DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to the amendments filed 1/02/2026. Amendments received on 1/02/2026 have been entered. As per applicant claim 8 has been canceled. Accordingly claims 1-7 and 9-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shobu et al. (US Pub 2022/0019949) in view of Girolami et al. (US Pub 2021/0381643).
As of claims 1, 9 and 15, Shobu discloses a management system (via safety management assistance system) comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions (storage unit 21), and
at least one processor (via control unit 22) configured to execute the instructions to;
acquire information on work carried out by a mobile body and a time when the work is carried out (via dynamically acquiring information on work carried out by machine 20; see paragraphs [0088] and [0092])
specify a prohibited area which a person is not allowed to enter in accordance with the work (via setting a hazardous area being an off-limit area; see paragraphs [0033]- [0034], [0141] and [0145]); and
perform control for regulating the entry of a person into the specified prohibited area in accordance with the time when the work is carried out (via determining whether or not there is a hazardous area within the distance from a predicted position of the worker and the machine and sending a notification to the machine, worker and alarm 40; see paragraphs [0092], [0102] and [0105]-[0107]).
However, Shobu does not explicitly disclose that the control includes transmitting an instruction signal to a system that manages a door installed in a boundary between the prohibited area and a normal area that is not set as the prohibited area to cause the door to be locked.
Girolami discloses a management system wherien a control unit 41 detects when a machine (unwinder 1A, 1B) is operating and locks the door 33 in a boundary between the prohibited area (area inside the fencing 19) and a normal area (area outside the fencing 19; see figs. 2A and 2B; see paragraphs [0046], [0053] and [0058]).
From the teaching of Girolami it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Shobu to include the function of closing a door while a machine is operating in order to keep the workers safe.
As of claims 2, 10 and 16, Shobu discloses that the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to specify, in accordance with the time when the work is carried out, a control start time when the control is started, and the control means starts start the control from the specified control start time (In the system of Shobu the position of the worker to the machine and machine to the worker is continuously monitored and dangerous area is updated based on the positional relationship, distance is determined between the worker and the machine, so the safety management system will specify the time when the control (warning notification) needs to be started in order to timely notify the worker and the machine of a safety hazard; see paragraphs [0131], [0139], [0141] and [0161]).
As of claims 3, Shobu discloses that the control start time is set, based on the time when the work is carried out, a predetermined time before the time when the work is carried out (via disclosing that ISO 11161/ISO 12100 define safety standards to ensure safety of workers by prohibiting the workers from entering areas where the machines area in operation to isolate workers from the machines in terms of location or time, hence in these scenarios the control start time (prohibiting entry or notifying) is performed before the work is carried out; see paragraph [0002] and [0066]). Further in the system of Shobu, before the machine starts operation, if the safety management system 20 determines that the positional relationship of the worker and the machine is such that the worker might be in hazardous area of the machines, the safety management system 20 will notify the worker and the machine before the work is carried out by the machine; see paragraph [0092]).
As of claim 4, 11 and 17, Shobu discloses that the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to specify the prohibited area associated with the work based on the work (via setting/updating the hazardous area based on the work; see paragraph [0091] and [0105]).
As of claim 5, 12 and 18, Shobu discloses that the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to acquire information indicating that a person is present in the prohibited area (via determining that the worker is in the hazardous area; see paragraph [0105] and [0205]), and change the time when the work is carried out in accordance with the information indicating that the person is present in the prohibited area (via stopping the work machine, since the work machine is stopped the time when the work is carried out is changed; see paragraph [0107]).
As of claim 6, 13 and 19 Shobu discloses that the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to transmit, to equipment installed near the prohibited area, a control signal for regulating entry of a person (via transmitting a control signal to alarm device 40; see fig. 2; also see paragraph [0107]).
As of claims 7, 14 and 20, Shobu discloses that the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to turn on a lighting device installed near the prohibited area (via truing on warning lamp; see paragraph [0107]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NABIL H SYED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686