DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to application no. 18/834,326 filed on 07/30/2024.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT application no. PCT/CN2022/079740, filed on 03/08/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/29/2024 and 05/27/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 18 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 9 and 18 recite in line 1, “if the RRC message…”. This statement is not positively recited. It may or may not happens. Examiner is suspected to change “if” as “in response to” or “when..”
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 14 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (Xu hereinafter referred to Xu) (US 2021/0051758 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches (Title, Radio Resource Control Connection Procedures For Remote Wireless Devices) a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Fig.14 and [0111], remote UE 1402), comprising (Fig.3 and [0072], UE device 106/107):
at least one memory (Fig.3 and [0072], memory 306); and
at least one processor (Fig.3 and [0072], processors 302) coupled with the at least one memory (Fig.3 and [0072], processors 302 coupled to memory management unit (MMU) 340) and configured to cause the UE to:
communicate with a base station (BS) via a relay node (Fig.14 and [0111], a remote UE 1402 and a relay UE 1404 are connected with each other and have RRC connections with a gNB 1406. Here, the remote UE 1402 communicates with a BS 1406 via a relay node 1404); and
receive, via the relay node from the BS, a radio resource control (RRC) message ([0112], relaying RRC messages between a remote UE and a gNB), wherein the RRC message is one of (Due to alternative language “one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only) a first RRC release message, a second RRC release message including a suspend configuration, or an RRC reconfiguration message indicating a remote UE related configuration (Fig.14 and [0111], In 1410, the gNB 1406 provides a RRC reconfiguration message to the relay UE 1404; The RRC reconfiguration message includes identification information for the remote UE 1402; In 1412, the relay UE 1404 provides a RRC reconfiguration message to the remote UE 1402, including at least some of the information received from the gNB 1406, such as any information needed by the remote UE 1402 as part of reconfiguring the remote RRC connection between the gNB 1406 and the remote UE 1402. Here, the remote UE receives an RRC reconfiguration message indicating a remote UE related configuration from the BS via the relay node).
Regarding claim 14, Xu teaches (Title, Radio Resource Control Connection Procedures For Remote Wireless Devices) a relay node for wireless communication (Fig.19 and [0119], relay UE 1904), comprising (Fig.3 and [0072], UE device 106/107):
at least one memory (Fig.3 and [0072], memory 306); and
at least one processor (Fig.3 and [0072], processors 302) coupled with the at least one memory (Fig.3 and [0072], processors 302 coupled to memory management unit (MMU) 340….) and configured to cause the relay node to:
establish a PC5 link between a user equipment (UE) and the relay node (Fig.19 and [0119], a PC5 interface is used for a relay link between a remote and a relay; in 1908, a remote UE 1902 and a relay UE 1904 are initially connected. Here, it is implicit that a PC5 link is established between the UE 1902 and the relay node 1904), wherein the UE communicates with a base station (BS) via the relay node (Fig.7 and [0098], relay utilizes a PC5 interface between a remote UE 702 and a relay UE 704 to provide a communication link between the remote UE 702 and an eNB 706. Here, the UE 702 communicates with a BS 706 via the relay node 704); and
receive, from the BS, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message (Fig.19 and [0119], In 1910, a gNB 1906 provides a RRC reconfiguration message to the relay UE 1904; In 1912, the relay UE 1904 provides a PC5 reconfiguration message to the remote UE 1902) indicating a relay node related configuration associated with the PC5 link between the UE and the relay node (Fig.19 and [0119], RRC reconfiguration message indicating a PC5 message validity timer configuration; In 1914, the relay UE 1904 initiates a response validity timer when sending the PC5 reconfiguration message to the remote UE 1902. Here, the PC5 message validity timer configuration indicates relay node related configuration associated with the PC5 link).
