CTNF 18/834,399 CTNF 83277 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 30 th July 2024 and 25 th February 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. ========== ========== ========== Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Li et al (US 2021/0289441 A1) . Claim 1 (similarly Claim 45 ). Li shows an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (fig. 2: user device ), comprising: one or more memories ([0166]: memory ); and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (fig. 2: processor electronics ; [0166] – [0167]), configured to: measure a tracking reference signal (TRS) to determine a measurement using the TRS ([0079]: if A- TRS (aperiodic tracking reference signal) can be used instead of SSB (Synchronization Signal Block) for measurement purpose ); and transmit a report indicating the measurement (fig. 3: UE transmits capability information ; [0079] – [0080]: the UE performs CQI measurements and reporting within Z latency after the UE starts to receive reference signals … the UE may perform CQI measurements and reporting ), wherein the report is transmitted a quantity of symbols, corresponding to a computation time, after receiving downlink control information (DCI) associated with the report or a latest TRS resource that was measured ([0079]: the T TRS can be assumed as 1 or 2 slots to process aperiodic TRS and update loop in a known SCell wherein once the UE receives DCI-based fast activation command , only k0+X latency is needed for PDCCH receiving and the UE RF transition (i.e. X latency) to receive new signaling from target SCell ), and wherein the quantity of symbols is based on a subcarrier spacing associated with the UE ([0053]: the μ PUSCH is the subcarrier spacing configurations for PUSCH wherein the indexed row defines the slot offset K 2 , the start symbol S and the allocation length L , and the PUSCH mapping type to be applied in the PUSCH transmission ; [0056]: the starting symbol S relative to the start of the slot, and the number of consecutive symbols L counting from the symbol S allocated for the PUSCH are determined from the start and length indicator SLIV ) . ---------- ---------- ---------- 07-15 AIA Claim s 25 , 32, 43, 60 , 62 and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Oh et al (US 2024/0032057 A1) . Claim 25 (similarly Claim 60 ). Oh shows an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (fig. 2: base station ), comprising: one or more memories (fig. 2: storage ); and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (fig. 2: controller ), configured to: transmit a configuration associated with a tracking reference signal (TRS) ([0356]: a CSI-RS resource set for tracking use (i.e. in the case that the CSI-RS resource set is set to trs-Info) is referred to as a tracking RS (TRS) ; [0363]: 2 CSI-RS resources corresponding to a TRS may be periodically transmitted in one slot or 4 CSI-RS resources may be periodically transmitted in 2 consecutive slots ); and receive a report indicating a quantized value of a Doppler shift associated with a user equipment (UE) ([0208]: QCL may need to associate different parameters according to situations such as 1) time tracking affected by average delay and delay spread, 2) frequency tracking affected by Doppler shift and Doppler spread, 3) radio resource management (RRM) affected by average gain, and 4) beam management (BM) affected by spatial parameters ; Table 15: QCL type Large-scale characteristics A Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread B Doppler shift, Doppler spread C Doppler shift, average delay D Spatial Rx parameter ; [0349]: the CPU occupation time is determined in consideration of some or all of a type ( report quantity ) of channel information included in the CSI report, time axis characteristics (aperiodic, semi-persistent, periodic) of the CSI report, a slot or symbol occupied by DCI or upper layer signaling indicating the CSI report, and a slot or symbol occupied by the reference signal for channel state measurement ), wherein the report is received a quantity of symbols, corresponding to a computation time, after transmitting downlink control information (DCI) associated with the report or a latest TRS resource that was measured ([0351]: in a CPU occupation time for a periodic or semi-persistent CSI report in which a report quantity included in the CSI report … transmit a periodic or semi-persistent CSI report #X in an uplink slot n’ through DCI using a DCI format 0_1 scrambled with higher layer signaling or SP-CSI-RNTI ; Table 34: trs-Info ), and wherein the quantity of symbols is based on a subcarrier spacing associated with the UE ([0328]: a type or characteristics ( report quantity , frequency band granularity, number of ports of reference signal, codebook type, and the like) of channel information to be reported in the CSI report … in order to determine a certain CSI report to a valid CSI report … μ may be promised to use the one that causes the largest T proc,CSI value among (μ PDCCH , μ CSI-RS , μ UL ), and μ PDCCH may mean subcarrier spacing used for triggering PDCCH transmission, μ CSI-RS may mean subcarrier spacing used for CSI-RS transmission, and μ UL may mean subcarrier spacing of an uplink channel used for uplink control information (UCI) transmission for CSI reporting ; [0358]: the periodic TRS may be QCL in terms of QCL-TypeC with an SSB, and be QCL in terms of QCL-TypeD with an NZP-CSI-RS set to ‘repetition’ ). Claim 32 (similarly claim 62). Oh shows the apparatus of claim 25, wherein the TRS is periodic ([0357]: for a periodic TRS , the TRS may be QCL in terms of QCL-TypeC or QCL-TypeD with an SS/PBCH block ), and wherein the report is based on measurements of the TRS across a plurality of bursts ([0232]: the corresponding information may be transmitted from the base station to the UE with a value of a specific parameter (e.g. ssb-PositionsInBurst) of a system information block (SIB) ; Table 35). Claim 43 (similarly claim 63). Oh shows the apparatus of claim 25, wherein the TRS is aperiodic ([0359]: the aperiodic TRS may be QCL with the periodic TRS ), and a CSI reference resource associated with the report is in a slot based at least in part on a delay requirement associated with the report ([0331]: delay requirement … CSI report ) . ---------- ---------- ---------- Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8, 9, 19, 21, 22, 23, 24, 52, 53, 54, 56, 57, 58 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al in view of Oh et al (US 2024/0032057 A1) . Claim 8 (similarly claim 52). Li shows the apparatus of claim 1; Li does not expressly describe wherein the TRS is periodic, and wherein, to measure the TRS, the one or more processors are configured to: measure the TRS across a plurality of bursts. Oh teaches features of: TRS is periodic ([0357]: for a periodic TRS , the TRS may be QCL in terms of QCL-TypeC or QCL-TypeD with an SS/PBCH block ), and wherein, to measure the TRS, the one or more processors are configured to measure the TRS across a plurality of bursts ([0232]: the corresponding information may be transmitted from the base station to the UE with a value of a specific parameter (e.g. ssb-PositionsInBurst) of a system information block (SIB) ; Table 35).