynandroblastoma, gallbladder cancer, gastric cancer, hairy cell leukemia, hemangioblastoma, head and neck cancer, hemangiopericytoma, hematological malignancy, hepatoblastoma, hepatosplenic T-cell lymphoma, Hodgkin's lymphoma, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, invasive lobular carcinoma, intestinal cancer, kidney cancer, laryngeal cancer, lentigo maligna, lethal midline carcinoma, leukemia, leydig cell tumor, liposarcoma, lung cancer, lymphangioma, lymphangiosarcoma, lymphoepithelioma, lymphoma, acute lymphocytic leukemia, acute myelogenous leukemia, chronic lymphocytic leukemia, liver cancer, small cell lung cancer, non-small cell lung cancer, MALT lymphoma, malignant fibrous histiocytoma, malignant peripheral nerve sheath tumor, malignant triton tumor, mantle cell lymphoma, marginal zone B-cell lymphoma, mast cell leukemia, mediastinal germ cell tumor, medullary carcinoma of the breast, medullary thyroid cancer, medulloblastoma, melanoma, meningioma, merkel cell cancer, mesothelioma, metastatic urothelial carcinoma, mixed Mullerian tumor, mucinous tumor, multiple myeloma, muscle tissue neoplasm, mycosis fungoides, myxoid liposarcoma, myxoma, myxosarcoma, nasopharyngeal carcinoma, neurinoma, neuroblastoma, neurofibroma, neuroma, nodular melanoma, ocular cancer, oligoastrocytoma, oligodendroglioma, oncocytoma, optic nerve sheath meningioma, optic nerve tumor, oral cancer, osteosarcoma, ovarian cancer, Pancoast tumor, papillary thyroid cancer, paraganglioma, pinealoblastoma, pineocytoma, pituicytoma, pituitary adenoma, pituitary tumor, plasmacytoma, polyembryoma, precursor T-lymphoblastic lymphoma, primary central nervous system lymphoma, primary effusion lymphoma, primary peritoneal cancer, prostate cancer, pancreatic cancer, pharyngeal cancer, pseudomyxoma peritonei, renal cell carcinoma, renal medullary carcinoma, retinoblastoma, rhabdomyoma, rhabdomyosarcoma, Richter's transformation, rectal cancer, sarcoma, Schwannomatosis, seminoma, Sertoli cell tumor, sex cord-gonadal stromal tumor, signet ring cell carcinoma, skin cancer, small blue round cell tumors, small cell carcinoma, soft tissue sarcoma, somatostatinoma, soot wart, spinal tumor, splenic marginal zone lymphoma, squamous cell carcinoma, synovial sarcoma, Sezary's disease, small intestine cancer, squamous carcinoma, stomach cancer, T-cell lymphoma, testicular cancer, thecoma, thyroid cancer, transitional cell carcinoma, throat cancer, urachal cancer, urogenital cancer, urothelial carcinoma, uveal melanoma, uterine cancer, verrucous carcinoma, visual pathway glioma, vulvar cancer, vaginal cancer, Waldenstrom's macroglobulinemia, Warthin's tumor, and Wilms' tumor.”. See In re Hokum, 226 USPQ 353 (ComrPats 1985).
Level of one of ordinary skill in the art
The artisans performing the inventor’s or joint inventor’s method of treating a BET-inhibition associated disease in a patient, comprising administering a crystalline form of Pelabresib, would be a collaborative team of synthetic chemists and/or health practitioners, possessing commensurate degree level and/or skill in the art, as well as several years of professional experience.
Level of predictability in the art
Synthetic organic chemistry and inventions directed toward medicine, which are therefore physiological in nature, are quite unpredictable. See In re Marzocchi and Horton 169 USPQ at 367 ¶3. Similarly, it is well established that “[T]he scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved, and physiological activity is generally considered to be an unpredictable factor”. See In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970).
The nature of the invention and predictability in the art, with specific reference to cancer, Ex parte Kranz, 19 USPQ2d 1216, 1219 notes the “general unpredictability of the field [of] ...anti-cancer treatment.” In re Application of Hozumi et al., 226 USPQ 353 notes the “fact that the art of cancer chemotherapy is highly unpredictable”.
Amount of direction provided by the inventor
The invention lacks direction with respect to making and/or using (performing) a method of treating a BET-inhibition associated disease in a patient, comprising administering a crystalline form of Pelabresib.
Existence of working examples
The disclosure is insufficient to allow extrapolation of the limited examples to enable performing the instantly recited method of treating a BET-inhibition associated disease in a patient, comprising administering a crystalline form of Pelabresib.
Similarly, according to the specification, a crystalline form of Pelabresib is capable of treating “cancer and other proliferative disorders, inflammatory diseases, sepsis, autoimmune disease, and viral infections”, including all the cancers listed above and in paragraph [0030] of the specification.