Regarding claim 16, Xu teaches all the features with respect to claims 14 as outlined above:
Xu further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the relay node to:
initiate an RRC reestablishment procedure (Fig.22 and [0124], In 2212, the relay UE 2204 provides a RRC reestablishment request to a gNB 2206); and
release the relay node related configuration in response to initiation of the RRC reestablishment procedure (Fig.19 and [0119], In 1918, the response validity timer expires and the relay UE 1904 considers relay link failure have occurred; Fig.22 and [0124], in 2218, the relay UE 2204 detects relay link failure and In 2220, the relay UE 2204 provides an indication to release the relay link to the remote UE 2202. Here, the relay node releases the relay link due to link failure in Fig.22; Fig.19 also shows the relay link failure; therefore, it is implicit that the relay node releases the relay node related configuration/ relay link in response to initiation of the RRC reestablishment procedure)
Regarding claim 15, Xu teaches a method (Title, Radio Resource Control Connection Procedures For Remote Wireless Devices) by a user equipment (UE) (Fig.14 and [0111], an example scenario in which a gNB reconfigures a remote RRC connection with a remote UE via a relay UE. Here, remote UE 1402 is a UE), the method comprising:
communicating with a base station (BS) via a relay node (Fig.14 and [0111], a remote UE 1402 and a relay UE 1404 are connected with each other and have RRC connections with a gNB 1406. Here, the remote UE 1402 communicates with a BS 1406 via a relay node 1404); and
receiving, via the relay node from the BS, a radio resource control (RRC) message ([0112], relaying RRC messages between a remote UE and a gNB), wherein the RRC message is one of (Due to alternative language “one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only) a first RRC release message, a second RRC release message including a suspend configuration, or an RRC reconfiguration message indicating a remote UE related configuration (Fig.14 and [0111], In 1410, the gNB 1406 provides a RRC reconfiguration message to the relay UE 1404; The RRC reconfiguration message includes identification information for the remote UE 1402; In 1412, the relay UE 1404 provides a RRC reconfiguration message to the remote UE 1402, including at least some of the information received from the gNB 1406, such as any information needed by the remote UE 1402 as part of reconfiguring the remote RRC connection between the gNB 1406 and the remote UE 1402. Here, the remote UE receives an RRC reconfiguration message indicating a remote UE related configuration from the BS via the relay node).
Regarding claim 17, Xu teaches (Title, Radio Resource Control Connection Procedures For Remote Wireless Devices) a processor for wireless communication (Fig.3 and [0072], UE device 106/107), comprising:
at least one controller (Fig.3 and [0072], processor(s) 302) coupled with at least one memory (Fig.3 and [0072], memory 306) and configured to cause the processor to ([0072], Fig.3 and [0072], processors 302 coupled to memory management unit (MMU) 340……):
communicate with a base station (BS) via a relay node (Fig.14 and [0111], a remote UE 1402 and a relay UE 1404 are connected with each other and have RRC connections with a gNB 1406. Here, the remote UE 1402 communicates with a BS 1406 via a relay node 1404); and
receive, via the relay node from the BS, a radio resource control (RRC) message ([0112], relaying RRC messages between a remote UE and a gNB), wherein the RRC message is one of (Due to alternative language “one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only) a first RRC release message, a second RRC release message including a suspend configuration, or an RRC reconfiguration message indicating a remote UE related configuration (Fig.14 and [0111], In 1410, the gNB 1406 provides a RRC reconfiguration message to the relay UE 1404; The RRC reconfiguration message includes identification information for the remote UE 1402; In 1412, the relay UE 1404 provides a RRC reconfiguration message to the remote UE 1402, including at least some of the information received from the gNB 1406, such as any information needed by the remote UE 1402 as part of reconfiguring the remote RRC connection between the gNB 1406 and the remote UE 1402. Here, the remote UE receives an RRC reconfiguration message indicating a remote UE related configuration from the BS via the relay node).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of JUNG et al. (JUNG hereinafter referred to JUNG) (US 2022/0201790 A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (Kim hereinafter referred to Kim) (US 11,356,879 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Xu teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above:
Xu does not specifically teach
enter an inactive state in response to receiving the second RRC release message;
initiate a radio access network-based notification area (RNA) update procedure when the UE is in the inactive state;
transmit an RRC resume request in response to initiation of the RNA update procedure; and
receive a notification message or a PC5 release message from the relay node before receiving a response to the RRC resume request.
