CTNF 18/834,369 CTNF 79634 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. It is noted that the present Application is a 371 national phase filing of International PCT Application No. PCT/CN2022/084357, filed Mar. 31, 2022 Specification The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is reproduction of International Publication which includes other text and fig. 4. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 8-14, 21- 27, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 ( a) (1 ) as being anticipated by Islam et al.(US 20200267773 A1) hereinafter Islam . With respect to claims 30, 27, 14, 1, Islam discloses An apparatus comprising: means for transmitting and means for receiving ( See e.g. See e.g. 1405 of Fig. 14, [0286]): & 1805 of Fig. 18 ) A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code ( See e.g. The memory 1430 may include RAM and ROM. The memory 1430 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 1435 including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to perform various functions ) A method for / An apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) ( See e.g. UE 115-c of Fig. 4 ), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to ( See e.g. 1405 of Fig. 14, [0286]): receive a first control message triggering a first random access procedure( See e.g. UE receives Control Message 405, Message A 410 of Fig. 4, [0154], [0157], UE 115-c may receive from base station 105-c, via a control channel (e.g., PDCCH), an order message (e.g., a RACH order in PDCCH message 405) instructing UE 115-c to perform a RACH procedure ); transmit a first random access preamble message associated with the first random access procedure (e.g. 2-step RACH procedure) based at least in part on receiving the first control message ( See e. g.; [0157], UE 115-c may determine a preamble preparation time gap between the order message and a first occasion for transmitting a RACH preamble ) receive a second control message triggering a second random access procedure ( See e.g. [0156], Message B 415 of Fig. 4 , base station 105-c may transmit Random Access message B 415 to UE 115-c. ) ; and transmit, prior to completion of the first random access procedure ( See e.g. [0159], all back to a four-step RACH procedure instead of the two-step RACH ) and based at least in part on one or more conditions being satisfied, ( e.g. [0159], determining sufficient time or time gap, Also see [0183], UE 115 may determine that a time gap 520-a for an occasion 510 fails to satisfy a sufficient preamble preparation time condition) a second random access preamble message associated with the second random access procedure based at least in part on receiving the second control message ( See e.g. UE 115-c may further select to perform the second random access channel procedure and [0160], four-step RACH) based at least in part on the preamble preparation time gap satisfying a preamble preparation threshold and the payload preparation time gap not satisfying a payload preparation threshold. And See e.g. [0162] Control message = UE 115-c may further receive the threshold indicator in at least one of a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), in downlink control information (DCI), radio resource control (RRC) also see [0202]- ). Regarding claims 8, 21, Islam discloses discloses the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (See e.g. 1405 of Fig. 14) : receive a first random access response message associated with the first random access procedure based at least in part on transmitting the first random access preamble message ( See e.g. [0146], 0146] In one example, a first RACH message (e.g., RACH message A), sent from UE 115-b to base station 105-b, may combine the contents of a RACH message 1 and message 3 from a four-step RACH procedure (e.g., the four-step RACH procedure of FIG. 2). In some cases, RACH message A may include a RACH preamble (e.g., RACH message 1 ) ; and receive a second random access response message associated with the second random access procedure based at least in part on transmitting the second random access preamble message ( See e.g. a corresponding second RACH message (e.g., RACH message B) to UE 115-b, where RACH message B may combine the equivalent contents of a RACH message 2 and message 4 from four-step RACH (e.g., RACH message 2 210 and RACH message 4 ) . Regarding claims 9, 22, Islam discloses, the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit a capability message indicating that the UE is capable ( See e.g. [0161] UE 115-c may further transmit a capability indicator (e.g., UE processing capability 1 or UE processing capability 2). The threshold indicator may be based at least in part on the capability indicator.) of supporting multiple random access procedures ( See e.g. first or second random procedure ) at least partially overlap in time (See e.g. time gap) , wherein receiving the second control message triggering the second random access procedure is based at least in part on transmitting the capability message (See e.g. [00163]-[0166], the two-step or four-step RACH procedure, or both. UE 115-c may determine one or more preparation thresholds for each of one or more time gaps from preconfigured data. (i.e., each UE attempting communication in wireless communications system 100 may already have access to one or more threshold time gap values prior to establishing connection with a base station). UE 115-c may receive