However, the specification fails to set forth any convincing in vitro and/or in vivo assays corroborating the alleged activity in association with any of the aforementioned diseases. The specification provides no treatment methods comprising administering, in vivo or in vitro, the crystalline form of Pelabresib. There is insufficient disclosure to reasonably conclude that the method of treating a BET-inhibition associated disease in a patient, comprising administering a crystalline form of Pelabresib, as recited, would contribute to treatment of any the aforementioned diseases. The inventor or joint inventor has neither provided convincing data for any patient population, nor indicated any art recognized correlation between the disclosed data and the breadth of the claim.
Quantity of experimentation needed
A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the invention was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use (perform) the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. See In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
One skilled in the art, such as a medical doctor, would be required to perform an indefinite number of clinical trials and in vivo or in vitro assays in order to determine which diseases, including which “cancer and other proliferative disorders, inflammatory diseases, sepsis, autoimmune disease, and viral infections” associated with BET inhibition are capable of being treated by the crystalline form of Pelabresib. Even in vitro and in vivo assays do not always correlate to efficacy in humans and are not generally predictive of clinical efficacy.
The determination that undue experimentation would have been needed to make and use the claimed invention is not a single, simple factual determination. Rather, it is a conclusion reached by weighing all the above noted factual considerations. See In re Wands, 858 F.2d at 737, 8 USPQ2d at 1404. These factual considerations are discussed comprehensively in MPEP § 2164.08 (scope or breadth of the claims), § 2164.05(a) (nature of the invention and state of the prior art), § 2164.05(b) (level of one of ordinary skill), § 2164.03 (level of predictability in the art and amount of direction provided by the inventor or joint inventor), § 2164.02 (the existence of working examples) and § 2164.06 (quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure).
Based on a preponderance of the evidence presented herein, the conclusion that the inventor or joint inventor is insufficiently enabled for a method of treating a BET-inhibition associated disease in a patient, comprising administering a crystalline form of Pelabresib, is clearly justified.
Claims 6, 7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 7 recites the limitation "Form 1". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The inventor or joint inventor should note that claim 12 is a reach-through claim. The claim attempts to obtain protection for subject matter that is prophetic and/or has yet to be invented. Similarly, the metes and bounds of the treatable diseases or conditions associated with BET inhibition are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide an adequate standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the metes and bounds of the invention. The specification, in paragraph [0029]-[0030], uses open language, such as “including but not limited to”, to define treatable BET-inhibition associated diseases or conditions as “cancer and other proliferative disorders, inflammatory diseases, sepsis, autoimmune disease, and viral infection”, further listing over 100 types of cancer the method is said to include in the treatment. However, neither the specification, nor the claim, explicitly limits the invention to any specifically disclosed or recited embodiments, including, but not limited to, “cancer and other proliferative disorders, inflammatory diseases, sepsis, autoimmune disease, and viral infection”. Consequently, the method for the treatment of a BET-inhibition associated disease or condition, the method comprising administering a crystalline form of Pelabresib, has been rendered indefinite by the use of the reach-through protocol.
The examiner suggests amending the claim, particularly as stated in the section above entitled Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112(a), to overcome this rejection.
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 2-5 recite XRPD peaks of Form B. However, claim 1, from which claims 2-5 depend, recites Form B. Form B, as defined in the specification, inherently contains the XRPD peaks listed in instant claims 2-5 as a physical property. Therefore, claims 2-5 fail to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which they depend.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hall (US 9,969,747 B2).
Hall teaches, in claim 1 and in column 8, a crystalline form of 2-((4S)-6-(4-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-4H-benzo[c]isoxazolo[4,5-e]azepin-4-yl)acetamide and pharmaceutical compositions thereof for the treatment of BET inhibition related disorders, including cancers, as in instant claims 1, 11, and 12. It is taught, in column 5 lines 40-43, that the 2Θ angles vary by ±0.3 degrees. The XRPD peaks, in Table 2, teach that the crystalline form of 2-((4S)-6-(4-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-4H-benzo[c]isoxazolo[4,5-e]azepin-4-yl)acetamide had peaks 11.50° (42.15% Rel. Int.), 11.93° (9.64% Rel. Int.), 14.52° (17.30% Rel. Int.), 18.09° (95.73% Rel. Int.), 20.42° (27.91% Rel. Int.), 24.26° (80.73% Rel. Int.), and 26.83 (24.13% Rel. Int.) as in instant claims 2-5.
Hall teaches, in column 3 lines 35-55, anhydrous forms of 2-((4S)-6-(4-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-4H-benzo[c]isoxazolo[4,5-e]azepin-4-yl)acetamide which are defined as having less than 1% water by weight, and 99% crystalline by weight, as in instant claims 6 and 7. It is taught in column 11 lines 58-67, that the AUC of the crystalline form, which indicates the amount of the desired analyte in the product, was 95.1%, as in instant claims 8 and 9.
Claims 1-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Senderowicz et al. (WO 2020257644 A1).
Senderowicz et al. teaches, in claim 1, a method of treating myelofibrosis in a subject comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of 2-((4S)-6-(4-chlorophenyl)-l-methyl-4H- benzo[c]isoxazolo[4,5-e]azepin-4-yl)acetamide. It is taught in paragraph [0018] that the invention fully incorporates the reference US 9,969,747 B2 (cited in above rejection).