However, JUNG teaches (Title, METHOD AND DEVICE FOR SUPPORTING VEHICLE COMMUNICATION IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM):
enter an inactive state in response to receiving the second RRC release message ([0529], UE 2g-01 maintains the RRC inactive mode by receiving the RRC connection release message including the suspended configuration information from the gNB/eNB 2g-02. As mentioned in claim 1 that the second RRC release message including a suspend configuration; therefore, the UE enter an inactive state in response to receiving the second RRC release message);
initiate a radio access network-based notification area (RNA) update procedure when the UE is in the inactive state ([0529], resumeCause is configured to ‘rna-Update’);
transmit an RRC resume request in response to initiation of the RNA update procedure ([0529], When the resumeCause is configured to ‘rna-Update’, the UE needs to initiate the RRC connection resume procedure again to request the gNB/eNB for Tx pool, after the RNAU procedure is ended. Here, an RRC resume request is initiated/ transmitted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu as mentioned in claim 1 and further incorporate the teaching of JUNG. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an apparatus and method for effectively supporting a service in a mobile communication system (JUNG, Abstract and [0007]).
The combination of Xu and JUNG does not specifically teach
receive a notification message or a PC5 release message from the relay node before receiving a response to the RRC resume request.
However, Kim teaches (Title, Method And Apparatus For Measuring Frequency In Wireless Communication System)
initiate a radio access network-based notification area (RNA) update procedure when the UE is in the inactive state (Claim 6, a RAN notification area (RNA) update in a RRC inactive mode);
transmit an RRC resume request in response to initiation of the RNA update procedure (Claim 6, transmit, to a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) resume request message for a RAN notification area (RNA) update in a RRC inactive mode); and
receive a notification message (Claim 6, receive, from the base station, a RRC release message in response to the RRC resume request message) or a PC5 release message from the relay node before receiving a response to the RRC resume request (Due to alternative language “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Xu and JUNG as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an efficient signaling method for allowing a network or a base station to more efficiently configure or update frequency measurement configuration information for a terminal that is movable in the RRC inactive mode (Kim, Col.3: Line 8-12).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of HAUSTEIN et al. (HAUSTEIN hereinafter referred to HAUSTEIN) (US 2023/0247504 A1) in view of ZHANG et al. (ZHANG hereinafter referred to ZHANG) (WO 2022/027557A1).
Regarding claim 2, Xu teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Xu does not specifically teach
enter an idle state in response to receiving the first RRC release message;
transmit an RRC setup request message for switching from the idle state to a connected state;
start a timer for the RRC setup request message in response to transmission of the RRC setup request message; and
stop the timer for the RRC setup request message in response to at least one of a relay (re)selection at the UE, a cell change due to the relay (re)selection at the UE, or receiving, from the relay node, a notification message or a PC5 release message.
However, HAUSTEIN teaches (Title, IAB LINK FAILURE):
enter an idle state in response to receiving the first RRC release message ([0190], The network node 18 receives the trigger signal and/or a configuration signal containing instructions related to the action as a release message such as an RRC release message. The network node changes from an inactive mode to an idle mode responsive to the release message. Here, the network node / UE enters an idle state in response to receiving an RRC release message (i.e. first RRC release message));
start a timer for the RRC setup request message in response to transmission of the RRC setup request message ([0126], a T300 timer, which the UE starts after transmission of the RRC Setup Request); and
stop the timer for the RRC setup request message in response to at least one of a relay (re)selection at the UE, a cell change due to the relay (re)selection at the UE, or receiving, from the relay node, a notification message ([0126], a T300 timer, which the UE stops if the RRC setup was successful or when receiving an RRC reject message. Here, the RRC reject message is a notification message; therefore, the timer for the RRC setup request message is stopped in response to the notification message) or a PC5 release message (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu as mentioned in claim 1 and further incorporate the teaching of HAUSTEIN. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improved devices and methods related to handling wireless backhaul link-related issues—such as link degradations and such RLF (HAUSTEIN, Abstract and [0002]).
