DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 01/31/2022. A certified copy of the JP2022-013538 application was received 01/31/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed 10/02/2024 have all been considered and made of record.
Joint Inventors
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claims 2 and 3, the claims recite “…wherein a relative refractive index difference of the core with respect to the clad is equal to or greater than …[X]…%”. It is unclear if
the refractive index of the cladding is equal to or greater than X% the refractive index of the core,
if the refractive index of the core is equal to or greater than X% the refractive index of the cladding,
if the difference between the RI of the core and the RI of pure silica is greater than X% of the difference between the RI of the cladding and the RI of pure silica,
if the difference between the RI of the cladding and the RI of pure silica is greater than X% of the difference between the RI of the core and the RI of the pure silica, or
another interpretation.
The limitations are indefinite because they create confusion regarding the structure of the claimed device.
Examiner’s note: For the purposes of further examination, examiner will adopt interpretation (2) above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20160274299 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Li discloses a polarization maintaining fiber comprising:
a core (Li/Fig1/Core 10);
paired stress applying parts disposed on both sides of the core (Fig1/Stress applying parts 12); and
a clad encompassing the core and the paired stress applying parts (Fig1/Clad 11).
Li does not explicitly state that
when the polarization maintaining fiber has a fiber length of 2 m and a bend radius of 140 mm, the polarization maintaining fiber has a cut-off wavelength equal to or greater than 1.20 microns and less than 1.31 microns, and
when the polarization maintaining fiber has a bend radius of 5 mm and twists at a rate of one rotation per 31.4 mm of fiber length, the polarization maintaining fiber has a bending loss equal to or less than 6.6 dB at a wavelength of 1.31 microns.
However, the polarization maintaining fiber of Li has otherwise similar structure and is comprised of similar materials (Germanium, Boron, and Quartz) to those of the claimed fiber, and it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to configure the polarization maintaining fiber of Li such that it adhered to the above conditions since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
With regards to claim 2, Li discloses the polarization maintaining fiber according to claim 1. Li does not disclose a relative refractive index difference of the core with respect to the clad being equal to or greater than 0.35%. However, Li does disclose a relative refractive index difference of the core with respect to the clad being 0.34% (Paragraph 33/“…a single mode core (in this embodiment the core is circular) with relative refractive index delta of 0.34%…”) and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the polarization maintaining fiber of Li such that a relative refractive index difference of the core with respect to the clad equal to or greater than 0.35% since doing so would increase optical containment and facilitate bending with reduced losses.
With regards to claim 3, Li discloses the polarization maintaining fiber according to claim 1, wherein a relative refractive index difference of the core with respect to the clad is equal to or less than 0.45% (Paragraph 33/“…a single mode core (in this embodiment the core is circular) with relative refractive index delta of 0.34%…”).
With regards to claim 4, Li discloses the polarization maintaining fiber according to claim 1. Li does not disclose the clad as having a diameter equal to or less than 80 microns, but does disclose the clad as having a diameter of 100 microns (Table 1) and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the polarization maintaining fiber of Li such that it has a diameter of 80 microns or less since doing so would reduce the fiber’s minimum bend radius and allow for sharper turns.
With regards to claim 5, Li discloses the polarization maintaining fiber according to claim 1, Li does not disclose the polarization maintaining fiber as having a mode field diameter equal to or less than 8.8 microns at the wavelength of 1.31 microns, but does disclose the polarization maintaining fiber as having a MFD of 9.1 microns at the wavelength of 1.31 microns (Table 1), and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the polarization maintaining fiber of Li such that it has a MFD of 8.8 microns or less at a wavelength of 1.31 microns since doing so would reduce bending losses.
With regards to claim 6, Li discloses the polarization maintaining fiber according to claim 1, wherein the polarization maintaining fiber has a mode field diameter equal to or greater than 8.0 microns at the wavelength of 1.31 microns (Table 1/Row 1/Column 2/“9.1”).
Conclusion
This prior art, made of record, but not relied upon, is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure since the following references have similar structure and/or use similar structure and/or similar optical elements to what is disclosed and/or claimed in the instant application:
Luo (US 20170139129 A1) [Figure 1 and tables 1-2]
Sillard (US 8798423 B2) [Tables 1-3]
/MARC E MANHEIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874