Therefore, by incorporation of the reference US 9,969,747 B2, Senderowicz et al. teaches the method of treating myelofibrosis comprising administering the crystalline form discussed in the above rejection, which reads on instant claims 1-9 and 11-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall (US 9,969,747 B2), as applied to claim 1-9, 11, and 12 above.
Hall teaches a crystalline form of 2-((4S)-6-(4-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-4H-benzo[c]isoxazolo[4,5-e]azepin-4-yl)acetamide and pharmaceutical compositions thereof for the treatment of BET inhibition related disorders, including cancers. Hall teaches that the crystalline Pelabresib had a 95.1% purity. See above rejection.
Hall fails to teach that the crystalline form had a 99% purity, as in instant claim 10.
However, MPEP 2144.05 II states: “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”.
Therefore, the difference in concentration of the resulting crystalline product is not patentably new, as it would be routine optimization to further purify a previously taught product. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further purify a known product in order to increase the product’s physiological efficacy or for the production of a medication comprising the product. This would be routine practice in the art, and one would have a reasonable expectation of doing so.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senderowicz et al. (WO 2020257644 A1), as applied to claims 1-9 and 11-13 above.
Senderowicz et al. teaches a method of treating myelofibrosis in a subject comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of 2-((4S)-6-(4-chlorophenyl)-l-methyl-4H- benzo[c]isoxazolo[4,5-e]azepin-4-yl)acetamide, which incorporates the reference US 9,969,747 B2 cited above. Senderowicz et al. teaches by incorporation that the crystalline Pelabresib had a 95.1% purity. See above rejection.
Senderowicz et al. fails to teach that the crystalline form had a 99% purity, as in instant claim 10.
However, MPEP 2144.05 II states: “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”.
Therefore, the difference in concentration of the resulting crystalline product is not patentably new, as it would be routine optimization to further purify a previously taught product. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further purify a known product in order to increase the product’s physiological efficacy or for the production of a medication comprising the product. This would be routine practice in the art, and one would have a reasonable expectation of doing so.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 11, and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 9,969,747 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Patent ‘747 teaches, in claim 1, a crystalline form of 2-((4S)-6-(4-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-4H-benzo[c]isoxazolo[4,5-e]azepin-4-yl)acetamide with an XRPD peak of 18.09º (±0.3), as in instant claims 1 and 2. A pharmaceutical composition of said crystalline form is taught in claim 9, as in instant claim 11.
In AbbVie Inc. v. Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology Trust, 764 F.3d 1366, 112 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. See also Pfizer, Inc. v. Teva Pharm. USA, Inc., 518 F.3d 1353, 86 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Geneva Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. GlaxoSmithKline PLC, 349 F3d 1373, 1385-86, 68 USPQ2d 1865, 1875 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Here, the same crystalline compound is taught in both the instant application and the patent. Although the patent does not claim methods or specify all XRPD peaks, the disclosure of the patent recites, in column 8, the treatment of BET inhibition related disorders, and in Table 2, the XRPD peaks of 11.50° (42.15% Rel. Int.), 11.93° (9.64% Rel. Int.), 14.52° (17.30% Rel. Int.), 18.09° (95.73% Rel. Int.), 20.42° (27.91% Rel. Int.), 24.26° (80.73% Rel. Int.), and 26.83 (24.13% Rel. Int.) as in instant claims 3-5 and 12. The specification also states that the crystalline form is 99% crystal by weight and 95.1% purity (column 3 lines 35-55, column 11 lines 58-67), as in instant claims 6-9.
The ordinary artisan would recognize as obvious that determination of whether said chemical properties are present is implicit in the patented claim in view of Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, LTD. v. Eli Lilly and Company which states the following: “Similarly, in Pfizer, the earlier patent claimed several compounds and the specification disclosed their use in treating inflammation and inflammation-associated disorders. 518 F.3d at 1363 & n.9; see 5,563,165 (“’165 patent”), at [57], col.1 11.11-14, col.3 11.3-27. The later patent then claimed a method of using these compounds for treating inflammation, inflammation-associated disorders, and specific inflammation-associated disorders, including arthritis, pain, and fever. Pfizer, 518 F.3d at 1363 & n.9; see U.S. Patent No. 5,760,068 (“’068 patent”) col.97 1.49- col. 108 1.29. After rejecting the patentee’s objection to our consideration of the specification of the earlier patent, we determined that the later patent “merely claims a particular use described in the [earlier] patent of the claimed compositions of the [earlier] patent.” Pfizer, 518 F.3d at 1363 & n.8. As such, we concluded that the asserted claims of the later patent were not “patentably distinct” from the claims of the earlier patent, and thus the later patent was invalid for obviousness-type double patenting. Id. at 1368.”
Conclusion
Claims 1-13 are rejected.
/R.M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/JEFFREY H MURRAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1624