The combination of Xu and HAUSTEIN does not specifically teach
transmit an RRC setup request message for switching from the idle state to a connected state.
However, ZHANG teaches (Title, Method And Apparatus For Measuring Frequency In Wireless Communication System)
enter an idle state in response to receiving the first RRC release message;
transmit an RRC setup request message ([0036], The UE in an RRC idle state sends an RRC setup request) for switching from the idle state to a connected state ([0063], When the UE is transitioning from RRC _ IDLE to RRC _ CONNECTED, the UE sends an RRC setup request message RRCSetupRequest in Msg3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Xu and HAUSTEIN as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of ZHANG. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide feedback mechanism for MBMS, the network uses feedback signals to perform MBMS retransmission and improve reliability (JUNG, [0013]).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Vyas et al. (Vyas hereinafter referred to Vyas) (US 2023/0224789 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Xu teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 17, respectively as outlined above:
Xu further teaches wherein, if the RRC message is the RRC reconfiguration message (as mentioned in claims 1 and 17), the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
receive a notification message from the relay node (Fig.15, 1528), wherein the notification message indicates at least one of: a handover of the relay node, a radio link failure (RLF) between the relay node and the BS (Fig.15 and [0115], in 1524, the relay UE 1504 declare Uu link RLF; in 1528, an indication to the remote UE 1502 to suspend the relay link between the remote UE 1502 and the relay UE 1504), a cell reselection at the relay node, or a connection establishment failure at the relay node;
initiate an RRC reestablishment procedure in response to receiving the notification message (Fig.15 and [0115], In 1532, the relay UE 1504 and the gNB 1506 performs a RRC connection reestablishment procedure. In 1534, the remote UE 1502 performs link reselection).
Xu does not specifically teach
perform, in response to the initiation of the RRC reestablishment procedure, one of:
starting a selection timer for connection reestablishment;
starting the selection timer for the connection reestablishment in response to determining not to keep a PC5 RRC connection between the UE and the relay node; or
prohibiting the start of the selection timer for the connection reestablishment in response to determining to keep the PC5 RRC connection.
However Vyas teaches (Title, TECHNIQUES FOR CELL BAR TIME SELECTION)
perform, in response to the initiation of the RRC reestablishment procedure, one of (Due to alternative language “one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only):
starting a selection timer for connection reestablishment ([0074], UE 115-a start a timer (e.g., timer T311) during a setup or connection reestablishment procedure. here, the timer T311 is a selection timer);
starting the selection timer for the connection reestablishment in response to determining not to keep a PC5 RRC connection between the UE and the relay node; or
prohibiting the start of the selection timer for the connection reestablishment in response to determining to keep the PC5 RRC connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu as mentioned in claims 1 and 17 and further incorporate the teaching of Vyas. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support techniques for cell bar time selection (Vyas, Abstract and [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 – 8, 10 – 11, 13 and 19 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hong et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0030493 A1) – “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR RESELECTING RELAY BASED ON SL RLF” discloses a method for performing wireless communication by a first device, and an apparatus for supporting same. The method comprises: establishing a PC5 RRC connection with a second device; transmitting, to the second device, a first SCI through a PSCCH; transmitting, to the second device, a second SCI and data through a PSSCH related to the PSCCH; determining a PSFCH resource based on an index of a subchannel and a slot related to the PSSCH; based on failure to receive a SL HARQ feedback for the data from the second device based on the PSFCH resource, detecting an RLF for the PC5 RRC connection between the first device and the second device; and performing reselection for the relay device based on detecting the RLF for the PC5 RRC connection.
Information Regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWNAK ISLAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474