DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 10-15, 18, 22-24, 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YUAN et al (US 2021/0211225 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 24, YUAN et al (US 2021/0211225 A1) discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (fig. 15, see, the UE receives a sub-band set configuration for an instance for the CSI report, section 0103, the UE receives a downlink control indication (DCI) which grant a multi-slot uplink transmission for instance of the CSI report, section 0097), comprising: a memory (fig. 30, UE/terminal device 310, see, memory 3012 coupled to a processor 3011 and Tx/RX 3013, section 0158-0165); and one or more processors (fig. 30, UE/terminal device 310, a processor 3011/DSPs and processors coupled to the memory and Tx/RX 3013, section 0158-0165);, coupled to the memory (fig. 30, UE/terminal device 310, see, memory 3012 coupled to a processor 3011 and Tx/RX 3013, section 0158-0165);, configured to: receive (see, the UE receives activation/deactivation signaling for the multi-instance CSI reporting, section 0090-0091), from a network entity (see, the gNB transmits an activation or deactivation signaling for a multi-instance CSI reporting using the DCI, section 0123-0124, 0097) , downlink-grant (DL-grant) downlink control information (DCI) (see the UE receives a downlink control indication (DCI) which grant a multi-slot uplink transmission for instance of the CSI report, section 0097) that indicates to activate a first multi-instance channel state information (CSI) report (see, the gNB transmits an activation or deactivation signaling for a multi-instance CSI reporting using the DCI, section 0123-0124, 0097) that is based at least in part on a first CSI report setting (see, upon receiving a multi-instance activation signaling, the UE will use a a plurality of instances to report the CSI, section 0092), the first CSI report setting being related to a second CSI report setting associated with a second multi-instance CSI report (see, the activation of multi-instance CSI reporting in relation to different numbering of instances, CSI part par could contain CSI part 2, section 0094-0095, 092) ; and transmit (see, the UE transmits the instance of the CSI report based on an instance of the CSI report colliding with another CSI report having a higher priority than the instance of the CSI report, section 0010, 0076-0077), to the network entity (see, the gNB may receive two instances of a CSI reporting corresponding to two downlink cocdewords, section 0129), the first multi-instance CSI report based at least in part on the first CSI report setting (see, the UE transmits the instance of the CSI report based on an instance of the CSI report colliding with another CSI report having a higher priority than the instance of the CSI report, section 0010, 0076-0078, 0100).
Regarding claim 4, YUAN ‘225 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DL-grant DCI indicates to activate a configured grant (CG)-physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (see, DCI which grants a multi-slot uplink transmission for instances of the CSI report, section 0097, 0123) for transmitting the first multi-instance CSI report (see, aperiodic CSI reports to be carried on the PUSCH, semi-persistent CSI to be carried on the PUSCH, section 0068-0075).
Regarding claim 10, YUAN ‘225 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein in the DL-grant DCI indicates to activate, as the first multi-instance CSI report (see, the gNB transmits an activation or deactivation signaling for a multi-instance CSI reporting using the DCI, section 0123-0124, 0097, 0091), a semi-persistent (SP)-CSI report carried by a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (see, aperiodic CSI reports to be carried on the PUSCH, semi-persistent CSI to be carried on the PUSCH, section 0068-0075).
Regarding claim 11 YUAN ‘225 discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: calculate a starting SP-CSI report time slot based at least in part on a first periodicity indicated by the first CSI report setting (see, aperiodic CSI reports to carried on the PUSCH, y-1 for semi-persistent CSI, section 0068-0071) and a second periodicity indicated by the second CSI report setting (see, y=2 for semi-persistent CSI to carried on PUCCH, section 0068-0077).
Regarding claim 12, YUAN ‘225 discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: deactivate (see, deactivation signaling for the multi-instance CSI reporting including stopping using the multi-instance CSI reporting, section 0092) the SP-CSI report (see, semi-persistent CSI to be carried on the PUSCH, section 0068-0075) based at least in part on a particular second CSI report transmission occasion (see, dropping the instance of the CSI reporting of the instance CSI with a lower priority, section 0067-0076).
