Status of claims
The claims filed 07/17/2026 are hereby being considered. Claims 1-7 are currently amended, pending, and under examination.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/032859, filed on 08/31/2022. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JAPAN 2022-013780, filed on 01/31/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Rejections/Objections withdrawn
All objections imposed in the previous correspondence are hereby withdrawn due to applicant’s remarks of the publication error.
All 35 USC § 102 rejections imposed in the previous correspondence are hereby withdrawn due to applicant’s amendments to claim 1 (i.e., adding “0.5 mass% or more and..”).
As these items are withdrawn, applicant’s arguments toward these items are now moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Rejections maintained due to applicant’s failure to properly amend, with suggested amendment added:
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-4 recite “polyalkylene oxide particles D”. However, neither the specifications nor the claims provide a clear parameter or definition as to what exactly constitutes “polyalkylene oxide particles D” or what limitation “D” provides to the particles, thus rendering the above claims indefinite. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the particles will be read for the structural and compositional limitations offered to them in the claims (e.g. polyalkylene oxide and particle size). Although the specification on page 14, paragraph 42 indicates particles D in a drug layer, it does not particularly define them as such. If D represents a population of particles in the drug layer, then applicant might amend the claim to indicate “where in polyalkylene oxide particles D are polyalkylene particles in a drug layer”, or the claim can be amended to limit to what applicant wants to intend for D based on different embodiments in the specification. A suggested amendment is to state "wherein the polyalkylene oxide particles D are the polyalkylene particles in the drug layer" after introducing these particles.
Claims 5-7 are also rejected as rendered indefinite because they are dependents of at least one of the above indefinite claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejections modified in view of substantial amendments to claim 1 (i.e., adding lower range of “0.5 mass% or more and…”): prior art (i.e., Kato) added to address range amendment, prior art mapping added, obviousness statements modified.
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayer et al. (EP0907358B1) in view of Kato (US20140106171A1).
Note that the claim provides for 40% or less of particles D or 80% or less of particles P (claim 6), which both may be extended to 0% due to “less than”. Thus, although there will be polyalkylene oxide particles present in both instances, there are allowed to be 0% of particles D or P that would have a size of 300 microns or more. Thus, if the prior art teaches its polyalkylene oxide particles being sizes less than 300 microns, then it meets the limitation.
Particles P are defined by applicant as those being contained in the pump layer (paragraph 52 of applicant specification) and will be considered as such in examination.
Ayer et al. discloses a dosage form that provides a substantially uniform delivery of drug over an extended period of time [¶1] (this is controlled release). Ayer et al. teaches that an object of the invention is to provide a dosage form comprising a membrane that surrounds a drug core comprising drug particles of 1 to 150 µm and hydrophilic polymer particles of 1 to 250 µm, particles which are co-delivered from the dosage form through an exit formed by a process selected from the group consisting of a drilled exit, a bioerosion exit, a leaching exit, a solubilizing exit, and an exit formed by rupture [¶9]. Ayer et al. also teaches that the invention also provides a dosage form comprising a membrane comprising a semipermeable composition that surrounds a core comprising a drug layer comprising drug particles of 1 to 150 µm and polymer particles of 1 to 250 µm, and a displacement layer comprising an osmopolymer-hydrogel that imbibes fluid, hydrates and increases in swelling volume and thereby displaces the drug layer through an exit membrane selected from an exit in the group consisting of an orifice, passageway, pore, microporous channel, porous overlay, porous insert, micropore, microporous membrane and pore passageway [¶10]. Ayer et al. teaches that poly (alkylene oxide) can be used as a fluid-imbibing displacement polymer, which imbibe an aqueous or biological fluid and swells to push the drug composition through the exit means from the dosage form [¶62]. Ayer et al. further teaches that poly (alkylene oxide) can also be used as a hydrophilic polymer for providing in the drug composition a hydrophilic polymer that contributes to the uniform and nonvarying drug delivery pattern [¶61]. Ayer et al. teaches embodiments with 25% of the polyethylene oxide (which is a species of polyalkylene oxide) particles being larger than 250 microns [¶24, example 5; ¶32, example 6]. There are no embodiments mentioning silica being included, which satisfies the requirement of there being less than 1.5 parts of silica material per 100 parts of polyalkylene oxide. In particular, Example 5 [¶24 to ¶31] teaches a drug composition comprising a drug and polyethylene oxide (“PEO”) [¶24, ¶30], which is a polyalkylene oxide, in addition to the push/displacement composition containing polyalkylene oxide [¶25], which satisfies the limitation of the polyalkylene oxide particles in the pump layer. The example further teaches forming a bilayer core [¶26], coating the core with a semi-permeable membrane [¶28], and providing an orifice through which drug is released [¶29], as the push layer imbibes fluid and expands to deliver the drug at a controlled rate [¶25, ¶31]. Example 5 also mentions the poly (ethylene oxide) having a number average molecular weight of 300,000 and having 25% particles greater than 250 microns [¶24]. Example 5 also does not contain silica, which satisfies the limitation of silica being present in the composition at concentrations less than 1.5 parts per 100 of polyalkylene glycol.
