DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter. Based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to the claim as a whole, the claims are determined to be directed to a judicial exception, specifically an abstract idea, without significantly more.
Step 1
The claimed inventions in claims 1-18, 20, and 21 are directed to statutory subject matter as the claim(s) recite(s) a of analyzing blood glucose levels.
Step 2A, Prong One
Claim 1 recites the following steps or instructions for “obtaining a plurality of blood glucose data…”, “determining a time in range ratio…”, “predicting a time when a blood glucose value…”, “analyzing predicted results to provide a blood glucose prediction curve to the user”, which is grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) and/or mathematical concept in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I).
For example, the limitations concern a medical professional performing data collection, data analysis using mathematical concepts, prediction using mathematical trend concepts, and analyzing the results by providing the data in a curve to a user, which falls under an abstract idea directed to mental processes of performing concepts in a human mind or by a human using a pen and paper and mathematical concepts. Accordingly, each of the above-identified claims recites an abstract idea as in MPEP 2106.04(a).
Step 2A, Prong Two
The above-identified abstract idea in each of independent Claim 1 is not integrated into a practical application under MPEP 2106.04(d) because there are no additional elements. Accordingly, independent Claim 1 (and respective dependent claims 2-18, 20, and 21) are each directed to an abstract idea according to MPEP 2106.04(d).
Step 2B
Claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea in accordance with MPEP 2106.05 as there are no additional elements required by the method. As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application as required by MPEP 2106.05.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goldner et al. (US 2021/0391081; hereinafter “Goldner”).
Regarding claim 1, Goldner discloses a health analysis method for blood glucose management, comprising: obtaining a plurality of blood glucose data of a user during a detection time period, wherein the plurality of blood glucose data comprise a current blood glucose value detected at a current moment (e.g. ¶¶ 82-86); determining a time in range ratio of the user according to the plurality of blood glucose data and a glucose standard range (e.g. ¶¶ 87); predicting a time when a blood glucose value of the user meets the glucose standard range and a time when the time in range ratio meets a qualified condition according to the current blood glucose value and the time in range ratio (e.g. ¶¶ 87-91); and analyzing predicted results to provide a blood glucose prediction curve to the user (e.g. Figs 3-8).
Regarding claim 2, Goldner discloses the health analysis method further comprises: analyzing the predicted results to provide a blood glucose management path to the user (e.g. ¶¶ 67).
Regarding claim 3, Goldner discloses the health analysis method further comprises: analyzing the predicted results to provide a targeted target to the user, wherein the targeted target comprises a predicted target blood glucose value and a time for reaching the predicted target blood glucose value (e.g. ¶¶ 86).
Regarding claim 4, Goldner discloses determining the time in range ratio of the user according to the plurality of blood glucose data and the glucose standard range comprises: determining a number of standard detections during the detection time period, wherein one or more blood glucose values in the blood glucose data obtained by performing the standard detections are within the glucose standard range; and determining the time in range ratio according to a ratio of the number of standard detections to a total number of detections during the detection time period (e.g. ¶¶ 104-111).
Regarding claim 18, Goldner discloses the time in range ratio meets the qualified condition comprises: the time in range ratio is greater than or equal to 70% (e.g. ¶¶ 58, 72, 90, etc.).
Regarding claim 20, Goldner discloses a processor and a memory, the memory storing a computer program, the computer program being executed by the processor to implement the health analysis method for blood glucose management according to claim 1 (e.g. ¶¶ 40, 50, etc.).
Regarding claim 21, X discloses a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by one or more processors, causes the processors to implement the health analysis method for blood glucose management according to claim 1 (e.g. ¶¶ 23, 82, etc.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-17 avoid the prior art of record, but remain rejected under 101, as indicated above.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796