Regarding claim 13, YUAN ‘225 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive (see, CSI report instance number configuration from the gNB, section 0123), from the network entity (see, CSI report instance number configuration from the gNB, section 0123), operation type information (see, CSI report instance number configuration indicating the number go related instances of the CSI report, section 0123) that specifies an operation type associated with the first multi-instance CSI report (see, CSI report instance number configuration indicating the number go related instances of the CSI report, section 0123, 0126, noted: the sub-band set to be reported, section 0105-0106).
Regarding claim 14, YUAN ‘225 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the first multi-instance CSI report, are configured to: determine whether to refrain (see, the UE drops the instance of the CSI report due to a collision of an instance of CSI report with another CSI report having a higher a priority, section 0067) from transmitting the first multi-instance CSI report based at least in part on a priority of the first multi-instance CSI report relative to another transmission (see, dropping the instance of the CSI reporting of the instance CSI with a lower priority, section 0067-0076).
Regarding claims 15, 28, YUAN ‘225 discloses a apparatus (fig. 30, gNB 3020 that is communicatively coupled to the UE/terminal device 310, section 0158-0165, the gNB includes processor/DSPs/processors 3021 coupled to memory 3022 and Tx/RX 3023) for wireless communication at a network entity (see, the gNB transmits activation or deactivation signaling for a multi-instance CSI reporting, section 0123), comprising: a memory (fig. 30, see, memory 3022 coupled to the processor /DSPs, section 0158-0165); and one or more processors (fig. 30, the gNB includes processor/DSPs/processors 3021 coupled to memory 3022 and Tx/RX 3023), coupled to the memory (fig. 30, the gNB includes processor/DSPs/processors 3021 coupled to memory 3022 and Tx/RX 3023), configured to: transmit ((see, the gNB transmits an activation or deactivation signaling for a multi-instance CSI reporting using the DCI, section 0123-0124, 0097, see the UE receives a downlink control indication (DCI) which grant a multi-slot uplink transmission for instance of the CSI report, section 0097) downlink-grant (DL-grant) downlink control information (DCI) (see, the UE receives activation or deactivation signaling for the multi-instance CSI reporting, section 0090, 0092, 0094) that indicates to activate a first multi-instance channel state information (CSI) report (see, the gNB transmits an activation or deactivation signaling for a multi-instance CSI reporting using the DCI, section 0123-0124, 0097) that is based at least in part on a first CSI report setting (see, upon receiving a multi-instance activation signaling, the UE will use a plurality of instances to report the CSI, section 0092), the first CSI report setting being related to a second CSI report setting associated with a second multi-instance CSI report (see, the activation of multi-instance CSI reporting in relation to different numbering of instances, CSI part para could contain CSI part 2, section 0094-0095, 092); and receive the first multi-instance CSI report based at least in part on the first CSI report setting (see, the UE transmits the instance of the CSI report based on an instance of the CSI report colliding with another CSI report having a higher priority than the instance of the CSI report, section 0010, 0076-0078).
Regarding claim 18, YUAN ‘225 discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the DL-grant DCI indicates to activate a configured grant (CG)-physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (see, DCI which grants a multi-slot uplink transmission for instances of the CSI report, section 0097, 0123) for transmitting the first multi-instance CSI report (see, aperiodic CSI reports to be carried on the PUSCH, semi-persistent CSI to be carried on the PUSCH, section 0068-0075).
Regarding claim 22, YUAN ‘225 discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein in the DL-grant DCI indicates to activate (see, the activation/deactivation signaling implemented by a DCI, section 0091, see, DCI which grants a multi-slot uplink transmission for instances of the CSI report, section 0097, 0123), as the first multi-instance CSI report (see, instance of CSI report, section 0097-0101)., a periodic CSI report carried by a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (see, periodic CSI to be carriers on the PUCCH, section 0068-0071).