However, Ayer does not explicitly teach a limitation of claim 1, which is the polyalkylene oxide particles D comprising 0.5 mass% or more and 40 mass% or less of polyalkylene oxide particles having a particle size of 300 pm or more.
Kato discloses production method of polyalkylene oxide particles including a step of forming the polyalkylene oxide particles by polymerization of an alkylene oxide in a polymerization solution containing a polymerization solvent and a catalyst dispersed in the polymerization solvent [¶abstract]. Kato discloses its invention in the context of pharmaceutical use and preparation [¶¶ 2, 4].
Kato teaches polyethylene oxide particles and measures their particle size distribution on a mass-percent basis using 500 µm and 300 µm sieves [¶¶ 49-54]. Kato’s specific example 4 [¶¶ 80-82, table 2] expressly produces polyethylene oxide particles having 0.4 mass% retained on the 500 µm sieve and 1.0 mass% on the 300 µm sieving, for a total of 1.4 mass% PEO particles having a particle size of 300 µm or more, which falls within the claimed range of 0.5 mass% to 40 mass%. Similarly, Examples 1-3 [¶¶ 80-82, table 2] contain 8.4, 10.0, and 3.8 mass% of particles with sizes above 300 µm, respectively.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ in Ayer’s PEO-containing osmotic controlled release composition the PEO populations taught by Kato. This is because Kato teaches such PEO particles for pharmaceutical preparations and further teaches that controlling the particle-size distribution improves mixing uniformity and therefore process characteristics [¶¶5, 7]. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have therefore been motivated to use Kato’s known PEO particle distribution in Ayer’s drug and/or pump layers to obtain predictable pharmaceutical processes and formulation benefits and would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the modification merely substitutes one known pharmaceutical PEO material for another while retaining the same established PEO function in the controlled release system.
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayer et al. (EP0907358B1) in in view of Kato (US20140106171A1) in further view of Sugihara et al. (US20040213845A1).
Ayer et al. and Kato collectively teach or inherently satisfy all required limitations of claims 1 and 4-6.
However, Ayer et al. and Kato fail to collectively teach the limitations of claims 2 and 7.
Sugihara et al. pertains to a sized product, which contains a drug, polyethylene oxide with a molecular weight of 2,000,000 or higher, and a specific size controlling agent for polyethylene oxide [abstract]. Sugihara et al. teaches that the present invention presents a polyethylene oxide-containing powder for controlled-release pharmaceutical compositions [¶24, ¶42]. Sugihara et al. teaches that some of these polyethylene oxide products, including ALKOX® E-75, has a viscosity of 40 to 70 mPa.s in an aqueous 0.5% w/v solution at 25° C [¶74]. Sugihara et al. further teaches that certain polyethylene glycol products with a molecular weight of 100,000 exhibit a viscosity of 30 to 50 mPa.s in aqueous 5% w/v solutions at 25° C [¶5].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the then polyethylene oxide materials disclosed in Sugihara et al., which is a species of polyalkylene oxide, in the jointly taught osmotic controlled-release dosage form of Ayer et al. and Kato in order to achieve predictable and controlled release performance. This is because these references are directed to controlled release and pharmaceutical compositions employing hydrophilic polymers such as polyethylene oxide to modulate release characteristics. Ayer et al. teaches the use of polyalkylene oxide materials with known viscosity properties suitable for controlled release formulation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have thus been motivated to select such known polyethylene oxide grades from Sugihara et al. to obtain desired viscosity behaviors in the system of Ayer et al. and Kato, with a reasonable expectation of success because the selection of polymer viscosity to control swelling and drug release is a conventional, routine design parameter in the art. Furthermore, the difference between viscosity values reported in aqueous solutions expressed as % w/v versus % w/w is negligible in this context, as the solvent is water with a density of approximately 1 g/mL, such that the numerical values are substantially equivalent and would not have deterred a person of ordinary skill in the art from applying the teachings of Sugihara et al. in the system of Ayer et al and Kato.