information related to the one or more preparation thresholds (e.g., latency information, UE processing capabilities, non-standalone operation, etc.). The received information may be sent via a network. For example, the received information may be conveyed to UE 115 through at least one of system information (e.g., a SIB), MAC-CE, DCI, RRC signaling, RMSI, other system information, a handover report, or any combination thereof. Additionally or alternatively, the received information may be selected based on a specific capability of UE 115-c (e.g., UE processing capability 1 or UE processing capability 2). Regarding claims 10, 23, Islam teaches the capability message comprises an indication of a threshold number of random access procedures that at least partially overlap in time that the UE is capable of supporting, an indication of the one or more conditions, or both ( See e.g. [0165], transmit a threshold indicator that indicates a preamble preparation threshold, a payload preparation threshold, or both. In some examples, base station 105-c may further receive a capability indicator (e.g., UE processing capability 1 or UE processing capability 2, or both), where the threshold indicator is based at least in part on the capability indicator. In some examples, base station 105-c may further transmit the threshold indicator in at least one of a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), in downlink control information (DCI), radio resource control (RRC) signaling, remaining minimum system information, other system information, handover report, or any combination thereof.). Regarding claims 11, 24, Islam discloses, the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a third control message triggering a third random access procedure prior to completion of the first random access procedure; determine that the one or more conditions are not satisfied for the third random access procedure; and refrain from initiating the third random access procedure, or initiating the third random access procedure and terminating the first random access procedure, based at least in part on the determining ( See e.g. 0227] In some examples, base station 105 may further monitor for, in accordance with the second random access channel procedure (e.g., a four-step RACH procedure), a retransmission of the preamble in the third random access channel occasion and uplink data in a second RACH shared data channel that occurs after the RACH shared data channel based at least in part on the second time gap satisfying a first threshold and the third time gap not satisfying a second threshold.). Regarding claims 12, 25, Islam discloses the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a third control message triggering a third random access procedure prior to completion of the first random access procedure; determine that the third random access procedure exceeds a threshold number of random access procedures that at least partially overlap in time supported by the UE; and refrain from initiating the third random access procedure based at least in part on the determining ( See e.g. 0228] In some examples, the selected random access channel procedure is the first random access channel procedure (e.g., two-step RACH). In such examples, base station 105 may determine that a random access channel response (e.g., RACH message B) was not received within a response window (e.g., window 730) in accordance with the first random access channel procedure. Base station 105 may determine a second time gap (e.g., time gap 720-b) between an end of the response window and a third random access channel occasion (e.g., RACH preamble 710-b), where the third random access channel occasion and a RACH shared data channel (e.g., RACH PUSCH 715-b) occur consecutively in time (e.g., RACH preamble 710-b and RACH PUSCH 715-b are contiguous in time). Base station 105 may monitor for, in accordance with the first random access channel procedure, a preamble in the third random access channel occasion and uplink data in the RACH shared data channel based at least in part on the second time gap satisfying a first threshold .). Regarding claims 13, 26, Islam discloses the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the first control message comprises receiving the first control message from a first network entity (See e.g. Femto cell (e.g. home network, [0343]); and receive the second control message comprises receiving the second control message from a second network entity ( See e.g. eNd or Macro Cell, [0343] ) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 8, 14, 21, 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 ( a) (1 ) as being anticipated by You et al.