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the features as taught by Oh in the apparatus of Li to facilitate robust interference mitigation when using multiple access protocols and power-saving. Claim 9 (similarly claim 53). Li shows the apparatus of claim 1; Li does not expressly describe wherein, to measure the TRS, the one or more processors are configured to: measure a periodic TRS in combination with an aperiodic TRS. Oh teaches feature of measuring a periodic TRS in combination with an aperiodic TRS ([0359]: the aperiodic TRS may be QCL with the periodic TRS ).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the features as taught by Oh in the apparatus of Li to facilitate robust interference mitigation when using multiple access protocols and power-saving. Claim 19 (similarly claim 54). Li shows the apparatus of claim 1; Li does not expressly describe wherein the TRS is aperiodic, and a CSI reference resource associated with the report is in a slot based at least in part on a delay requirement associated with the report. Oh teaches features of TRS is aperiodic ([0359]: the aperiodic TRS may be QCL with the periodic TRS ), and a CSI reference resource associated with the report is in a slot based at least in part on a delay requirement associated with the report ([0331]: delay requirement … CSI report ).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the features as taught by Oh in the apparatus of Li to facilitate robust interference mitigation when using multiple access protocols and power-saving. Claim 21 (similarly claim 56). Li shows the apparatus of claim 1; Li does not expressly describe wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: occupy one or more central processing units (CPUs) associated with the UE from measuring to transmitting. Oh teaches feature of occupying one or more central processing units (CPUs) associated with the UE from measuring to transmitting ([0345]: it is assumed that the CSI report indicated by the base station to the UE occupies some or all of the CPU for channel information calculation among the total number N CPU of channel information in which the UE may simultaneously calculate ).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the features as taught by Oh in the apparatus of Li to facilitate robust interference mitigation when using multiple access protocols and power-saving. Claim 22 (similarly claim 57). Li shows the apparatus of claim 1; Li does not expressly describe wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: occupy zero central processing units (CPUs) associated with the UE from measuring to transmitting. Oh teaches feature of occupying zero CPUs associated with a UE from measuring to transmitting ([0331]: in the case that a PUSCH including the CSI report does not include TB or HARQ-ACK and that a CPU occupation of the UE is 0 ).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the features as taught by Oh in the apparatus of Li to facilitate robust interference mitigation when using multiple access protocols and power-saving. Claim 23 (similarly claim 58). Li shows the apparatus of claim 1; Li does not expressly describe wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: occupy a quantity of central processing units (CPUs) associated with the UE from a first symbol of an earliest reference signal in a measurement duration associated with the report until a last symbol carrying the report. Oh teaches feature of occupying a quantity of central processing units (CPUs) associated with the UE from a first symbol of an earliest reference signal in a measurement duration associated with the report until a last symbol carrying the report. ([0350]: a CPU occupation time for a CSI report #X transmitting in the uplink slot n′ may be defined from a next symbol of a last symbol occupied by a PDCCH including DCI indicating an aperiodic CSI report #X to a last symbol occupied by a PUSCH including a CSI report #X transmitted in the uplink slot n’ ).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature as taught by Oh in the apparatus of Li to facilitate robust interference mitigation when using multiple access protocols and power-saving. Claim 24 (similarly claim 59). Li shows the apparatus of claim 1; Li does not expressly describe wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: occupy a quantity of central processing units (CPUs) associated with the UE from a first symbol of downlink control information (DCI) associated with the report until a last symbol carrying the report. Oh teaches feature of occupying a quantity of central processing units (CPUs) associated with the UE from a first symbol of downlink control information (DCI) associated with the report until a last symbol carrying the report ([0350]: a CPU occupation time for a CSI report #X transmitting in the uplink slot n′ may be defined from a next symbol of a last symbol occupied by a PDCCH including DCI indicating an aperiodic CSI report #X to a last symbol occupied by a PUSCH including a CSI report #X transmitted in the uplink slot n’ ).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature as taught by Oh in the apparatus of Li to facilitate robust interference mitigation when using multiple access protocols and power-saving. ========== ========== ========== Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 7, 20, 31, 44, 51, 55, 61 and 64 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. ========== ========== ========== Conclusion The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. 1. Song et al, US 2021/0218453 A1: a method for determining an occupancy time of a channel state information (CSI) processing unit, and a terminal device that include process of determining an occupancy time of the CSI processing unit based on a CSI report type in a CSI report configuration, where the CSI report type includes that CSI information to be reported by the terminal device to a network device is beam measurement information, or that the CSI information to be reported to the network device has no content and a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource is not used for tracking reference signal (TRS) measurement. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Xavier Szewai Wong whose telephone number is 571.270.1780. The examiner can normally be reached on 11:30 am - 8:30 pm Mon to Fri. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey Rutkowski can be reached on 571.270.1215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /XAVIER S WONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415 24 th May 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/834,399 Page 2 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/834,399 Page 3 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/834,399 Page 4 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/834,399 Page 5 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/834,399 Page 6 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/834,399 Page 7 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/834,399 Page 8 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/834,399 Page 9 Art Unit: 2415