Regarding claim 23, YUAN ‘225 discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit (see, CSI report instance number configuration from the gNB, section 0123, see, CSI report instance number configuration from the gNB, section 0123) operation type information (see, CSI report instance number configuration indicating the number go related instances of the CSI report, section 0123) that specifies an operation type associated with the first multi-instance CSI report (see, CSI report instance number configuration indicating the number go related instances of the CSI report, section 0123, 0126, noted: the sub-band set to be reported, section 0105-0106).
Regarding claim 24, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 as discussed above because the claim substantially comprises the same limitations.
Regarding claim 28, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 15 above because the claim substantially comprises the same limitations.
Regarding claim 29,YUAN ‘225 discloses the method of claim 28, wherein the DL-grant DCI indicates to activate (see, the activation/deactivation signaling implemented by a DCI, section 0091, see, DCI which grants a multi-slot uplink transmission for instances of the CSI report, section 0097, 0123) a configured grant (CG)-physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission for transmitting the first multi-instance CSI report (see, aperiodic CSI reports to be carried on the PUSCH, semi-persistent CSI to be carried on the PUSCH, section 0068-0075).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 17, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUAN et al (US 2021/0211225 A1) in view of Hindy et al (US 2023/0370141 A1).
YUAN ‘225 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 3, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DL-grant DCI indicates to activate the first multi-instance CSI report based at least in part on at least one of: a single bit of the DL-grant DCI; or a bit-point of the DL-grant DCI.
Regarding claim 17, the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the DL-grant DCI indicates to activate the first multi-instance CSI report based at least in part on at least one of: a single bit of the DL-grant DCI; or a bit-point of the DL-grant DCI.
However, Hindy et al (US 2023/0370141 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claims 3, 17, wherein the DL-grant DCI indicates to activate the first multi-instance CSI report (see, activating of CSI reports associated with CSI Reporting setting, section 0119) based at least in part on at least one of: a single bit of the DL-grant DCI (see, the UE is configured with a single DCI triggering one or more CSI reporting settings, section 0162, 0135, 0177, 0078-DCI in relation to UCI bit for CSI reporting, section 0078); or a bit-point of the DL-grant DCI.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to implement the multi-DCI triggering in which CSI Report settings from each TRP and prioritization of CSI reports as taught by Hindy ‘141 into the multi-instance CSI reporting based on activation/deactivation signaling, where the UE can selectively prioritize instance of CSI reporting of YUAN ‘225. The motivation would have been to reduce CSI feedback overhead as suggested in section 0081.
Claims 5-6, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUAN et al (US 2021/0211225 A1) in view of Ge et al (US 2021/0204276 A1).
YUAN ‘225 discloses all the claim limitations in the above rejection but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 5, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network entity and prior to receiving the DL-grant DCI, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages that indicate at least one of: the first CSI report setting, or the second CSI report setting.
Regarding claim 6, the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the one or more RRC messages indicate at least one of: a first association between the first CSI report setting and the second CSI report setting, a second association between the first CSI report setting and a Type 2 configured grant (CG)-physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration activated by the DL-grant DCI, or a third association between the second CSI report setting and the Type 2 CG-PUSCH configuration.
Regarding claim 19, the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, prior to receiving the DL-grant DCI, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages that indicate at least one of: the first CSI report setting, or the second CSI report setting.
Regarding claim 20, the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the one or more RRC messages indicate at least one of: a first association between the first CSI report setting and the second CSI report setting, a second association between the first CSI report setting and a Type 2 configured grant (CG)-physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration activated by the DL-grant DCI, or a third association between the second CSI report setting and the Type 2 CG-PUSCH configuration.
However, Ge et al (US 2021/0204276 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claims 5, 19, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network entity and prior to receiving the DL-grant DCI, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages (see, CSI report configurations received via RRC/higher-layer signaling message, section 0107, 0117, 0120, 0228) that indicate at least one of: the first CSI report setting (see, CSI report configuration relating to a second CSI report configuration, section 0284-0285), or the second CSI report setting (section 0117, 0120-CSI report configurations in relation to the CSI measurement configuration).