(US 20210378021 A1) hereinafter You . With respect to claims 30, 27, 14, 1, You discloses A non-transitory computer-readable medium or A method for or An apparatus ( See .g. modem subsystem of Fig. 13) for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (See e.g. 1130 of Fig. 13, [0434]) , comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable ( See e.g. [0435], the modem subsystem may further include a storage element 1132 and an interface circuit 1133. The storage element 1132 is configured to store data and a program. However, a program used to perform the methods performed by the terminal ) by the processor ( See e.g. 1132, 1131 of Fig. 13 ) to cause the apparatus to: receive a first control message (e. g. RRC ) triggering (See e.g. [0006], The terminal receives first indication information from the network device, where the first indication information is used to determine a target random access configuration in the random access configuration. The terminal initiates ( or trigger 2-step or 4-step, [0014]) random access to the network device based on the first indication information by using the target random access configuration. ) a first random access procedure ( See .g. [0110], S310: The terminal sends a random access process message 1 (Msg1) to the network device. and [0111], It should be understood that the random access process message 1 (Msg1) may also be referred to as a random access request message or a random access preamble sequence. And [0012]-[0013]); transmit a first random access preamble message associated with the first random access procedure based at least in part on receiving the first control message ( See e.g. [0114, The network device sends the random access process message 2 (Msg2) to the terminal. ); receive a second control message triggering a second random access procedure; and transmit ( See e.g. [0116], transmitting a random access process message 3 (Msg3) ), prior to completion of the first random access procedure and based at least in part on one or more conditions being satisfied ( See e.g. QoS, [0014], of occasion that satisfies a condition, and starts to attempt random access, [0296]-[0298]), a second random access preamble message associated with the second random access procedure based at least in part on receiving the second control message ( See [0116].e.g. after receiving the Msg2, the terminal determines whether the preamble identifier in the Msg2 is the same as that of the preamble sent in S310. If the preamble identifier in theMsg2 is the same as that of the preamble sent in S310, it is considered that the Msg2 is successfully received; and if the preamble identifier in the Msg2 is not the same as that of the preamble sent in S310, it is considered that the Msg2 fails to be received, and the terminal may re-initiate four-step random access .). Regarding claims 8, 21, You discloses the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a first random access response message ( See e.g. [0137] It should be understood that the random access process message B (MsgB) may also be referred to as a random access response message. ) associated with the first random access procedure based at least in part on transmitting the first random access preamble message; ( See e.g. [0115, receiving the preamble sent by the terminal, the network device sends a corresponding random access response (RAR) to the terminal. The random access response may include at least one of the following parameters: uplink grant (UL grant) information, a preamble identifier, and timing advance (TA) information. ) and receive a second random access response message associated with the second random access procedure based at least in part on transmitting ( See e.g. [0138], receiving the MsgA sent by the terminal, the network device sends a corresponding random access response (RAR) to the terminal. Optionally, the network device may further send an RRC message. And [0139] if the MsgB includes the preamble identifier, after receiving the MsgB, the terminal determines whether the preamble identifier in the MsgB is the same as that of the preamble sent in S420. If the preamble identifier in the MsgB is the same as that of the preamble sent in S420, it is considered that the MsgB is successfully received; and if the preamble identifier in the MsgB is not the same as that of the preamble sent in S420, it is considered that the MsgB fails to be received, and the terminal may initiate two-step random ace ) the second random access preamble message ( See e.g. [0401] Optionally, the first indication information is a preamble index, and the random access unit 920 is specifically configured to: [0402] when a value of the preamble index is a first value, initiate two-step contention-based random access to the network device; or [0403] when a value of the preamble index is a second value, initiate four-step contention-based random access to the network device .) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sun et. al. (US 20220070919 A1) discloses A UE receives a configuration for a message A (Msg A) physical random access channel (PRACH) over a resource block (RB) set for a two-step random access channel (RACH) operation and receives one or more parameters for a Msg A physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration. (See Absttract). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KAMRAN AFSHAR whose telephone number is 571-272-7796. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday: 9:00AM-4:00PM ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KAMRAN AFSHAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2125 Application/Control Number: 18/834,369 Page 2 Art Unit: 2125 Application/Control Number: 18/834,369 Page 3 Art Unit: 2125 Application/Control Number: 18/834,369 Page 4 Art Unit: 2125 Application/Control Number: 18/834,369 Page 5 Art Unit: 2125 Application/Control Number: 18/834,369 Page 6 Art Unit: 2125 Application/Control Number: 18/834,369 Page 7 Art Unit: 2125 Application/Control Number: 18/834,369 Page 8 Art Unit: 2125 Application/Control Number: 18/834,369 Page 9 Art Unit: 2125 Application/Control Number: 18/834,369 Page 10 Art Unit: 2125 Application/Control Number: 18/834,369 Page 11 Art Unit: 2125