Rejection maintained in view of applicant’s arguments (i.e., That Ottoboni allegedly did not correctly cover the specific gravity limitation of claim 3) and amendments to claim 3 (i.e., incorporating the previously presented limitations of claim 1 into present claim 3 and making it independent): prior art unchanged, prior art mapping unchanged, obviousness statement unchanged.
Claims 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayer et al. (EP0907358B1) in view of Ottoboni et al. (US20010019719A1).
Ayer et al. teaches all of the limitations stated above.
However, Ayer et al. fails to teach the limitation of claim 3, wherein the polyalkylene oxide particles D have a bulk specific gravity of 0.35 to 0.60 g/mL.
Ottoboni et al. discloses bio-erodible, sustained release preparations for placement into the bladder through the urethra which provide sustained release of drugs. Ottoboni et al. teaches that the invention is directed to a system for the controlled and sustained delivery of therapeutic agents to the human bladder [¶2]. Ottoboni et al. teaches that the invention comprises a biodegradable carrier [¶18], which can include derivatives of polyethylene glycol [¶20]. Ottoboni et al. Further teaches that the composition may comprise a gelling system [¶27], with the gelling system containing polyethylene oxide [¶28]. Ottoboni et al. teaches that the sustained-release composition may have a specific gravity less than about 1.005 at 25° C [¶26 & claim 2 of Ayer et al.].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the controlled-release polyethylene oxide-containing composition of Ayer et al. in view of Ottoboni et al. by selecting a polyethylene oxide composition having an appropriate bulk specific gravity within the range disclosed by Ottoboni et al., including the claimed range of 0.35 to 0.60 g/ml. This is because Ottoboni et al. teaches that specific gravity is a relevant physical property of sustained (or controlled) release polymer compositions and discloses values of less than 1.005 g/ml, which encompasses the claimed range. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have thus been motivated to apply that teaching to the controlled release composition of Ayer et al. in order to optimize the composition’s physical behavior in an aqueous biological environment and thereby achieve predictable release performance, since both references are directed towards controlled-release drug delivery systems employing polyalkylene oxide-type materials. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success selecting a bulk specific gravity within the claimed range because choosing an appropriate value from within the disclosed broader range is a routine formulation optimization step, and the disclosed compositions of Ayer et al. and Ottoboni et al. operate according to the same general and broad principles of polymer dynamics and controlled release.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following claims of co-pending U.S. application No. 18/730,907 (referred to as co-pending ‘907): 1, 4, 5 (for present claim 1); 3 (for present claim 2).
Each of the above claims (or claim groups) of co-pending ‘907 teach all required limitations of
their corresponding claim(s) listed in the present application. Accordingly, the present claims differ from the claims of co-pending ‘907 only by an obvious variation that does not impart a patentable distinction.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims of co-pending ‘907 have not yet in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are either moot or not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 4-7 have been considered but are moot because:
The new ground of rejection does not rely on the same reference combinations applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding applicant’s Argument (p. 8-9, “Patentability of Claim 3”) that Ottoboni teaches she specific gravity of a sustained release preparation rather than the bulk specific gravity of the polyalkylene oxide particles:
This argument is not persuasive. The rejection is maintained under the 35 USC 103 above based on obviousness, not inherency, and therefore does not require Ottoboni to expressly disclose claimed bulk specific gravity. Ottoboni teaches polyethylene oxide as a suitable component of controlled release compositions and identifies specific gravity as a relevant formulation property, disclosing values below 1.005. Accordingly, in view of the collective teachings of Ayer and Ottoboni, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to select material with an appropriate bulk specific gravity for Ayer’s polyalkylene oxide particles, including the claimed range of 0.35 to 0.60 g/mL, to optimize the composition’s physical behavior and achieve predictable controlled release performance. Applicant’s additional distinction between specific gravity and bulk specific gravity does not, by itself, negate the proposed obviousness-based modification.
Conclusions
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Arya A. Bazargani, Ph.D.
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1613
/MARK V STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613