Regarding claims 6, 20, the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the one or more RRC messages indicate at least one of: a first association between the first CSI report setting and the second CSI report setting (see, association relationship between a CSI report configuration and PDCH configuration, which CSI report configurations, section 0293, 0470-0471, 0480), a second association between the first CSI report setting and a Type 2 configured grant (CG)-physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration activated by the DL-grant DCI, or a third association between the second CSI report setting and the Type 2 CG-PUSCH configuration.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to implement the method and apparatus for sending uplink control information based on CSI report configurations as taught by Ge ‘276 into the multi-instance CSI reporting based on activation/deactivation signaling, where the UE can selectively prioritize instance of CSI reporting of YUAN ‘225. The motivation would have been to improve resource utilization (section 0006).
Claims 2, 7-9 , 16, 21, 28, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUAN et al (US 2021/0211225 A1) in view of NTT DOCOMO-Remaining Issues on CSI Reporting, February 26th-March 2nd , 2018, IDS.
Regarding claim 2, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first CSI report setting indicates a first reporting periodicity, wherein the second CSI report setting indicates a second reporting periodicity, and wherein the second reporting periodicity is greater than the first reporting periodicity.
Regarding claim 7, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DL-grant DCI indicates to activate, as the first multi-instance CSI report, a semi-persistent (SP)-CSI report using a same time slot offset and a same periodicity as a Type 2 configured grant (CG)-physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
Regarding claim 8, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DL-grant DCI indicates to activate, as the first multi-instance CSI report, multiple consecutive aperiodic CSI reports based at least in part on a Type 2 configured grant (CG)-physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
Regarding claim 9, the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a number of consecutive aperiodic CSI reports to transmit based at least in part on a configured grant timer associated with the Type 2 CG-PUSCH.
Regarding claim 16, the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first CSI report setting indicates a first reporting periodicity, wherein the second CSI report setting indicates a second reporting periodicity, and wherein the second reporting periodicity is greater than the first reporting periodicity.
Regarding claim 21, the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the DL-grant DCI indicates to activate, as the first multi-instance CSI report, multiple consecutive aperiodic CSI reports based at least in part on a Type 2 configured grant (CG)-physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
Regarding claim 25, the method of claim 24, wherein the first CSI report setting indicates a first reporting periodicity, wherein the second CSI report setting indicates a second reporting periodicity, and wherein the second reporting periodicity is greater than the first reporting periodicity.
Regarding claim 30, the method of claim 28, wherein the DL-grant DCI indicates to activate, as the first multi-instance CSI report, at least one of: a periodic CSI report using a same time slot offset and a same periodicity as a Type 2 configured grant (CG)-physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), multiple consecutive aperiodic CSI reports based at least in part on a Type 2 CG-PUSCH, or a periodic CSI report carried by a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
However, NTT DOCOMO from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claims 2, 16, 25, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first CSI report setting indicates a first reporting periodicity (see, multiple CSI reporting configurations associated with multiple periodicities, PUISCH-CSI Resource #1 as indicated in Table 1,section 2), wherein the second CSI report setting indicates a second reporting periodicity (see, multiple CSI reporting configurations associated with multiple periodicities, PUICH-CSI Resource #2 as indicated in Table 1,section 2), and wherein the second reporting periodicity is greater than the first reporting periodicity (noted: the second reporting periodicity can set implicitly to be bigger than the first reporting periodicity based on the Table 1, section 1 to section 3, fig. 1, shows CSI reports with different configurations with a periodicity of 10 and 5).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to implement the multiple activated SP-CSI reportings on the PUSCH based on DCI format as taught by DOCOMO into the multi-instance CSI reporting based on activation/deactivation signaling, where the UE can selectively prioritize instance of CSI reporting of YUAN ‘225. The motivation would have been to provide a reduction in the CSI overhead.
