DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first office action on the merits. Claims 1-20, as filed are currently pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-15 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 22 January 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (US 2016/0280106).
Regarding claim 16, Sato et al. discloses an apparatus comprising:
a plurality of interconnected clips (34) wherein each clip of the plurality of clips includes:
a clip body including a top end, a bottom end, a front end, a rear end, a first side, and a second side, the top end, the bottom end, the first side (Fig. 10 as shown), and the second side defining a receiving region (Fig. 9 shows a receiving space between extension portions 50), and the top end defining an opening to the receiving region (Figs. 5-7 shows 118 being inserted from the top end through the opening into the receiving space);
a first side wing (50) including a first wing base (54) proximate to the top end and extending outward from the first side; and
a second side wing (50) including a second wing base (54) proximate to the top end and extending outward from the second side.
Regarding claim 17, Sato et al. further discloses: a connecting piece that interconnects adjacent clips (Fig. 11 shows a connecting piece between 42 and 44).
Regarding claim 18, Sato et al. further discloses wherein the connecting piece connects receiving regions of the adjacent clips (Fig. 10 as shown).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Lane (US 1,501,001).
Regarding claim 19, Sato et al. discloses the invention except for wherein the first side wing at least includes an aperture defined in the first wing base between an outer edge of the first wing base and the clip body.
Lane teaches a device with an aperture (13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an aperture as provided by Lane on the first wing base of Sato et al. Adding an additional aperture would allow additional leverage to be provided to the first wing base when opening the clip for release of an attachment portion.
Regarding claim 20, Sato et al. further discloses wherein the receiving region is located below the first wing base and the second wing base (Fig. 3 as shown).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Form 892.
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677