Regarding claims 7, 21, YUAN as modified by DOCMO discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DL-grant DCI indicates to activate (see, DCI activation and triggering DCI for Semi-Persistent CSI, section 3), as the first multi-instance CSI report (section , 3, 4-discloses implicitly multi-instance CSI report as in Multiple activated SP-CSI reportings), a semi-persistent (SP)-CSI report using a same time slot offset (YUAN, see, Semi-Persistent CSI on for multi-instance CSI reporting on same frequency domain location and periodicity, section 0098-0100) a same periodicity (YUAN, see, Semi-Persistent CSI on for multi-instance CSI reporting on same frequency domain location and periodicity, section 0098-010) as a Type 2 configured grant (CG)-physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see, different values for activations of SP-CSI on PUSCH and UL configured grant Type 2 in relation to slot offset for SP-CSI reporting on the PUSCH, section 3).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to implement the multiple activated SP-CSI reportings on the PUSCH based on DCI format as taught by DOCOMO into the multi-instance CSI reporting based on activation/deactivation signaling, where the UE can selectively prioritize instance of CSI reporting of YUAN ‘225. The motivation would have been to provide a reduction in the CSI overhead.
Regarding claims 8, 30, YUAN as modified by DOCMO discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DL-grant DCI indicates to activate (see, DCI activation and triggering DCI for Semi-Persistent CSI, section 3), as the first multi-instance CSI report (section , 3, 4-discloses implicitly multi-instance CSI report as in Multiple activated SP-CSI reportings),, multiple consecutive aperiodic CSI reports (fig. 1, shows CSI reports with different configurations with a periodicity of 10 and 5) based at least in part on a Type 2 configured grant (CG)-physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see, different values for activations of SP-CSI on PUSCH and UL configured grant Type 2 in relation to slot offset for SP-CSI reporting on the PUSCH, section 3).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to implement the multiple activated SP-CSI reportings on the PUSCH based on DCI format as taught by DOCOMO into the multi-instance CSI reporting based on activation/deactivation signaling, where the UE can selectively prioritize instance of CSI reporting of YUAN ‘225. The motivation would have been to provide a reduction in the CSI overhead.
Regarding claim 9, YUAN as modified by DOCMO discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a number of consecutive aperiodic CSI reports (section 4,-Multiple activated SPCSI reportings, YUAN, see, fig. 16, fig. 23, instance 0 for SB set 1 and instance 1 for SB set are consecutive for codeword B in the multi-instance CSI activation, section 0115, 0105-determines the instance number configurations) to transmit based at least in part on a configured grant timer (section 3-time-domain allocation field in the activation DCI) associated with the Type 2 CG-PUSCH (see, different values for activations of SP-CSI on PUSCH and UL configured grant Type 2 in relation to slot offset for SP-CSI reporting on the PUSCH, section 3).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to implement the multiple activated SP-CSI reportings on the PUSCH based on DCI format as taught by DOCOMO into the multi-instance CSI reporting based on activation/deactivation signaling, where the UE can selectively prioritize instance of CSI reporting of YUAN ‘225. The motivation would have been to provide a reduction in the CSI overhead.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al (US 2023/0041095 A1) discloses activation or deactivation of reporting CSI measurements, configuring the UE for semi-persistent CSI reporting, timing and/or periodicity of a plurality of CSI reports 9setion 0158-0168).
Zhou further discloses transmitting of a DCI indicating an uplink grant (section 0274-0285) and reporting on the PUCCH applied staring from a first slot based on activation command in relation to associated CSI Reporting settings (section 0327-0364).
KIM et al (US 2023/0116886 A1, Foreign priority: October 8, 2021) discloses activated transmission with grant type 1, grant type 2 (section 0207-0219, 0418-0508).
LI et al (US 2023/0087165 A1) discloses multi-CSI PUCCH resources where a terminal device selects on of the multiple-CSI PUCCH resource from the plurality of multi-CSI PUCCH resources based on a predefined rule (section 0113-0157, 0201-0221).
Liu et al (US 2023/0283426 A1) discloses multi-DCI based CSI reportings in relation to CSI-resource settings (section 0048-0099).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473